DETAILED ACTION
The IDS documents submitted on 01/25/2024, 03/14/2025, and 07/12/2025 have been received and considered by the examiner. For the references that contain non-English language and characters, only the English language portions and figures have been considered.
The preliminary amendment submitted on 01/25/2024 has been received and considered by the examiner. Claims 4-5, 9, 14-15, 20-21, 23, 25, 31-32, and 36-39 were amended, claims 2, 6-8, 10-13, 16, 19, 22, 24, 27-30, and 33-35 were cancelled, and all uncancelled claims remain pending.
Priority to PCT application CN2021/108759, dated 07/27/2021, is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because it contains a comma splice (“switching from the first SIM card to the second SIM card, determining a second priority ...”). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 26 is objected to because it uses the term “and/or”. The broadest reasonable interpretation of this would simply be “or”, rendering the “and” option meaningless, so the examiner recommends picking one or the other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 15, 17-18, 20-21, 23, 25-26, 31-32, and 36-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bao et al. (US 12,245,188 B2, hereinafter “Bao”).
As to Claims 1, 17, and 36-39:
Bao describes a method for a user equipment to provide a network device with a trigger condition the network should use to page the terminal.
Specifically, Bao teaches:
Sending inactive paging restriction information to a network-side device
Bao describes a terminal that “reports first information ... used to indicate a trigger condition for a network side device to determine whether to initiate first paging to the terminal” (Bao, col. 5 lines 8-11). The “trigger condition” for “paging” is analogous to an “inactive paging restriction”.
The inactive paging restriction information is configured to indicate a condition for the network-side device to restrict paging of the terminal when the terminal is in an inactive state
Bao describes a terminal that “reports first information ... used to indicate a trigger condition for a network side device to determine whether to initiate first paging to the terminal” (Bao, col. 5 lines 8-11), and Bao later clarifies that the first SIM card “enter[s] the non-connected state” after it “reports the first information” (Bao col. 7, lines 54-58), and it “remove[s] the trigger condition” after it “enter[s] the RRC connected state” (Bao col. 7 lines 66-67; col. 8, lines 1-3), showing that the restriction applies while the terminal is “in an inactive state”.
Claim 17 describes substantially the same subject matter as Claim 1 from the perspective of the network-side device.
Claim 36 differs from claim 1 only by requiring:
One or more processors; and a memory configured to store a computer program; wherein the one or more processors are collectively configured
Fig. 6 of Bao describes this hardware setup, including a “Processor” 610 that interacts with “Memory” 69 that stores a “Application”.
Similarly, Claim 37 differs from claim 17 only by requiring:
One or more processors; and a memory configured to store a computer program; wherein the one or more processors are collectively configured
See Fig. 6 of Bao.
Claim 38 differs from claim 1 only by requiring:
A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a computer program, wherein the computer program when executed by a processor causes the processor to execute the information sending method according to claim 1
Again, Fig. 6 of Bao shows a device including a “Processor” 610 that interacts with “Memory” 69 that stores a “Application”.
Similarly, Claim 39 differs from Claim 17 only by requiring:
A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a computer program, wherein the computer program when executed by a processor causes the processor to execute the information sending method according to claim 1
Again, Fig. 6 of Bao shows a device including a “Processor” 610 that interacts with “Memory” 69 that stores a “Application”.
As to Claim 3:
Bao teaches:
A plurality of subscriber identity module (SIM) cards are provided in the terminal
Bao describes a terminal controlling multiple SIM cards (Bao col. 7, lines 53-59).
The inactive paging restriction information is configured to indicate a condition for the network-side device to restrict paging of at least one of the plurality of SIM cards when the at least one of the plurality of SIM cards is in an inactive state
In Step 21 in Fig. 2 of Bao, the terminal “reports first information” which “is used to instruct a network side device to initiate a trigger condition of first paging”. Bao later clarifies that the trigger condition applies to the second SIM card when it “enter[s] the non-connected state” and is removed when it “enter[s] the RRC connected state” (Bao col. 7, lines 53-67; col. 8, lines 1-3).
