DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendments filed August 25, 2026 have been entered. Applicant’s amendments have overcome the Drawing objection and the 112(b) rejection previously set-forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 02/25/2026. Currently, claims 1, 3, 7, 9, 11, 18-19 have been amended, claims 16-17 have been cancelled, claims 21-22 have been added, and claims 1-15, 18-22 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15, 19, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karmarkar (U.S. Application No. 20180214204 A1), and further in view of Wilton (U.S. Patent No. 6217574 B).
Regarding independent claim 1, Karmarkar discloses a method comprising:
providing an ablation system having (i) an ablation catheter (70) having a plurality of antenna/sensor electrodes (40) at a distal end (in the embodiment which discloses a plurality of discrete elements, such as a plurality of spaced apart electrodes, pa. 0120-0121); (ii) a plurality of ablation generators (e.g., direct current (DC) sources or alternating current (AC) sources such as radiofrequency, RF, or current sources) that are each configured to generate ablation signals (pa. 0121); (iii) a vector network analyzer (VNA) (pa. 0004, 0120 & Fig. 6); (iv) a filtering system (i.e., an interface circuit comprising a low pass and a high pass filter) having a plurality of channels (pa. 0129 & Fig. 7); and (v) a transmission system (50) (pa. 0120); wherein the transmission system individually electrically couples each of the plurality of antenna/sensor electrodes, via a discrete high-frequency transmission line (i.e., coaxial cable) and through a low-pass and high-pass filter (pa. 0120, 0159), to at least one ablation generator in the plurality of ablation generators and one discrete VNA, through one discrete channel in the plurality of channels in the filtering system (pa. 0120); wherein the VNA is configured to (A) transmit sensing signals (i.e., an incident signal) across a spectrum of frequencies (pa. 0113, 0129); (B) measure transmit power for the transmitted signals and measure received power for reflected-back signals (i.e., reflection signals) by monitoring changes in magnitude and phase (pa. 0146); and (C) from the measured transmit power and measured received power, calculate high-frequency electrical parameters (HFEPs) (i.e., reflection and transmission electrical properties of the antenna-including, for example phase angle and return loss) (pa. 0129, 0151-0152); and wherein each channel in the filtering system prevents ablation signals from interfering with sensing signals (pa. 0129);
navigating the ablation catheter to a target treatment region within a patient (pa. 0159);
with the VNA, capturing baseline HFEPs for each antenna/sensor electrode (pa. 0136 & Fig. 13);
positioning the ablation catheter to be in at least partial contact with target tissue (pa. 0136);
with the VNA, capturing updated HFEPs for each antenna/sensor electrode (pa. 0007, 0134, 0136);
identifying, from the updated HFEPs, a first subset of antenna/sensor electrodes that are in contact with the target tissue and a second subset of antenna/sensor electrodes that are not in contact (i.e., in blood or saline) with the target tissue (pa. 0005, 0118, 0132); and
with a subset of the ablation generators, providing pulse-field ablation (PFA) signals (pa. 0121) once antenna/sensor electrode-tissue contact is confirmed and maximalized (pa. 0136).
However, Karmarkar does not disclose a plurality of vector network analyzers (VNAs), and wherein the transmission system individually couples each of the plurality of antenna/sensor electrodes to one discrete ablation generator in the plurality of ablation generators and one discrete VNA in the plurality of VNAs.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added additional coaxial cables to the transmission system of Karmarkar and to have added additional VNAs to the existing VNA of Karmarkar, in order to allow for individual electrical coupling between each discrete ablation generator of the plurality of ablation generators to one of the antenna/sensor of the plurality of antenna/sensor electrodes and to one discrete VNA in the plurality of VNAs, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
However, Karmarkar does not disclose selectively providing ablation signals to the first subset of antenna/sensor electrodes but not to the second subset of antenna/sensor electrodes.
