DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on January 25, 2024 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Objections
Claims 12 and 24 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Consider claim 12, the phrase “deriving the security key using key derivation function in accordance with the configuration” lacks an article preceding “key derivation function”.
Consider claim 24, the phrase “a downlink control information message at indicates a security key derivation status resulting from the comparing” is unclear, and should read “a downlink control information message that indicates a security key derivation status resulting from the comparing”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC 103
rejections set forth in this Office action:
Claims 1, 2, 9-11, 21-23, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuda et al. (US 20080304658 A1) in view of Laddu et al. (WO 2021063518 A1).
Consider claim 1, Yuda et al. disclose a method comprising:
determining one or more eigenvalues or eigenvectors based at least in part on a channel estimation of a channel associated with the downlink reference signal (see Figure 4, the pilot signals in ST410 are interpretably downlink reference signals. In step ST420 “the channel estimating section 204 carries out channel estimation for each channel” (see Figure 2, paragraph 0048). A channel matrix of MIMO channels is generated from this channel estimate in step ST430, from which the eigenvalue of the MIMO channels is determined (see paragraphs 0049-0051)); and
communicating, with the base station, via the communications secured using a security key derived using the one or more eigenvalues or eigenvectors (see Figure 4, in step ST450 “a private key is generated using the maximum eigenvalue selected in Step ST440” (see paragraph 0062). Following confirmation of the key, in step ST480 the “BS and MS start radio communication using the private keys that are generated individually” (see paragraph 0066)).
However, Yuda et al. fail to disclose a method comprising:
receiving, from a base station, a control message indicating a configuration for a security key generation procedure for communications between the UE and the base station;
transmitting, to the base station, a sounding reference signal using one or more first antennas of a plurality of antennas in accordance with the configuration; and
receiving, from the base station, a downlink reference signal using the one or more first antennas in accordance with the configuration.
In the same field of endeavor, Laddu et al. disclose a method comprising:
receiving, from a base station, a control message indicating a configuration for a security key generation procedure for communications between the UE and the base station (see Figure 1, wireless terminal 110 and the third network node 120 may be interpreted as a UE and base station, respectively. Figure 2 depicts where “In an alternative embodiment, third wireless node is configured to generate the security key on the basis of the channel estimation information and block 220 comprises [the UE] receiving the security key from third wireless node” (see Page 6, lines 32-34). Figure 5 additionally depicts a message 510 from the base station to the UE wherein “channel estimation timing information is included…on the basis of which second wireless node 110 initiates channel measurement, e.g. adapts to receive CSI-RS message in accordance with the received channel measurement resource information” (see Page 11, lines 15-18));
transmitting, to the base station, a sounding reference signal using one or more first antennas of a plurality of antennas in accordance with the configuration (“In some embodiments, channel estimation may be performed at the secondary wireless node(s) 130, 140 based on sounding reference signals (SRS) transmitted by the second wireless node 110” (see Page 10, lines 25-27). Figure 6 depicts a “device 600, which may comprise, for example, first wireless terminal node 110” (see Page 13, lines 11-12), and may additionally include a transmitter 630 that itself may comprise more than one transmitter (see Page 14, line 24). It follows that transmissions from device 600 would use or more of a plurality of antennas attached to the transmitter 630); and
receiving, from the base station, a downlink reference signal using the one or more first antennas in accordance with the configuration (“In some embodiments, channel estimation may be performed using channel state information-reference signals (CSI-RS) from third wireless node 130 to the second wireless node 110” (see Page 10, lines 20-22). Figure 6 depicts a “device 600, which may comprise, for example, first wireless terminal node 110” (see Page 13, lines 11-12), and may additionally include a receiver 640 that itself may comprise more than one receiver (see Page 14, lines 24-25). It follows that device 600 would use or more of a plurality of antennas attached to the receiver 640 to receive signals).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Yuda et al. to communicate according to a configuration for a security key generation procedure indicated by the base station as disclosed by Laddu et al. in order to optimize resource usage by aligning the communications between the UE and base station to a predetermined format.
Consider claim 2, and as applied to claim 1 above, Yuda et al., as modified by Laddu et al., disclose a method comprising:
transmitting, to the base station, an indication of the one or more eigenvalues or eigenvectors (see Figure 4, the confirmation signal sent in ST460 indicates whether the eigenvalue-derived keys match); and
receiving, from the base station, a downlink control information message that indicates a security key derivation status, wherein the UE communicates with the base station based at least in part on the security key derivation status (see Figure 4, the irreversible conversion signal sent in ST460. The signal indicates that the BS has derived a plurality of private keys; based on the contents the UE responds with a confirmation of whether or not these keys match with the locally derived keys (see paragraph 0063)).
