DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-9 and 11-12 without traverse is acknowledged. Claims 14, 19-23, 29, and 33-34 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Groups II-IV, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/16/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A: poly(caprolactone), Species B: hydroxyapatite, Species C: glycerol in the reply filed on 07/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Upon further search and consideration, the species A, poly(caprolactone) is broadened to include: poly(caprolactone) and poly(vinyl alcohol).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/16/2026 and 09/08/2026 are being considered by the examiner. The foreign patent document JP2009540982 in the IDS filed on 09/08/2026 only has English translation of the abstract, therefore only the abstract is being considered.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to as failing to define abbreviations within the first claim of mention. A common person reading these claims wouldn’t know what is claimed by the abbreviation, therefore, the first instance should define each abbreviation by writing out the chemical name to make it clear. Claim 2 recites the abbreviation “beta-TCP” which is undefined. An example of an appropriate definition is “beta-tricalcium phosphate (beta-TCP)”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 6 claims the polymer matrix comprises or consists of poly(lactic acid) (PLA) and poly(glycolic acid) (PGL). Claim 6 depends upon claim 1 which claims the limitation “the composite does not contain any copolymer(s) of lactic acid or glycolic acid”. Therefore, claim 6 fails to include all the limitations from which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8-9, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toropkov et al. (RU2679632C1, published 02/12/2019, Google English translation, hereafter Toropkov) in view of Sinha et al. (Sinha, Arvind, et al. "Poly (vinyl alcohol)–hydroxyapatite biomimetic scaffold for tissue regeneration." Materials Science and Engineering: C 27.1 (2007): 70-74., hereafter Sinha).
Toropkov claims a composite material for medical purposes containing polylactide and hydroxyapatite (claim 1; according to the claim limitations of the instant claims 1-2 and 6). Toropkov further claims the composite comprises 0.1-6.25% glycerol, 1.0-75.0% hydroxyapatite, and 12.5-98.8 polylactide (claim 1; according to the claim limitations of the instant claims 1, 8, and 12). Toropkov teaches the hydroxyapatite is introduced into the polymer in a nanodispersed state together with the glycerol and teaches the hydroxyapatite has a particle size of 100-1000nm (page 1, description, paragraphs 2 and 9; according to the claim limitations of the instant claims 1-2 and 11). Further, Toropkov teaches the crystallinity of the hydroxyapatite is influenced by the synthesis conditions (page 2, paragraph 5; according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 3). Toropkov teaches a porous composite which is biodegradable and bioactive for use as a scaffold for bone regeneration (page 2, paragraph 2; according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 1).
Toropkov fails to teach the composite is free of any copolymer(s) of lactic acid and glycolic acid as claimed by instant claim 1.
Sinha teaches a poly(vinyl alcohol)-hydroxyapatite biomimetic scaffold for tissue regeneration (title; according to the claim limitations of the instant claims 1-2, 4, 6, and 12). Sinha teaches the hydroxyapatite particles are in the nanometer range (<100nm) and the hydrogelation induced ordered three-dimensional assembly of the particles (abstract; according to the claim limitations of the instant claims 1 and 3). Sinha teaches three-dimensional scaffolds for tissue engineering has paved the way for the development of different polymeric scaffolds for usage in bone, cartilage, and corneal disorder (page 70, introduction, paragraph 1; according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 1). Sinha teaches among synthetic polymers, linear aliphatic polyesters like poly(glycolic acid) (PGA), poly(lactic acid) (PLA) and their copolymers namely poly(lactic acid-co-glycolic acid) (PLGA) are extensively researched with and without hydroxyapatite (HAp) particulates for bone and cartilage related applications (page 70, introduction, paragraph 1; according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 1). Sinha further teaches poly(glycolic acid) (PGA), poly(lactic acid) (PLA) and their copolymers namely poly(lactic acid-co-glycolic acid) (PLGA) lack the required mechanical stability and under physiological conditions the uncontrolled dissolution kinetics of these hydrogels lead to the formation of undesirable glycolic acid/lactic acid that lowers the pH at implantation site (page 70, introduction, paragraph 1; according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 1). Sinha teaches the scaffolds to be biodegradable (page 70, introduction, paragraph 1; according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 1). Lastly, Sinha teaches the most attractive part of the study is the choice of a simple and biocompatible hydrophilic polymer (PVA) that not only facilitates the in situ nucleation of HAp nanoparticles but also creates a porous structure suitable for tissue remineralization (page 74, conclusion, paragraph 1; according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 1).
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a bone regeneration composite comprising a polymer such as poly(lactide) and hydroxyapatite as outlined by Toropkov by the substitution of poly(vinyl alcohol) in the place of poly(lactide) and the complete avoid of use of poly(lactic acid) and poly(glycolic acid) copolymers as outlined by Sinha under TSM, see MPEP 2143(G). As outlined by Sinha, poly(lactic acid), poly(glycolic acid), and poly(lactic acid-co-glycolic acid) polymers lack stability and lead to undesirable low pH at the implantation site which would motivate someone skilled in the art to advantageously utilize poly(vinyl alcohol) instead of poly(lactic acid) and disinclude any polymers of poly(lactic acid) and poly(glycolic acid) in the composite of Toropkov as it would have a reasonable expectation of success. Further, as to the limitations of claim 9 applicant is reminded this is a composition/product claim and the prior art teaches a porous hydrophilic composite comprising glycerol, poly(vinyl alcohol), and hydroxyapatite, thereby since a product is not separable from its physical properties then it necessarily teaches the composite has a specific surface area in the range of about 5 to about 50 m2/g. Applicants observation that it also has ‘has a specific surface area in the range of about 5 to about 50 m2/g’ does not give it patentable weight, since it is the same composition, as adding a characterization to a prior art patented invention is not patentable.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toropkov et al. (RU2679632C1, published 02/12/2019, Google English translation, hereafter Toropkov) in view of Sinha et al. (Sinha, Arvind, et al. "Poly (vinyl alcohol)–hydroxyapatite biomimetic scaffold for tissue regeneration." Materials Science and Engineering: C 27.1 (2007): 70-74., hereafter Sinha), as applied to claims 1-4, 6, 8-9, and 11-12 above, and further in view of Ying et al. (US6013591A, published 01/11/2000, hereafter Ying).