Wilton, in the same field of endeavor, teaches an RF ablation system comprising an electrode catheter (10), an RF generator (7), and a signal processor (6) (see Fig. 1). The signal processor receives signals indicative of the impedance associated with each electrode member on the electrode catheter, compares those impedance signals and determines which electrode members are associated with the highest impedances. The signal processor then automatically activates the RF generator to generate an RF ablation current and to transmit that current only to those electrode members determined to be in best contact with the myocardium (Col. 12, lines 17-25).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the signal processor of Wilton to the system of Karmarkar for the purpose of selectively providing ablation signals only to a specific subset of electrodes in order to prevent unwanted injury to the patient and to provide a more efficient ablation method once full contact is established between the electrode and the target tissue.
Regarding claim 2, Karmarkar/Wilton combination discloses the HFEPs comprise a first phase-reversal frequency parameter, FR1 (i.e., a parameter captured at any point before, during, and/or after the application of energy to the tissue (Karmarkar, pa. 0133 & Fig. 10A)), and a second phase-reversal frequency parameter, FR2 (i.e., another parameter captured at any point before, during, and/or after the application of energy to the tissue (Karmarkar, pa. 0133 & Fig. 10B)), for each antenna/sensor electrode.
Regarding claim 3, Karmarkar/Wilton combination discloses wherein identifying the first subset of antenna/sensor electrodes that are in contact with the target tissue comprises determining that FR1 and FR2 parameters in the updated HFEPs (i.e., when the antenna/sensor electrode is in contact with the target tissue, before and/or after the application of energy) are each greater than corresponding FR1 and FR2 parameters in the baseline HFEPs (i.e., when the antenna/sensor electrode is in blood, before and/or after the application of energy) by a threshold frequency.
In this case, when the antenna/sensor electrode is in blood without RF energy, the FR1 parameter in the baseline HFEPs is˜325 MHz and when the antenna/sensor electrode is in blood and RF energy is applied, the FR2 parameter in the baseline HFEPs drops to ˜200 MHz (Karmarkar, pa. 0133). When the electrode is in contact with tissue and no RF energy is applied, the FR1 parameter in the updated HFEPs is ˜400 MHz (see Figs. 11A-11B), on onset of the RF ablation the FR2 parameter in the updated HFEPs drops to ˜250 MHz (Karmarkar, pa. 0134). Examiner will be interpreting the threshold frequency as the difference between the phase-reversal frequency parameter from the updated and the phase-reversal frequency parameter from the baseline HFEPs.
Regarding claim 4, Karmarkar/Wilton combination discloses wherein the threshold frequency is 30 MHz.
As explained above, the threshold frequency is interpreted as the difference between values. The threshold frequency equals the difference between the FR1 from the updated HFEPs and the FR1 from the baseline HFEPs, which is 75 MHz (i.e., 400-325), and the threshold frequency between the FR2 from the updated HFEPs and the FR2 from the baseline HFEPs is 50 MHz (i.e., 250-200). However, in regards to the threshold frequency between the FR2 from the updated HFEPs and the FR2 from the baseline HFEPs, since the FR2 parameter in the baseline HFEPs drops to ˜200 MHz, then it’s a fair to assume that the FR2 parameter in the baseline HFEPs could be any value between 325 and 200. Therefore, in an example where at a point in time the FR2 parameter in the baseline HFEPs is ˜220 MHz, then the threshold frequency between the FR2 from the updated HFEPs and the FR2 from the baseline HFEPs could be 30 MHz (i.e., 250-220); thereby, meeting the claim limitation.
Regarding claim 5, Karmarkar/Wilton combination discloses wherein the threshold frequency is between 25 MHz and 50 MHz.
As explained above, the threshold frequency between the FR1 from the updated HFEPs and the FR1 from the baseline HFEPs is 75 MHz (i.e., 400-325), and at a point in time the threshold frequency between the FR2 from the updated HFEPs and the FR2 from the baseline HFEPs could be 50 MHz (i.e., 250-200); thereby meeting the claim limitation.