As to Claim 4:
Bao teaches:
The plurality of SIM cards comprise a first SIM card and a second SIM card
Bao describes two sim cards executing different services with different priorities (Bao col. 8, lines 22-25).
Switching from the first SIM card to the second SIM card, determining a second priority of the second SIM card for a service and/or a protocol data unit (PDU) session
Bao describes a “network side device” that “determines ... whether to page the second SIM card” based on a need to “avoid interruption from paging triggered by a low-priority service of the second SIM card to an ongoing high-priority service of the first SIM card” (Bao col. 8, lines 64-67; col. 9, lines 1-5). Bao also states in col. 5, lines 29-33 that the UE communicates via packet data convergence protocol (which arranges data in PDUs).
Generating the inactive paging restriction information according to the second priority
Bao specifies that the network determines the second SIM card’s priority “based on the condition reported by the second SIM card”, and this “condition” is analogous to “the inactive paging restriction information”).
The inactive paging restriction information is configured to indicate that a condition for the network-side device to restrict paging of the first SIM card when the first SIM card is in an inactive state comprises: restricting paging of services and/or PDU sessions corresponding to other priorities lower than the second priority
Again, Bao states that a “network side device determines, based on the condition reported by the second SIM card, whether to page the second SIM card” based on a need to “avoid interruption from paging triggered by a low-priority service of the second SIM card to an ongoing high-priority service of the first SIM card” (Bao col. 8, lines 64-67; col. 9, lines 1-5). Bao also describes a UE communicating via PDCP (Bao col. 5, lines 29-33).
As to Claim 5:
From the list of:
The method comprises at least one of:
The plurality of SIM cards correspond to an association relationship between services and/or PDU sessions and priorities, or
Each of the plurality of SIM cards respectively corresponds to an association relationship between services and/or PDU sessions and priorities; or
Sending updated information of the inactive paging restriction information to the network-side device; wherein sending the updated information of the inactive paging restriction information to the network-side device when satisfying at least one of: a duration of communication using the second SIM card is greater than a duration threshold; or a data amount of data transmitted using the second SIM card is greater than a data amount threshold
Bao at least teaches:
Each of the plurality of SIM cards respectively corresponds to an association relationship between services and/or PDU sessions and priorities
Bao describes two SIM cards mapped to services with different priorities (Bao col. 8, lines 64-67; col. 9, lines 1-5).
As to Claim 15:
From the list of:
Sending restriction release information to the network-side device, wherein the restriction release information is configured to indicate the network-side device to release part or all of paging restrictions on the terminal when the terminal is in the inactive state; or
The inactive paging restriction information is further configured to indicate a duration for the network-side device to restrict the paging of the terminal when the terminal is in the inactive state
Bao at least teaches:
Sending restriction release information to the network-side device, wherein the restriction release information is configured to indicate the network-side device to release part or all of paging restrictions on the terminal when the terminal is in the inactive state
Bao describes “reporting second information” that “is used to instruct the network side device to remove the trigger condition” (Bao col. 4, lines 4-8). Bao also clarifies that this occurs before or while the UE “enter[s] the RRC connected state from the non-connected state” (Bao col. 10, lines 66-67).
As to Claim 18:
Bao teaches:
Restricting the paging of the terminal when the terminal is in the inactive state according to the condition
Bao states that “after the terminal ... reports the first information”, the terminal “control[s] the second SIM card to enter the non-connected state”, demonstrating that the paging restriction applies when the second SIM card is non-connected (Bao col. 7, lines 53-59).
As to Claim 20:
Bao teaches:
The network-side device comprises a base station
“The network side device provided in this embodiment of the present disclosure may be a base station” (Bao col. 3, lines 36-37).
Receiving the inactive paging restriction information from a core network and/or the terminal
Bao describes a terminal, from the list of “a core network or ... a terminal”, that “reports first information ... used to indicate a trigger condition for a network side device to determine whether to initiate first paging to the terminal” (Bao, col. 5 lines 8-11).
