DETAILED ACTION
This is response to Application 18/292,259 filed on 01/25/2024 in which claims 19-32 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 19-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nemeth et al. (WO 2021/078189 A1).
1. Regarding claim 19, Nemeth teaches a user equipment (UE) comprising:
a transceiver which, in operation, receives an indication of a reference resource and an
indication of a component carrier (Paragraphs [0030] to [0033] UE receives a configuration configuring a plurality of CCs to use for PUCCH); and
circuitry which, in operation,
selects, based on the indication of the component carrier, a component carrier for
transmitting an uplink control information (UCI) (Paragraphs [0030] to [0033 dynamic switching of CC comprises a physical layer signaling);
selects, based on a configuration or a UE capability, a resource offset applicable
to the selected component carrier (Paragraphs [0030] to [0035] configuration with field with explicit selection between K different CCs; UE capability report may be performed),
determines a resource for transmitting the UCI by applying the resource offset to
the reference resource (Paragraphs [0030] to [0035] configuration with field with explicit selection between K different CCs; UE capability report may be performed), and
controls transmission of the UCI on the selected component carrier and on the
determined resource (Fig. 6, Paragraphs [0030] to [0035] dynamically selectable multiple choices of CC for use for PUCCH carrying HARQ information).
2. Regarding claim 20, Nemeth teaches wherein the indication of the component
carrier is received via semi-static signaling, the reference resource includes a timing reference, the resource offset includes a timing offset, and in the determination of the resource for transmitting the UCI, the circuitry interprets the timing reference according to a reference numerology, and interprets the timing offset according to a numerology of the selected component carrier (Paragraphs [0031] to [0034] and [0040] configuration selects a CC and a slot/sub-slot; numerology and processing time).
3. Regarding claim 21, Nemeth teaches wherein the indication of the component
carrier is received dynamically via downlink control information (DCI), the reference resource includes a timing reference, the resource offset includes a timing offset and the timing reference and the timing offset are indicated in a time unit applicable to a numerology of the selected component carrier (Paragraphs [0031] to [0034], [0040] and [0041] configuration selects a CC and a slot/sub-slot; numerology and processing time).
4. Regarding claim 22, Nemeth teaches wherein the resource offset is specified
respectively for each of a plurality of component carriers out of which the component carrier for transmitting the UCI is selected (Paragraphs [0031] to [0034], [0040] and [0041] configuration selects a CC and a slot/sub-slot; numerology; flexible unit).
5. Regarding claim 23, Nemeth teaches wherein the resource offset is specified as
being common to all component carriers with the same numerology, from among a plurality of component carriers out of which the component carrier for transmitting the UCI are selected (Paragraphs [0031] to [0034], [0040] and [0041] K1 common unit for the set of carrier allowed for cross-carrier scheduling).
6. Regarding claim 24, Nemeth teaches wherein, a plurality of component carriers
out of which the component carrier for transmitting the UCI are selected include component carriers configured for dynamic component carrier switching and component carriers for semi- static component carrier switching (Paragraphs [0031] to [0034] and [0040] configuration selects a CC and a slot/sub-slot; numerology and processing time), a first resource offset is specified as being common to the component carriers configured for dynamic component carrier switching, and a second resource offset is specified as being common to the component carriers configured for semi-static component carrier switching (Paragraphs [0031] to [0034], [0040] and [0041] configuration selects a CC and a slot/sub-slot; numerology; flexible unit specific to each pair of carriers).
7. Regarding claim 25, Nemeth teaches wherein the reference resource includes a
timing reference, the resource offset includes a timing offset, the timing reference and the resource offset are indicated in a time unit applicable to a numerology of the selected component carrier (Paragraphs [0031] to [0034], [0040] and [0041] configuration selects a CC and a slot/sub-slot; numerology; flexible unit specific to each pair of carriers), and circuitry, in operation, calculates the timing offset such that the resource for transmitting the UCI starts at least a minimum processing time after the end of reception of the downlink message, the minimum processing time being based on a UE capability (Paragraphs [0030] to [0035] configuration with field with explicit selection between K different CCs; UE capability report may be performed),.
8. Regarding claim 26, Nemeth teaches wherein the indication of reference
resource includes a timing pattern, indicating, for each of a plurality of reference timings, the indication of the component carrier and an indication of the resource offset (Paragraphs [0031] to [0034], [0040] and [0041] configuration selects a CC and a slot/sub-slot; numerology; flexible unit specific to each pair of carriers; 2D table that specifies the unit for K1 for each ordered pair).
