DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “A TERMINAL, A RADIO COMMUNCIATION METHOD, AND A BASE STATION FOR IMPROVING COVERAGE BY TAKING INTO CONISERATION OVERHEAD”.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10 recites in line 5, “…with one or more of the second signal”. Line 2-3 claims only one second signal; therefore, it seems like line 5 should recite only “the second signal”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190090212 A1 (Kao-Peng Chou, hereinafter Chou) in view of in view of US 20190058517 A1 (Kang et al., hereinafter Kang).
Regarding claim 10, Chou discloses a terminal (Fig. 1 and par. [0015], “communication devices”) comprising:
a receiver (Fig. 1 and par. [0015], communication devices or UEs inherently comprise at least a receiver or a transceiver) that receives a synchronization signal block including a first signal and a second signal (pars. [0026]-[0027], “Step 308: The BS configures the primary panel with a first association between a first beam index and a primary SS block time index of the primary SS block time index set,… Step 310: The BS configures the at least one secondary panel with at least one second association between at least one second beam index and at least one secondary SS block time index of the at least one secondary SS block time index set”); and
a processor (Fig. 2, “processing circuit 200”) that controls reception of the synchronization signal block (Fig. 2, “processing circuit 200”),
wherein the first signal corresponds to a first synchronization signal block index, and the second signal corresponds to a second synchronization signal block index (pars. [0026]-[0027], “Step 308: The BS configures the primary panel with a first association between a first beam index and a primary SS block time index of the primary SS block time index set,… Step 310: The BS configures the at least one secondary panel with at least one second association between at least one second beam index and at least one secondary SS block time index of the at least one secondary SS block time index set”), and
the first synchronization signal block index is unchanged in each cycle of a periodicity (Figs. 4-5 and pars. [0026]-[0033], “…The panel 400 transmits SS blocks with the SS block time indices in an order of S0, S1, S2 and S3. The SS blocks with the SS block time indices S0, S1, S2 and S3 are transmitted in beam directions with the beam direction indices b0, b1, b2 and b3, respectively (i.e., the association between the SS block time indices and the beam direction indices is {b0-S0, b1-S1, b2-S2, b3-S3})”, unchanged), and
the second synchronization signal block index changes in each cycle of the periodicity (Figs. 4-5 and pars. [0026]-[0033], “…panels 402 and 404 (i.e., the secondary panels) transmit the same SS blocks by using the same SS block time index set as the panel 400 (i.e., the primary panel), namely {S0, S1, S2, S3}, but with different orders (i.e., S3-S0-S1-S2 and S2-S3-S0-S1) from that of the panel 400 (i.e., S0-S1-S2-S3)”, changed).
Chou does not specifically disclose wherein the processor controls reception of the synchronization signal block by assuming that the first signal is quasi co-located (QCLed) with one or more of the second signal.
In related art concerning method and apparatus transmitting the receiving channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS), Kang discloses wherein the processor controls reception of the synchronization signal block by assuming that the first signal is quasi co-located (QCLed) with one or more of the second signal (par. [0593], “then assume (or indicate) a QCL relationship (even) with the new channel parameters between the corresponding CSI-RS (or ports)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Kang’s teachings wherein the processor controls reception of the synchronization signal block by assuming that the first signal is quasi co-located (QCLed) with the handling of a multi-pane synchronization signal block transmission disclosed by Chou because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that in the context of 5G New Radio the relationship between two signals or signal blocks, where they are assumed to have similar channel conditions, often implying that they are transmitted from the same antenna array and share similar spatial filter characteristics. This relationship allows for the reuse of channel estimation and spatial filtering from a known reference signal, so that performance can be enhanced and the processing load is reduced in the communication system.
Regarding claim 12, Chou discloses a radio communication method (par. [0002], “method”) for a terminal (Fig. 1 and par. [0015], “communication devices”), comprising:
receiving a synchronization signal block including a first signal and a second signal (pars. [0026]-[0027], “Step 308: The BS configures the primary panel with a first association between a first beam index and a primary SS block time index of the primary SS block time index set,… Step 310: The BS configures the at least one secondary panel with at least one second association between at least one second beam index and at least one secondary SS block time index of the at least one secondary SS block time index set”); and
controlling reception of the synchronization signal block (Fig. 2, “processing circuit 200” executes control instructions),
wherein the first signal corresponds to a first synchronization signal block index, and the second signal corresponds to a second synchronization signal block index (pars. [0026]-[0027], “Step 308: The BS configures the primary panel with a first association between a first beam index and a primary SS block time index of the primary SS block time index set,… Step 310: The BS configures the at least one secondary panel with at least one second association between at least one second beam index and at least one secondary SS block time index of the at least one secondary SS block time index set”), and
the first synchronization signal block index is unchanged in each cycle of a periodicity (Figs. 4-5 and pars. [0026]-[0033], “…The panel 400 transmits SS blocks with the SS block time indices in an order of S0, S1, S2 and S3. The SS blocks with the SS block time indices S0, S1, S2 and S3 are transmitted in beam directions with the beam direction indices b0, b1, b2 and b3, respectively (i.e., the association between the SS block time indices and the beam direction indices is {b0-S0, b1-S1, b2-S2, b3-S3})”, unchanged), and
the second synchronization signal block index changes in each cycle of the periodicity (Figs. 4-5 and pars. [0026]-[0033], “…panels 402 and 404 (i.e., the secondary panels) transmit the same SS blocks by using the same SS block time index set as the panel 400 (i.e., the primary panel), namely {S0, S1, S2, S3}, but with different orders (i.e., S3-S0-S1-S2 and S2-S3-S0-S1) from that of the panel 400 (i.e., S0-S1-S2-S3)”, changed).
