DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/20/2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s remarks have been given full consideration, as such this Office Action has been modified in view of Amendments filed on 08/05/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed "REMARKS" on 08/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims 1, 10, and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 13-17, and 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Zeiler et. al (US 2016/0088482 A1,hereinafter Zeiler) in view of White et al. (US 2020/0106230 A1, hereinafter White).
Regarding claim 1, Zeiler teaches a tool monitoring system ([FIG. 1] and [0056] FIG. 1 depicts a tool monitoring system 100) comprising: at least one beacon device having communication circuitry for wireless communications; and at least one- -tool configured to wirelessly communicate with the communication circuitry of the at least one beacon device, wherein when the at least one- -tool is in wireless communication with the at least one beacon device ([0109] depicted in FIG. 10 the tool monitoring system 600 further enables a user to communicate, with the tools 605 via the key fob 610, key fob read as beacon device, and it's [0110] associated communication circuity), the at least one- -tool is configured to upload system information- -to the at least one beacon device ([0128] for the fob 610, the tool database 285 may be populated using a plurality of techniques, including the ability for the fob 610 to perform a scan of the ISM network 616 to automatically populate the database 285 by broadcasting an identify request to the tools 605, i.e. a multitude of tools uploading system information to a beacon device when in communication with said beacon device).
Zeiler is not relied on for the claim language -crimping- tool and -including crimp cycle information-. However, White teaches [abstract] a tool that determines the maximum force applied to a crimp and records the maximum force along with the geographic location of the tool when the crimp was formed and [0048] includes connections to cloud based web services. White also teaches -crimping- tool and -including crimp cycle information- ([0058] describes “crimping tools may also be equipped to determine, record, and communicate the location of crimps”, i.e. the crimping tools may communicate information to cloud based web services. Furthermore, [0042] describes “the controller 24 determines that the crimp cycle is complete. With the crimp cycle complete, the controller 24 determines and stores the crimp information in memory 32 as a crimp data record. For example, the controller determines the geographic location where the crimp was formed based on signals from the location sensor 23. This location information may be in the form of a latitude, longitude and/or altitude where the crimp was formed. The controller 24 determines the time stamp in the form of time and date when the crimp was formed. The controller 24 also determines the maximum force that was applied to the workpiece during the crimping operation”, i.e. crimp cycle information is gathered by the controller 24, wherein information may be uploaded to web services, see [0032]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zeiler to include a crimping tool and corresponding crimping information in accordance with a cloud-based computing system and a database, as taught by White, in order to [0025] improve performance, monitoring, and recording of portable tools.
Regarding claim 2, Zeiler teaches -the at least one beacon device ([Figure 10, device 610] key fob 610, key fob read as beacon device), and the at least one beacon device is in communication- ([0109] FIG. 10 depicts beacon device 610 in communication with a plurality of devices.)
Zeiler differs from the claimed invention and does not specifically teach a cloud-based computing system configured to wireless communicate- -the cloud-based computing system can receive the system information and -store the system information in a database. However, White teaches a cloud-based computing system configured to wireless communicate- ([0044 and 0048] describes a cloud-based computing system which may receive system information and store information in a database as shown in FIG. 10) and -the cloud-based computing system can receive the system information ([0052] an example embodiment in which the tool's app will "Sync with Cloud” to the cloud-based computing system, i.e. the cloud-based computing system can receive the system information) and -store the system information in a database([Figure 10] FIG. 10 depicts web-services, web-services read as cloud-based computing system, communicating and storing system information in a database).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zeiler to include a crimping tool and corresponding crimping information in accordance with a cloud-based computing system and a database, as taught by White, in order to [0025] improve performance, monitoring, and recording of portable tools.
Regarding claim 3, Zeiler teaches the system information includes tool information ([0128] describes how the tools 605 may output, in response to a fob 610 request, a tool identifier and other stored information (e.g., status information) for purposes of adding the information to the tool database 285. Further, the tool database 285 may be populated remotely by sending tool information from the remote monitoring station to the fob 610, i.e. the system information may include a tool identifier or other relevant tool information).
Zeiler is not relied on for the claim language -and crimp cycle information. However, White teaches as such (see [0042] and [0058] as described in claim 1 above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zeiler to include a crimping tool and corresponding crimping information in accordance with a cloud-based computing system and a database, as taught by White, in order to [0025] improve performance, monitoring, and recording of portable tools.