Regarding claim 6, Karmarkar/Wilton combination discloses further comprising:
with the VNA, capturing ablation-progress HFEPs (i.e., any HFEPs captured at any point during the application of energy to the tissue when the antenna/sensor is in contact with the tissue);
determining from the ablation-progress HFEPs whether ablation parameters (A) meet clinical objectives, (B) indicate a likelihood of adverse events, or (C) do not yet meet clinical objectives (Karmarkar, pa. 0134); and
if ablation parameters are determined to meet clinical objectives, stopping the selective application of ablation energy (Karmarkar, pa. 0136); if the ablation parameters are determined to indicate a likelihood of adverse events either adjusting the selective application of ablation energy or stopping the selective application of ablation energy (Karmarkar, pa. 0137, 0148); and if the ablation parameters are determined to not yet meet clinical objectives, continuing the selective application of ablation energy (Karmarkar, pa. 0148).
Regarding claim 7, Karmarkar/Wilton combination discloses wherein determining that ablation parameters meet clinical objectives comprises determining that FR1 parameters in the ablation-progress HFEPs (i.e., when the antenna/sensor electrode is in contact with the target tissue, after the initial application of energy, see Fig. 11C which shows the FR1 parameter to be gradually increasing to ˜400 MHz) are greater than corresponding FR1 parameters in the updated HFEPs (i.e., when the antenna/sensor electrode is in contact with the target tissue, at the beginning of the application of energy, see Fig. 11B which shows the FR1 parameter to be ˜250 MHz) by a first threshold frequency, and FR2 parameters in the ablation-progress HFEPs (i.e., when the antenna/sensor electrode is in contact with the target tissue, towards the end of the application of energy, see Fig. 11E which shows the FR2 parameter to be gradually steading at ˜800 MHz) are greater than corresponding FR2 parameters in the updated HFEPs (i.e., when the antenna/sensor electrode is in contact with the target tissue, towards the middle of the application of energy, see Fig. 11D which shows the FR2 parameter to be gradually increasing to ˜600 MHz) by a second threshold frequency (Karmarkar, pa. 0134).
Examiner will be interpreting the first and the second threshold frequencies as the differences between the phase-reversal frequency parameter from the ablation-progress HFEPs and the phase-reversal frequency parameter from the updated HFEPs.
Regarding claim 8, Karmarkar/Wilton combination discloses wherein the first threshold frequency is about 30 MHz, and the second threshold frequency is about 20 MHz.
In this scenario, since the limit of the FR1 parameters in the ablation-progress HFEPs is ˜400 MHz (since its gradually increasing from ˜250 MHz), then the FR1 parameters in the ablation-progress HFEPs could be any value between 250 and 400. In an example where at a point in time the FR1 parameters in the ablation-progress HFEPs is ˜280 MHz, then the first threshold could be 280-250 = 30 MHz.
Furthermore, since the limit of the FR2 parameters in the ablation-progress HFEPs is ˜800 MHz (since its gradually increasing from ˜600 MHz), then the FR2 parameters in the ablation-progress HFEPs could be any value between 600 and 800, and since the limit of the FR2 parameters in the updated HFEPs is ˜600 MHz (since its gradually increasing from ˜400 MHz) then the FR2 parameters in the updated HFEPs could be any value between 400 and 600. In an example where at a point in time the FR2 parameters in the ablation-progress HFEPs is ˜610 MHz and FR2 parameters in the updated HFEPs is ˜590 MHz, then the second threshold could be 610-590 = 20 MHz.
