DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi (JP 2003-096260), as cited on the IDS, wherein the machine English translation is used for citation.
Regarding claims 1-5; Yamaguchi teaches a water soluble graft polymer prepared by graft polymerization of a mono-ethylenically unsaturated monomer component to a polyether compound [05], suitable examples of the mono-ethylenically unsaturated monomer include maleic anhydride [019] and suitable examples of the polyether are prepared from ethylene glycol [08-010].
Yamaguchi does not explicitly disclose wherein the ester bond-containing polycarboxylic acid or salt thereof has an acid value of 100 mg (KOH)/kg or more. The Office realizes that all the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference. However, the reference teaches all of the claimed reagents, claimed amounts, and substantially similar processes. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. acid value, would necessarily be present in a composition with all the claimed ingredients. If it is the applicants' position that this wouldn’t be the case: (1) evidence would need to be presented to support applicants' position; and (2) it would be the Offices' position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties and effects with only the claimed ingredients, claimed amounts, and substantially similar processes. See In re Spada, MPEP §2112.01, I and II.
In the alternative, the experimental modification of this prior art in order to ascertain optimum operating conditions fails to render applicants’ claims patentable in the absence of unexpected results. See In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233; see MPEP §2144.05. At the time of filing, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to optimize the acid value of the water soluble graft polymer, and would have been motivated to do so in order to improve mud/dirt cleaning power when added to a detergent composition, as demonstrated with respect to the linear polycarboxylic acid-based polymer [0146].
Regarding claims 2 and 3; Yamaguchi does not explicitly disclose wherein the ester bond-containing polycarboxylic acid or salt thereof has an alkaline degradation change rate of 10% or higher and a biodegradability of 20% or higher. The Office realizes that all the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference. However, the reference teaches all of the claimed reagents, claimed amounts, and substantially similar processes. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. alkaline degradation change rate and biodegradability, would necessarily be present in a composition with all the claimed ingredients. If it is the applicants' position that this wouldn’t be the case: (1) evidence would need to be presented to support applicants' position; and (2) it would be the Offices' position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties and effects with only the claimed ingredients, claimed amounts, and substantially similar processes. See In re Spada, MPEP §2112.01, I & II.
Regarding claim 4; Yamaguchi teaches a detergent composition comprising the water soluble graft polymer [01-04, 06].
Regarding claim 5; Yamaguchi teaches a method for making said water soluble graft polymer by graft-polymerizing a monoethylenically unsaturated monomer component containing a monoethylenically unsaturated carboxylic acid-based monomer, such as maleic anhydride [013, 019], to a polyether compound, such as polyethylene glycol [059-060].
Claim(s) 1, 4, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baur et al. (US Patent No. 6172028).
Regarding claims 1, 4, and 6; Baur et al. teaches a detergent composition [col2, line9-23] comprising a mixture of a polycarboxylate having at least three carboxyl groups, prepared from polyols such as ethylene glycol and butanetetracarobxylic acid [col3, line20-25], at least one amine, and at least one acid having two carboxyls, such as maleic acid [col7, line1-12], thus producing an ester bond-containing polycarboxylic acid having an acid in the side chain.
Baur et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the ester bond-containing polycarboxylic acid or salt thereof has an acid value of 100 mg (KOH)/kg or more. The Office realizes that all the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference. However, the reference teaches all of the claimed reagents, claimed amounts, and substantially similar processes. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. acid value, would necessarily be present in a composition with all the claimed ingredients. If it is the applicants' position that this wouldn’t be the case: (1) evidence would need to be presented to support applicants' position; and (2) it would be the Offices' position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties and effects with only the claimed ingredients, claimed amounts, and substantially similar processes. See In re Spada, MPEP §2112.01, I and II.
Correspondence
/JESSICA M ROSWELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767