Response to Arguments
1. Applicant's arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 25, 27, 29-32, 35-39, 41, and 45-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al. (US 20210153294 A1) in view of Meng et al. (US 20220004029 A1).
Claim 25 Seo teaches an apparatus, comprising:
a plurality of interface devices, (FIG. 5, Electronic Device 101 and External Electronic Device 202, ¶0068) each of the plurality of interface devices including a respective first connection device configured for connecting to a transmission medium, (FIG. 1, ¶0026, wherein the electronic devices comprise devices configured for connecting to a transmission medium, Communication Module 190) wherein a first interface device of the plurality of interface devices is configured to at least temporarily output at least a first signal of at least one second interface device of the plurality of interface devices via its respective first connection device. (¶0052, wherein the hotspot device is configured to transmit data from connected device)
However, Seo does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of interface devices are disposed together on a single semiconductor substrate, and wherein the plurality of interface devices are each configured as Ethernet interface devices.
From a related technology, Meng teaches a plurality of interface devices are disposed together on a single semiconductor substrate, (FIG. 1, I/O 106, ¶0132, wherein a plurality of interface devices 106 are comprised on a single semiconductor substrate) and wherein the plurality of interface devices are each configured as Ethernet interface devices. (¶0132, wherein the interface devices 102 are configured for Ethernet)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Seo to incorporate the physical substrate design and configuration taught by Meng in order to more effectively utilize network resources.
Claim 27 Seo in view of Meng teaches Claim 25, and further teaches wherein a first signal connection is provided, via which the first signal can at least temporarily be transmitted from the second interface device to the first interface device, wherein the first signal connection is provided internally in the apparatus (Seo, FIG. 1, ¶0026, wherein the devices can transmit signals via a Communication Module 190) on the single semiconductor substrate.
Claim 29 Seo in view of Meng teaches Claim 25, and further teaches wherein the first interface device is configured to at least temporarily receive the first signal from the second interface device via a first signal connection. (Seo, FIG. 1, ¶0026, wherein the devices can receive signals via a Communication Module 190)
Claim 30 Seo in view of Meng teaches Claim 25, and further teaches wherein the first interface device includes, as part of the first interface device, a second connection device configured at least for receiving the first signal from the second interface device. (Seo, FIG. 1, ¶0026, wherein the devices can receive signals via a Communication Module 190)
Claim 31 Seo in view of Meng teaches Claim 30, and further teaches wherein the first interface device is configured to at least temporarily output a second signal via the second connection device to at least one further interface device of the plurality of interface devices. (Seo, FIG. 1, ¶0026, wherein the devices can output signals via a Communication Module 190)
Claim 32 Seo in view of Meng teaches Claim 25, and further teaches wherein the first interface device is configured to output the first signal to at least one further interface device of the plurality of interface devices. (Seo, FIG. 1, ¶0026, wherein the devices can ouput signals via a Communication Module 190)
Claim 35 Seo in view of Meng teaches Claim 30, and further teaches wherein the second connection device includes at least one of the following elements:
a) a first input for receiving at least one signal, from the second interface device, (Seo, FIG. 1, ¶0026, wherein the devices can receive signals via a Communication Module 190)
b) a first output for sending and/or forwarding at least one signal to the second interface device,
c) a second input for receiving at least one signal from at least one further interface device,
d) a second output for sending or forwarding at least one signal to the at least one further interface device.
Claim 36 Seo in view of Meng teaches Claim 35, wherein
a) the first input and the first output are disposed on a same first side of the first interface device, (Seo, FIG. 1, ¶0026, wherein the devices can receive and send signals via a Communication Module 190, wherein this would be on the same side of the device)
and/or b) the second input and the second output are disposed on a same second side of the first interface device, wherein the second side is opposite to the first side.
Claim 37 is taught by Seo in view of Meng as described for Claim 1.
Claim 38 is taught by Seo in view of Meng as described for Claim 1.
Claim 39 is taught by Seo in view of Meng as described for Claim 1.
Claim 41 Seo in view of Meng teaches Claim 39, and further teaches at least one of the following steps: a) at least temporarily receiving the first signal from the second interface device, (Seo, FIG. 1, ¶0026, wherein the devices can receive signals via a Communication Module 190)
b) outputting the first signal via the first connection device,
c) forwarding the first signal to at least one further interface device,
d) checking the first signal.