9. Regarding claim 27, Nemeth teaches wherein the resource for transmitting the
UCI includes one or more of a starting slot, a number of slots, a starting symbol, a number of symbols, a physical resource block, or a cyclic shift index (Paragraphs [0031] to [0034], [0040] and [0041] configuration selects a CC and a slot/sub-slot; numerology; flexible unit specific to each pair of carriers).
10. Regarding claim 28, Nemeth teaches wherein the indication of the component
carrier is received dynamically via downlink control information (DCI) (Fig. 6, Paragraphs [0030] to [0035] dynamically selectable multiple choices of CC for use for PUCCH carrying HARQ information), and
the circuitry, in operation, determines, based on the indication of the component carrier,
whether to select a first component carrier indicated by the indication or a second component carrier indicated by a timing pattern for semi-static carrier switching, and selects the component carrier for transmission of the UCI based on the result of the determination (Paragraphs [0031] to [0034], [0040] and [0041] configuration selects a CC and a slot/sub-slot; numerology; flexible unit specific to each pair of carriers; 2D table that specifies the unit for K1 for each ordered pair).
11. Regarding claim 29, Nemeth teaches wherein a first value indicates the first
component carrier and a second value indicates semi-static carrier switching, if the indication indicates the first value, the circuitry selects the first component carrier for transmitting the UCI, and if the indication indicates the second value, the circuitry selects the second component carrier (Paragraphs [0031] to [0034], [0040] and [0041] configuration selects a CC and a slot/sub-slot; numerology; flexible unit specific to each pair of carriers; 2D table that specifies the unit for K1 for each ordered pair).
12. Regarding claim 30, Nemeth teaches wherein, the first component carrier is a
component carrier available for uplink transmission,
if the indication of the component carrier indicates the first component carrier, the
circuitry selects the first component carrier for transmitting the UCI (Fig. 6, Paragraphs [0030] to [0035] dynamically selectable multiple choices of CC for use for PUCCH carrying HARQ information), and if the indication of the component carrier indicates a component carrier unavailable for uplink transmission, the circuitry, selects the second component carrier (Paragraphs [0031] to [0034], and [0038] to [0041] default PUCCH carrier used as a fall-back when there is a collision).
13. Regarding claim 31, Nemeth teaches a base station, comprising:
circuitry which, in operation, allocates a resource for receiving an uplink control
information (UCI) on a component carrier and a reference resource, wherein the resource for
transmitting the UCI is determinable by applying a configured resource offset applicable to the component carrier to the reference resource (Paragraphs [0030] to [0033] UE receives a configuration configuring a plurality of CCs to use for PUCCH); and
a transceiver which, in operation, transmits an indication of the reference resource and an indication of the component carrier (Paragraphs [0030] to [0033 dynamic switching of CC comprises a physical layer signaling), wherein
the circuitry, in operation, controls reception of the UCI on the resource for receiving the
UCI on the component carrier (Fig. 6, Paragraphs [0030] to [0035] and [0038] to [0041] dynamically selectable multiple choices of CC for use for PUCCH carrying HARQ information).
14. Regarding claim 32, Nemeth teaches a communication method for a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving an indication of a reference resource (Paragraphs [0030] to [0033] UE receives a configuration configuring a plurality of CCs to use for PUCCH);
receiving an indication of a component carrier (Paragraphs [0030] to [0033] UE receives a configuration configuring a plurality of CCs to use for PUCCH);
selecting, based on the indication of the component carrier, a component carrier for
transmitting an uplink control information (UCI) (Paragraphs [0030] to [0033 dynamic switching of CC comprises a physical layer signaling);
selecting, based on a configuration or a UE capability, a resource offset applicable
to the selected component carrier (Paragraphs [0030] to [0035] configuration with field with explicit selection between K different CCs; UE capability report may be performed),
determining a resource for transmitting the UCI by applying the resource offset to
the reference resource (Paragraphs [0030] to [0035] configuration with field with explicit selection between K different CCs; UE capability report may be performed), and
controlling transmission of the UCI on the selected component carrier and on the
determined resource (Paragraphs [0030] to [0035] dynamically selectable multiple choices of CC for use for PUCCH carrying HARQ information).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Manolakos et al. (US 2020/0267026 A1) Paragraph [0012]
El Hamss et al. (US 2024/0187160 A1) Paragraph [0111]
/DIANE L LO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466