Consider claim 9, and as applied to claim 1 above, Yuda et al., as modified by Laddu et al., disclose a method comprising: deriving the security key using a quantized value of the one or more eigenvalues or eigenvectors in accordance with the configuration (see Figure 3, “the quantization section 327 quantizes in a predetermined number of quantization bits the magnitude of the maximum eigenvalue inputted from the eigenvalue selection section 317 to generate quantization data, and inputs the generated quantization data to the key generating section 337. Then, the key generating section 337 generates a private key by
repeating or replacing this quantization data by a predetermined scheme” (see paragraph 0062)).
Consider claim 10, and as applied to claim 1 above, Yuda et al., as modified by Laddu et al., disclose a method comprising: deriving the security key using the one or more eigenvalues or eigenvectors using a hash function, a security key derivation function, or a combination thereof, in accordance with the configuration (see Figure 2, the private key generating section 207 is interpretable as a security key derivation function).
Consider claim 11, and as applied to claim 1 above, Yuda et al., as modified by Laddu et al., disclose a method comprising: receiving an indication of one or more quantization levels used to determine a value for the one or more eigenvalues or eigenvectors, wherein the value is used to derive the security key (“The quantization section 327 quantizes in a predetermined number of quantization bits the magnitude of the maximum eigenvalue inputted from the eigenvalue selection section 317 to generate quantization data and inputs the generated quantization data to the key generating section 337”, which uses the quantization data to generate a private key (see Figure 3, paragraphs 0043-0044)).
Consider claim 21, and as applied to claim 1 above, Yuda et al. as modified by Laddu et al., disclose a method further comprising: determining that the one or more eigenvalues or eigenvectors determined at the UE are different from base station computed one or more eigenvalues or eigenvectors (see Figure 4, “if the signals to that the irreversible conversion is applied do not match, MS discards the private key generated at MS and starts from Step
ST410-2 again” (see paragraph 0065); and
retransmitting the one or more sounding reference signal based at least in part on the determining (step ST410 consists of exchange of pilot signals between UE and BS, interpretable
as SRSs (see Figure 4)).
Consider claim 22, and as applied to claim 1 above, Yuda et al. fail to disclose a method wherein receiving the downlink reference signal comprises receiving a channel state information reference signal.
In the same field of endeavor, Laddu et al. disclose a method wherein receiving the downlink reference signal comprises receiving a channel state information reference signal (“In some embodiments, channel estimation may be performed using channel state information-reference signals (CSI-RS) from third wireless node 130 to the second wireless node 110” (see Page 10, lines 20-22)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Yuda et al. such that receiving the downlink reference signal comprises receiving a channel state information reference signal as taught by Laddu et al. in order to transmit channel quality information for the UE to reference during communication.
Consider claim 23, Yuda et al. disclose a method comprising:
determining one or more one or more eigenvalues or eigenvectors based at least in part on a channel estimation of a channel associated with the sounding reference signal (see Figure 4, the pilot signals in ST410 are interpretably downlink reference signals. In step ST420 “the channel estimating section 204 carries out channel estimation for each channel” (see Figure 2, paragraph 0048). A channel matrix of MIMO channels is generated from this channel estimate in step ST430, from which the eigenvalue of the MIMO channels is determined (see paragraphs 0049-0051)); and
communicating, with the UE, via the communications secured using a security key
derived using the one or more eigenvalues or eigenvectors (see Figure 4, in step ST450 “a private key is generated using the maximum eigenvalue selected in Step ST440” (see paragraph 0062). Following confirmation of the key, in step ST480 the “BS and MS start radio communication using the private keys that are generated individually” (see paragraph 0066)).
However, Yuda et al. fail to disclose a method comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a control message indicating a configuration for a security key generation procedure for communications between the UE and the base station;
receiving, from the UE, a sounding reference signal in accordance with the configuration; and
transmitting, to the UE, a downlink reference signal in accordance with the configuration.
