Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0302562 to Burroughs.
Burroughs teaches a microplate for polymerase chain reaction (PCR), comprising a substrate formed of a material that is susceptible to heating PCR samples upon the application of an electromagnetic field and/or electromagnetic energy to said substrate. (Abstract).
As shown in Fig. 1 wells 101 have a metal plate (“sheet”) attached to the bottoms thereof.
The metal plate (“sheet”) and be made from aluminum, iron, nickel, cobalt, copper, steel, gold, silver, platinum, or combinations thereof ([0089]) which applicant discloses have a relative magnet permeability no greater than 1.01 in paragraph [0051].
Burroughs teaches using a magnetic field to induce heating of the metal plate (“sheet”)
The limitation in claim 1 that the resistive sheet “is to receive a signal from a signal source to cause the resistive sheet to generate heat to form a pulse-controlled amplification, thermal cycling zone in close thermal proximity to the bottom,” only recites intended use and does not incorporate any structural limitations into the claims.
I.) As noted above, Burroughs teaches all the limitations of claim 1.
Therefore, Burroughs anticipates claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Burroughs in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0101983 to Chandra et al. and Kloeckner Metals (https://www.kloecknermetals.com/blog/a-quick-guide-to-annealing-what-is-annealed-metal/, 06/30/2020).
I.) Regarding applicant’s claim 2, as noted above Burroughs anticipates claim 1 from which claim 2 depends.
Claim 2 recites that a first material of the resistive sheet is annealed stainless steel.
Burroughs teaches steel, but not annealed stainless steel.
Chandra et al. teaches an inductive heater provided on the bottom of a PCR system 1 PDMS chip that can be made of stainless steel. [0028], [0062] and [0062]
Kloeckner Metals teaches that annealing metals increases ductability and reduces hardness.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Burroughs to use stainless steel as taught by Chandra et al. for its known use of inductive heating and to use annealed stainless steel as taught by Klockner Metals to improve the workability of the stainless steel.
Therefore, Burroughs in view of Chandra et al. and Kloeckner Metals renders claim 2 obvious.
Double Patenting
3. Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of copending Application No. 18/292,245 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because.
Claim 7 of copending Application No. 18/292,245 encompasses all the limitations of claim 1 together with the additional recitation of transparent carrier layer.
Claim 7 of copending Application No. 18/292,245 encompasses all the limitations of claim 5 together with the additional recitation of transparent carrier layer.
The additional recitation in claim 5 that the relative magnetic permeability of the resistive sheet is to maintain the thermal, cycling zone to exhibit a substantially uniform temperature across an area defined by the resistive sheet of the bottom within the at least one well does not incorporate any additional structural limitations into claim 5 beyond the structural limitations found in claim 1.
Claim 9 copending Application No. 18/292,245 encompasses all the limitations of claim 1 together with the additional recitation of transparent carrier layer, first and second magnetic force arrays and an optical detector.
Claim 9 of copending Application No. 18/292,245 encompasses all the limitations of claim 5 together with the additional recitation of transparent carrier layer.
The additional recitation in claim 5 that the relative magnetic permeability of the resistive sheet is to maintain the thermal, cycling zone to exhibit a substantially uniform temperature across an area defined by the resistive sheet of the bottom within the at least one well does not incorporate any additional structural limitations into claim 5 beyond the structural limitations found in claim 1.
Claims 2, 4 and 6-8 are rejected as depending from claim 1.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
4. Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of copending Application No. 18/292,245 in view of Burroughs.
Claim 7 of copending Application No. 18/292,245 encompasses all the limitations of claim 1 except for teaching that the resistive sheet is made from stainless steel.
As noted above, Burroughs teaches a microplate for polymerase chain reaction (PCR), comprising a substrate formed of a material that is susceptible to heating PCR samples upon the application of an electromagnetic field and/or electromagnetic energy to said substrate. (Abstract).
As shown in Fig. 1 wells 101 have a metal plate (“sheet”) attached to the bottoms thereof.
The metal plate (“sheet”) and be made from aluminum, iron, nickel, cobalt, copper, steel, gold, silver, platinum, or combinations thereof ([0089]) which applicant discloses have a relative magnet permeability no greater than 1.01 in paragraph [0051].
Burroughs teaches using a magnetic field to induce heating of the metal plate (“sheet”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before applicant’s effective filing date to modify claim 7 of copending Application No. 18/292,245 to make the resistive sheet from stainless steel as taught by Burroughs for its know use in indictive heating.
The limitation in claim 1 that the resistive sheet “is to receive a signal from a signal source to cause the resistive sheet to generate heat to form a pulse-controlled amplification, thermal cycling zone in close thermal proximity to the bottom,” only recites intended use and does not incorporate any structural limitations into the claims.
Therefore, claim 7 of copending Application No. 18/292,245 in view of Burroughs renders claim 1 obvious.
5. Claims 2 and 3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of copending Application No. 18/292,245 in view of Burroughs, Chandre at al. and Kloeckner Metals
Claim 7 of copending Application No. 18/292,245 encompasses all the limitations of claim 2 except for teaching that the resistive sheet is made from annealed stainless steel.
As noted above, Burroughs teaches a microplate for polymerase chain reaction (PCR), comprising a substrate formed of a material that is susceptible to heating PCR samples upon the application of an electromagnetic field and/or electromagnetic energy to said substrate. (Abstract).
As shown in Fig. 1 wells 101 have a metal plate (“sheet”) attached to the bottoms thereof.
The metal plate (“sheet”) and be made from aluminum, iron, nickel, cobalt, copper, steel, gold, silver, platinum, or combinations thereof ([0089]) which applicant discloses have a relative magnet permeability no greater than 1.01 in paragraph [0051].
As further noted above, Chandra et al. teaches an inductive heater provided on the bottom of a PCR system 1 PDMS chip that can be made of stainless steel. [0028], [0062] and [0062]
Kloeckner Metals teaches that annealing metals increases ductability and reduces hardness.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify claim 7 of copending Application No. 18/292,245 to use steel as the resistive sheet as taught by Burroughs and to use stainless steel as taught by Chandra et al. for its known use of inductive heating and to use annealed stainless steel as taught by Klockner Metals to improve the workability of the stainless steel.
Therefore, claim 7 of copending Application No. 18/292,245 in view of Burroughs, Chandra et al. and Kloeckner Metals renders claim 2 obvious.
Claim 3 is obvious inasmuch as it depends from claim 2.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL STANLEY GZYBOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 1798