As outlined above, Toropkov in view of Sinha teach a porous hydrophilic composite comprising glycerol, poly(vinyl alcohol), and hydroxyapatite.
Both Toropkov and Sinha fail to teach the specific surface area of the CaP is in the range of about 180 to about 380 m2/g as in instant claim 1 or about 200 to about 350 m2/g as in instant claim 5.
Ying teaches nanocrystalline apatites and composites, and prostheses incorporating them (title; according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 1). Ying teaches the present invention relates to bioceramics and more particularly to a class of apatite materials and composites incorporating these materials that are useful as prostheses (column 1, lines 15-20; according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 1). Ying teaches the biomaterials include a wide variety of biocompatible polymers (column 1, lines 40-43; according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 1). Ying teaches wet chemical processing to obtain hydroxyapatite in the form of nanocrystalline dense structures and high surface area powders (column 6, lines 4-8; according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 1). Ying teaches a composition comprising particulate apatite having an average apatite crystal size of less than 100 nm (claim 1; according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 1). Further, Ying claims the particulate apatite having a surface area of at least 40 m2/g , at least 100 m2/g, and at least 150 m2/g (claims 9-11; according to the claim limitations of the instant claims 1 and 5). Further, Ying teaches the products have a surface area of at least 40 m2/g (abstract; according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 9).
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would claim a porous hydroxyapatite nanocrystalline composite as outlined by Toropkov in view of Sinha with the ready for improvement with the known technique of utilizing a calcium phosphate with a specific surface area of at least 150 m2 /g and a composite/product having a specific surface area of at least 40 m2/g as outlined by Ying. Adding the forementioned components to a nanocrystalline calcium phosphate composite as claimed by instant claim 5 would be obvious and yield predictable results to the skilled artisan since modification of a known product with a known technique.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toropkov et al. (RU2679632C1, published 02/12/2019, Google English translation, hereafter Toropkov) in view of Sinha et al. (Sinha, Arvind, et al. "Poly (vinyl alcohol)–hydroxyapatite biomimetic scaffold for tissue regeneration." Materials Science and Engineering: C 27.1 (2007): 70-74., hereafter Sinha), as applied to claims 1-4, 6, 8-9, and 11-12 above, and further in view of Angle et al. (US20170100507A1, published 04/13/2017, hereafter Angle).
As outlined above, Toropkov in view of Sinha teach a porous hydrophilic composite comprising glycerol, poly(vinyl alcohol), and hydroxyapatite.
Both Toropkov and Sinha fail to teach the polymer matrix comprises poly(caprolactone) as required by instant claim 7.
Angle claims a curable calcium phosphate composition for use with porous structures and methods (title; according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 1). Angle teaches the curable calcium phosphate composition can enhance bone ingrowth ([0009]; according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 1). Angle teaches the porous structure can be used as a prosthetic implant ([0041]; according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 1). Angle claims the curable calcium phosphate and a perfusion modifier and further comprising a physiologically acceptable fluid (claims 1-2; according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 1). Angle claims the perfusion modifier is poly(caprolactone), glycerol, poly(vinyl alcohol), lactic acid, poly(L-lactide), hyaluronic acid, chitosan, collagen, and poly(ethylene glycol) (claim 3; according to the claim limitations of the instant claims 1, 6-7, and 12). Further, Angle claims the porous structure comprises a polylactic acid polymer (PLA) and polycaprolactone polymer (claim 10; according to the claim limitations of the instant claims 1 and 6-7). Angle teaches the perfusion modifier can be any suitable proportion of the curable calcium phosphate composition, such as about 0.001 wt % to about 50 wt % ([0032]; according to the claim limitations of the instant claims 1 and 8). Angle teaches the calcium phosphate can form any suitable proportion of the curable composition, such as 0.001 wt % to about 99.999 wt %, about 40 wt % to about 99.999 wt %, about 40 wt % to about 70 wt %, or about 40 wt % to about 60 wt %, or about 0.001 wt % or less ([0031] according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 8). Further, Angle teaches the calcium phosphate can include amorphous calcium phosphate, hydroxyapatite, calcium-deficient hydroxyapatite, tricalcium phosphate, or combinations thereof ([0031]; according to the claim limitations of the instant claims 1-2 and 4). Angle teaches the calcium phosphate can have controlled and crystalline kinetics ([0007]; according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 3). Further, Angle teaches the crystallographic order is 100nm or more ([0031]; according to the claim limitations of the instant claims 1 and 3). Lastly, Angle teaches the perfusion modifier compound improves the ability of the calcium phosphate composition to infiltrate the porous network of a porous structure (e.g., at least the parts of the porous network at and near the surface of the porous structure), such as a porous network similar to a trabecular network of cancellous bone ([0032]; according to the claim limitations of the instant claim 11).
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to claim a porous hydrophilic composite comprising glycerol, poly(vinyl alcohol), and hydroxyapatite as outlined by Toropkov in view of Sinha with the simple substitution of poly(caprolactone) for the poly(vinyl alcohol) or poly(lactide) as outlined by Angle. Simple substitution of one polymer used in bone composite calcium phosphate compositions is within the purview of the skilled artisan and would yield predictable results.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/ISIS A GHALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611
/A.N.I./ Examiner, Art Unit 1611