DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 01/26/2024 fails to comply with 37 C.F.R. § 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. Specifically, the indicated references include illegible and blank pages. It has been placed in the application file, but the information contained in these references referred to therein has not been considered.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 C.F.R. § 1.55. Examiner notes that the subject matter disclosed in Fig. 3B and 3C (Spec. ¶ 0041) does not appear to be supported by the foreign priority document (JP2021-128004).
Drawings
Although the drawings are sufficiently clear for examination purposes, they are compromised in terms of clarity. That is, due to the submitted format of the drawings, Figs. 3A and 3B are dithered and in grayscale/halftones, where lines and text intended to be solid, clean, and black appear jagged and grayed. It is Examiner’s understanding that should this application issue as a patent, the drawings published on the issued patent will look exactly like those in the U.S. Patent Application Publication (US 20250083278 A1), unless Applicant resubmits the drawings in a different format.
The drawings are not objected to at this time for clarity. Nevertheless, Examiner suggests submitting clearer drawings for the purpose of proper notice to the general public. Applicant should note the following drawing standards:
Black and white drawings are normally required; India ink, or its equivalent that secures solid black lines, must be used for drawings. 37 C.F.R. § 1.84(a)(1);
Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black, sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined, and the weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction. 37 C.F.R. § 1.84(l);
The clarity of the drawings must be sufficient for clear reproduction to two-thirds size. 37 C.F.R. § 1.84(k).
For examples of acceptable drawing clarity and quality, see US 20220362902 A1, US 20230076152 A1, US 20230286103 A1, and US 20240009795 A1. Examiner suggests outputting and resubmitting the drawings as vector graphics instead of raster images (bitmap) and uploading them to USPTO Patent Center as “Drawings-other than black and white line drawings”, which should cause the filed image file to be stored in the SCORE database without any image conversion.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4-7, 13-14, and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
“and the concentric grooves” (claim 1, line 9) should be changed to --or concentric grooves--;
“a cross-sectional area Sa” (claim 1, line 20) should be changed to --wherein, --a cross-sectional area Sa--;
“the spiral groove” (claim 1, line 23) should be changed to --the at least one spiral groove--;
“the spiral groove” (claim 1, line 24) should be changed to --the at least one spiral groove--;
“the spiral groove” (claim 4, lines 4-5) should be changed to --the at least one spiral groove--;
“the spiral groove” (claim 5, line 3) should be changed to --the at least one spiral groove--;
“the spiral groove” (claim 5, line 4) should be changed to --the at least one spiral groove--;
“the spiral groove” (claim 6, line 4) should be changed to --the at least one spiral groove--;
“the spiral groove” (claim 6, line 5) should be changed to --the at least one spiral groove--;
“the spiral groove” (claim 7, line 3) should be changed to --the at least one spiral groove--;
“the spiral groove” (claim 13, lines 3-4) should be changed to --the at least one spiral groove--;
“the spiral groove” (claim 14, line 2) should be changed to --the at least one spiral groove--;
“the spiral groove” (claim 19, line 2) should be changed to --the at least one spiral groove--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. § 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. § 112, the Applicant) regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a center of the spiral groove, a center of the concentric grooves, and a center of the radial grooves are present in the central region” (lines 13-14). This limitation is indefinite because it is unclear and fails to inform a person of ordinary skill in the art what this means. Specifically, under the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification, this limitation could mean that all three types of grooves are required to be present in the central region. However, the claim appears to otherwise only require “at least one spiral groove or concentric grooves” but not both, and this limitation appears to be in conflict. For examination purposes, this limitation is interpreted as best understood. Claims 2-20 are rejected on the basis they incorporate this limitation of claim 1.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 103
Hung in view of Burke and Cook
Claims 1-6, 8-9, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over TW 201217103 A1 (“Hung”) (citations are to the translation filed herewith) in view of US 5645469 A (“Burke”) and US 20170274496 A1 (“Cook”).
Hung pertains to a polishing pad (Figs. 1, 2A-B, 3A-B, 4A-B). Burke pertains to a polishing pad and polishing apparatus (Abstr.; Figs. 1-9). Cook pertains to a polishing pad (Abstr.; Figs. 1-13). These references are in the same field of endeavor.
