FINAL REJECTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 8-10, 12, 13, 15, 17, 22-25, and 28-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO2020/191558A1 to Wang et al. (“Wang”), with a publication date of October 1, 2020.
As to claim 1, Wang discloses:
A communication method based on a measurement relaxation mechanism, performed by a terminal, comprising:
determining first capability information for measurement relaxation, wherein the first capability information for measurement relaxation is used to indicate a first capability supported by the terminal in a non-connected state for radio resource management (RRM) measurement relaxation,
Wang discloses a terminal which determines measurement relaxation capability information which indicates a RRM measurement relaxation capability the terminal supports. Wang at 4-5 “wherein the target function can be determined by the terminal device. Here, the target function is one of at least one of the following functions: Radio Resource Management (RRM, Radio Resource Management) Relax function,” “It should be pointed out that the method provided in this embodiment may also include: reporting capability indication information; Wherein, the capability indication information is used to indicate whether the terminal device supports at least one of the following functions: RRM Relax function…”
Wang discloses that the capability indication is for relaxation as to measurement performed in idle mode i.e. non-connected state.
wherein the first capability for the RRM measurement relaxation comprises at least one of: supporting all measurement relaxation criterion, supporting a non- cell edge criterion, supporting a low mobility criterion, supporting a stationary criterion, supporting at least one of a non-cell edge criterion or a low mobility criterion, supporting at least one of a non-cell edge criterion or a stationary criterion, supporting at least one of a non- cell edge criterion, a low mobility criterion or a stationary criterion; or not supporting any measurement relaxation criterion;
Wang discloses that the capability includes supporting a stationary or low mobility criterion. Wang at 7 (“[t]he network device determines at least one function that can be activated by the terminal device according to the type of the terminal device. For example, the network side obtains the UE's moving state or moving speed, and the network side decides not to configure the MDT measurement configuration for the relatively stationary terminal type.”). See also id. at 8 (“[f]or example, when the terminal device is at a low speed, or is in a certain or certain moving state, the terminal device does not perform MDT related measurements. The terminal device executes RRM relax. When the terminal device is at a high speed, it does not perform MDT-related measurements, or does not perform RRM relax.”)
receiving system messages transmitted by a network device, wherein the system messages include configured measurement relaxation parameters;
determining a measurement relaxation criterion supported by the terminal corresponding to the first capability information for measurement relaxation from the configured measurement relaxation parameters; and
performing the RRM measurement relaxation in case that the measurement relaxation criterion is fulfilled.
Wang discloses receiving system messages from the network regarding configured relaxation parameters, and determining whether to perform the relaxation when a preset condition is met. Wang at Abstract and at 2 and 4 (“Step 21: Obtain function configuration information; wherein the function configuration information is used to instruct the terminal device to enable the target function; Step 22: Based on a preset condition, determine whether to execute the target function that is indicated to be enabled in the function configuration information.“). This reads determining a criterion.
See also Wang at 8, disclosing receiving configuration from the network and then, based on determined criteria as to support for RRM relaxation, performing RRM relaxation (Condition 6: “[f]or example, the network side issues fourth instruction information, and executes the speed threshold or movement status list of a certain function of the terminal device through the fourth instruction information, and the terminal device decides whether to perform the function according to its own speed. For example, when the terminal device is at a low speed, or is in a certain or certain moving state, the terminal device does not perform MDT related measurements. The terminal device executes RRM relax. When the terminal device is at a high speed, it does not perform MDT-related measurements, or does not perform RRM relax”).
Further as to claim 3:
The communication method based on the measurement relaxation mechanism according to claim 1, further comprising:
determining second capability information for measurement relaxation, wherein the second capability information for measurement relaxation is used to indicate a second capability supported by the terminal in a connected state for the RRM measurement relaxation, wherein the second capability comprises supporting an RRM measurement relaxation criterion, and the second capability shall be reported to the network device based on a radio capability message of the terminal.
Wang discloses also that capability information may be determined and reported for measurement relaxation and that measurements (that are relaxed) may be those in an inactive state (connected). Wang at 1. Note that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the process of Wang may be repeated multiple times.
Further as to claim 8:
The communication method based on the measurement relaxation mechanism according to claim 3, wherein the method further comprises:
obtaining measurement relaxation parameters corresponding to the second capability information for measurement relaxation configured by the network device based on a radio control resource dedicated signaling.
As to obtaining parameters from the network, Wang states that such is configured by RRC. Wang at 3 “The idle measurement configuration can be configured in the RRC release message”, “[i]f it is dedicated, use the dedicated configuration”.