In the same field, Laddu et al. disclose a method comprising: transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a control message indicating a configuration for a security key generation procedure for communications between the UE and the base station (see Figure 1, wireless terminal 110 and the third network node 120 may be interpreted as a UE and base station, respectively. Figure 2 depicts where “In an alternative embodiment, third wireless node is configured to generate the security key on the basis of the channel estimation information and block 220 comprises [the UE] receiving the security key from third wireless node” (see Page 6, lines 32-34));
receiving, from the UE, a sounding reference signal in accordance with the configuration
(“In some embodiments, channel estimation may be performed at the secondary wireless node(s) 130, 140 based on sounding reference signals (SRS) transmitted by the second wireless node 110” (see Page 10, lines 25-27)); and
transmitting, to the UE, a downlink reference signal in accordance with the configuration (“In some embodiments, channel estimation may be performed using channel state information-reference signals (CSI-RS) from third wireless node 130 to the second wireless node 110” (see Page 10, lines 20-22)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Yuda et al. to communicate according to a configuration for a security key generation procedure indicated by the base station as disclosed by Laddu et al. in order to optimize resource usage by aligning the communications between the UE and base station to predetermined format.
Consider claim 28, and as applied to claim 23 above, Yuda et al., as modified by Laddu et al., disclose a method further comprising: transmitting, to the UE, an indication of the one or more eigenvalues or eigenvectors computed by the base station (see Figure 4, the irreversible conversion signal sent in ST460 is based on the keys, themselves derived from the eigenvalues).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuda et al. (US 20080304658 A1) in view of Laddu et al. (WO 2021063518 A1), and further in view of Fu (US 20180109372 A1).
Consider claim 3, and as applied to claim 2 above, Yuda et al. as modified by Laddu et al. fail to disclose wherein transmitting the indication of the one or more eigenvalues or eigenvectors comprises: transmitting a hash value of the one or more eigenvalues or eigenvectors.
In the same field of endeavor, Fu discloses a method wherein transmitting the indication
of the one or more eigenvalues or eigenvectors comprises: transmitting a hash value of the one or more eigenvalues or eigenvectors (the derivation process of a quantum key comprises eigenvalue analysis of quantum states (see paragraph 0042). Referring to Figure 6, operation 614, the first entity “calculates a hash function of the key and the key-generation parameters, and then transmits the encrypted key-generation parameters and hash function to second entity” (see paragraph 0095)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Yuda et al. as modified by Laddu et al. such that transmitting the indication of the one or more eigenvalues or eigenvectors comprises transmitting a hash value of the one or more eigenvalues or eigenvectors as taught by Fu in order to transmit the eigenvector information more efficiently.
Claims 4-7, 12, 17-19, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuda et al. (US 20080304658 A1) in view of Laddu et al. (WO 2021063518 A1), and further in view of Lee et al. (WO 2017172969 A1), hereinafter Lee(#969).
Consider claim 4, and as applied to claim 1 above, Yuda et al. as modified by Laddu et al. fail to disclose a method wherein communicating with the base station comprises: transmitting, to the base station, an uplink control information message that is encoded using the security key.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee(#969) disclose wherein communicating with the base station comprises: transmitting, to the base station, an uplink control information message that is encoded using the security key (“the PDCCH message may be encrypted by the base station using an encryption key…the examples described herein may change uplink control resources (e.g., PUCCH resources) for devices over time to increase security and securely indicate the time-varying uplink control resources to avoid jamming of the UE on the uplink” (see paragraph 0041). A PUCCH carries messages encrypted using a security key, the transmission of uplink control information on said PUCCH is inherent).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Yuda et al. and modified by Laddu et al. such that communicating with the base station comprises transmitting, to the base station, an uplink control information message that is encoded using the security key as taught by Lee(#969) in order to enhance the system security by preventing interception of the UCI by a third party.
Consider claim 5, and as applied to claim 4 above, Yuda et al. as modified by Laddu et al. fail to disclose a method wherein transmitting the uplink control information message that includes an acknowledgement corresponding to the downlink reference signal.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee(#969) disclose a method comprising: transmitting the uplink control information message that includes an acknowledgement corresponding to the downlink reference signal (in response to a reference signal 415 from the BS (see Figure 4), “the UE 115-a may then transmit uplink control information to the base station 105-a. The uplink control information may include at least one of a scheduling request (SR), an acknowledgement (ACK) message” (see paragraph 0064)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Yuda et al. and modified by Laddu et al. to incorporate transmitting an uplink control information message that includes an acknowledgement corresponding to the downlink reference signal as taught by Lee(#969) in order to confirm successful receipt of the downlink reference signal by the UE,
preventing data loss in case the signal is lost or otherwise corrupted.
