DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 01/25/2024. Claims 1-29 are pending.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged.
Drawing
The drawing submitted on 01/25/2024 is acknowledged and accepted by the examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 01/25/2024, 06/12/2025, 08/15/2025, 10/31/2025, and 12/31/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 11-16, 17-18, 20-21, 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Fan et al. (NPL_IEEE_ Fan, hereinafter Fan).
Claim 1, Fan teaches a power converter system (e.g., see section Ill, IV, Pages 1148-1150, figure 1, 8) comprising: a non-isolated N-phase power converter (e.g., three-phase), for N >=1, with a DC voltage section (e.g., the section comprising DC-link capacitors at Vdc side) and an N-phase AC voltage section (e.g., three-phase AC section), the power converter including power switching elements (e.g., S1abc, S2abc of each of the three phases, see Fig. 1, 8); and a control system configured to control the power converter (e.g., the control system generating the gate control signals of S1abc, S2abc), the control system configured to: determine rotational reference frame targets, the rotational reference frame targets including a zero-sequence component target (e.g., see section Ill, IV, Fig. 7, 8), wherein the zero-sequence component target is based on a multiple of N-th phase harmonic injection (e.g., , three-phase Vga, Vgb, Vgc, third-harmonic, zero-sequence injection; see section Ill, IV, Fig. 7, 8), generate N control reference targets in a stationary reference frame (e.g., the stationary reference frame, see col. 2, page 122), one for each of the N-phases of the N-phase power converter, based on the rotational reference frame targets (e.g., see Fig. 7, 8), generate control signals (e.g., S1a, S1b, S1c, S2a, S2b, S2c) for the power switching elements based on the N control reference targets (e.g., see Fig 8), and drive the power switching elements in accordance with the control signals (e.g., see Fig. 8).
Claim 2, Fan teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. It further teaches that where the control system is a cascaded control system comprising: a central controller including a processing unit (e.g., the processing structure portion comprising dq/abc, PLL, Zero-Sequence Voltage Injection), the central controller configured to: determine the rotational reference frame targets, and generate the N control reference targets (e.g., see Fig. 8); and at least one local controller each of the at least one local controller including a local processing unit (e.g., the generation circuit portions of S1a/S2a, S1b/S2b, S1c/S2c respectively), each of the at least one local controller configured to: receive a control reference target of the N control reference targets, and drive a portion of the power switching elements, associated with the local controller, in accordance with the control reference target (e.g., see Fig. 8).
Claim 4, Fan teaches the limitations of claim 2 as discussed above. It further teaches that wherein the central controller is further configured to: receive at least one electrical operational characteristic (e.g., the inputs received and processed by PLL ) from each of the at least one local controller, the electrical operational characteristics in the stationary reference frame (e.g., see Fig. 8); convert the at least one electrical operational characteristic to the rotating reference frame (e.g., see Fig. 8); and determine a direct axis (D-axis) component (e.g., idref) and a quadrature axis (Q-axis) component (e.g., iqref) of the rotational reference frame targets based on the at least one electrical operational characteristic in the rotating reference frame (e.g., see Fig. 8).
Claim 5, Fan teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. It further teaches that wherein the central controller is further configured to: determine a frequency of an alternating power signal (e,g,, Vga, Vgb, Vgc) of the AC section of the power converter based on a first characteristic of the at least one electrical operational characteristic in the rotating reference frame (e.g., phase-locked loop locking on the frequency of Vga, Vgb, Vgc for for getting the grid-side voltage magnitude vm and the angle θg is implicitly taught, see Section IV, Fig. 8).
Claim 11, Fan teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. It further teaches that wherein the power switching elements include, for each phase of the N phases of the power converter, a high-side element (e.g., S1a, S1b, S1c) and a low-side element (e.g., S2a, S2b, S2c) connected at a midpoint node (e.g., the mid node of S1 and S2 respectively), and wherein the midpoint node of each phase of the N phases of the power converter is coupled to a respective LC filter including an inductor (e.g., Lt) coupled between the midpoint node and a filter node, and one or more of a first capacitor coupled between the filter node and a positive DC bus of the power converter or a second capacitor (e.g., Ca, Cb, Cc respectively) coupled between the filter node and a negative DC bus of the power converter (e.g., see Fig. 8).
Claim 12, Fan teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. It further teaches that wherein the power converter is one or more of an AC-to-DC rectifier and a DC-to-AC inverter (e.g., see Fig. 1, 8).
