DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
It is noted that claims 1-15 are considered eligible subject matter. Even if the claims were considered an abstract idea, the claims provide limitations that provide a practical application, i.e. delivery of skin treatments. It is noted claim 11 claims that the computer program product comprises a “non-transitory computer-readable medium” and is thus statutory.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 2 recite the limitation “the location”, “the one or more features” and “the indication” when previously claiming each of the above limitations twice. Due to the identical recitation in the beginning of claim 2 as to that of claim 1, the examiner believes that the limitations at the beginning of claim 2 correspond to that of claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 12 recite the limitation "the skin" in lines 3 and 2, respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 1 and 12 recite the limitation “the identified features” in lines 7 and 9, respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 3 and 8 and recites the limitation "the nature" in line 2 and 3-4, respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20180014777 (Amir et al).
Regarding claim 1, Amir et al discloses a computer-implemented method for generating a treatment instruction (fig. 1), the method comprising: receiving first image data relating to the skin of a subject in a first run of fig. 1, item 102 (page 7, paragraph 86); obtaining, based on the first image data, an indication of a location of one or more features of the subject, i.e. the associated data that defines the facial segment of the data (page 7, paragraph 86); generating, based on the first image data, since the first image data is obtained to be used in the rest of the method of fig. 1 (page 7, paragraph 86), an initial map of the skin of the subject including the location of the identified features, i.e. the mapping of the segment to the treatment performed and the state of the skin (page 10, paragraph 125, page 10, paragraph 131, page 11, paragraph 142); receiving second image data relating to the skin of the subject during a current treatment session, i.e. a treatment session when the process of fig. 1 iterates (fig. 1, item 102, page 7, paragraph 86); determining, based on the second image data, because the data after item 102 is based on the image data of item 102 (fig. 1, item 102, page 7, paragraph 86), a treatment parameter relating to a treatment performed in respect of the skin of the subject, i.e. a parameter/ data of the skin which determines a treatment performed (fig. 1, item 102, fig. 1, item 104); generating, based on the initial map and the treatment parameter, an updated map of the skin of the subject, i.e. the mapping of the current treatment to the skin segment in the second iteration (fig. 1, item 104, 106, page 10, paragraph 131), which is based on the treatment parameter of the current iteration (fig. 1, items 104, 106 follow item 102) and the initial map, since the history of the previous treatments and skin profile are considered in order to find current treatment (page 7, paragraph 92, page 8, paragraph 98, page 12, paragraph 158); and generating, based on the updated map, a treatment instruction for delivery to a recipient device, i.e. the instruction developed in fig. 1, item 110.
Regarding claim 2, Amir et al discloses obtaining an indication of a location of one or more features of the subject comprises one or more of: determining the location of the one or more features of the subject using the first image data, i.e. contour data (page 7, paragraph 86, page 8, paragraph 96); receiving the indication via a user input (pages 7-8, paragraph 93-95) and receiving the indication from a treatment device used to treat the one or more features (page 8, paragraph 95).
Regarding claim 3, Amir et al discloses determining, based on the first image data, the nature of the one or more features, i.e. any of the information that is associated with the face related data from the image of page 7, paragraph 86, like the moisture content (page 7, paragraph 86)or any of the other data that is analyzed to determine the treatment data(page 7, paragraph 90).
Regarding claim 4, Amir et al discloses generating one or more of: a display instruction (page 7, paragraph 93) for delivery to a display unit (fig. 2, item 236 or 220), the display instruction configured to cause the display unit to display the updated map(page 8, paragraph 95, page 10, paragraph 132), and a communication instruction for delivery to a communication unit (fig. 1, item 110), the communication instruction configured to cause the communication unit (fig. 2, item 222) to communicate the treatment instruction to a recipient (fig. 2, item 206, fig. 2, item 236, page 10, paragraph 132).
Regarding claim 5, Amir et al discloses receiving, from a treatment device used to treat the skin of the subject during the current treatment session, treatment data relating to the current treatment session, i.e. the data received in fig. 1, item 102; determining the treatment parameter further based on the received treatment data (fig. 1, item 102, 104).