Regarding claim 9, Karmarkar/Wilton combination discloses wherein determining that ablation parameters meet clinical objectives comprises determining that FR1 parameters in the ablation-progress HFEPs (i.e., when the antenna/sensor electrode is in contact with the target tissue, after the initial application of energy, see Fig. 11C which shows the FR1 parameter to be gradually increasing to ˜400 MHz) are greater than corresponding FR1 parameters in the baseline HFEPs (i.e., when the antenna/sensor electrode is in blood before the application of energy, where the FR1 parameters would be ˜325 MHz) by a first threshold frequency, and FR2 parameters in the ablation-progress HFEPs (i.e., when the antenna/sensor electrode is in contact with the target tissue, towards the middle of the application of energy, see Fig. 11D which shows the FR2 parameter to be gradually increasing to ˜600 MHz) are greater than corresponding FR2 parameters in the updated HFEPs (i.e., when the antenna/sensor electrode is in contact with the target tissue, after the initial application of energy, see Fig. 11C which shows the FR2 parameter to be gradually increasing to ˜400 MHz) by a second threshold frequency.
Examiner will be interpreting the first threshold frequency as the difference between the phase-reversal frequency parameter from the ablation-progress HFEPs and the phase-reversal frequency parameter from the baseline HFEPs, and will be interpreting the second threshold frequency as the difference between the phase-reversal frequency parameter from the ablation-progress HFEPs and the phase-reversal frequency parameter from the updated HFEPs.
Regarding claim 10, Karmarkar/Wilton combination discloses wherein the first threshold frequency is about 30 MHz, and the second threshold frequency is about 50 MHz.
In this scenario, the baseline HFEPs is ˜325 MHz, and since the limit of the FR1 parameters in the ablation-progress HFEPs is ˜400 MHz (since its gradually increasing from ˜250 MHz), then the FR1 parameters in the ablation-progress HFEPs could be any value between 250 and 400. In an example where at a point in time the FR1 parameters in the ablation-progress HFEPs is ˜355 MHz, then the first threshold is 355-325 = 30 MHz.
Furthermore, since the limit of the FR2 parameters in the ablation-progress HFEPs is ˜600 MHz (since its gradually increasing from ˜400 MHz), then the FR2 parameters in the updated HFEPs could be any value between 400 and 600, and since the limit of the FR2 parameters in the updated HFEPs is ˜400 MHz (since its gradually increasing from ˜200 MHz) then the FR2 parameters in the updated HFEPs could be any value between 200 and 400. In an example where at a point in time the FR2 parameters in the ablation-progress HFEPs is ˜440 MHz and FR2 parameters in the updated HFEPs is ˜390 MHz, then the second threshold is 440-390 = 50 MHz.
Regarding claim 11, Karmarkar/Wilton combination discloses wherein the ablation system further comprises (vi) a cardiac mapping and navigation system (comprising X-ray, ultrasound, CT or MRI guidance) (Karmarkar, pa. 0141); (vii) a controller (Karmarkar, pa. 0125); and (viii) and a switch that selectively couples or decouples the cardiac mapping and navigation and the transmission system (Karmarkar, pa. 0139);
wherein the controller causes the switch to decouple the cardiac mapping and navigation system and the transmission system when the subset of ablation generators selectively provides PFA ablation signals to the first subset of antenna/sensor electrodes (Karmarkar, pa. 0121, 0139).
Regarding claim 12, Karmarkar/Wilton combination discloses wherein positioning the ablation catheter to be in at least partial contact with target tissue comprises positioning the ablation catheter based on information received from the cardiac mapping and navigation system (Karmarkar, pa. 0136, 0141).
Regarding claim 13, Karmarkar/Wilton combination discloses wherein positioning the ablation catheter to be in at least partial contact with target tissue comprises positioning the ablation catheter based on information received from imaging equipment that is external to the ablation system (Karmarkar, pa. 0136, 0141).
Regarding claim 14, Karmarkar/Wilton combination discloses wherein the transmission system comprises a plurality of coaxial cables, wherein a discrete coaxial cable couples each antenna/sensor electrode to a discrete channel in the filtering (Karmarkar, pa. 0120).
Regarding claim 15, Karmarkar/Wilton combination discloses wherein at least one antenna/sensor electrode in the plurality of antenna/sensor electrodes is configured as a spiral antenna/sensor electrode having at least two turns (Karmarkar, pa. 0119 & Fig. 2B).