Chou does not specifically disclose controlling reception of the synchronization signal block (by assuming that the first signal is quasi co-located (QCLed) with one or more of the second signal.
In related art concerning method and apparatus transmitting the receiving channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS), Kang discloses controlling reception of the synchronization signal block (by assuming that the first signal is quasi co-located (QCLed) with one or more of the second signal with one or more of the second signal (par. [0593], “then assume (or indicate) a QCL relationship (even) with the new channel parameters between the corresponding CSI-RS (or ports)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Kang’s teachings wherein controlling reception of the synchronization signal block (by assuming that the first signal is quasi co-located (QCLed) with one or more of the second signal with the handling of a multi-pane synchronization signal block transmission disclosed by Chou because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that in the context of 5G New Radio the relationship between two signals or signal blocks, where they are assumed to have similar channel conditions, often implying that they are transmitted from the same antenna array and share similar spatial filter characteristics. This relationship allows for the reuse of channel estimation and spatial filtering from a known reference signal, so that performance can be enhanced and the processing load is reduced in the communication system.
Regarding claim 13, Chou discloses a base station (par. [0160], “base stations…communication device”) comprising:
a transmitter (par. [0005], “base station (BS)”) that transmits a synchronization signal block including a first signal and a second signal (par. 0005] and pars. [0026]-[0027], “Step 308: The BS configures the primary panel with a first association between a first beam index and a primary SS block time index of the primary SS block time index set,… Step 310: The BS configures the at least one secondary panel with at least one second association between at least one second beam index and at least one secondary SS block time index of the at least one secondary SS block time index set”) and
a processor that controls transmission of the synchronization signal block (par. [0005], “at least one processing circuit…BS transmitting a configuration set to the communication device…”),
wherein the first signal corresponds to a first synchronization signal block index, and the second signal corresponds to a second synchronization signal block index (par. 0005] and pars. [0026]-[0027], “Step 308: The BS configures the primary panel with a first association between a first beam index and a primary SS block time index of the primary SS block time index set,… Step 310: The BS configures the at least one secondary panel with at least one second association between at least one second beam index and at least one secondary SS block time index of the at least one secondary SS block time index set”), and
the first synchronization signal block index is unchanged in each cycle of a periodicity (Figs. 4-5 and pars. [0026]-[0033], “…The panel 400 transmits SS blocks with the SS block time indices in an order of S0, S1, S2 and S3. The SS blocks with the SS block time indices S0, S1, S2 and S3 are transmitted in beam directions with the beam direction indices b0, b1, b2 and b3, respectively (i.e., the association between the SS block time indices and the beam direction indices is {b0-S0, b1-S1, b2-S2, b3-S3})”, unchanged), and
the second synchronization signal block index changes in each cycle of the periodicity (Figs. 4-5 and pars. [0026]-[0033], “…panels 402 and 404 (i.e., the secondary panels) transmit the same SS blocks by using the same SS block time index set as the panel 400 (i.e., the primary panel), namely {S0, S1, S2, S3}, but with different orders (i.e., S3-S0-S1-S2 and S2-S3-S0-S1) from that of the panel 400 (i.e., S0-S1-S2-S3)”, changed).
Chou does not specifically disclose wherein the processor controls reception of the synchronization signal block by assuming that the first signal is quasi co-located (QCLed) with one or more of the second signal.
Kang discloses wherein the processor that controls reception of the synchronization signal block by assuming that the first signal is quasi co-located (QCLed) with one or more of the second signal (par. [0593], “then assume (or indicate) a QCL relationship (even) with the new channel parameters between the corresponding CSI-RS (or ports)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Kang’s teachings wherein the processor that controls reception of the synchronization signal block by assuming that the first signal is quasi co-located (QCLed) with the handling of a multi-pane synchronization signal block transmission disclosed by Chou because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that in the context of 5G New Radio the relationship between two signals or signal blocks, where they are assumed to have similar channel conditions, often implying that they are transmitted from the same antenna array and share similar spatial filter characteristics. This relationship allows for the reuse of channel estimation and spatial filtering from a known reference signal, so that performance can be enhanced and the processing load is reduced in the communication system.