As to claim 9:
The communication method based on the measurement relaxation mechanism according to claim 3, wherein the method further comprises:
determining measurement relaxation parameters corresponding to the second capability information for measurement relaxation from the configured measurement relaxation parameters configured.
Wang discloses determining parameters corresponding to capability information as shown above in the rejection of claim 1.
Further as to claim 10:
The communication method based on the measurement relaxation mechanism according to claim 3, further comprising:
determining that the terminal supports the RRM measurement relaxation criterion, and performing the RRM measurement relaxation based on the measurement relaxation parameters in the connected state;
Wang discloses the capability that is supported by the terminal is measuring in an idle i.e. non-connected state or connected state. Wang at 5, “The idle state measurement report refers to the measurement of the terminal device in the idle state (Idle) or the inactive state (inactive) according to the configuration, the measurement is performed, and the measurement result is reported to the network side after the terminal device enters the connected state.”
Further as to claim 12:
The communication method based on the measurement relaxation mechanism according to claim 1, further comprising:
determining the terminal not supporting the measurement relaxation criterion, and not performing the RRM measurement relaxation.
Wang discloses that the terminal may determine it does not support RRM measurement relaxation and not perform it thusly. Wang at 5, “Regarding the trigger of the terminal device reporting capability indication information, the terminal device itself may report it, or the terminal device may report the capability indication information to the network device when the network device sends a capability report request to the terminal device. In addition, when the terminal device does not support a certain function, the terminal device will not perform that function.”
As to claim 23:
A non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored therein instructions that, when executed by a processor of a terminal, cause the terminal to perform the communication method according to claim 1.
Wang discloses the method of claim 1 above, and further discloses that it is performed by way of a non-transitory computer readable medium storing processor-executable instructions. Wang at FIG 6 element 610 and at 14 “the communication device 600 may further include a memory 620. The processor 610 may call and run a computer program from the memory 620 to implement the method in the embodiment of the present application. The memory 620 may be a separate device independent of the processor 610, or may be integrated in the processor 610.”
Further as to claim 27:
The communication method based on the measurement relaxation mechanism according to claim 1, further comprising:
determining that the terminal supports the measurement relaxation criterion, and
performing the RRM measurement relaxation based on the measurement relaxation parameters in the non-connected state.
Wang discloses the capability that is supported by the terminal is measuring in an idle i.e. non-connected state or connected state. Wang at 5, “The idle state measurement report refers to the measurement of the terminal device in the idle state (Idle) or the inactive state (inactive) according to the configuration, the measurement is performed, and the measurement result is reported to the network side after the terminal device enters the connected state.”
As to claim 13, Wang discloses:
A communication method based on a measurement relaxation mechanism, performed by a network device and comprising:
sending system messages, wherein the system messages include configured measurement relaxation parameters, and the configured measurement relaxation parameters are used for a terminal to determine a measurement relaxation criterion supported by the terminal corresponding to first capability information for measurement relaxation and to perform radio resource management (RRM) measurement relaxation in case that the measurement relaxation criterion is fulfilled,
Wang discloses a network device which sends system messages including configured measurement relaxation parameters to be used by a terminal to determine criteria as to the capability to relax measurements which the criteria are met. Wang at Abstract and at 2 and 4 (“Step 21: Obtain function configuration information; wherein the function configuration information is used to instruct the terminal device to enable the target function; Step 22: Based on a preset condition, determine whether to execute the target function that is indicated to be enabled in the function configuration information.“). This reads determining a criterion.
See also Wang at 8, disclosing receiving configuration from the network and then, based on determined criteria as to support for RRM relaxation, performing RRM relaxation. (Condition 6: “[f]or example, the network side issues fourth instruction information, and executes the speed threshold or movement status list of a certain function of the terminal device through the fourth instruction information, and the terminal device decides whether to perform the function according to its own speed. For example, when the terminal device is at a low speed, or is in a certain or certain moving state, the terminal device does not perform MDT related measurements. The terminal device executes RRM relax. When the terminal device is at a high speed, it does not perform MDT-related measurements, or does not perform RRM relax”).