Regarding independent claim 19, Karmarkar discloses a method comprising: providing an ablation system having (i) an ablation catheter (70) having a plurality of ablation electrodes and a plurality antenna/sensor electrodes (40) at a distal end (in the embodiment which discloses a plurality of discrete elements, such as a plurality of spaced apart electrodes, pa. 0120-0121); (ii) a plurality of ablation generators (e.g., direct current (DC) sources or alternating current (AC) sources such as radiofrequency, RF, or current sources) that are each configured to generate ablation signals (pa. 0121); (iii) a vector network analyzer (VNA) (pa. 0004, 0120 & Fig. 6); (iv) a filtering system (i.e., an interface circuit comprising a low pass and a high pass filter) having a plurality of channels (pa. 0129 & Fig. 7); and (v) a transmission system (50) comprising high-frequency transmission line (i.e., coaxial cable) (pa. 0120); wherein the transmission system electrically couples each of the plurality of antenna/sensor electrodes to at least one ablation generator in the plurality of ablation generators and one discrete VNA, through one discrete channel in the plurality of channels in the filtering system (pa. 0120); wherein the VNA is configured to (A) transmit sensing signals (i.e., an incident signal) across a spectrum of frequencies (pa. 0113, 0129); (B) measure transmit power for the transmitted signals and measure received power for reflected-back signals (i.e., reflection signals) by monitoring changes in magnitude and phase (pa. 0146); and (C) from the measured transmit power and measured received power, calculate high-frequency electrical parameters (HFEPs) (reflection and transmission electrical properties of the antenna-including, for example phase angle and return loss) (pa. 0129, 0151-0152); and wherein each channel in the filtering system prevents ablation signals from interfering with sensing signals (pa. 0129);
navigating the ablation catheter to a target treatment region within a patient (pa. 0159);
with the VNA, capturing baseline HFEPs for each antenna/sensor electrode (pa. 0136 & Fig. 13);
positioning the ablation catheter to be in at least partial contact with target tissue (pa. 0136);
with the VNA, capturing updated HFEPs for each antenna/sensor electrode (pa. 0007, 0134, 0136);
with a data processor, identifying, from the updated HFEPs, a first subset of antenna/sensor electrodes that are in contact with the target tissue and a second subset of antenna/sensor electrodes that are not in contact (i.e., in blood or saline) with the target tissue (pa. 0112, 0118, 0132); and
with a subset of the ablation generators, providing pulse-field ablation signals (PFA) (pa. 0121) once antenna/sensor electrode-tissue contact is confirmed and maximalized (pa. 0136), and while simultaneously capturing active HFEPs for each antenna/sensor electrode (pa. 0120) (i.e., the coaxial cable connects the low pass filters, high pass filters, RF generator and vector network analyzer to simultaneously deliver high frequency sensing signals to and from the antenna electrode and low frequency ablation RF to the electrode).
Furthermore, since the plurality of antenna/sensor electrodes disclosed in Karmarkar are capable of both providing RF ablation energy and being transmitters, Examiner is interpreting a number of the plurality of antenna/sensor electrodes to be ablation electrodes and the rest of the plurality of antenna/sensor electrodes to be antenna/sensor electrodes.
However, Karmarkar does not disclose a plurality of vector network analyzers (VNAs), and wherein the transmission system individually couples each of the plurality of antenna/sensor electrodes to one discrete ablation generator in the plurality of ablation generators and one discrete VNA in the plurality of VNAs.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added additional coaxial cables to the transmission system of Karmarkar and to have added additional VNAs to the existing VNA of Karmarkar, in order to allow for individual electrical coupling between each discrete ablation generator of the plurality of ablation generators to one of the antenna/sensor of the plurality of antenna/sensor electrodes and to one discrete VNA in the plurality of VNAs, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
However, Karmarkar does not disclose selectively providing ablation signals to the first subset of antenna/sensor electrodes but not to the second subset of antenna/sensor electrodes.