Claim 13, Fan teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. It further teaches that wherein the AC section of the power converter is coupled to an AC power grid or an AC motor (e.g., Vga, Vgb, Vgc, and the motor, see col 2, page 1143, Fig. 1, 8).
Claim 14, Fan teaches the limitations of claim 2 as discussed above. It further teaches that wherein an LC filter including a switch-side inductor (e.g., Lt) and capacitor (e.g., Ca, Cb, Cc); and a sensor (e.g., the respective current sensors) configured to sense a first electrical characteristic of a first component of the LC filter selected from the group of the switch-side inductor and the capacitor (e.g., see Abstract, Fig. 1, 8), and to generate sensor data indicative of the first electrical characteristic (e.g., see Abstract, Fig. 1, 8); and wherein each of the at least one local controller is further configured to: receive the sensor data from the sensor, perform state estimation, based on the sensor data, to estimate a second electrical characteristic of a second component of the LC filter that is different from the first component (e.g., the difference between ia or ib or ic and i0_ref respectively, see Fig. 8), and to drive the portion of the power switching elements further based on the second electrical characteristic (e.g., see Fig. 8).
Claim 15, Fan teaches the limitations of claim 2 as discussed above. It further teaches that wherein, to drive the portion of the power switching elements, each of the at least one local controller is further configured to: drive the portion of the power switching elements with variable-frequency (e.g., Switching-Frequency Variation for Different Loading Conditions, see page 1149) critical soft switching control signals (e.g., ZVS operation, see page 1149).
Claim 16, Fan teaches the limitations of claim 2 as discussed above. It further teaches that, further comprising: N power converter modules (e.g., tree-phase, N=3), where N> 1, each power converter module including: a positive direct current (DC) terminal and a negative DC terminal (e.g., + and – terminals of the VDC input), a power switching element pair (e.g., S1a/S2a, S1b/S2b, S1c.S2c) including a high side power switching element coupled to the positive DC terminal and a low side power switching element coupled to the negative DC terminal, wherein the high side power switching element and the low side power switching element are coupled together at a midpoint node (e.g., the mid node of S1a/S2a, S1b/S2b, S1c.S2c respectively), an LC filter including a capacitor (e.g., Ca, Cb, Cc) and an inductor (Lt), the inductor coupled between the midpoint node and a capacitor, the capacitor coupled between the inductor and the negative DC terminal (e.g., see Fig. 1, 8), a local controller (e.g., the generation circuit portions of S1a/S2a, S1b/S2b, S1c/S2c respectively) of the at least one local controllers configured to drive the power switching element pair, wherein the power switching element pair is the portion of power switching elements associated with the local controller (e.g., see Fig. 8), and a circuit board (e.g., see Fig. 16) having located thereon the positive and negative DC terminals, the power switching element pair, the LC filter, and the local controller; wherein the positive DC terminal of each of the N power converter modules are coupled together and the negative DC terminal of each of the one or more power converters are coupled together (e.g., see Fig. 8, 16); and wherein the central controller (e.g., MCU) is located on a separate circuit board (e.g., the PCB of MCU, see Fig. 14, 16) than the circuit boards having the local controllers.
For method claims 17-18, 20-21, 27-29, note that under MPEP 2112.02, the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Therefore the previous rejections based on the apparatus will not be repeated.
Claims 1, 7-10, 12, 17, 23-26, 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Moia et al. (NPL_IEEE_Moia, hereinafter Moia).
Claim 1, Moia teaches a power converter system (e.g., see figure 1) comprising: a non-isolated N-phase power converter, for N >= 1, with a DC voltage section (e.g., the section comprising DC-link capacitors Cs at Vdc side) and an N-phase AC voltage section (e.g., for D1 N=3), the power converter including power switching elements (e.g., S1-S4 of each of the three phases, see Fig. 1); and a control system configured to control the power converter (e.g., a control system generating the gate control signals of the converter is implicitly disclosed by means of the control method discussed in the document), the control system configured to: determine rotational reference frame targets, the rotational reference frame targets including a zero-sequence component target (e.g., dq0), wherein the zero-sequence component target is based on a multiple of N-th phase harmonic injection (e.g., da,3H, eq.11, 23 showing the dqO reference frame by the use of third-harmonic, N=3, injection; see the paragraph underneath of eq. 11, 23, see col. 2, page 122, Fig. 5b), generate N control reference targets in a stationary reference frame (e.g., the stationary reference frame, see col. 2, page 122), one for each of the N-phases of the N-phase power converter, based on the rotational reference frame targets (e.g., this is an implicit step of calculations since variable has to be presented in the stationary reference frame; due to the issues discussed above this feature would not distinguish the subject-matter of the claim from D1), generate control signals for the power switching elements based on the N control reference targets (e.g., see section III, IV), and drive the power switching elements in accordance with the control signals (e.g., see Section VI, Fig. 1).