See also id. at 4-5 (“[i]t should be pointed out that the method provided in this embodiment may also include: reporting capability indication information; Wherein, the capability indication information is used to indicate whether the terminal device supports at least one of the following functions: RRM Relax function…”).
wherein the first capability information for measurement relaxation is used to indicate a first capability supported by the terminal in a non-connected state for the (RRM) measurement relaxation,
Wang discloses that the capability indication is for relaxation as to measurement performed in idle mode i.e. non-connected state. Wang at 5, “The idle state measurement report refers to the measurement of the terminal device in the idle state (Idle) or the inactive state (inactive) according to the configuration, the measurement is performed, and the measurement result is reported to the network side after the terminal device enters the connected state.”
wherein the first capability for the RRM measurement relaxation comprises at least one of: supporting all measurement relaxation criterion, supporting a non-cell edge criterion, supporting a low mobility criterion, supporting a stationary criterion, supporting at least one of a non-cell edge criterion or a low mobility criterion, supporting at least one of a non-cell edge criterion or a stationary criterion, supporting at least one of a non-cell edge criterion, a low mobility criterion or a stationary criterion; or not supporting any measurement relaxation criterion.
Wang discloses that the capability includes supporting a stationary or low mobility criterion. Wang at 7 (“[t]he network device determines at least one function that can be activated by the terminal device according to the type of the terminal device. For example, the network side obtains the UE's moving state or moving speed, and the network side decides not to configure the MDT measurement configuration for the relatively stationary terminal type.”). See also id. at 8 (“[f]or example, when the terminal device is at a low speed, or is in a certain or certain moving state, the terminal device does not perform MDT related measurements. The terminal device executes RRM relax. When the terminal device is at a high speed, it does not perform MDT-related measurements, or does not perform RRM relax.”)
Further as to claim 15:
The communication method based on the measurement relaxation mechanism according to claim 13, comprising obtaining second capability information for measurement relaxation reported by the terminal, wherein the second capability information for measurement relaxation is used to indicate a second capability supported by the terminal in a connected state for the RRM measurement relaxation, wherein the second capability comprises supporting an RRM measurement relaxation criterion.
Wang discloses also that capability information may be determined and reported for measurement relaxation and that measurements (that are relaxed) may be those in an inactive state (connected). Wang at 1. Note that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the process of Wang may be repeated multiple times.
Further as to claim 17:
The communication method based on the measurement relaxation mechanism according to claim 13, wherein the method further comprises:
sending measurement relaxation parameters corresponding to second capability information for measurement relaxation configured by the network device via a radio control resource dedicated signaling, wherein the second capability information for measurement relaxation is used to indicate a second capability supported by the terminal in a connected state for the RRM measurement relaxation.
As to obtaining parameters from the network, Wang states that such is configured by RRC. Wang at 3 “The idle measurement configuration can be configured in the RRC release message”, “[i]f it is dedicated, use the dedicated configuration”.
As to claim 24, Wang discloses:
A communication device based on a measurement relaxation mechanism, comprising:
a processor; and
a memory configured to store a processor-executable instruction;
wherein, when executed by the processor, the instruction causes the processor to perform the communication method according to claim 13.
Wang discloses claim 13 above. Wang further discloses that the method corresponding to claim 13 is performed by a processor connected to memory storing instructions. Id. at FIG 6 element 610 and at 14 “the communication device 600 may further include a memory 620. The processor 610 may call and run a computer program from the memory 620 to implement the method in the embodiment of the present application. The memory 620 may be a separate device independent of the processor 610, or may be integrated in the processor 610.”, “The communication device may be the aforementioned terminal device or network device in this embodiment.”
As to claim 25, Wang discloses:
A non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored therein instructions that, when executed by a processor of a network device, cause the network device to perform the communication method according to claim 13.
Wang discloses claim 13 above. Wang further discloses that the method corresponding to claim 13 is performed by a processor connected to memory storing instructions. Id. at FIG 6 element 610 and at 14 “the communication device 600 may further include a memory 620. The processor 610 may call and run a computer program from the memory 620 to implement the method in the embodiment of the present application. The memory 620 may be a separate device independent of the processor 610, or may be integrated in the processor 610.”, “The communication device may be the aforementioned terminal device or network device in this embodiment.”
Further as to claim 28:
The communication method based on the measurement relaxation mechanism according to claim 15, wherein obtaining the second capability information for measurement relaxation reported by the terminal comprises at least one of:
obtaining the second capability information for measurement relaxation reported by the terminal via a radio capability message of the terminal;
obtaining the second capability information for measurement relaxation reported by the terminal via initialization assistance information;
obtaining the second capability information for measurement relaxation reported by the terminal via message 5 in a radio resource control connection setup process or a radio resource control connection resume process;
obtaining the second capability information for measurement relaxation reported by the terminal via message 3 in a radio resource control connection setup process or a radio resource control connection resume process.
Wang discloses the network obtaining capability information via a radio capability message from the terminal. Wang at 4-5 (“[i]t should be pointed out that the method provided in this embodiment may also include: reporting capability indication information; Wherein, the capability indication information is used to indicate whether the terminal device supports at least one of the following functions: RRM Relax function…”).