As to Claim 21:
From the list of:
Storing the condition in a context of the terminal; querying the context of the terminal when the terminal needs to be paged; and restricting the paging of the terminal based on the condition found in the context of the terminal; or
The base station receives the inactive paging restriction information from the terminal, and the paging restriction method further comprises: sending the inactive paging restriction information to the core network after indicating the terminal to enter the inactive state
Bao at least teaches:
The base station receives the inactive paging restriction information from the terminal, and the paging restriction method further comprises: sending the inactive paging restriction information to the core network after indicating the terminal to enter the inactive state
Bao describes a scenario where “[t]he network side device ... may be alternatively a core network device” and “[t]he core network device may be connected to the terminal by using an access network device” (Bao col. 3, lines 45-48). This shows that in this scenario, the “access network device” (i.e. the “base station”) will forward the paging restriction to the core network.
As to Claim 23:
From the list of:
Sending the inactive paging restriction information to other base stations in a radio access network (RAN) notification area (RNA) where the terminal is located; or
Receiving data sent by the core network to the terminal in the inactive state; and paging the terminal when the data comprises data that is not restricted by the condition
Bao at least teaches:
Receiving data sent by the core network to the terminal in the inactive state; and paging the terminal when the data comprises data that is not restricted by the condition
Bao describes a network device that “determin[es], based on the trigger condition after a service of the terminal arrives, whether to initiate the first paging”. Clearly, this means the network device sends data to the terminal when the restriction does not apply. Elsewhere, Bao also states that the network device can be part of the core network and describes the base station’s role as a relay between the core network and a user equipment (Bao col. 3, lines 45-48).
As to Claim 25:
Bao teaches:
The network-side device comprises a core network, and receiving the inactive paging restriction information comprises: receiving the inactive paging restriction information from a base station and/or the terminal
Bao states that the network device can be a core network device and describes the base station’s role as a relay between the core network and a user equipment (Bao col. 3, lines 45-48).
As to Claim 26:
Bao at least teaches:
The core network receives the inactive paging restriction information from the base station
Bao states that the network device can be a core network device and describes the base station’s role as a relay between the core network and a user equipment (Bao col. 3, lines 45-48).
And from the list of:
Sending configuration information to the base station, wherein the configuration information is configured to configure the base station to send the inactive paging restriction information to the core network after indicating the terminal to enter the inactive state; or
The core network receives the inactive paging restriction information from the terminal, and the inactive paging restriction information is carried in at least one of: a service request message; or registration request signaling;
Wherein restricting the paging of the terminal when the terminal is in the inactive state according to the condition comprises: sending the inactive paging restriction information to one or more base stations, and indicating the one or more base stations to restrict the paging of the terminal according to the condition in the inactive paging restriction information;
Wherein the one or more base stations comprises at least one of: base stations in a radio access network (RAN) notification area (RNA) where the terminal is located; or one or more base stations connected to the terminal;
Wherein the inactive paging restriction information is carried in radio resource control (RRC) inactive assistance information and sent to the one or more base stations connected to the terminal; and/or the inactive paging restriction information is carried in a mobility restriction list information unit and sent to the base stations in the RNA where the terminal is located
Bao at least teaches:
Send the inactive paging restriction information to the core network
Bao states that the network device can be a core network device and describes the base station’s role as a relay between the core network and a user equipment (Bao col. 3, lines 45-48).
Bao does not explicitly disclose:
Sending configuration information to the base station
The configuration information is configured to configure the base station to send ... to the core network after indicating the terminal to enter the inactive state
However, Kumar does describe methods for a UE with multiple SIM cards to manage the cards’ paging sessions.
Specifically, Kumar teaches:
Sending configuration information to the base station
Fig. 7 in Kumar shows a method for a UE to switch SIM networks. Here, the “NAS/RRC signalling” in step 3 maps to “sending configuration information to the base station”.
The configuration information is configured to configure the base station to send ... to the after indicating the terminal to enter the inactive state
The base station’s “connection release” response in step 4 of Fig. 7 maps to “indicat[ing] the terminal to enter the inactive state”. Elsewhere, Kumar describes the role of a gNB (i.e. “the base station”) in relaying between a UE and the core network (Kumar col. 18, lines 45-50).
As to Claim 31:
Bao teaches:
The network-side device comprises a core network
Bao states that the network device can be a core network device and describes the base station’s role as a relay between the core network and a user equipment (Bao col. 3, lines 45-48).
