DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quaranta et al. (ASC Omega, 2018).
The claims are drawn to a monomer composition for synthesizing recycled plastics, comprising:
The claims are also drawn to a method for preparing the monomer composition of claims 1, the method comprising the steps of adding polycarbonate to an organic solvent to prepare a mixed solution; adding a glycol-based compound and an organic base catalyst to the mixed solution and stirring them; and obtaining an aromatic diol compound formed in the stirring step.
Quaranta et al. teach chemical recycling of poly(bisphenol A carbonate) by glycolysis using 1,8-diazabicyclo[5.4.0.]undec-7-ene (DBU) as catalyst. The reference teaches the hydroalkylation of bisphenol A (BPA) with propylene carbonate to form mono-hydroxypropyl BPA (MHP-BPA) and bis-hydroxypropyl BPA (BHP-BPA) (p. 7262, scheme 2).
The glycolysis is conducted by suspending the polycarbonate in 1,2-propanediol (propylene glycol) in a solvent, e.g., tetrahydrofuran, and adding the DBU catalyst, followed by stirring until depolymerization of poly(bisphenol A carbonate) is complete. Bisphenol A, as well as MHP-BPA and BHP-BPA (p. 7263, 2.2, and 2.3).
The reference does not teach the ratio of aromatic diol compound derivative impurity according to equation 1 or the yield according to equation 2; does not teach the color coordinate recited by the instant claims; and does not teach the aromatic diol compound derivative comprising monohydroxyethyl-bisphenol A or bishydroxyethyl-bisphenol A.
With regard to the last difference, the reference teaches glycolysis of poly-BPA carbonate using propylene glycol as the diol that reacts with the polycarbonate, thereby producing mono-hydroxypropyl BPA (MHP-BPA) and bis-hydroxypropyl BPA (BHP-BPA). However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art that propylene glycol can be substituted with ethylene glycol in the glycolysis process taught by Quaranta et al., such substitution would have resulted in the formation of monohydroxyethyl-bisphenol A and bishydroxyethyl-bisphenol A along with bisphenol according to the process taught by the reference.
The ratio of aromatic diol compound derivative impurities could have readily been derived, and modified by a person having ordinary skill in the art, since the preparation method claimed in the present invention is essentially the same as that which is taught by the reference. Such a person would have been able to adjust the reaction parameters, e.g., temperature, pressure, residence time, etc., in an effort to afford an aromatic diol having a desired, or acceptable concentration of impurities. The same is true of obtaining a monomer composition having a desired color coordinate.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 and 17-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 and 8-20 of copending Application No. 18/687,932 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to a monomer composition for synthesizing recycled plastic, comprising an aromatic diol and a method for preparing the same. The difference is that the instant claims recite an aromatic diol derivative impurity of 2% or less, according to equation 1, and a yield of aromatic diol of 80% or more, according to equation 2, while the reference application recites 0.5% or less, and 99.25% or more, respectively. This is not a patentable distinction since the parameters recited in the instant claims encompass those recited in the claims of the reference application. Therefore, the instant claims are deemed obvious over the claims of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-6, 19, and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 15, and 16 of copending Application No. 18/292,301 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are drawn to a monomer composition for synthesizing recycled plastic, comprising an aromatic diol. The difference is that the instant claims recite an aromatic diol derivative impurity of 2% or less, according to equation 1, while the reference application recites 10% or less. This is not a patentable distinction since the parameters recited in the instant claims are encompassed by those recited in the claims of the reference application. Therefore, the instant claims are deemed obvious over the claims of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
/SIKARL A WITHERSPOON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692