DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 4-13-2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-27 and 30-38 are pending. Claims 5-8, 30-35 and 37 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 1-4, 9-27, 36 and 38 are currently under examination.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
REQUIREMENTS FOR PATENT APPLICATIONS CONTAINING NUCLEOTIDE AND/OR AMINO ACID SEQUENCE DISCLOSURES
Items 1) and 2) provide general guidance related to requirements for sequence disclosures.
37 CFR 1.821(c) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.821(a) must contain a "Sequence Listing," as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825. This "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure may be submitted:
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter "Legal Framework") as an ASCII text file, together with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file in a separate paragraph of the specification as required by 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
ii) the date of creation; and
iii) the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
the date of creation; and
the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(2) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF file (not recommended); or
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(3) on physical sheets of paper (not recommended).
When a “Sequence Listing” has been submitted as a PDF file as in 1(c) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(2)) or on physical sheets of paper as in 1(d) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(3)), 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1) requires a computer readable form (CRF) of the “Sequence Listing” in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.824.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the PDF copy and the CRF copy (the ASCII text file copy) are identical.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed on paper or read-only optical disc, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the paper or read-only optical disc copy and the CRF are identical.
Specific deficiencies and the required response to this Office Action are as follows:
Specific deficiency - Sequences appearing in the specification and claims are not identified by sequence identifiers (i.e., “SEQ ID NO:X” or the like) in accordance with 37 CFR 1.831(c).
Required response – Applicant must provide:
A substitute specification in compliance with 37 CFR 1.52, 1.121(b)(3), and 1.125 inserting the required sequence identifiers, consisting of:
• A copy of the previously-submitted specification, with deletions shown with strikethrough or brackets and insertions shown with underlining (marked-up version);
• A copy of the amended specification without markings (clean version); and
• A statement that the substitute specification contains no new matter.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code (see pages 2 and 7 for example). Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
It should be noted that the cited occurrences of improper embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code are only exemplary and Applicant should review the entire specification to correct any other improper use of trademarks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-4, 9, 11-12 and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a natural product without significantly more.
Laws of nature or natural phenomena include naturally occurring principles/ relations that are naturally occurring or that do not have markedly different characteristics compared to what occurs in nature (MPEP2106.04(b)).
“The law of nature and natural phenomenon exceptions reflect the Supreme Court's view that the basic tools of scientific and technological work are not patentable, because the "manifestations of laws of nature" are "part of the storehouse of knowledge," "free to all men and reserved exclusively to none." Funk Bros. Seed Co. v. Kalo Inoculant Co., 333 U.S. 127, 130, 76 USPQ 280, 281 (1948). Thus, "a new mineral discovered in the earth or a new plant found in the wild is not patentable subject matter" under Section 101. Diamond v. Chakrabarty, 447 U.S. 303, 309, 206 USPQ 193, 197 (1980). "Likewise, Einstein could not patent his celebrated law that E=mc2; nor could Newton have patented the law of gravity." Id. Nor can one patent "a novel and useful mathematical formula," Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 585, 198 USPQ 193, 195 (1978); electromagnetism or steam power, O’Reilly v. Morse, 56 U.S. (15 How.) 62, 113-114 (1853); or "[t]he qualities of ... bacteria, ... the heat of the sun, electricity, or the qualities of metals," Funk, 333 U.S. at 130, 76 USPQ at 281; see also Le Roy v. Tatham, 55 U.S. (14 How.) 156, 175 (1853).”
Products of nature are analyzed under 35 USC 101 through the “markedly different characteristics analysis”. MPEP 2106.04(c) as a part of step 2A prong one of the analysis.
“If the claim includes a nature-based product that has markedly different characteristics, then the claim does not recite a product of nature exception and is eligible (Step 2A: NO) at Pathway B unless the claim recites another exception (such as a law of nature or abstract idea, or a different natural phenomenon). For claims where the entire claim is a single nature-based product (e.g., a claim to "a Staphylococcus pneumoniae intracellular polypeptide"), once a markedly different characteristic in that product is shown, no further analysis would be necessary for eligibility because no product of nature exception is recited (i.e., Step 2B is not necessary because the answer to Step 2A is NO). For claims including limitations in addition to the nature-based product, further eligibility analysis is required.