Consider claim 6, and as applied to claim 4 above, Yuda et al., as modified by Ludda et al. and Lee(#969),disclose a method comprising receiving, from the base station, a downlink control information message that indicates a security key derivation status (see Figure 4, the irreversible conversion signal in step ST460),
wherein the UE communicates with the base station based at least in part on the security key derivation status (see Figure 4, following the exchange of signals indicating the security key derivation status in step ST460 the derived keys are compared, and if they match encrypted communication commences in step ST480).
Consider claim 7, and as applied to claim 6 above, Yuda et al. as modified by Laddu et al. fail to disclose a method wherein receiving the downlink control information message comprises: receiving the downlink control information message that is encoded using the security key derived at the base station; and decoding the downlink control information message using the security key derived by the UE.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee(#969) disclose a method wherein receiving the downlink control information message comprises: receiving the downlink control information message that is encoded using the security key derived at the base station (“The base station 105-a may then generate an encoded message that includes the allocation of resources and in particular, the shared pattern of resources allocated for uplink control information for the UE 115-a…the encoded message may be encrypted in a PDCCH message. The encrypted PDCCH message may be encrypted using an encryption key…the encryption key may be derived based on a shared key associated with the base station 105-a and the UE 115-a, such as a KeNB” (see paragraph 0059)); and
decoding the downlink control information message using the security key derived by the UE (“the PDCCH encryption key may be derived by the UE 115-a based on a shared key associated with the UE 115-a and the base station 105-a…UE 115-a may decrypt the encrypted PDCCH message to obtain an encoded message and may then decode the encoded message to obtain the allocation of resources.” (see paragraph 0063)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Yuda et al. and modified by Laddu et al. such that receiving the downlink control information message comprises: receiving the downlink control information message that is encoded using the security key derived at the base station; and decoding the downlink control information message using the security key derived by the UE as taught by Lee(#969) in order to enhance system security by preventing interception of the DCI by a third party.
Consider claim 12, and as applied to claim 1 above, Yuda et al. as modified by Laddu et al. disclose a method further comprising: deriving the security key using key derivation function in accordance with the configuration (see Figure 2, the private key generating section 207 is interpretable as a security key derivation function).
However, Yuda et al. as modified by Laddu et al. fail to disclose wherein the UE communicates with the base station using a physical downlink shared channel transmission, a physical uplink shared channel transmission, a medium access control layer control element message, a physical uplink control channel transmission, or a combination thereof that is secured using the security key.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee(#969) disclose a method wherein the UE communicates with the base station using a physical uplink control channel transmission that is secured using the security key (“the PDCCH message may be encrypted by the base station using an encryption key…the examples described herein may change uplink control resources (e.g., PUCCH resources) for devices over time to increase security and securely indicate the time-varying uplink control resources to avoid jamming of the UE on the uplink” (see paragraph 0041)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Yuda et al. and modified by Laddu et al. such that the UE communicates with the base station using a physical uplink control channel transmission that is secured using the security key as taught by Lee(#969) in order to enhance system security by preventing interception of security key-related communications by a third party.
Consider claim 17, and as applied to claim 1 above, Yuda et al. as modified by Laddu et al. fail to disclose a method comprising encoding one or more fields in a physical uplink control channel transmission, a physical uplink shared channel transmission, or both, using the security key.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee(#969) disclose a method comprising encoding one or more fields in a physical uplink control channel transmission, a physical uplink shared channel transmission, or both, using the security key (“the PDCCH message may be encrypted by the base station using an encryption key…the examples described herein may change uplink control resources (e.g., PUCCH resources) for devices over time to increase security and securely indicate the time-varying uplink control resources to avoid jamming of the UE on the uplink” (see paragraph 0041)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Yuda et al. and modified by Laddu et al. to include encoding one or more fields in a physical uplink control channel transmission, a physical uplink shared channel transmission, or both, using the security key as taught by Lee(#969) in order to enhance system security by preventing interception of physical channel communications by a third party.
Consider claim 18, and as applied to claim 1 above, Yuda et al. as modified by Laddu et al. fail to disclose a method comprising decoding one or more fields in a downlink control information message using the security key.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee(#969) disclose a method comprising decoding one or more fields in a downlink control information message using the security key (“After obtaining the PDCCH encryption key, the UE 1 15-a may decrypt a PDCCH message transmitted (e.g., transmitted over communication link 205) from the base station 105-a to the UE 1 15-a” (see paragraph 0063)). Said PDCCH message may include a field comprising “the time varying allocation of resources” (see paragraph 0013).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Yuda et al. and modified by Laddu et al. to include decoding one or more fields in a downlink control information message using the security key as taught by Lee(#969) in order to access
information from the DCI message using the shared security key.