As to claim 22, Wang discloses:
A communication device based on a measurement relaxation mechanism, comprising:
a processor; and
a memory configured to store a processor-executable instruction;
wherein, when executed by the processor, the instruction causes the processor to:
Wang discloses a terminal including a processor, memory, and programming to perform the following steps. Wang at FIG 6 element 610 and at 14 “the communication device 600 may further include a memory 620. The processor 610 may call and run a computer program from the memory 620 to implement the method in the embodiment of the present application. The memory 620 may be a separate device independent of the processor 610, or may be integrated in the processor 610.”
determine first capability information for measurement relaxation, wherein the first capability information for measurement relaxation is used to indicate a first capability supported by a terminal in a non-connected state for radio resource management (RRM) measurement relaxation,
Wang discloses a terminal which determines measurement relaxation capability information which indicates a RRM measurement relaxation capability the terminal supports. Wang at 4-5 “wherein the target function can be determined by the terminal device. Here, the target function is one of at least one of the following functions: Radio Resource Management (RRM, Radio Resource Management) Relax function,” “It should be pointed out that the method provided in this embodiment may also include: reporting capability indication information; Wherein, the capability indication information is used to indicate whether the terminal device supports at least one of the following functions: RRM Relax function…”
Wang discloses that the capability indication is for relaxation as to measurement performed in idle mode i.e. non-connected state.
wherein the first capability for the RRM measurement relaxation comprises at least one of: supporting all measurement relaxation criterion, supporting a non-cell edge criterion, supporting a low mobility criterion, supporting a stationary criterion, supporting at least one of a non-cell edge criterion or a low mobility criterion, supporting at least one of a non-cell edge criterion or a stationary criterion, supporting at least one of a non-cell edge criterion, a low mobility criterion or a stationary criterion; or not supporting any measurement relaxation criterion;
Wang discloses that the capability includes supporting a stationary or low mobility criterion. Wang at 7 (“[t]he network device determines at least one function that can be activated by the terminal device according to the type of the terminal device. For example, the network side obtains the UE's moving state or moving speed, and the network side decides not to configure the MDT measurement configuration for the relatively stationary terminal type.”). See also id. at 8 (“[f]or example, when the terminal device is at a low speed, or is in a certain or certain moving state, the terminal device does not perform MDT related measurements. The terminal device executes RRM relax. When the terminal device is at a high speed, it does not perform MDT-related measurements, or does not perform RRM relax.”)
receive system messages transmitted by a network device, wherein the system messages include configured measurement relaxation parameters;
determine a measurement relaxation criterion supported by the terminal corresponding to the first capability information for measurement relaxation from the configured measurement relaxation parameters; and
perform the RRM measurement relaxation in case that the measurement relaxation criterion is fulfilled.
Wang discloses receiving system messages from the network regarding configured relaxation parameters, and determining whether to perform the relaxation when a preset condition is met. Wang at Abstract and at 2 and 4 (“Step 21: Obtain function configuration information; wherein the function configuration information is used to instruct the terminal device to enable the target function; Step 22: Based on a preset condition, determine whether to execute the target function that is indicated to be enabled in the function configuration information.“). This reads determining a criterion.
See also Wang at 8, disclosing receiving configuration from the network and then, based on determined criteria as to support for RRM relaxation, performing RRM relaxation (Condition 6: “[f]or example, the network side issues fourth instruction information, and executes the speed threshold or movement status list of a certain function of the terminal device through the fourth instruction information, and the terminal device decides whether to perform the function according to its own speed. For example, when the terminal device is at a low speed, or is in a certain or certain moving state, the terminal device does not perform MDT related measurements. The terminal device executes RRM relax. When the terminal device is at a high speed, it does not perform MDT-related measurements, or does not perform RRM relax”).
Further as to claim 29:
The communication device based on a measurement relaxation mechanism according to claim 22, wherein the instruction causes the processor further to:
determine second capability information for measurement relaxation, wherein the second capability information for measurement relaxation is used to indicate a second capability supported by the terminal in a connected state for the RRM measurement relaxation, wherein the second capability comprises supporting an RRM measurement relaxation criterion, and the second capability shall be reported to the network device based on a radio capability message of the terminal.
Wang discloses also that capability information may be determined and reported for measurement relaxation and that measurements (that are relaxed) may be those in an inactive state (connected). Wang at 1. Note that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the process of Wang may be repeated multiple times.