If the claim includes a nature-based product that does not exhibit markedly different characteristics from its naturally occurring counterpart in its natural state, then the claim recites a "product of nature" exception, and requires further analysis in Step 2A Prong Two to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application.
Claims 1-4, 9, 11-12 and 24-26 recite the following natural products:
The LafB of S. pneumoniae (SEQ ID NO:1), the LafB of S. mitis (SEQ ID NO:2), the LafB of S. oralis (SEQ ID NO:3), the LafB of S. hyointestinalis (SEQ ID NO:4) and the LafB of S. suis (SEQ ID NO:5).
MPEP2106.04(C) II sets forth:
Appropriate characteristics can be expressed as the nature-based product’s structure, function, and/or other properties, and are evaluated on a case-by-case basis. Non-limiting examples of the types of characteristics considered by the courts when determining whether there is a marked difference include:
• Biological or pharmacological functions or activities;
• Chemical and physical properties;
• Phenotype, including functional and structural characteristics; and
• Structure and form, whether chemical, genetic or physical.
“To show a marked difference, a characteristic must be changed as compared to nature, and cannot be an inherent or innate characteristic of the naturally occurring counterpart or an incidental change in a characteristic of the naturally occurring counterpart. Myriad, 569 U.S. at 580, 106 USPQ2d at 1974-75. Thus, in order to be markedly different, applicant must have caused the claimed product to possess at least one characteristic that is different from that of the counterpart.” (MPEP2106.04 (c)II. C).
Comparing the relevant characteristics between the product of claims 1-4, 9, 11-12 and 24-26 and its naturally occurring counterpart, the examiner finds no markedly difference characteristics between the characteristics.
If there are no markedly different characteristics between the product of the claim and the naturally occurring counterpart, the claim is probed for the presence of additional limitations. The claimed additional elements are analyzed alone or in combination to determine if the natural product is sufficiently different than is integrated into a practical application (MPEP 2106.04(d).I.; MPEP 2106.05(a-h)). If the claim contains no additional elements beyond the natural product, the claim fails to integrate the natural product into a practical application (MPEP 2106.04(d).III).
There are no additional limitations to the natural product in claim 1-4, 9, 11-12 and 24-26.
The recitation of the phrase “excipient” is not considered an additional limitation as it conveys no structural limitations and encompasses natural conditions.
The recitation of the phrase “vaccine” is not considered an additional limitation as it constitutes an intended use and conveys no structural limitations.
Considering the additional limitations in addition to the natural product together as a whole, the additional elements do not rise to the level of significantly more than the natural product.
In combination, the lack of additional limitations, acted upon by the judicial exception (or natural law, or natural product), fail to rise to the level of significantly more. No additional limitation has clearly been identified.
The claims have all been examined to identify the presence of a naturally occurring product or natural phenomena. Each additional limitation in the claims has been addressed, alone and in combination, to determine whether the additional limitations integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Each additional limitation in the claims has been addressed, alone and in combination, to determine whether those additional limitations provide an inventive concept which provides significantly more than those exceptions. Individually, the limitations of the claims and the claims as a whole have been found lacking.
For these reasons, the claims, when the limitations are considered individually and as a whole, are rejected under 35 USC § 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-27 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The rejected claims are directed to vaccines against an unnamed pathogen wherein said vaccine comprises a polypeptide with the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:1, fragments thereof and variants thereof. The rejected claims optionally require:
the vaccine is conjugated to a sugar, a carrier and/or an adjuvant (claim 10);
the vaccine triggers a T-cell specific response when administered to an individual (claim 12);
the carrier and/or adjuvant is a protein or a polysaccharide (claim 13);
the carrier and or adjuvant is CRM 197, tetanus toxoid, HaloTag, APEX2, BioID2, TurboID, a polysaccharide, a flagellin or a combination of one or thereof (claim 14);
the polysaccharide is a pneumococcal capsule (claims 15-18 and 38);
the adjuvant is an aluminum-based adjuvant, an agonist of toll-like receptors, squalene based adjuvant, monophosphoryl lipid A, synthetic nucleic acid sequences, saponin-based adjuvants or a combination of one or more (claims 19-20);
is formulated for nasal administration and comprises flagellin as the adjuvant (claim 21);
is formulated for subcutaneous administration and comprises an aluminum-based adjuvant (claim 22); and
is formulated for intramuscular administration and comprises an aluminum-based adjuvant (claim 23).
