DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application claims priority to the Foreign application Filed: 20210100513, filed 07/28/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted, IDS - 01/25/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 05/13/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 22-28, 30-38, 40-41 and 43 remain pending in the application. Claims 33, 35, and 36 were amended. Claims 2-21, 29, 39, 42 and 44-84 were previously cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any
correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will
not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale
supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the
differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the
claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which
he claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner
in which the invention was made.
under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
• Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
• Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
• Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
• Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating
• obviousness or nonobviousness.
claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any
evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to
point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly
owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to
consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2)
prior art against the later invention.
Claims 1, 22-28, 30-32, 38, 41 and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alaweih et al. (US-20230319772-A1), hereinafter “Alaweih” in view of Han et al. (US-12225495-B2) hereinafter “Han”.
Regarding Claim 1,
Alawieh discloses, ‘A method of communication performed by a network node, comprising:
transmitting, to a network entity, a plurality of beam representations for a corresponding plurality of beams, wherein each beam representation of the plurality of beam representations comprises an antenna configuration associated with a beam of the plurality of beams
or a mapping of beam angle and beam gain associated with the beam,
the antenna configuration including at least a number of antenna elements and an antenna’ pattern, (Discloses, an AOD method transmit beam/antenna pattern between the NW-node/TRP and the NW-entity/LMF over NRPPs uses PRS resources-ID [0225-0226]; the determination of AOD-position method uses antenna pattern associated a plurality of beams [0027, 0030-0033]. in Fig. 2. Features implemented core entities [0025]. TRP antenna configuration and report beam to perform AOD measurement method [0035, 0040-0041]. The antenna configuration associated with the beams and the plurality of beam between the NW-node and the NW-entity/LMF as part of antenna-config and angle per beam [0044-0045]. Determination a position includes antenna pattern i.e. steering-direction and gain [0068, 0070]. The antenna-config comprises array, panel and plurality of antenna-elements [0071, 0370]. The LMF receive one/more measurement of RAN/UE, disclosure claim 13 and [0119-0122]. In Fig 4 includes beam directional-estimation and the scan-angles [0208-0210]. Communication between the TRPs (part of the BS) and the LMF AoD method. And beam gain and angle associated to the plurality of the beams depicted in IE to exemplify the implementation of AOD-position method, in Table 1 [0044] and Table [0225-0226]. Also Fig. 5 includes beam angle/direction.
Parameters included in IE,
NR-PRS-beam [Wingdings font/0xE0] PRS resource-ID [Wingdings font/0xE0] PRS angle in Table 1 and Table 2
LMF uses beam level/gain as described method- AoD enhancement by providing LMF with beam level information, section 3.2 [0208, 0210] and in Fig. 4);
And didn’t disclose, ‘antenna elements spacing’,
Han in the relevant art discloses, configuration of antenna and the antenna elements spacing Col 17 [0004-0005, 0008].
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Alawieh and to do little modification with that of Han to come up with the claim invention,
Alawieh includes determination position-based measurement and uses antenna pattern comprises antenna array, or antenna panel of plurality of antenna elements and directivity [0071]. For the antenna pattern includes gain and beam horizontal and vertical polarization [0241-0243]. An important motive to direct the beams to identify the LOS validity [0310] beam to achieve more antenna-gain uses the antenna configuration [0225]. Han includes the motive directional antenna and use of MIMO technique for RF-transmission in the positioning method to measure and receive horizontal/vertical positioning accuracy Col. 20 [0018-0019, 0022] that would increase the data transmission rate.
Alawieh discloses, ‘and transmitting, to the network entity, a first mapping of one or more positioning reference signal (PRS) resources or PRS resource sets to the plurality of beam representations, wherein each of the one or more PRS resources or PRS resource sets is associated with a single beam representation of the plurality of beam representations.’ (Communication between the TRPs (part of the BS) and the LMF; beam gain and angle associated to the PRS-resource-set. The AoD method uses the PRS resource set-ID, PRS-beam-info and beam-ID [0147, 0225-0226])
Regarding Claim 22,
Similar to Claim 1 method claim disclosed above and Fig. 9 includes device, ‘A network node, comprising:
a memory; or more transceiver; and or more one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the or more one transceiver, the or more processors, either alone or combination configured to:
transmit, via the or more one transceiver, to a network entity, a plurality of beam representations for a corresponding plurality of beams, wherein each beam representation of the plurality of beam representations comprises an antenna configuration associated with a beam of the plurality of beams or a mapping of beam angle and beam gain associated with the beam, the antenna configuration including at least a number of antenna elements and an antenna element spacing; and
transmit, via the or more one transceiver, to the network entity, a first mapping of one or more positioning reference signal (PRS) resources or PRS resource sets to the plurality of beam representations, wherein each of the one or more PRS resources or PRS resource sets is associated with a single beam representation of the plurality of beam representations.’