Claim 45 is taught by Seo in view of Meng as described for Claim 1.
Claim 46 Seo teaches method of using an apparatus, the method comprising:
providing an apparatus, (¶0125, wherein multiple element can be provided as a single component, i.e. an apparatus) the apparatus including:
a plurality of interface devices, (FIG. 5, Electronic Device 101 and External Electronic Device 202, ¶0068) each of the plurality of interface devices including a respective first connection device configured for connecting to a transmission medium, (FIG. 1, ¶0026, wherein the electronic devices comprise devices configured for connecting to a transmission medium, Communication Module 190) wherein a first interface device of the plurality of interface devices is configured to at least temporarily output at least a first signal of at least one second interface device of the plurality of interface devices via its respective first connection device; (¶0052, wherein the hotspot device is configured to transmit data from connected device) and
using the apparatus for at least one of the following:
a) at least temporarily outputting the first signal of the second interface device and/or a signal of at least one further interface device via the first connection device, (¶0052, wherein the hotspot device is configured to transmit data from connected device)
b) forwarding the first signal of the second interface device and/or the signal of at least one further interface device, to a device which is external to the apparatus,
c) at least temporarily using the first connection device to output signals other than useful signals to a device which is external to the apparatus;
d) using the first connection device for at least temporarily outputting useful signals and for at least temporarily outputting test signals to a device which is external to the apparatus;
e) reducing a number of connection elements of the apparatus for connecting to at least one external component;
f) ascertaining at least one property of the first signal and/or at least one further signal of at least one interface device of the plurality of interface devices, wherein the at least one property includes at least one of the following elements: frequency, frequency stability, fluctuation, jitter, without use or presence of a separate test connection for outputting the first signal and/or the at least one further signal of the at least one interface device of the plurality of interface devices;
g) testing an internal signal of the first interface device of the plurality of interface devices using at least one further interface device of the plurality of interface devices.
However, Seo does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of interface devices are disposed together on a single semiconductor substrate, and wherein the plurality of interface devices are each configured as Ethernet interface devices.
From a related technology, Meng teaches a plurality of interface devices are disposed together on a single semiconductor substrate, (FIG. 1, I/O 106, ¶0132, wherein a plurality of interface devices 106 are comprised on a single semiconductor substrate) and wherein the plurality of interface devices are each configured as Ethernet interface devices. (¶0132, wherein the interface devices 102 are configured for Ethernet)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Seo to incorporate the physical substrate design and configuration taught by Meng in order to more effectively utilize network resources.
Claim 47 Seo in view of Meng teaches Claim 25, and further teaches wherein the apparatus is a system on a chip (SoC). (Meng, ¶0003, apparatus comprises a system on a chip, SoC)
4. Claims 28, 33-34, 40, and 42-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al. (US 20210153294 A1) in view of Meng et al. (US 20220004029 A1) and in further view of Taylor et al. (US 5329431 A).
Claim 28 Seo in view of Meng teaches Claim 25 and further teaches wherein the first signal can be generated locally in the second interface device of the plurality of interface devices (Seo, FIG. 1, ¶0026, wherein the devices can generate signals via a Communication Module 190) or can be derived from at least one other signal.
However, Seo does not explicitly teach wherein the first signal is a clock signal.
From a related technology, Taylor teaches a clock signal. (Col. 9, Lines 53-62, wherein a first signal comprises a clock signal)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Seo to incorporate well-known networking technology in order to more efficiently utilized network resources by taking advantage of well-known technology.
Claim 33 Seo in view of Meng teaches Claim 25 and further teaches wherein the first interface device is configured to at least temporarily supply the first signal to the line driver. (Seo, FIG. 1, ¶0026, wherein the devices can generate signals via a Communication Module 190)
However, Seo does not explicitly teach wherein the first interface device includes a line driver for the first connection device.
From a related technology, Taylor teaches wherein the first interface device includes a line driver for the first connection device. (Col. 12, Lines 30-36, wherein the device includes a line driver 378)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Seo to incorporate well-known networking technology in order to more efficiently utilized network resources.