The claims are drawn to a vast genus of “vaccines” comprising the Staphylococcus pneumonieae LafB protein (SEQ ID NO:1) and variants and fragments thereof.
To fulfill the written description requirements set forth under 35 USC § 112, first paragraph, the specification must describe at least a substantial number of the members of the claimed genus, or alternatively describe a representative member of the claimed genus, which shares a particularly defining feature common to at least a substantial number of the members of the claimed genus, which would enable the skilled artisan to immediately recognize and distinguish its members from others, so as to reasonably convey to the skilled artisan that Applicant has possession the claimed invention. To adequately describe the genus of vaccines, Applicant must adequately describe the immunoepitopes within the LafB protein of SEQ ID NO:1 induce a protective immune response against a given pathogen. The specification, however, does not disclose distinguishing and identifying features of a representative number of members of the genus of antibodies to which the claims are drawn, such as a correlation between the structure of the LafB protein and its recited function (inducing a protective immune response against a given pathogen), so that the skilled artisan could immediately envision, or recognize at least a substantial number of members of the claimed genus of antibodies. Moreover, the specification fails to disclose which amino acid residues in said domain are essential for antibody binding, or which amino acids might be added, replaced or deleted so that the resultant domain peptide retains the binding specificity of its parent, or by which other amino acids the essential amino acids might be replaced so that the resultant peptide retains the binding specificity of its parent. Therefore, the specification fails to adequately describe at least a substantial number of members of the genus of antibodies to which the claims refer; and accordingly the specification fails to adequately describe at least a substantial number of members of the claimed genus of vaccines. The term “vaccinate” is defined as the use of a specific antigen to induce protective immunity to infection or disease induction. The specification does not provide substantive evidence that the claimed vaccines are capable of inducing protective immunity. This demonstration is required for the skilled artisan to be able to use the claimed vaccines for their intended purpose of preventing infections. Without this demonstration, the skilled artisan would not be able to reasonably predict the outcome of the administration of the claimed vaccines, i.e. would not be able to accurately predict if protective immunity has been induced. The ability to reasonably predict the capacity of a single bacterial immunogen to induce protective immunity from in vitro antibody reactivity studies is problematic. Ellis (Vaccines, W.B. Saunders Company, Chapter 29, 1988, pages 568-574) exemplifies this problem in the recitation that "the key to the problem (of vaccine development) is the identification of the protein component of a virus or microbial pathogen that itself can elicit the production of protective antibodies"(page 572, second full paragraph). Unfortunately, the art is replete with instances where even well characterized antigens that induce an in vitro neutralizing antibody response fail to elicit in vivo protective immunity. See Boslego et al (Vaccines and Immunotherapy, 1991, Chapter 17), wherein a single gonococcal pillin protein fails to elicit protective immunity even though a high level of serum antibody response is induced (page 212, bottom of column 2). Accordingly, the art indicates that it would require empirical testing to formulate and use a successful vaccine without the prior demonstration of vaccine efficacy.
MPEP § 2163.02 states, “[a]n objective standard for determining compliance with the written description requirement is, 'does the description clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that he or she invented what is claimed' ”. The courts have decided:
The purpose of the “written description” requirement is broader than to merely explain how to “make and use”; the applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the “written description” inquiry, whatever is now claimed.
See Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1563-64, 19 USPQ2d 1111, 1117 (Federal Circuit, 1991). Furthermore, the written description provision of 35 USC § 112 is severable from its enablement provision; and adequate written description requires more than a mere statement that it is part of the invention and reference to a potential method for isolating it. See Fiers v. Revel, 25 USPQ2d 1601, 1606 (CAFC 1993) and Amgen Inc. V. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd., 18 USPQ2d 1016.