Wilton, in the same field of endeavor, teaches an RF ablation system comprising an electrode catheter (10), an RF generator (7), and a signal processor (6) (see Fig. 1). The signal processor receives signals indicative of the impedance associated with each electrode member on the electrode catheter, compares those impedance signals and determines which electrode members are associated with the highest impedances. The signal processor then automatically activates the RF generator to generate an RF ablation current and to transmit that current only to those electrode members determined to be in best contact with the myocardium (Col. 12, lines 17-25).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the signal processor of Wilton to the system of Karmarkar for the purpose of selectively providing ablation signals only to a specific subset of electrodes in order to prevent unwanted injury to the patient and to provide a more efficient ablation method once full contact is established between the electrode and the target tissue.
Regarding claim 21, Karmarkar/Wilton combination discloses wherein the discrete high-frequency transmission line comprises a discrete coaxial cable (Karmarkar, pa. 0120).
Regarding claim 22, Karmarkar/Wilton combination discloses wherein the high-frequency transmission lines comprise coaxial cables (Karmarkar, pa. 0120).
However, Karmarkar does not disclose a plurality of transmission lines.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added additional coaxial cables to the transmission system of Karmarkar in order to allow for individual electrical coupling between each discrete ablation generator of the plurality of ablation generators to one of the antenna/sensor of the plurality of antenna/sensor electrodes and to one discrete VNA in the plurality of VNAs, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karmarkar and Wilton as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Viswanathan (W.O. Application No. 2019217317 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Karmarkar/Wilton combination discloses the invention substantially as claimed in claim 1 and discussed above.
However, they do not disclose wherein the PFA signals comprise trains of high-voltage pulses of at least 1 KV, delivered at a field strength of at least 100 V/cm.
Viswanathan, in the same field of endeavor, teaches an ablation system comprising an ablation device configured to generate large electric field magnitudes (e.g., electric fields of about 200 V/cm and above) at desired regions of interest to ablate tissue (pa. 0050), and a signal generator (110) able to deliver rectangular- wave pulses with a peak maximum voltage of about 7 kV (pa. 0070).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pulse-field ablation (PFA) signals of Karmarkar to comprise trains of high-voltage pulses of at least 1 KV, delivered at a field strength of at least 100 V/cm, as taught by Viswanathan, to aid in therapeutic treatment of a variety of cardiac arrhythmias for example.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karmarkar and Wilton as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Harlev (U.S. Application No. 20090253976 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Karmarkar/Wilton combination discloses the invention substantially as claimed in claim 19 discussed above.
However, they do not disclose wherein each antenna/sensor electrode in the plurality of antenna/sensor electrodes is disposed between two ablation electrodes in the plurality of ablation electrodes.
Harlev, in the same field of endeavor, teaches an ablation catheter device (110) comprising a plurality of spines (116) fitted with various types of electrodes that are configured to perform various functions, such as a plurality of current injection electrodes (119) (analogous to the ablation electrodes) configured to inject electrical current into the targeted tissue, and a plurality of potential measuring electrodes (118) (analogous to the antenna/sensor electrodes) configured to measure the potentials resulting from the current injected by the current injection electrodes (pa. 0128-0129 & Figs. 1-2B). As seen in Figs. 2B-2C, the midpoint section of every other spine contains one current injection electrode; thereby, providing a configuration where each potential measuring electrode in the plurality of potential measuring electrodes is disposed between two spines containing the current injection electrodes in the plurality of current injection electrodes.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the arrangement of ablation electrodes and antenna/sensor electrodes on the distal end of the ablation catheter of Karmarkar to have the specific configuration taught by Harlev, since applicant has not disclosed that the specific configuration claimed solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally as well with either configuration of electrodes.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regards to independent claims 1 and 19, Applicant argues that the Karmarkar reference does not disclose the newly amended language of the ablation signals being "pulse-field ablation (PFA) signals" and “wherein the transmission system individually couples each of the plurality of antenna/sensor electrodes, via a discrete high-frequency transmission line and through a low-pass and high-pass filter, to one discrete ablation generator in the plurality of ablation generators and one discrete VNA in the plurality of VNAs, through one discrete channel in the plurality of channels in the filtering system". Specifically, Applicant contends that Karmarkar is primarily directed to an RF ablation system, with only passing reference to "pulsed high voltage sources" as one example of "energy emitting ablation electrodes," and the Wilton reference is entirely directed to such an RF ablation system. However, Examiner, respectfully, disagrees.