Regarding claim 4, Zeiler is not relied on for the claim language the crimp cycle information includes at least one of a type and size of a workpiece to be crimped, a force applied by the crimping tool to form a crimp, a time stamp when the crimp was formed, a location of the crimping tool when the crimp was formed, status of the crimp, and alpha-numeric information associated with the crimp. However, White teaches as such ([0025] describes “the crimp information contemplated by the present disclosure includes, but is not limited to, the type and size of the workpiece to be crimped, a force applied by the tool to form the crimp, a time stamp when the crimp was formed, a location of the tool when the crimp was formed, status of the crimp, a data flag setting, alpha-numeric information associated with the flag, and other alpha-numeric information associated with the crimp”, wherein this information is gathered during a crimp cycle, see [0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zeiler to include a crimping tool and corresponding crimping information in accordance with a cloud-based computing system and a database, as taught by White, in order to [0025] improve performance, monitoring, and recording of portable tools.
Regarding claim 5, Zeiler teaches the at least one- -tool is not in wireless communication with the at least one beacon device for a predetermined period of time ([0181] if, in step 942, the battery controller 907 determines that the fob 610 has not communicated, based on whether the timer has expired, i.e. a tool not in wireless communication in association with a period of time), the at least one- -tool is configured to enter an inoperable state ([0179-0182] describes instances when a lock-out or limp mode is enacted for the tool, i.e. an inoperable state).
Zeiler is not relied on for the claim language -crimping- tool. However, White teaches as such ([0058] describes “crimping tools may also be equipped to determine, record, and communicate the location of crimps”, i.e. the crimping tools may communicate information to cloud based web services, as described in claim 1 above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zeiler to include a crimping tool and corresponding crimping information in accordance with a cloud-based computing system and a database, as taught by White, in order to [0025] improve performance, monitoring, and recording of portable tools.
Regarding claim 6, Zeiler teaches the predetermined period of time is 12 hours or 24 hours ([0086] the security action is delayed for a particular period of time, the security action may be delayed for a particular period of time (e.g., a few minutes, hours, days, etc.), i.e. the predetermined period of time may be 12 or 24 hours).
Regarding claim 7, Zeiler teaches the at least one- -tool comprises a frame and a working head ([Figure 10, Figure 12] and [0117] FIG. 10 and 12, depict the tool 605 is a battery-operated power drill that, similar to tool 105, includes the tool controller 145, sensors 155, battery 160, and motor 165, although the tool 605 is depicted as a power drill in FIG. 10, other types of tools and accessories may also be monitored by the tool monitoring system 600, i.e. it is shown in the figures that said tools may comprise of a frame and a working head).
Zeiler is not relied on for the claim language -crimping- tool. However, White teaches as such ([0058] describes “crimping tools may also be equipped to determine, record, and communicate the location of crimps”, i.e. the crimping tools may communicate information to cloud based web services, as described in claim 1 above. Furthermore, see FIG. 1 for depiction of the crimping tool and corresponding parts).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zeiler to include a crimping tool and corresponding crimping information in accordance with a cloud-based computing system and a database, as taught by White, in order to [0025] improve performance, monitoring, and recording of portable tools.
Regarding claim 8, Zeiler teaches the at least one beacon device includes at least one indicator used to provide at least one of an audible, haptic and visual indication ([0181] an audible, visual, or tactile warning may be provided to the user by the battery 902 or by the tool 900 in response to the battery 902. For example, a light on the battery 902 or tool 900 may be illuminated after the security code is marked invalid in step 950 to inform the user that he or she should bring the tool within an acceptable range of the fob 610 or ISM network , i.e. the beacon device includes an indicator) -when the at least one beacon device is no longer in communication with the at least- -one tool ([0181] if, in step 942, the battery controller 907 determines that the fob 610 has not communicated, based on whether the timer has expired, i.e. a tool not in wireless communication with the beacon).
Zeiler is not relied on for the claim language -crimping- tool. However, White teaches as such ([0058] describes “crimping tools may also be equipped to determine, record, and communicate the location of crimps”, i.e. the crimping tools may communicate information to cloud based web services, as described in claim 1 above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zeiler to include a crimping tool and corresponding crimping information in accordance with a cloud-based computing system and a database, as taught by White, in order to [0025] improve performance, monitoring, and recording of portable tools.
Regarding claim 9, Zeiler teaches the at least one beacon device comprises a housing configured to be worn by a user or installed in a vehicle or installed in facility ([0126] FIG. 13B-C illustrate an exemplary fob 610, fob 610 read as beacon device, implemented with a chirp button 658, navigation controls 660, hand grips 662 (including ridges for finger placement), and an aperture 664 for receiving a key ring or otherwise attaching the fob 610 to an Item, i.e. the beacon device is configured to be worn by a user or installed in a vehicle or facility via the key ring).