Consider claim 19, and as applied to claim 18 above, Yuda et al. as modified by Laddu et al. fail to disclose a method wherein the one or more fields comprise a redundancy value index, a modulation and coding scheme index, a time domain resource assignment index, a frequency domain resource assignment index, or a combination thereof.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee(#969) disclose a method wherein the one or more
fields comprise a redundancy value index, a modulation and coding scheme index, a time domain resource assignment index, a frequency domain resource assignment index, or a combination thereof (“According to some aspects, the base station 105-a may include an uplink control manager used to identify an allocation of resources for transmission of uplink control information for the UE 115-a. The allocation of resources may include a shared pattern of resources, which may be shared between the base station 105-a and the UE 115-a. The shared pattern of resources may be periodic in which one or more resources allocated to the UE 115-a may repeat throughout the time domain or frequency domain. The allocation of resources may also include a hopping sequence that identifies the specific resources allocated for uplink control information for the UE 115-a” (see paragraph 0057). Subsequently, “The base station 105-a may then generate an encoded message that includes the allocation of resources and in particular, the shared pattern of resources allocated for uplink control information for the UE 115-a…the encoded message may be encrypted in a PDCCH message” (see paragraph 0059)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Yuda et al. and modified by Laddu et al. such that the one or more fields comprise a redundancy value index, a modulation and coding scheme index, a time domain resource assignment index, a frequency domain resource assignment index, or a combination thereof as taught by Lee(#969) in order to better optimize the security key derivation process for resource conservation.
Consider claim 27, and as applied to claim 23, Yuda et al. as modified by Laddu et al. fail to disclose a method comprising receiving, from the UE, an uplink control information message that is encoded using the security key derived at the UE; and decoding the uplink control information message using the security key.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee(#969) disclose a method comprising receiving, from the UE, an uplink control information message that is encoded using the security key derived at the UE (“the PDCCH message may be encrypted by the base station using an encryption key…the examples described herein may change uplink control resources (e.g., PUCCH resources) for devices over time to increase security and securely indicate the time-varying uplink control resources to avoid jamming of the UE on the uplink (see paragraph 0041)); and
decoding the uplink control information message using the security key (“UE 1 15-c may receive the encrypted PDCCH and optionally the encryption key transmitted by the base station 105-c at 415 and 420 respectively. The UE 1 15-c may then decrypt the encrypted PDCCH using the encryption key transmitted at 420 or by using an encryption key derived by the UE 1 15-c…Advantageously, the examples described herein may change uplink control resources (e.g., PUCCH resources) for devices over time to increase security and securely indicate the time-varying uplink control resources to avoid or prevent a jamming device from jamming uplink communication by a UE” (see Figure 4, paragraphs 0094 and 0096)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Yuda et al. and modified by Laddu et al. to include receiving, from the UE, an uplink control information message that is encoded using the security key derived at the UE; and decoding the uplink control information message using the security key as taught by Lee(#969) in order to enhance system security by preventing interception of channel communications by a third party.
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuda et al. (US 20080304658 A1) in view of Laddu et al. (WO 2021063518 A1), and further in view of
Sayana et al. (US 20100238984 A1).
Consider claim 13, and as applied to claim 1, Yuda et al. as modified by Laddu et al. fail to disclose determining the one or more eigenvalues or eigenvectors using one or more resources in accordance with the configuration.
In the same field of endeavor, Sayana et al. disclose determining the one or more eigenvalues or eigenvectors using one or more resources in accordance with the configuration (“A narrow band covariance matrix is accumulated over subcarriers that encompass a small portion of the operational bandwidth (referred to as subband). A subband may comprise a one or more resource blocks where a resource block comprises a plurality of subcarriers. A wideband or broadband covariance matrix is accumulated over the entire system bandwidth or a large portion of the band” (see paragraph 0029). Said covariance matrix “can be approximated by its Eigen decomposition structure” (see paragraph 0044) for efficiency of transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Yuda et al. and modified by Laddu et al. to include determining the one or more eigenvalues or eigenvectors using one or more resources in accordance with the configuration as taught by Sayana et al. in order to pre-determine the necessary resources for the security key derivation process.
Consider claim 14, and as applied to claim 13, Yuda et al. as modified by Laddu et al. fail to disclose wherein the one or more resources are contiguous or non-contiguous resource elements, contiguous or non-contiguous resource blocks, contiguous or non-contiguous physical resource block groups, a wideband frequency band, or a combination thereof.