Karmarkar discloses examples of energy emitting ablation electrodes which include, without limitation, electrode elements coupled to direct current (DC) sources or alternating current (AC) sources (e.g., radiofrequency, RF, current sources) and/or pulsed high voltage sources (pa. 0121). Therefore, this citation meets the claim limitation of the independent claims given that the invention contemplates utilizing pulsed high voltage sources, regardless of whether or not the rest of the reference is explicit about using pulse ablation signals.
Furthermore, Karmarkar discloses a transmission system that individually electrically couples each of the plurality of antenna/sensor electrodes, via a discrete high-frequency transmission line (i.e., coaxial cable) and through a low-pass and high-pass filter (pa. 0120, 0159), to at least one ablation generator in the plurality of ablation generators and one discrete VNA, through one discrete channel in the plurality of channels in the filtering system (pa. 0120). Karmarkar is silent on a plurality of VNAs, wherein the transmission system individually couples each of the plurality of antenna/sensor electrodes to one discrete ablation generator in the plurality of ablation generators and one discrete VNA in the plurality of VNAs. However, Examiner finds that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have added additional coaxial cables to the transmission system of Karmarkar and to have added additional VNAs to the existing VNA of Karmarkar, in order to allow for individual electrical coupling between each discrete ablation generator of the plurality of ablation generators to one of the antenna/sensor of the plurality of antenna/sensor electrodes and to one discrete VNA in the plurality of VNAs, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Therefore, the independent claims remain rejected under the combination of the prior art listed above.
With regards to independent claims 1 and 19, Applicant further argues that the claimed arrangement is not obvious in view of the cited references because running multiple high-frequency transmission lines along the length of an ablation catheter and filtering the sensing signals to isolate interference from PFA ablation signals is a non-trivial high-speed design issue, and this kind of engineering design is often referred to in the field as "black magic" because of its complexity. However, Examiner disagrees.
In response to applicant's argument that modifying the reference as discussed above results in solving a non-trivial high-speed design issue, the test for obviousness is not whether the features disclosed in a primary reference may be bodily incorporated, or in this case duplicated, into other existing structures of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the modified reference would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). As stated above, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Furthermore, there is nothing in the Karmarkar reference which limits or prevents Examiner from modifying the invention to include a duplication of disclosed components. Therefore, the independent claims remain rejected under the combination of the prior art listed above.
Lastly, with regards to independent claim 19, Applicant argues that neither of the cited references disclose the newly added claim limitation of "selectively providing pulse-field ablation (PFA) signals to the first subset of ablation electrodes but not to the second subset of ablation electrodes while simultaneously capturing active HFEPs for each antenna/sensor electrode." However, Examiner disagrees.
Karmarkar discloses providing pulse-field ablation signals (PFA) (pa. 0121) once antenna/sensor electrode-tissue contact is confirmed and maximalized (pa. 0136), and while simultaneously capturing active HFEPs for each antenna/sensor electrode (pa. 0120) (i.e., the coaxial cable connects the low pass filters, high pass filters, RF generator and vector network analyzer to simultaneously deliver high frequency sensing signals to and from the antenna electrode and low frequency ablation RF to the electrode). Therefore, since the ablation system is able to simultaneously deliver high frequency sensing signals and frequency ablation RF, then the claim limitation is met.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.V.G./Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/Ronald Hupczey, Jr./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794