Regarding claim 6, Amir et al discloses storing, in a storage device (fig. 2, item 238, 224), data for the current treatment session including at least one of: the first image data, the indication of the location of the one or more features by storing , the initial map (page 1, paragraph 5, page 6, paragraph 79, page 7, paragraph 88), the second image data, the determined treatment parameter (page 6, paragraph 74, page 7, paragraph 89), the updated map (page 7, paragraph 89), and the treatment instruction; wherein generating a treatment instruction is further based on stored data relating to a past treatment session, because the generation of treatment and instructions(fig. 1, item 104-110) are based on stored data relating to previous treatments (page 7, paragraph 92).
Regarding claim 7, Amir et al discloses the recipient device, that which receives instruction for the treatment of fig. 1, item 110, comprises a treatment device used to perform treatment during the current treatment session (fig. 2, item 202); and wherein the treatment instruction comprises an instruction to the treatment device to apply or adjust an operating parameter based on the updated map by applying the operating parameter/ step based on the updated map of fig. 1, item 106 (page 11, paragraph 142-144).
Regarding claim 8, Amir et al discloses the treatment parameter comprises one or more of: a location relative to the skin of the subject at which treatment is provided during the current treatment session (page 10, paragraph 125); an indication of the nature of a treatment provided during the current treatment session (page 11, paragraph 144); an indication of an operating parameter of a treatment device used during the current treatment session (page 11, paragraph 144); a date and/or time at which the current treatment session commenced (page 8, paragraph 108); and a duration of the current treatment session.
Regarding claim 9, Amir et al discloses generating, during the current treatment session, based on the second image data, a revised treatment instruction for delivery to a recipient device, i.e. the revised treatment on another iteration of fig. 1, item 112, which is based on all the previous steps of fig. 1, including that of the second image data of step 102.
Regarding claim 10, Amir et al discloses each of the one or more features of the subject comprises a feature selected from a group comprising: a blemish, a pimple, a spot (page 5, paragraph 59), a wrinkle (page 5, paragraph 59), a region of scar tissue, a mole (page 5, paragraph 59), a skin defect (page 5, paragraph 59), a birthmark, a tattooed region, a bruise and a region of dry skin.
Claim 11 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1. Thus, the arguments analogous to that presented above for claim 1 are equally applicable to claim 11. Claim 11 distinguishes from claim 1 only in that claim 11 is a computer program product comprising a non-transitory computer-readable medium, the computer-readable medium having computer-readable code embodied therein, the computer-readable code being configured such that, on execution by a suitable computer or processor, the computer or processor is caused to perform the method of claim 1. Amir et al teaches further this feature, i.e. fig. 1, item 208, 212, instructions processed by fig. 2, item 206, 210.
Claim 12 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1. Thus, the arguments analogous to that presented above for claim 1 are equally applicable to claim 12. Claim 12 distinguishes from claim 1 only in that claim 12 is a system claim comprising an imaging unit configured to acquire image data relating to the skin of the subject and a processor configured to carry out the method of claim 1. Amir et al teaches further this feature, i.e. an image sensor (page 7, paragraph 86), and fig. 2, item 206, 210.
Regarding claim 13, Amir et al discloses a treatment device operable to perform treatment of the skin of the subject (fig. 2); wherein the processor is further configured to: transmit the treatment instruction to the treatment device (fig. 1, item 110, fig. 2, item 210, 216).
Regarding claim 14, Amir et al discloses a presentation device for presenting information to a user, i.e. a display in a user interface (fig. 2, item 236, 220); wherein the processor is further configured to: transmit the treatment instruction to the presentation device (page 8, paragraph 95, page 10, paragraph 132).
Regarding claim 15, Amir et al discloses a user interface (fig. 2, item 236, 220) configured to receive a user input comprising an annotation associated with the first image data, i.e. the treatment in the first iteration (page 1, paragraph 23); wherein the processor is configured to generate the treatment instruction further based on the user input, since the user input defines the treatment in the first iteration, which also defines treatment in later iterations (page 7, paragraph 92).
Conclusion
/KATHLEEN Y DULANEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2666 12/1/2025