Regarding claim 14, Chou discloses a system (Fig. 1, “system 10”) comprising a base station (par. [0005], “base station (BS)” and a terminal (Fig. 1 and par. [0015], “communication devices”), wherein
the base station comprises a transmitter that transmits a synchronization signal block including a first signal and a second signal (par. 0005] and pars. [0026]-[0027], “Step 308: The BS configures the primary panel with a first association between a first beam index and a primary SS block time index of the primary SS block time index set,… Step 310: The BS configures the at least one secondary panel with at least one second association between at least one second beam index and at least one secondary SS block time index of the at least one secondary SS block time index set”, where BSs inherently comprise at least a transmitter or a transceiver), and
the terminal (Fig. 1 and par. [0015], “communication devices”) comprises:
a receiver (Fig. 1 and par. [0015], communication devices or UEs inherently comprise at least a receiver or a transceiver) that receives the synchronization signal block including the first signal and the second signal (pars. [0026]-[0027], “Step 308: The BS configures the primary panel with a first association between a first beam index and a primary SS block time index of the primary SS block time index set,… Step 310: The BS configures the at least one secondary panel with at least one second association between at least one second beam index and at least one secondary SS block time index of the at least one secondary SS block time index set”); and
a processor that controls reception of the synchronization signal block (Fig. 2, “processing circuit 200”),
wherein the first signal corresponds to a first synchronization signal block index, and the second signal corresponds to a second synchronization signal block index (pars. [0026]-[0027], “Step 308: The BS configures the primary panel with a first association between a first beam index and a primary SS block time index of the primary SS block time index set,… Step 310: The BS configures the at least one secondary panel with at least one second association between at least one second beam index and at least one secondary SS block time index of the at least one secondary SS block time index set”), and
the first synchronization signal block index is unchanged in each cycle of a periodicity (Figs. 4-5 and pars. [0026]-[0033], “…The panel 400 transmits SS blocks with the SS block time indices in an order of S0, S1, S2 and S3. The SS blocks with the SS block time indices S0, S1, S2 and S3 are transmitted in beam directions with the beam direction indices b0, b1, b2 and b3, respectively (i.e., the association between the SS block time indices and the beam direction indices is {b0-S0, b1-S1, b2-S2, b3-S3})”, unchanged), and the second synchronization signal block index changes in each cycle of the periodicity (Figs. 4-5 and pars. [0026]-[0033], “…panels 402 and 404 (i.e., the secondary panels) transmit the same SS blocks by using the same SS block time index set as the panel 400 (i.e., the primary panel), namely {S0, S1, S2, S3}, but with different orders (i.e., S3-S0-S1-S2 and S2-S3-S0-S1) from that of the panel 400 (i.e., S0-S1-S2-S3)”, changed).
Chou does not specifically disclose wherein the processor controls reception of the synchronization signal block by assuming that the first signal is quasi co-located (QCLed) with one or more of the second signal.
Kang discloses wherein the processor controls reception of the synchronization signal block by assuming that the first signal is quasi co-located (QCLed) with one or more of the second signal (par. [0593], “then assume (or indicate) a QCL relationship (even) with the new channel parameters between the corresponding CSI-RS (or ports)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Kang’s teachings wherein the processor controls reception of the synchronization signal block by assuming that the first signal is quasi co-located (QCLed) with the handling of a multi-pane synchronization signal block transmission disclosed by Chou because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that in the context of 5G New Radio the relationship between two signals or signal blocks, where they are assumed to have similar channel conditions, often implying that they are transmitted from the same antenna array and share similar spatial filter characteristics. This relationship allows for the reuse of channel estimation and spatial filtering from a known reference signal, so that performance can be enhanced and the processing load is reduced in the communication system.
Regarding claim 11, Chou and Kang disclose all the limitations of claim 10. Chou further discloses wherein the first signal is a synchronization signal (pars. [0019]-[0027], “the synchronization signal (SS) block… The SS block is composed of a Primary SS (PSS)”), and the second signal is a physical broadcast channel (pars. [0019]-[0027], “a Secondary SS (SSS) and/or a Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH)…”).
Note: The Examiner has cited/quoted at least portions of the Extended European Search Report issued in Application 21951927.9 provided in IDS dated 06/02/2005
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WO 2020090094 A1 relates to radio node and radio communication synchronization method.
US 20200275409 A1 relates to schemes for SSB paging corset mapping in NR.
/ANGELICA PEREZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649