Wherein data needs to be sent to the terminal in the inactive state, determining whether the data comprises data that is not restricted by the condition; and wherein the data comprises the data that is not restricted by the condition, sending the data to an anchor base station of the terminal
Bao states that a network device “determin[es], based on the trigger condition after a service of the terminal arrives, whether to initiate the first paging” (Bao col. 1, lines 40-50). Bao’s description of the access node relaying between the UE and the core network (Bao col. 3, lines 45-48) further reads on the core network “sending the data to an anchor base station of the terminal”.
From the list of:
Receiving restriction release information sent by the terminal; and releasing part or all of paging restrictions on the terminal when the terminal is in the inactive state; or
Determining a duration of restricting the paging of the terminal based on the inactive paging restriction information; and after the duration, releasing part or all of paging restrictions on the terminal when the terminal is in the inactive state
Bao at least teaches:
Receiving restriction release information sent by the terminal; and releasing part or all of paging restrictions on the terminal when the terminal is in the inactive state
Bao describes “reporting second information” that “is used to instruct the network side device to remove the trigger condition” (Bao col. 4, lines 4-8). Bao also clarifies that this occurs before or while the UE “enter[s] the RRC connected state from the non-connected state” (Bao col. 10, lines 66-67).
As to Claim 32:
From the list of:
Receiving restriction release information sent by the terminal; and releasing part or all of paging restrictions on the terminal when the terminal is in the inactive state; or
Determining a duration of restricting the paging of the terminal based on the inactive paging restriction information; and after the duration, releasing part or all of paging restrictions on the terminal when the terminal is in the inactive state
Bao at least teaches:
Receiving restriction release information sent by the terminal; and releasing part or all of paging restrictions on the terminal when the terminal is in the inactive state
Bao describes “reporting second information” that “is used to instruct the network side device to remove the trigger condition” (Bao col. 4, lines 4-8). Bao also clarifies that this occurs before or while the UE “enter[s] the RRC connected state from the non-connected state” (Bao col. 10, lines 66-67).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bao (US 12,245,188 B2) in view of Jin et al. (US 12,425,834 B2, hereinafter “Jin”).
As to Claim 9:
Bao teaches:
The network-side device comprises a base station
“The network side device provided in this embodiment of the present disclosure may be a base station” (Bao col. 3, lines 36-37).
The inactive paging restriction information is carried in radio resource control (RRC) signaling
Step 21 in Fig. 2 of Bao states that “a first SIM card enters an RRC connected state” before it “reports first information ... used to indicate a trigger condition for the network side device”.
Bao does not explicitly disclose:
The inactive paging restriction information is carried in user equipment (UE) assistance information of the RRC signaling
The inactive paging restriction information is carried in a newly added information element (IE) of the UE assistance information; or
The UE assistance information is further configured to indicate a RRC state that the terminal expects to enter, wherein the UE assistance information indicates the RRC state that the terminal expects to enter in an explicit manner and/or an implicit manner
However, Jin does describe a similar method for a user equipment to inform a network device not to page a user equipment.
Specifically, Jin teaches:
The inactive paging restriction information is carried in user equipment (UE) assistance information of the RRC signaling
Jin describes a “first information” that “indicates a condition in which sending a SIM1 paging message to the communication apparatus is allowed” (Jin, col. 2, lines 13-17). Jin further clarifies that the first information can be carried in “an RRC message” that “is a user equipment assistance information message” (Jin col. 5, lines 61-67; col. 6 lines 1-7).
And from the list of:
The inactive paging restriction information is carried in a newly added information element (IE) of the UE assistance information; or
The UE assistance information is further configured to indicate a RRC state that the terminal expects to enter, wherein the UE assistance information indicates the RRC state that the terminal expects to enter in an explicit manner and/or an implicit manner
Jin at least teaches:
The UE assistance information is further configured to indicate a RRC state that the terminal expects to enter, wherein the UE assistance information indicates the RRC state that the terminal expects to enter in an explicit manner and/or an implicit manner
Jin states that “the RRC message is a user equipment assistance information message; or the RRC message is a release message requested by the user equipment; or the RRC message is a suspend message requested by user equipment” (Bao col. 6, lines 3-7). If the user equipment assistance message fulfills the same purpose as a “RRC release message” or a “suspend message”, this at least amounts to an “implicit” indication of “the RRC state that the terminal expects to enter”.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Jin’s use of user equipment assistance information into Bao’s method for indicating a paging restriction. Jin’s method achieves the same result as Bao’s using a different type of signaling, making it an obvious alternative.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bao (US 12,245,188 B2) in view of Luetzenkirchen et al. (US 2022/0272660 A1, hereinafter “Luetzenkirchen”).