Regarding claim 1, Hung discloses a polishing pad (Figs. 4A-B, polishing pad 200) comprising
a polishing layer having a circular polishing surface (Figs. 1-2, polishing layer 202 has a circular polishing surface as shown),
wherein the polishing surface comprises a central region corresponding to a range of 0 to 10% of a radius of the polishing surface from a center of the polishing surface, and a peripheral edge region corresponding to a range of 90 to 100% of the radius of the polishing surface from the center of the polishing surface (Figs. 4A-B (see annotated Fig. 4B below), central region and peripheral edge region as shown; see discussion below re recited ranges),
the polishing layer comprises:
at least one spiral groove or concentric grooves including a plurality of annular grooves arranged concentrically, the at least one spiral groove [or] concentric grooves being disposed spanning from the central region to the peripheral edge region (Figs. 4A-B, annular concentric grooves 214 spanning from the central region to the peripheral edge region);
and radial grooves including at least two line segment-shaped grooves extending from the central region toward the peripheral edge region (Figs. 4A-B, radial, line segment-shaped grooves 212 spanning from the central region toward the peripheral edge region),
a center of the spiral groove, a center of the concentric grooves, and a center of the radial grooves are present in the central region (Figs. 4A-B, a center of the concentric grooves 214 and a center of the radial grooves 212 are present in the central region ; see § 112(b) rejection),
the line segment-shaped grooves have an average length of 30 to 65% of the radius of the polishing surface...and a second end portion in a region at a distance of 35 to 70% of the radius of the polishing surface from the center of the radial grooves (Figs. 4A-B; ¶¶ 0013-0014 (referencing Figs. 2A-B), radial grooves 212 have the recited average length and location of a second end portion (“the radius D1 of the first radius area of the grinding layer 202 is between 30% and 70% of the radius D”)),
and [wherein] a cross-sectional area Sa (mm2), which is an average cross-sectional area of cross sections of the line segment-shaped grooves in a direction perpendicular to a length direction of the line segment-shaped grooves, and a cross-sectional area Sb (mm2), which is an average cross-sectional area of cross sections of the [at least one] spiral groove or the concentric grooves in a direction perpendicular to a tangential direction of the [at least one] spiral groove or the concentric grooves, satisfy 0.1 ≤ Sb/Sa < 1.0 (Figs. 4A-B, the cross-sectional areas of radial grooves 212 and concentric grooves 214 as shown; see discussion below re “satisfy 0.1 ≤ Sb/Sa < 1.0”).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (“Peripheral edge region”)][AltContent: textbox (“Central region”)]
Hung Fig. 1 (annotated)
Hung does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the polishing surface comprises a central region corresponding to a range of 0 to 10% of a radius of the polishing surface from a center of the polishing surface, and a peripheral edge region corresponding to a range of 90 to 100% of the radius of the polishing surface from the center of the polishing surface,
the line segment-shaped grooves have an average length of 30 to 65% of the radius of the polishing surface, and have a first end portion in a region at a distance of 5 to 10% of the radius of the polishing surface from the center of the radial grooves and a second end portion in a region at a distance of 35 to 70% of the radius of the polishing surface from the center of the radial grooves,
and [wherein] a cross-sectional area Sa (mm2), which is an average cross-sectional area of cross sections of the line segment-shaped grooves in a direction perpendicular to a length direction of the line segment-shaped grooves, and a cross-sectional area Sb (mm2), which is an average cross-sectional area of cross sections of the [at least one] spiral groove or the concentric grooves in a direction perpendicular to a tangential direction of the [at least one] spiral groove or the concentric grooves, satisfy 0.1 ≤ Sb/Sa < 1.0.
However, the Hung/Burke/Cook combination makes obvious this claim.
Burke discloses:
wherein the polishing surface comprises a central region corresponding to a range of 0 to 10% of a radius of the polishing surface from a center of the polishing surface, and a peripheral edge region corresponding to a range of 90 to 100% of the radius of the polishing surface from the center of the polishing surface (Figs. 1-2; 4:32-5:15, 7:36-53, the “central region” (R1) and “peripheral edge region” (beyond R3) with the recited radius ranges are disclosed, “As exemplary dimensions, the polishing pads have...a diameter of 32 inches, the outer radius is spaced from the outer circumferential edge by 1 to 6 inches, the middle radius is spaced from the outer circumferential edge by 7 to 10 inches and spaced from the outer radius by 4 inches, the inner radius is spaced from the radial center or rotation axis (A1, A2) by 1 inch”),
the line segment-shaped grooves have an average length of 30 to 65% of the radius of the polishing surface, and have a first end portion in a region at a distance of 5 to 10% of the radius of the polishing surface from the center of the radial grooves and a second end portion in a region at a distance of 35 to 70% of the radius of the polishing surface from the center of the radial grooves (Figs. 1-2; 4:32-5:15, 7:36-53, radial grooves 20 have the recited average length and location of the first end portion and the second end portion),
and [wherein] a cross-sectional area Sa (mm2), which is an average cross-sectional area of cross sections of the line segment-shaped grooves in a direction perpendicular to a length direction of the line segment-shaped grooves, and a cross-sectional area Sb (mm2), which is an average cross-sectional area of cross sections of the [at least one] spiral groove or the concentric grooves in a direction perpendicular to a tangential direction of the [at least one] spiral groove or the concentric grooves, satisfy 0.1 ≤ Sb/Sa < 1.0 (Figs. 1-2; 4:32-5:15, 7:36-53, disclosed cross-sectional areas of the radial grooves 20 and concentric grooves 26 include: “the radially extending tapered channels have a maximum width (W1) 0.25 to 1.5 inches...a maximum depth (D1, D3) of 20 to 90 mils...the circumferential grooves have a width (W2, W4) of 10 mils, a pitch of 30 mils and a depth (D2, D4) of 15 mils”; see discussion below re “satisfy 0.1 ≤ Sb/Sa < 1.0”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this application to combine the teachings of Burke and Cook with Hung by modifying the radial size of the central region and the peripheral edge region, the location of the first end portion and second end portion of the radial grooves and their radial length, and the cross-sectional area of the radial and concentric grooves (including the width and/or depth). This would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art because it would have been obvious to try various combinations of minor modifications of the known radial and concentric grooved polishing pad (e.g., as disclosed by Hung Figs. 2A-B, 3A-B, 4A-B; Burke Figs. 1-4; 4:32-5:15, 7:36-53; Cook Figs. 1-13; ¶ 0060; Tables 1 and 2 (page 5)) in order to determine (i.e., optimize) the configuration that yields the best or desired performance under certain operating conditions, where the best or desired performance may include the fastest polishing speed and/or the best conservation of slurry (Burke 2:40-58, 6:15-33, the radial grooves help to direct slurry to the outer radius of the polishing pad and decrease the amount of slurry that is slung off the polishing pad). For example, this optimization may be determined by experimentation using different pad configurations (see Cook ¶¶ 0060-0073, Tables 1 and 2 (page 5)). Examiner notes that the radial sizes of the central region and peripheral edge region as claimed are related to the radial groove’s first end location, second end location, and radial length; thus, modifying the radial groove’s first end location, second end location, and radial length (as taught by Burke) would also modify the radial sizes of the central region and peripheral edge region.