In the same field of endeavor, Sayana et al. disclose wherein the one or more resources are contiguous or non-contiguous resource elements, contiguous or non-contiguous resource blocks, contiguous or non-contiguous physical resource block groups, a wideband frequency band, or a combination thereof (“A narrow band covariance matrix is accumulated over subcarriers that encompass a small portion of the operational bandwidth (referred to as subband). A subband may comprise a one or more resource blocks where a resource block comprises a plurality of subcarriers. A wideband or broadband covariance matrix is accumulated over the entire system bandwidth or a large portion of the band” (see paragraph 0029). Said covariance matrix “can be approximated by its Eigen decomposition structure” (see paragraph 0044) for efficiency of transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Yuda et al. and modified by Laddu et al. to include wherein the one or more resources are contiguous or non-contiguous resource elements, contiguous or non-contiguous resource blocks, contiguous or non-contiguous physical resource block groups, a wideband frequency band, or a combination thereof as taught by Sayana et al. in order to pre-determine the necessary resources for the security key derivation process.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuda et al. (US 20080304658 A1) in view of Laddu et al. (WO 2021063518 A1), and further in view of Lee et al. (US 9603139 B2), hereinafter Lee(#139).
Consider claim 15, and as applied to claim 1 above, Yuda et al. as modified by Laddu et
al. fail to disclose receiving the control message that configures an uplink resource for transmitting the sounding reference signal and a downlink resource for receiving the downlink reference signal, wherein the uplink resource is quasi-co located with the downlink resource.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee(#139) disclose receiving the control message that configures an uplink resource for transmitting the sounding reference signal and a downlink resource for receiving the downlink reference signal, wherein the uplink resource is quasi-co located with the downlink resource (“an eNB may inform a UE of information of quasi co-location property between reference signals to be assumed to be the same between two types of resources through a pre-defined signal. That is, quasi co-location property based on specific large-scale property between CRS and DM-RS (or CRS and CSI-RS) configured on an uplink resource, use of which is changed, may also be applied without change” (see Col. 22, lines 41-48)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Yuda et al. and modified by Laddu et al. to include receiving a control message that configures an uplink resource for transmitting the sounding reference signal and a downlink resource for receiving the downlink reference signal, wherein the uplink resource is quasi-co located with the downlink resource as taught by Lee(#139) in order to more efficiently allocate UE resources.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuda et al. (US 20080304658 A1) in view of Laddu et al. (WO 2021063518 A1), and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 20190044681).
Consider claim 16, and as applied to claim 1 above, Yuda et al. as modified by Laddu et
al. fail to disclose receiving the control message that configures a bandwidth part for transmitting the sounding reference signal and receiving the downlink reference signal, wherein the sounding reference signal is transmitted and the downlink reference signal is received on the bandwidth part in accordance with the configuration.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang discloses wherein receiving the control message comprises: receiving the control message that configures a bandwidth part for transmitting the sounding reference signal and receiving the downlink reference signal, wherein the sounding reference signal is transmitted and the downlink reference signal is received on the bandwidth part in accordance with the configuration (“the UE is configured with multiple bandwidth parts (BWPs) or multiple component carriers (CCs), and the bandwidth part (BWP) index and the component carrier (CC) index for the downlink reference signal for path loss estimation is configured by higher layer signaling and mapped to each SRS resource” (see paragraph 0118)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Yuda et al. and modified by Laddu et al. to include a control message that configures a bandwidth part for transmitting the sounding reference signal and receiving the downlink reference signal, wherein the sounding reference signal is transmitted and the downlink reference signal is received on the bandwidth part in accordance with the configuration as taught by Zhang in order to align the UE and BS on predetermined bandwidth parts and prevent signal interference.
Claims 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laddu et al. (WO 2021063518 A1) in view of Yuda et al. (US 20080304658 A1).