MPEP 2163.02 further states, “[p]ossession may be shown in a variety of ways including description of an actual reduction to practice, or by showing the invention was 'ready for patenting' such as by disclosure of drawings or structural chemical formulas that show that the invention was complete, or by describing distinguishing identifying characteristics sufficient to show that the applicant was in possession of the claimed invention” See, e.g., Pfaff v. Wells Elecs., Inc., 525 U.S. 55, 68, 119 S.Ct. 304, 312, 48 USPQ2d 1641, 1647 (1998); Regents of the Univ. of Cal. v. Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d 1559, 1568, 43 USPQ2d 1398, 1406 (Fed. Cir. 1997); Amgen, Inc. v. Chugai Pharm., 927 F.2d 1200, 1206, 18 USPQ2d 1016, 1021 (Fed. Cir. 1991) (one must define a compound by "whatever characteristics sufficiently distinguish it"). Moreover, because the claims encompass a genus of variant species, an adequate written description of the claimed invention must include sufficient description of at least a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics sufficient to show that Applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. However, factual evidence of an actual reduction to practice has not been disclosed by Applicant in the specification; nor has Applicant shown the invention was “ready for patenting” by disclosure of drawings or structural chemical formulas that show that the invention was complete; nor has Applicant described distinguishing identifying characteristics sufficient to show that Applicant were in possession of the claimed invention at the time the application was filed.
Additionally, MPEP 2163 states:
"A patentee will not be deemed to have invented species sufficient to constitute the genus by virtue of having disclosed a single species when … the evidence indicates ordinary artisans could not predict the operability in the invention of any species other than the one disclosed." In re Curtis, 354 F.3d 1347, 1358, 69 USPQ2d 1274, 1282 (Fed. Cir. 2004)”
And:
For inventions in an unpredictable art, adequate written description of a genus which embraces widely variant species cannot be achieved by disclosing only one species within the genus. See, e.g., Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406. Instead, the disclosure must adequately reflect the structural diversity of the claimed genus, either through the disclosure of sufficient species that are "representative of the full variety or scope of the genus," or by the establishment of "a reasonable structure-function correlation." Such correlations may be established "by the inventor as described in the specification," or they may be "known in the art at the time of the filing date." See AbbVie, 759 F.3d at 1300-01, 111 USPQ2d 1780, 1790-91 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (Holding that claims to all human antibodies that bind IL-12 with a particular binding affinity rate constant (i.e., koff) were not adequately supported by a specification describing only a single type of human antibody having the claimed features because the disclosed antibody was not representative of other types of antibodies in the claimed genus, as demonstrated by the fact that other disclosed antibodies had different types of heavy and light chains, and shared only a 50% sequence similarity in their variable regions with the disclosed antibodies.).
As evidenced by the teachings of Skolnick et al., the art is unpredictable. Skolnick et al. (Trends in Biotechnology 18: 34-39, 2000) discloses the skilled artisan is well aware that assigning functional activities for any particular protein or protein family based upon sequence homology is inaccurate, in part because of the multifunctional nature of proteins (see, e.g., the abstract; and page 34, Sequence-based approaches to function prediction). Even in situations where there is some confidence of a similar overall structure between two proteins, only experimental research can confirm the artisan's best guess as to the function of the structurally related protein (see, in particular, the abstract and Box 2). Thus, one skilled in the art would not accept the assertion, which is based only upon an observed similarity in amino acid sequence that a variant of a given polypeptide would necessarily have a given immunological property. The instant specification has failed to teach or disclose vaccine compositions comprising the claimed Streptococcus pneumoniae LafB protein (or fragments and variants thereof) that are protective against infections caused by a given pathogen. With the exception of a vaccine comprising the polypeptide of SEQ ID NO:1 and the flagellin FliC adjuvant against S. pneumoniae strains 15A and 24F, the specification fails to teach or disclose data that demonstrates that the claimed vaccines can provide protection against infections caused by any pathogen. There is no disclosure of subjects that have been immunized with the any other vaccine nor is there a disclosure of challenge studies that have been conducted to establish the claimed vaccines’ ability to provide protection against any pathogen infection. Consequently, there is no correlation between structure and function as required by the Written Description requirement.