Claim 34 Seo in view of Meng teaches Claim 25 but does not explicitly teach wherein the first interface device includes a multiplexer device via which the first signal or at least one further signal can at least temporarily be supplied to the first connection device and/or to a line driver, selectively.
From a related technology, Taylor teaches wherein the first interface device includes a multiplexer device via which the first signal or at least one further signal can at least temporarily be supplied to the first connection device (Col. 38, Lines 1-5, wherein the device includes a multiplexer) and/or to a line driver, selectively.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Seo to incorporate well-known networking technology in order to more efficiently utilized network resources.
Claim 40 Seo in view of Meng teaches Claim 39 but does not explicitly teach providing and/or generating the first signal locally in the second interface device using a clock generator and/or a clock recovery unit.
From a related technology, Taylor teaches providing and/or generating the first signal locally in the second interface device using a clock generator and/or a clock recovery unit. (Col. 9, Lines 53-62, wherein a first signal comprises a clock signal)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Seo to incorporate well-known networking technology in order to more efficiently utilized network resources.
Claim 42 Seo in view of Meng teaches Claim 39 but does not explicitly teach wherein the first interface device includes a line driver for the first connection device, and wherein the method further comprises:
at least temporarily supplying the first signal to the line driver; and
outputting the first signal through the line driver to the first connection device.
From a related technology, Taylor teaches wherein the first interface device includes a line driver for the first connection device, (Col. 12, Lines 30-36, wherein the device includes a line driver 378) and wherein the method further comprises:
at least temporarily supplying the first signal to the line driver; (Col. 12, Lines 30-57, wherein the signal is supplied to the line driver) and
outputting the first signal through the line driver to the first connection device. (Col. 12, Lines 30-36, wherein the signal is output from the line driver)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Seo to incorporate well-known networking technology in order to more efficiently utilized network resources.
Claim 43 Seo in view of Meng teaches Claim 39 but does not explicitly teach wherein the first interface device includes a multiplexer device, and wherein the method further comprises:
a) at least temporarily supplying, using the multiplexer device, the first signal to the first connection device and/or to a line driver for the first connection device,
b) at least temporarily supplying, using the multiplexer device, at least one further signal to the first connection device and/or to the line driver for the first connection device.
From a related technology, Taylor teaches wherein the first interface device includes a multiplexer device, (Col. 38, Lines 1-5, wherein the device includes a multiplexer) and wherein the method further comprises:
a) at least temporarily supplying, using the multiplexer device, the first signal to the first connection device and/or to a line driver for the first connection device, (Col. 38, Lines 19-37, using a multiplexer to supply a signal to another device)
b) at least temporarily supplying, using the multiplexer device, at least one further signal to the first connection device and/or to the line driver for the first connection device. (Col. 38, Lines 19-37, using a multiplexer to supply a signal to another device)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Seo to incorporate well-known networking technology in order to more efficiently utilized network resources.
Claim 44 Seo in view of Meng teaches Claim 39 and further teaches shifting the first interface device into an operating mode (Examiner notes that this would merely be the general operating mode of the device) in which the first interface device is configured to receive the first signal of the second interface device and output the first signal of the second interface device via the first connection device of the first interface device. (Seo, FIG. 1, ¶0026, wherein the devices can generate signals via a Communication Module 190)
However, Seo does not explicitly tech connecting the second interface device to an external interface device, the external device being a link partner, wherein the link partner is configured as a master, and wherein the second interface device is configured as a slave;
connecting a test device to the first connection device of the first interface device; and receiving and/or evaluating the first signal output via the first connection device of the first interface device using the test device.
From a related technology, Taylor teaches connecting the second interface device to an external interface device, the external device being a link partner, wherein the link partner is configured as a master, and wherein the second interface device is configured as a slave; (FIG. 16, Col. 4, Lines 57-59, wherein the device are connected to another device having a master/slave relationship)
connecting a test device to the first connection device of the first interface device; and receiving and/or evaluating the first signal output via the first connection device of the first interface device using the test device. (Col. 25, Lines 28-50, wherein testing is conducted via a connected device and receiving signals using the device)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Seo to incorporate well-known networking technology in order to more efficiently utilized network resources.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER P CADORNA/ Examiner, Art Unit 2444
/JOHN A FOLLANSBEE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2444