Regarding Claim 23,
‘The network node of claim 22’ (disclosed above),
Alawieh discloses, ‘wherein all beam representations of the plurality of beam representations comprise antenna configurations associated with the plurality of beams.’ (disclosed above in claim 1 [0044-0045].)
Regarding Claim 24,
‘The network node of claim 22’ (disclosed above),
Alawieh discloses, ‘wherein all beam representations of the plurality of beam representations comprise at least mappings of beam angles and beam gains associated with the plurality of beams.’ (disclosed above in claim 1 [0208, 0210].)
Regarding Claim 25,
‘The network node of claim 22’ (disclosed above),
Alawieh discloses, ‘wherein: a first set of beam representations of the plurality of beam representations comprises antenna configurations associated with the plurality of beams, and a second set of beam representations of the plurality of beam representations comprises at least mappings of beam angles and beam gains associated with the plurality of beams.’ (In Fig. 2 and Fig. 5 includes the plurality of beams [0027-0028, 0080-0084]. Includes the antenna pattern information and the antenna-config to be used for the set of measurements. The information about the measurement of the RS or two or more RS of two or more measurements. Further includes level of gain of the beam and beam directed towards measurements [0101-0104, 0114]. And associated beam angles/gains [0225, 0234-0236]. The plurality of beams associated to the RS and the measurement for determination of the position [0163-0166, 0171]. A cell and TRP configured multiple PRS resource set [0147-0149]. Procedure includes the PRS-resource-set associated to the plurality of beams [0225-0237] for the AOD enhancement by providing LMF with Beam level information section 3.2. And, methods: config->measurement->reporting-> assisted/provided by TRP/LMF-> accurate-AoD/beam level-gain [0241-0242].)
Regarding Claim 26,
‘The network node of claim 22’ (disclosed above),
Alawieh discloses, ‘wherein the or more processors, either alone or in combination, are [[is]] further configured to:
transmit, via the or more one transceiver, to the network entity, an indication of a time period during which the first mapping is valid.’ (disclosure includes timing measurement to one or more PRS resource-set disclosure claim 1. PRS-resources-config includes resource-map, periodicity, time-slot-offset [0149]. Includes validity of one/more measurement associated-RS. The PRS is valid [0084-0086, 0117, 0217]. Time offset in the PRS-resource-set [0351-0353]. LMF to receive the measurement from the UE/NW-node [0389] regarding beam gain and direction [0390. Determination of position and validity [0385]. And, determination of measurement comprises antennas (array, panel and antenna elements) uses transmit/receive RS measurements [0370] includes gain level and direction [0373-0375]. )
Regarding Claim 27,
‘The network node of claim 26’ (disclosed above),
Alawieh discloses, ‘wherein the indication comprises: a timestamp indicating a time
until which the first mapping is valid or a timer indicating a length of the time period during which the first mapping is valid.’ (the PRS-resource-config includes one/more parameters: resource-mapping, periodicity, time-slot offset; periodicity and time-slot offset are specific time length and time-values [0149]. PRS perform/acquisition one/more measurements till valid and specific timing measurement [0084-0085, 0117-0118, 0310]. And, the PRS-resource-set and the PRS-config for the set of measurement/estimation and reporting procedures in the antenna-config/pattern [0072, 0225-0228] to provide more accuracy in the position method in the LoS directivity. Includes periodicity in the PRS-config. Includes estimation/measurement accuracy [0351-0363]. Disclosure claim 19, timing measurement of the PRS resource sets)
Regarding Claim 28,
‘The network node of claim 26’ (disclosed above),
Alawieh discloses, ‘wherein the or more processors, either alone or in combination, are [[is]] processor is further configured to:
transmit, via the or more transceiver, to the network entity, a second mapping of the one or more PRS resources or PRS resource sets to the plurality of beam representations after expiration of the time period during which the first mapping is valid.’ (the PRS-config, periodicity and acquisition of one/more measurement disclosed above in Claim 27. The periodicity and timing measurement to identify the validity. The PRS-resource-set and multiple-PRS-resource-set [0147]. And, measurement of the best beam from a set of PRS-resource based on time-difference [0365-0366]. The positioning entity, the position determining processor, the first entity, and the second entity may be implemented by processor as illustrated by Fig. 9 [0459]. The position determining processor is to selectively determine the position of the first entity using the one or more measurements to be valid/invalid [0117, 0385]. And, changes during acquisition of measurements received by the determining processor [0386-0387])