Regarding claim 10, Zeiler teaches a beacon device ([FIG. 13A-13C] depicts a beacon device 610) comprising: a housing having a front housing portion ([FIG. 13B] depicts a front housing portion), a rear housing portion and at least one cavity for receiving internal components ([FIG. 13C] depicts a rear housing portion comprising at least one cavity as shown by a USB port 654, and a power input port 656 for receiving corresponding internal components); communication circuitry within the at least one cavity ([FIG. 13A, FIG. 11A-B] depicts the device 610 may have communication circuitry within at least one cavity, and may communicate with a plurality of devices as shown in FIG. 11A-B), -and at least one indicator used to provide at least one of an audible, haptic and visual indication ([0134] in some embodiments, the tools 605 include a chirp button, which executes a chip noise, as described in [0132], to assist in locating one of the fobs 610. Since a display may not be included on the tools 605, the tools 605 may store an identifier for a "home" fob 610, and depressing a chirp button of the tool 605 would cause the home fob 610 to chirp. The fob 610 may be used to store the identifier of the home fob 610 in the tool 605. Furthermore, [0080] describes how the indicator is not limited to a chirp noise via "an audible indicator (e.g., chirp), a visual indicator (e.g., light flash), a tactile indicator (e.g., vibration) or a combination thereof, in response to the chirp message"), -when the beacon device is no longer in communication with the at least one- -tool ([0181] if, in step 942, the battery controller 907 determines that the fob 610 has not communicated, based on whether the timer has expired, i.e. a tool not in wireless communication with the beacon), and -the communication circuitry being configured to receive ([FIG. 13A, FIG. 11A-B] depicts the device 610 may have communication circuitry within at least one cavity, and may communicate with a plurality of devices as shown in FIG. 11A-B).
Zeiler differs from the claimed invention and does not specifically teach the system information including crimp cycle information from at least one crimping tool when the beacon device is in communication with the at least one crimping tool and configured to upload the system information including crimp cycle information to a cloud-based computing system when the beacon device is in communication with the cloud-based computing system. However, White teaches as such ([0052] an example embodiment in which the tool's app will "Sync with Cloud” to the [0044 and 0048] cloud-based computing system which may receive system information and store information in a database as shown in FIG. 10, i.e. the tool is in communication with the tool’s app with the device of the tool’s app acting as the beacon device, and the beacon device then uploading the information to the cloud-based computing system. Additionally, the information may specifically be crimp cycle information for a crimping tool, see [0025], [0042] and [0058], as described above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zeiler to include a crimping tool and corresponding crimping information in accordance with a cloud-based computing system and a database, as taught by White, in order to [0025] improve performance, monitoring, and recording of portable tools.
Regarding claim 11, Zeiler teaches the housing of the beacon device is configured to be worn by a user or installed in a vehicle or installed in facility ([0126] FIG. 13B-C illustrate an exemplary fob 610, fob 610 read as beacon device, implemented with a chirp button 658, navigation controls 660, hand grips 662 (including ridges for finger placement), and an aperture 664 for receiving a key ring or otherwise attaching the fob 610 to an Item, i.e. the beacon device is configured to be worn by a user or installed in a vehicle or facility via the key ring).
Regarding claim 13, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 4.
Regarding claim 14, Zeiler is not relied on for the claim language the system information includes tool information and crimp cycle information. However, White teaches as such (see [0025], [0042] and [0058], as described above).
Regarding claim 15, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 1, further in view of claim 8 teaching the element at least one indicator used to provide at least one of an audible, haptic and visual indication when the beacon device is no longer in communication with the at least one crimping tool.
Regarding claim 16, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 17, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 9.
Regarding claim 19, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 4.
Regarding claim 20, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claims 3 and 4. That is, claim 3 teaches the system information includes tool information and claim 4 teaches the system information includes crimp cycle information.
Regarding claim 21, Zeiler teaches the wireless communication circuitry of the at least one beacon device and the at least one crimping tool operates in the ISM band ([0148] describes “the gateway 700 includes an ISM band antenna 710 and ISM unit 715 for ISM communications;” and [0110] describes “the tool monitoring system 600 has shifted the longer range, cellular communication capability from the tools 105 to the gateway 615, and utilizes a shorter-range, lower cost, lower power ISM band communication network to allow the tools 605, fobs 610, and the gateway 615 to communicate with one another”, i.e. the beacon device and the corresponding tools have the ability to operate in the ISM band).
Regarding claim 22, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 21.
Regarding claim 23, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 21.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW JAMES DWYER/Examiner, Art Unit 2649
/GEORGE ENG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2699