Further as to claim 30:
The communication device based on a measurement relaxation mechanism according to claim 29, wherein the instruction causes the processor further to:
obtain measurement relaxation parameters corresponding to the second capability information for measurement relaxation configured by the network device based on a radio control resource dedicated signaling.
As to obtaining parameters from the network, Wang states that such is configured by RRC. Wang at 3 “The idle measurement configuration can be configured in the RRC release message”, “[i]f it is dedicated, use the dedicated configuration”.
Further as to claim 31:
The communication device based on a measurement relaxation mechanism according to claim 29, wherein the instruction causes the processor further to:
determine that the terminal supports the RRM measurement relaxation criterion, and
perform the RRM measurement relaxation based on the measurement relaxation parameters in the connected state.
Wang discloses the capability that is supported by the terminal is measuring in an idle i.e. non-connected state or connected state. Wang at 5, “The idle state measurement report refers to the measurement of the terminal device in the idle state (Idle) or the inactive state (inactive) according to the configuration, the measurement is performed, and the measurement result is reported to the network side after the terminal device enters the connected state.”
Further as to claim 32:
The communication device based on a measurement relaxation mechanism according to claim 22, wherein the instruction causes the processor further to:
determine that the terminal supports the measurement relaxation criterion, and perform the RRM measurement relaxation based on the measurement relaxation parameters in the non-connected state.
Wang discloses the capability that is supported by the terminal is measuring in an idle i.e. non-connected state or connected state. Wang at 5, “The idle state measurement report refers to the measurement of the terminal device in the idle state (Idle) or the inactive state (inactive) according to the configuration, the measurement is performed, and the measurement result is reported to the network side after the terminal device enters the connected state.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang as applied to claim 3 above and further in view of WO2021/090281A1 to Thangarasa et al. (“Thangarasa”).
As to claim 5:
The communication method based on the measurement relaxation mechanism according to claim 3, wherein the method further comprises at least one of:
reporting the second capability information for measurement relaxation via initialization assistance information;
reporting the second capability information for measurement relaxation via message 5 in a radio resource control connection setup process or a radio resource control connection resume process; or
reporting the second capability information for measurement relaxation via message 3 in a radio resource control connection setup process or a radio resource control connection resume process.
Wang discloses claim 3 above but fails to disclose the three reporting options claimed.
Thangarasa discloses an analogous invention, namely RRM relaxation in power savings in a wireless system. Thangarasa at Abstract and ¶¶10-11. Thangarasa further states that capabilities of the UE may be sent to the network via Msg5. Id. at ¶3.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add such a feature to Wang. Thangarasa states that use of Msg5 for such capabilities is part of the LTE standard used by Wang, and further one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood such to merely be an example of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP § 2143 I. A., citing KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Response to Arguments
Applicant provides arguments with his April 20, 2026 response (“Remarks”).
Applicant’s arguments towards the previous rejections under Double Patenting are persuasive and the rejection is withdrawn. However, the Examiner notes that the application claims previously applied are still pending and may be further amended in a manner that applies to the instant claims.
Applicant’s arguments towards the previous rejection of claims under §102 as to Wang are found not persuasive for the reasons set forth below.
Wang discloses measurement in the active or inactive state, and discloses determining the capability to and the implementation of measurement relaxation. Contrary to applicant’s arguments, these are not mutually exclusive functions, as the relaxation is specifically for measurements made at the terminal. The only measurement that Wang specifies includes measurements in an idle state i.e. non-connected or a connected state. The Examiner further notes that the instant disclosure states as background that the RRM Relax of NR systems such as Wang’s are specifically for relaxation of measurements in a non-connected state. ‘282 Application disclosure at ¶2 (“[i]n a Rel-16 version, a new radio (NR) introduces an RRM measurement relaxation mechanism for the terminal in an idle state.”). This is the same Release described by Wang. Wang at 1 (“For the purpose of energy-saving terminal equipment, New Radio (NR, Radio) Radio Resource Management (RRM, Radio Resource Management) has been optimized (RRM Relax). The main point of optimization is to reduce the number of cells measured by the terminal equipment, and/or the number of frequency layers, for example, the terminal device reduces the number of cells measured by the terminal device and/or the number of frequency layers according to the beam information where it is located. In R16, the function of network optimization is introduced in NR”). By applicant’s own disclosure, the feature argued is in Wang.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner should be directed to Charles Craver whose telephone number is (571) 272-7849. The Examiner can normally be reached on Monday - Friday 8:30-5:30 PT Pacific Time.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Andrew J. Fischer can be reached on 571-272-6779. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Signed,
/CHARLES R CRAVER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3992