Regarding Claim 30,
‘The network node of claim 22’ (disclosed above),
Alawieh discloses, ‘wherein the or more processors, either alone or in combination, are [[is]] processor is further configured to:
receive, via the or more transceiver, from the network entity, based on transmission of the plurality of beam representations, a request for the first mapping.’ (the PRS-config includes resource-mapping and the periodicity receive from the LMF [0081, 0149] and disclosure claim 13. To receive/retrieve antenna pattern information request from NW-entity [0110].The determining processor receives validity and the changes during acquisition of measurement [0385-0387]. )
Regarding Claim 31,
‘The network node of claim 22’ (disclosed above),
Alawieh discloses, ‘wherein the first mapping is transmitted autonomously in response to transmission of the plurality of beam representations.’ (based on the periodicity in the PRS-config [0149]. In Fig. 1 wireless communication network determining positioning uses autonomous satellite-based positioning OTDOA [0007-0008]. Determining processor to consider the changes and/or during acquisition of mesurements.)
Regarding Claim 32,
‘The network node of claim 22’ (disclosed above),
Alawieh discloses, ‘wherein: the network node is a base station, the network entity is a location server, and the one or more PRS resources or PRS resource sets are one or more downlink PRS resources or downlink PRS resource sets.’ (Fig. 2 includes the BS ad the LMF. And, DL-positioning-method includes PRS resource-sets [0029, 0146-0148].)
Regarding Claim 38,
‘The network node of claim 32’ (disclosed above),
Alawieh discloses, ‘wherein the plurality of beam representations comprise antenna configurations associated with the plurality of beams or the plurality of beam representations comprise mappings of beam angles and beam gains of the plurality of beams based on a type or a class of the base station.’ (Fig. 1 includes type/class of cells includes LTE, 5G and NR [0007].)
Regarding Claim 40,
‘ The network node of claim 22’ (disclosed above),
Alawieh discloses, ‘wherein:
the network node is a user equipment (UE),
the network entity is a location server or a serving base station, and
the one or more PRS resources or PRS resource sets are one or more uplink PRS resources or uplink PRS resource sets.’ (disclosure claim 1 and 13 [0029, 0152-0153].)
Regarding Claim 41,
‘The network node of claim 40’ (disclosed above),
Alawieh discloses, ‘wherein the plurality of beam representations is associated with a frequency’ (PRS-config includes parameters frequency-resource, combination size, resource bandwidth and the PRS-resource-set includes frequency layer [0147, 0149]),
And didn’t disclose, ‘Frequency band, a combination of frequency bands, or a frequency range.’
Han in the relevant art discloses, operate in the combination/different of frequency bands to perform the measurement Col. 15 [0020-0021] includes type of BSs of LTE/LTE-A, and 5G network Col. 1 [0037-0039] includes range, and type of BS/Network Col. 4 [0030- 0032, 0037-0039, 0045].
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Alawieh and to include
with that of Han to come up with the claim invention,
Alaweih discloses antenna config, antenna-pattern and beam-information/config, and the PRS-config to operate in frequency-resource and layer as part of positioning method. Alaweih motive to update specific-config/settings for the positioning method and Tx/Rx config [0251]; accurately perform measure direct/LoS beams in the positioning method [0008, 0263, 0310]; provides adequate coverage and operate in various type of BS/networks [0007].
Han includes similar motive of directional beams to increase accuracy in the beamform Col. 17 [0061-0063] and combination of RS/PRS to derive positioning. Includes the type of BS/Networks includes range Col. 1 [0037-0039], Col. 4 [0030- 0032, 0037-0039, 0045]. And, PRS-bandwidth that support a wide spectrum increases channel spectrum more frequency diversity Col. 6 [0001-0003] and can achieve more reliable communication.