As to Claim 14:
Bao teaches:
The network-side device comprises a core network
Bao states that the network device can be a core network device and describes the base station’s role as a relay between the core network and a user equipment (Bao col. 3, lines 45-48).
Bao does not explicitly disclose:
The inactive paging restriction information is carried in at least one of:
A service request message; or
Registration request signaling
However, Luetzenkirchen does describe a method for a UE with multiple SIM cards to send a message to a network device to restrict paging.
Specifically, from this list, Luetzenkirchen teaches:
The inactive paging restriction information is carried in ... A service request message
Paragraph 0087 of Luetzenkirchen states that “the SERVICE REQUEST message ... optionally includes the Paging restriction IE” (Luetzenkirchen, 0087).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Bao’s message to use a service request message to send the paging restriction information, as described in Bao. This use of a paging restriction information element is defined in TS 24.501 of the 3GPP standard and would thus be known to one of ordinary skill of the art.
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bao () in view of Kumar et al. (US 12,302,231 B2, hereinafter “Kumar”).
As to Claim 26:
Bao at least teaches:
The core network receives the inactive paging restriction information from the base station
Bao states that the network device can be a core network device and describes the base station’s role as a relay between the core network and a user equipment (Bao col. 3, lines 45-48).
And from the list of:
Sending configuration information to the base station, wherein the configuration information is configured to configure the base station to send the inactive paging restriction information to the core network after indicating the terminal to enter the inactive state; or
The core network receives the inactive paging restriction information from the terminal, and the inactive paging restriction information is carried in at least one of: a service request message; or registration request signaling;
Wherein restricting the paging of the terminal when the terminal is in the inactive state according to the condition comprises: sending the inactive paging restriction information to one or more base stations, and indicating the one or more base stations to restrict the paging of the terminal according to the condition in the inactive paging restriction information;
Wherein the one or more base stations comprises at least one of: base stations in a radio access network (RAN) notification area (RNA) where the terminal is located; or one or more base stations connected to the terminal;
Wherein the inactive paging restriction information is carried in radio resource control (RRC) inactive assistance information and sent to the one or more base stations connected to the terminal; and/or the inactive paging restriction information is carried in a mobility restriction list information unit and sent to the base stations in the RNA where the terminal is located
Bao at least teaches:
Send the inactive paging restriction information to the core network
Bao states that the network device can be a core network device and describes the base station’s role as a relay between the core network and a user equipment (Bao col. 3, lines 45-48).
Bao does not explicitly disclose:
Sending configuration information to the base station
The configuration information is configured to configure the base station to send ... to the core network after indicating the terminal to enter the inactive state
However, Kumar does describe methods for a UE with multiple SIM cards to manage the cards’ paging sessions.
Specifically, Kumar teaches:
Sending configuration information to the base station
Fig. 7 in Kumar shows a method for a UE to switch SIM networks. Here, the “NAS/RRC signalling” in step 3 maps to “sending configuration information to the base station”.
The configuration information is configured to configure the base station to send ... to the after indicating the terminal to enter the inactive state
The base station’s “connection release” response in step 4 of Fig. 7 maps to “indicat[ing] the terminal to enter the inactive state”. Elsewhere, Kumar describes the role of a gNB (i.e. “the base station”) in relaying between a UE and the core network (Kumar col. 18, lines 45-50).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transition the SIM card described in Bao to the inactive state using the RRC release message taught in Kumar. A RRC release message is a common signal used to end a RRC connection, so it would be obvious to use it to deactivate the UE.
Conclusion
/B.P.W./Examiner, Art Unit 2477
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477