Consider Claim 29, Laddu et al. disclose a user equipment (UE) for wireless communications, comprising: a processor (see Figure 6, “device 600, which may comprise, for example, first wireless terminal node 110… Comprised in device 600 is processor 610” (see Page 13, lines 11-12 and 16));
memory coupled with the processor (see Figure 6, element 620 is a memory which “may be at least in part accessible to processor 610” (see Page 14, line 10). Alternatively, ”Memory 620 may be at least in part comprised in processor 610” (see Page 14, line 11)); and
instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the UE to: receive, from a base station, a control message indicating a configuration for a security key generation procedure for communications between the UE and the base station (see Figure 1, wireless terminal 110 and the third network node 120 may be interpreted as a UE and base station, respectively. Figure 2 depicts where “In an alternative embodiment, third wireless node is configured to generate the security key on the basis of the channel estimation information and block 220 comprises [the UE] receiving the security key from third wireless node” (see Page 6, lines 32-34). Figure 5 additionally depicts a message 510 from the base station to the UE wherein “channel estimation timing information is included…on the basis of which second wireless node 110 initiates channel measurement, e.g. adapts to receive CSI-RS message in accordance with the received channel measurement resource information” (see Page 11, lines 15-18))
transmit, to the base station, a sounding reference signal using one or more first antennas of a plurality of antennas in accordance with the configuration (“In some embodiments, channel estimation may be performed at the secondary wireless node(s) 130, 140 based on sounding reference signals (SRS) transmitted by the second wireless node 110” (see Page 10, lines 25-27). Figure 6 depicts a “device 600, which may comprise, for example, first wireless terminal node 110” (see Page 13, lines 11-12), and may additionally include a transmitter 630 that itself may comprise more than one transmitter (see Page 14, line 24). It follows that transmissions from device 600 would use or more of a plurality of antennas attached to the transmitter 630);
receive, from the base station, a downlink reference signal using the one or more first antennas in accordance with the configuration (“In some embodiments, channel estimation may be performed using channel state information-reference signals (CSI-RS) from third wireless node 130 to the second wireless node 110” (see Page 10, lines 20-22). Figure 6 depicts a “device 600, which may comprise, for example, first wireless terminal node 110” (see Page 13, lines 11-12), and may additionally include a receiver 640 that itself may comprise more than one receiver (see Page 14, lines 24-25). It follows that device 600 would use or more of a
plurality of antennas attached to the transmitter 630 to receive signals);
However, Laddu et al. fail to disclose a UE configured to determine one or more eigenvalues or eigenvectors based at least in part on a channel estimation of a channel associated with the downlink reference signal; and communicate, with the base station, via the communications secured using a security key derived using the one or more eigenvalues or
eigenvectors.
In the same field of endeavor, Yuda et al. disclose a UE configured to determine one or more eigenvalues or eigenvectors based at least in part on a channel estimation of a channel associated with the downlink reference signal (see Figure 4, the pilot signals in ST410 are interpretably downlink reference signals. In step ST420 “the channel estimating section 204 carries out channel estimation for each channel” (see Figure 2, paragraph 0048). A channel matrix of MIMO channels is generated from this channel estimate in step ST430, from which the eigenvalue of the MIMO channels is determined (see paragraphs 0049-0051)); and
communicate, with the base station, via the communications secured using a security key derived using the one or more eigenvalues or eigenvectors (see Figure 4, in step ST450 “a private key is generated using the maximum eigenvalue selected in Step ST440” (see paragraph 0062). Following confirmation of the key, in step ST480 the “BS and MS start radio communication using the private keys that are generated individually” (see paragraph 0066)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the user equipment disclosed by Laddu et al. to use eigenvalue decomposition in the security key derivation process as taught by Yuda et al. in order to employ a reliable and precise method for deriving physical reference information
from the reference signal.
Consider claim 30, Laddu et al disclose a base station comprising: a processor (see Figure 6, “device 600, which may comprise, for example…wireless network node 120 or 130 of Figure 1…Comprised in device 600 is processor 610” (see Page 13, lines 11-12 and 16));
memory coupled with the processor (see Figure 6, element 620 is a memory which “may
be at least in part accessible to processor 610” (see Page 14, line 10). Alternatively, ”Memory 620 may be at least in part comprised in processor 610” (see Page 14, line 11)); and
instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the UE to: transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a control message indicating a configuration for a security key generation procedure for communications between the UE and the base station (see Figure 1, wireless terminal 110 and the third network node 120 may be interpreted as a UE and base station, respectively. Figure 2 depicts where “In an alternative embodiment, third wireless node is configured to generate the security key on the basis of the channel estimation information and block 220 comprises [the UE] receiving the security key from third wireless node” (see Page 6, lines 32-34). Figure 5 depicts a message 510 from the base station to the UE wherein “channel estimation timing information is included…on the basis of which second wireless node 110 initiates channel measurement, e.g. adapts to receive CSI-RS message in accordance with the received channel measurement resource information” (see Page 11, lines 15-18))
receive, from the UE, a sounding reference signal in accordance with the configuration (“In some embodiments, channel estimation may be performed at the secondary wireless node(s) 130, 140 based on sounding reference signals (SRS) transmitted by the second wireless node 110” (see Page 10, lines 25-27));
transmit, to the UE, a downlink reference signal in accordance with the configuration (“In some embodiments, channel estimation may be performed using channel state information-reference signals (CSI-RS) from third wireless node 130 to the second wireless node 110” (see Page 10, lines 20-22))
However, Laddu et al. fail to disclose a base station configured to determine one or more one or more eigenvalues or eigenvectors based at least in part on a channel estimation of a channel associated with the sounding reference signal; and communicate, with the UE, via the communications secured using a security key derived using the one or more eigenvalues or
eigenvectors.