Therefore, because the art is unpredictable, in accordance with the MPEP and current case law, the description of claimed vaccines is not deemed representative of the genus of peptides to which the claims refer.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 is rendered vague and indefinite by the use of the phrase “…said immunogenic composition is conjugated to a sugar, a carrier and/or an adjuvant.”. It is unclear how an entire composition can be conjugated to a sugar, a carrier and/or an adjuvant. Consequently, it is impossible to determine the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. The route of administration constitutes an intended use and does not materially change the composition recited in the claim on which the rejected claim depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. The number of times the vaccine is administered constitutes an intended use and does not materially change the composition recited in the claim on which the rejected claim depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. The interval between the times the vaccine is administered constitutes an intended use and does not materially change the composition recited in the claim on which the rejected claim depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 9-14 and 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Masignani et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication US 2005/0020813 – IDS filed on 1-26-2024).
Masignani et al. disclose vaccines comprising against Streptococcus pneumoniae (see abstract) and that said vaccines can comprise the glycosyltransferase cpoA which has the sequence of SEQ ID NO:1 (see SEQ ID NO:2132 and the alignment set forth below). Masignani et al. further disclose: that said vaccine compositions can comprise carriers and/or adjuvants (see paragraph [0173]); that the adjuvants can be aluminum salts, squalene based, saponin adjuvants and muramyl peptides (see paragraph [0174]-[0175]); that said carriers can be polysaccharides or a tetanus toxoid (see paragraph [0173]); and that the vaccine is a formulated for subcutaneous, intramuscularly, orally or pulmonarily and that said vaccine can be in a single does or on a multiple dose schedule (see paragraph [0179]). Consequently, Masignani et al. anticipates all the limitations of the rejected claims.
RESULT 4
US-10-472-928-2132
Publication No. US20050020813A1
GENERAL INFORMATION
APPLICANT: THE INSTITUTE FOR GENOMIC RESEARCH
TITLE OF INVENTION: STREPTOCOCCUS PNEUMONIAE PROTEINS AND NUCLEIC ACIDS
FILE REFERENCE: P026926WO
CURRENT APPLICATION NUMBER: US/10/472,928
CURRENT FILING DATE: 2003-09-26
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: GB-0107658.7
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2001-03-27
NUMBER OF SEQ ID NOS: 4979
SEQ ID NO 2132
Query Match 97.5%; Score 1748; Length 338;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 338; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 10 MLSSSEKVAGQGVSGAYRELVRLLHRAAKDQLIVTENLPIEADVTHFHTIDFPYYLSTFQ 69
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 MLSSSEKVAGQGVSGAYRELVRLLHRAAKDQLIVTENLPIEADVTHFHTIDFPYYLSTFQ 60
Qy 70 KKRSGRKIGYVHFLPATLEGSLKIPFFLKGIVKRYVFSFYNRMEHLVVVNPMFIEDLVAA 129
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 KKRSGRKIGYVHFLPATLEGSLKIPFFLKGIVKRYVFSFYNRMEHLVVVNPMFIEDLVAA 120
Qy 130 GIPREKVTYIPNFVNKEKWHPLPQEEVVRLRTDLGLSDNQFIVVGAGQVQKRKGIDDFIR 189
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 GIPREKVTYIPNFVNKEKWHPLPQEEVVRLRTDLGLSDNQFIVVGAGQVQKRKGIDDFIR 180
Qy 190 LAEELPQITFIWAGGFSFGGMTDGYEHYKKIMENPPKNLIFPGIVSPERMRELYALADLF 249
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 LAEELPQITFIWAGGFSFGGMTDGYEHYKKIMENPPKNLIFPGIVSPERMRELYALADLF 240
Qy 250 LLPSYNELFPMTILEAASCEAPIMLRDLDLYKVILEGNYRATAGREEMKEAILEYQANPA 309
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 LLPSYNELFPMTILEAASCEAPIMLRDLDLYKVILEGNYRATAGREEMKEAILEYQANPA 300
Qy 310 VLKDLKEKAKNISREYSEEHLLQIWLDFYEKQAALGRK 347
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 VLKDLKEKAKNISREYSEEHLLQIWLDFYEKQAALGRK 338
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9-27, 36 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masignani et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication US 2005/0020813 – IDS filed on 1-26-2024).