Regarding Claim 43,
Similar to claim 1 disclosed above, ‘A network node, comprising:
means for transmitting, to a network entity, a plurality of beam representations for a corresponding plurality of beams, wherein each beam representation of the plurality of beam representations comprises an antenna configuration associated with a beam of the plurality of beams or a mapping of beam angle and beam gain associated with the beam, the antenna configuration including at least a number of antenna elements and an antenna element spacing; and
means for transmitting, to the network entity, a first mapping of one or more positioning reference signal (PRS) resources or PRS resource sets to the plurality of beam representations, wherein each of the one or more PRS resources or PRS resource sets is associated with a single beam representation of the plurality of beam representations.’ (transmit/receive between the entities as part of the positioning method and procedures includes plurality of the beams, antenna-config, pattern, measurement, reporting, and estimation [0028-0030, 0225-0237].)
Claims 33-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alaweih et al. in view of Han et al. and further in view of ETSI-TS-138-104-V16.4.0 (2020-07) 5G; NR; Base Station (BS) radio transmission and reception; (3GPP TS 38.104 version 16.4.0 Release 16) (Year: 2020) hereinafter “ETSI-3GPP”.
Regarding Claim 33,
‘The network node of claim 32’ (disclosed above),
Alawieh discloses, ‘all beam representations of the plurality of beam representations comprise antenna configurations associated with the plurality of beams.’
And didn’t disclose,
‘wherein, based on the base station being a Frequency Range 1 (FR1) low-band base station
ETSI-3GPP in the relevant art discloses, operating band and frequency FR1 and 3GPP requirements for the operating band for the BS type based on range are defined in the spec, section 4.4. in page-26, page-0030-0032 and their operating band section-5, page-30. And, associated guard band and channel bandwidth includes SCS in the operating band, page-0033 to 0034. Specification includes specific transmit-power for the BS-type, page-48 section-6
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Alawieh, Han and to include with that of ETSI-3GPP to come up with the claim invention,
Alawieh motive, LTE-A, 5G and NR includes different types cell/BS that is to provide adequate coverage in the operating bands [0003, 0007, 0023] and supports a wide variety of communication networks [0023]. PRS-resource set associated at frequency layer [0147] and frequency resource as part of PRS-config. Someone would take the motive of support wide variety of communication networks to include the operating bands associated channel bandwidth as defined in RF-spec of ETSI-3GPP page-30-32. This would ease the frequency resource channel allocation.
Regarding Claim 34,
‘The network node of claim 33’ (disclosed above),
ETSI-3GPP discloses, ‘wherein the base station is a type 1-C base station or a type 1-H base station.’ (BS-type page-0023 to 0025, section-4.3 to 4.4.).
Motive to include the specific BS-type as per spec of ETSI-3GPP would be identical as disclosed above in Claim 33 to provide wide coverage in the communication network and different types of cell and the BS as part of wireless communication network [0007, 0023]. While in specification Alawieh discloses radiation, radiation intensity and antenna gain as part of beam directional characteristics [0027, 0268]. Someone would include the type of BS as per spec of ETSI-3GPP in addition of variants/types of wireless communication LTE, 5G and NR etc. disclosed by Alawieh. This would comply additional parameters spectral density, transmitted power, radiation/EIRP and achieve the antenna gain, ETSI-3GPP, page-0236.
Regarding Claim 35,
‘The network node of claim 32’ (disclosed above),
Alawieh discloses, ‘all of the plurality of beam representations comprise antenna configurations associated with the plurality of beams, and
the antenna configurations further include antenna element patterns associated with the plurality of beams.’
And didn’t disclose, ‘wherein: based on the base station mid-band or high-band base station the BS type based on range are defined in the spec, section 4.4. in page-26 and their operating band section-5, page-30 disclosed above in Claim 33 and motive would be identical).
Regarding Claim 36,
‘The network node of claim 32’ (disclosed above),
Alawieh discloses, all of the plurality of beam representations comprise mappings of beam angles and beam gains of the plurality of beams.’,
And didn’t disclose, ‘‘wherein: based on the base station mid-band or high-band base station base station BS type based on range are defined in the spec, section 4.4. in page-26, and their operating band section-5, page-30 and disclosed above in Claim 33 and motive would be identical).