In the same field of endeavor, Yuda et al. disclose a base station configured to: determine one or more one or more eigenvalues or eigenvectors based at least in part on a channel estimation of a channel associated with the sounding reference signal (see Figure 4, the pilot signals in ST410 are interpretably downlink reference signals. In step ST420 “the channel estimating section 204 carries out channel estimation for each channel” (see Figure 2, paragraph 0048). A channel matrix of MIMO channels is generated from this channel estimate in step ST430, from which the eigenvalue of the MIMO channels is determined (see paragraphs 0049-0051)); and
communicate, with the UE, via the communications secured using a security key derived using the one or more eigenvalues or eigenvectors (see Figure 4, in step ST450 “a private key is generated using the maximum eigenvalue selected in Step ST440” (see paragraph 0062). Following confirmation of the key, in step ST480 the “BS and MS start radio communication using the private keys that are generated individually” (see paragraph 0066)). .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the base station disclosed by Laddu et al. to use eigenvalue decomposition in the security key derivation process as taught by Yuda et al. in order to employ a reliable and precise method for deriving physical reference information from the reference signal.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 20, and 24-26 are objected to objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Consider claim 8, the best prior art found during the examination of the present application, Yuda et al., fail to fully disclose specifically the limitation of receiving, via the downlink reference signal, an indication of base station computed one or more eigenvalues or eigenvectors; comparing, the one or more eigenvalues or eigenvectors computed by the UE to the base station computed one or more eigenvalues or eigenvectors; and deriving the security key using the one or more eigenvalues or eigenvectors, or both, based at least in part on a result of the comparing. Yuda et al. disclose a method wherein the UE compares security keys which are independently derived by the BS and UE from eigenvalues/eigenvectors, however the reference fails to teach wherein the security key is derived based at least in part on a result of the comparing.
Consider claim 20, the best prior art found during the examination of the present application, Seo et al. (CA 3030543 A1), fail to fully disclose specifically the limitation of determining, based at least in part on a value of the security key, a subset of search spaces of a plurality of search spaces configured at the UE or one or more blind search parameters; and performing blind decoding in the subset of search spaces, using the one or more blind search parameters, or both. Seo et al. disclose a method wherein “The CORESET (control resource set) may be a set of resources for control signal transmission and the search space may be aggregation of control channel candidates for perform blind detection. The search space may be configured for the CORESET. For example, when one search space is defined on one CORESET, a CORESET for a common search space (CSS) and a CORESET for a UE-specific search space (USS) may each be configured. As another example, a plurality of search spaces may be defined in one CORESET” (see paragraph 61), wherein blind decoding may be performed on control channel candidates within one or several such CORESETs. However, the reference fails to teach wherein this subset of search spaces is based at least in part on a value of the security key.
Consider claim 24, the best prior art found during the examination of the present application, Yuda et al., fail to fully disclose specifically the limitation of comparing, the one or more eigenvalues or eigenvectors computed by the base station to the UE computed one or more eigenvalues or eigenvectors; and transmitting, to the UE, a downlink control information message at indicates a security key derivation status resulting from the comparing, wherein the UE communicates with the base station based at least in part on the security key derivation status. Yuda et al. disclose a method wherein the UE compares security keys which are independently derived by the BS and UE from eigenvalues/eigenvectors as well as wherein the UE communicates with the base station based at least in part on the security key derivation status. However, the reference fails to teach wherein this comparison is also performed by the BS, nor a subsequent DCI that indicates a security key derivation status resulting from the comparing.
Consider claims 25 and 26, these claims are allowable as they are dependent on claim 24.
Conclusion
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at Application/Control Number: 18/508,364 Page 11 Art Unit: 2642 http:/www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, RAFAEL PEREZ-GUTIERREZ can be reached at (571)272-7915. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ALEXANDER WU/Examiner, Art Unit 2642
/Rafael Pérez-Gutiérrez/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2642
March 23, 2026