Masignani et al. disclose vaccines comprising against Streptococcus pneumoniae (see abstract) and that said vaccines can comprise the glycosyltransferase cpoA which has the sequence of SEQ ID NO:1 (see SEQ ID NO:2132 and the alignment set forth below). Masignani et al. further disclose: that said vaccine compositions can comprise carriers and/or adjuvants (see paragraph [0173]); that the adjuvants can be aluminum salts, squalene based, saponin adjuvants and muramyl peptides (see paragraph [0174]-[0175]); that said carriers can be polysaccharides or a tetanus toxoid (see paragraph [0173]); and that the vaccine is a formulated for subcutaneous, intramuscularly, orally or pulmonarily and that said vaccine can be in a single does or on a multiple dose schedule (see paragraph [0179]).
Masignani et al. differs from the instant invention in that the don’t explicitly disclose the dosages or treatment protocol recited in claims 24-25 and 27 or the specific polysaccharides disclosed in claims 15-18.
With regard to claims 24-25 and 27, it is well settled that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235(CCPA 1955). Moreover with regard to the polysaccharides of claims 15-18, the KSR decision sets forth “if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person’s skill”. Given that Masignani et al. demonstrates the use of polysaccharides as an effective adjuvant/carrier in vaccine compositions and the use of capsular polysaccharides as carriers/adjuvants in vaccine compositions is well established in the art, the mucosal administration of the recited capsular polysaccharides in the vaccine compositions of Masignani et al. is well within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art. Hence, the requirements of obviousness under the KSR decision are met.
RESULT 4
US-10-472-928-2132
Publication No. US20050020813A1
GENERAL INFORMATION
APPLICANT: THE INSTITUTE FOR GENOMIC RESEARCH
TITLE OF INVENTION: STREPTOCOCCUS PNEUMONIAE PROTEINS AND NUCLEIC ACIDS
FILE REFERENCE: P026926WO
CURRENT APPLICATION NUMBER: US/10/472,928
CURRENT FILING DATE: 2003-09-26
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: GB-0107658.7
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2001-03-27
NUMBER OF SEQ ID NOS: 4979
SEQ ID NO 2132
Query Match 97.5%; Score 1748; Length 338;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 338; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 10 MLSSSEKVAGQGVSGAYRELVRLLHRAAKDQLIVTENLPIEADVTHFHTIDFPYYLSTFQ 69
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 MLSSSEKVAGQGVSGAYRELVRLLHRAAKDQLIVTENLPIEADVTHFHTIDFPYYLSTFQ 60
Qy 70 KKRSGRKIGYVHFLPATLEGSLKIPFFLKGIVKRYVFSFYNRMEHLVVVNPMFIEDLVAA 129
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 KKRSGRKIGYVHFLPATLEGSLKIPFFLKGIVKRYVFSFYNRMEHLVVVNPMFIEDLVAA 120
Qy 130 GIPREKVTYIPNFVNKEKWHPLPQEEVVRLRTDLGLSDNQFIVVGAGQVQKRKGIDDFIR 189
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 GIPREKVTYIPNFVNKEKWHPLPQEEVVRLRTDLGLSDNQFIVVGAGQVQKRKGIDDFIR 180
Qy 190 LAEELPQITFIWAGGFSFGGMTDGYEHYKKIMENPPKNLIFPGIVSPERMRELYALADLF 249
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 LAEELPQITFIWAGGFSFGGMTDGYEHYKKIMENPPKNLIFPGIVSPERMRELYALADLF 240
Qy 250 LLPSYNELFPMTILEAASCEAPIMLRDLDLYKVILEGNYRATAGREEMKEAILEYQANPA 309
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 LLPSYNELFPMTILEAASCEAPIMLRDLDLYKVILEGNYRATAGREEMKEAILEYQANPA 300
Qy 310 VLKDLKEKAKNISREYSEEHLLQIWLDFYEKQAALGRK 347
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 VLKDLKEKAKNISREYSEEHLLQIWLDFYEKQAALGRK 338
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/ROBERT A ZEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1645 April 30, 2026