Regarding Claim 37,
‘The network node of claim 36’ (disclosed above),
Alawieh discloses, ’wherein the base station is a type 1-O base station or a type 2-O base station.’(ETSI-3GPP discloses page-23 to 25 disclosed above in Claim 34 and motive would be identical to Claim 33).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are
not persuasive.
Arguments:
- regarding objection and rejection 35 USC 112. And, regarding plurality of beam representation, antenna configuration for at least number of antenna elements and an antenna elements spacing, and mapping beam angle and beam gain.
Examiners response:
Examiner respectfully provides relevant disclosures for clarity. Applicant amendments overcome the objection and 35 USC 112 rejection presented in last OA.
- regarding plurality of beam representation, disclosure Alawieh implements AoD-positioning method uses antenna configuration that includes the antenna patterns comprises plurality of beams within the cell structures to acquire AOD-positioning. Patents publication and PG-PUB of Alawieh includes the classification H04W16/28 and classification regarding AoD and positioning also available.
Let us analyze the claims to derive an important motivation and whether the claims are disclosed by the presented prior arts,
Transmit between NW-Node and NW-entity/LMF
Beam representation[Wingdings font/0xE0] plurality beam [Wingdings font/0xE0] antenna config[Wingdings font/0xE0] map beam angle + gain
[Wingdings font/0xE0] Transmits to NW-entity, mapping PRS resource sets, plurality of beams
[Wingdings font/0xE0] validity of beams associated to the PRS resource sets
[Wingdings font/0xE0] type of BS
Regarding the claim, “transmits the beam representation/plurality beam between the NW-node and the NW-entity…” this is to measure the plurality of beams to achieve directive beams. Between the NW-node and the terminal/UE by beam management, training, sweeping. Disclosure Alawieh provides details procedures for the antenna configuration both the NW-node and the terminal/UE antenna configuration includes implementation procedures IE of the AoD method parameters and variables provided in tabular form. A measurement for the beams angle and gain by constant beam training/sweeping to improve communication between the entities NW-node and the terminal not only by NW-node pre-configured antenna configuration. As the claim subject matter “Angle-based Positioning method” that is “position parameters are dynamic” specially to the UE/terminal in contrast to the NW-node. Applicant included two important limitations: validity and the type of the BS, the important motivation and challenges of the “Angle-based Position method” have variable parameters as shown in Table 1 [0044-0045] and Table [0225-0226]. Examiner presented prior arts not only discloses the claim limitations rather determined the “Positioning method” provides detail antenna configuration for both the NW-node and the UE [0030-0033, 0053, 0055]. Disclosure, AOD enhancement by providing LMF with Beam level information section 3.2. [0206] And, methods of AoD position measurement between the UE-NW-node: config->measurement-> reporting-> assisted/provided by TRP/LMF-> accurate-AoD/beam level-gain [209, 0210, 0241-0242].And, considers the validity and includes type of cells/BS by Alawieh that is a strong motive and can be completed by 3GPP-ETSI to derive the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure:
Robin et al. (US20230345408A1), “Configuring positioning measurements and reports”; PRS design, for 3GPP Rel-16, a DL PRS Resource ID in a DL PRS Resource set is associated with a single beam transmitted from a single TRP. A TRP transmit one or more beams. A DL PRS occasion is one instance of periodically repeated time windows (consecutive slot(s)) where DL PRS is expected to be transmitted [0101].
Hasegawa et. (US-20250081142-A1), “Methods and devices for assisted positioning in wireless systems”; disclosures, validity timer configured by the LMF and the validity periodicity includes PRS-resource-validity [0167, 0169, 0185]. That conforms disclosure of Alawieh, the timing measurement in the PRS-resource-set and the PRS-config for the set of measurement/estimation and reporting procedures in the antenna-config/pattern [0072, 0225-0228] as part of the position method includes the LoS directivity.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in
this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a).
Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A
shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS
from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO
MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed
until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened
statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension
fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory
action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX
MONTHS from the date of this final action.
conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an
interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request
(AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Syed Ahmed whose telephone number is (703)-756-5308. The examiner can normally be reached from Monday-Friday 9am-6pm. The examiner can also be reached on alternate If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Faruk Hamza can be reached on (571) 272-7969. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/S.A./Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/CHRISTOPHER M CRUTCHFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466