Claim 7, Moia teaches the limitations of claim 2 as discussed above. It further teaches that wherein the zero-sequence component target includes a sum of a DC offset and the multiple of N-th phase harmonic injection (e.g., the Zero axis duty-cycle d0 while third harmonic injection is used in modulation schemes, see equation 11 and the paragraph underneath).
Claim 8, Moia teaches the limitations of claim 7 as discussed above. It further teaches that wherein at least one of the DC offset is half a DC bus voltage (e.g., Vdc/2) of the DC voltage section of the power converter, or Nis 3 and the multiple of N-th phase harmonic injection is a third order of a fundamental frequency of the AC voltage section of the power converter (e.g., third harmonic injection, see equation 11 and the paragraph underneath)..
Claim 9, Moia teaches the limitations of claim 8 as discussed above. It further teaches that wherein the multiple of N-th phase harmonic injection comprises: a sinusoidal signal derived based on an N-th order of a fundamental frequency of the AC voltage section of the power converter (e.g., third harmonic injection, see equation 11 and the paragraph underneath); or a triangular signal derived based on mean values of maximum and minimum values of the fundamental frequency of the AC voltage section of the power converter.
Claim 10, Moia teaches the limitations of claim 8 as discussed above. It further teaches that wherein the multiple of N-th phase harmonic injection is a feedback signal that is calculated from at least one selected from the group of: N previous control reference targets generated by the control system in a stationary reference frame based on previously received rotational reference frame targets (e.g., see equations 23, 24, Fig. 5b), N voltage measurements provided by a respective voltage sensor for each phase of the N phases of the power converter, or N voltage measurements communicated by at least one local controller indicating a respective voltage for each phase of the N phases of the power converter.
Claim 12, Fan teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. It further teaches that wherein the power converter is one or more of an AC-to-DC rectifier and a DC-to-AC inverter (e.g., see Fig. 1). 1, 7-10, 12
For method claims 17, 23-26, 28, note that under MPEP 2112.02, the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Therefore the previous rejections based on the apparatus will not be repeated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim 3, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Fan et al. (NPL_IEEE_ Fan, hereinafter Fan), in view of Yu et al. (US Patent or PG Pub. No. 20230147775, hereinafter ‘775).
Claim 3 and 19, Fan teaches the limitations of claim 1 and 18 as discussed above. Fan further discloses that driving the portion of the power switching elements in accordance with the control reference target (e.g., see Fig. 8).
Fan does not explicitly disclose that each of the at least one local controller is configured to: implement model predictive control (MPC) to generate control signaling for the portion of the power switching elements.
‘775 discloses a COMMON-MODE VOLTAGE INJECTION CONTROL METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR three-phase INVERTER (e.g., see Abstract; Fig. 1-4). It further discloses that each of the at least one local controller is configured to: implement model predictive control (MPC) to generate control signaling for the portion of the power switching elements (e.g., see Abstract, [0006][0110][0122, Fig. 1, 3-4).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Fan by including the MPC to generate control signaling for the portion of the power switching elements as taught by ‘775 in order of being able to reduce the switching loss of the switching devices of the inverter (e.g., see [0006]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matters:
For claim 6, the prior art does not disclose or suggest, in combination with the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, primarily, “generate a D-axis voltage component, as the D-axis component of the rotational reference frame targets, based on a comparison of the D-axis current component to a desired D-axis current, and generate a Q-axis voltage component, as the Q-axis component of the rotational reference frame targets, based on a comparison of the Q-axis current component to a desired Q-axis current”; and “convert the D-axis voltage component, Q-axis voltage component, and the zero- sequence component target to the stationary reference frame”
For claim 22, the prior art does not disclose or suggest, in combination with the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, primarily, “generating a D-axis voltage component, as the D-axis component of the rotational reference frame targets, based on a comparison of the D-axis current component to a desired D-axis current, and generating a Q-axis voltage component, as the Q-axis component of the rotational reference frame targets, based on a comparison of the Q-axis current component to a desired Q-axis current”; and “ converting the D-axis voltage component, Q-axis voltage component, and the zero-sequence component target to the stationary reference frame”.
Examiner's Note:
Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/JUE ZHANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838