With respect to the “satisfy 0.1 ≤ Sb/Sa < 1.0” limitation, Hung does not provide any dimensions relating to the width or depth of the radial and concentric grooves. However, Burke and Cook disclose various widths and depths for the radial and concentric grooves (Burke Figs. 1-2; 4:32-5:15, 7:36-53; Cook ¶ 0060; Tables 1 and 2 (page 5)). Thus, using the following disclosed dimensions: radial groove width (“Wa”) (60 mil per Cook) and depth (20 mil per Burke), concentric groove width (“Wb”) (20 mil per Cook) and depth (30 mil per Cook), the ratio Sb/Sa is 0.5, which satisfies the limitation. As stated above, this combination of radial and concentric groove dimensions would have been obvious to try in light of the disclosed ranges.
Furthermore, absent a teaching as to criticality of this Sb/Sa ratio range as claimed, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to this particular arrangement. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 555 (CCPA 1975). Without evidence of criticality or unexpected results, where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 267 (CCPA 1976); MPEP § 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 2, the Hung/Burke/Cook combination makes obvious polishing pad of claim 1 as applied above. The limitation “wherein 0.25 ≤ Sb/Sa < 0.85 is satisfied” is rendered obvious by the Hung/Burke/Cook combination for the same reasons discussed for claim 1. Specifically, in the example stated for claim 1, the ratio Sb/Sa is 0.5.
Regarding claim 3, the Hung/Burke/Cook combination makes obvious polishing pad of claim 1 as applied above. The limitation “wherein 0.44 ≤ Sb/Sa < 0.80 is satisfied” is rendered obvious by the Hung/Burke/Cook combination for the same reasons discussed for claim 1. Specifically, in the example stated for claim 1, the ratio Sb/Sa is 0.5.
Regarding claim 4, the Hung/Burke/Cook combination makes obvious polishing pad of claim 1 as applied above. The limitation “wherein a groove width Wa (mm), which is an average width of the line segment-shaped grooves, and a groove width Wb (mm), which is an average width of the [at least one] spiral groove or the concentric grooves, satisfy 0.1 ≤ Wb/Wa < 1.0” is rendered obvious by the Hung/Burke/Cook combination for the same reasons discussed for claim 1. Specifically, in the example stated for claim 1, the ratio Wb/Wa would be 0.333.
Additionally, absent a teaching as to criticality of this Wb/Wa ratio range as claimed, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to this particular arrangement. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 555 (CCPA 1975). Without evidence of criticality or unexpected results, where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 267 (CCPA 1976); MPEP § 2144.05(I).
Claim 13 is obvious for the same reasons as claim 4, except as depending from claim 2.
Regarding claim 5, the Hung/Burke/Cook combination makes obvious polishing pad of claim 1 as applied above. The limitation “wherein a groove width Wb (mm), which is an average width of the [at least one] spiral groove or the concentric grooves, and an average groove pitch P (mm) of the [at least one] spiral groove or the concentric grooves, satisfy 0.02 ≤ Wb/P ≤ 0.25” is rendered obvious by the Hung/Burke/Cook combination for the same reasons discussed for claim 1, with the additional element of concentric groove pitch (“P”) (Cook ¶ 0060, “120 mil pitch”) being an additional factor to vary. Specifically, in the example stated for claim 1, the ratio Wb/P would be 0.167.
Additionally, absent a teaching as to criticality of this Wb/P ratio range as claimed, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to this particular arrangement. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 555 (CCPA 1975). Without evidence of criticality or unexpected results, where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 267 (CCPA 1976); MPEP § 2144.05(I).
Claim 14 is obvious for the same reasons as claim 5, except as depending from claim 13.
Regarding claim 6, the Hung/Burke/Cook combination makes obvious polishing pad of claim 1 as applied above. The limitation “wherein a groove width Wa (mm), which is an average width of the line segment-shaped grooves, a groove width Wb (mm), which is an average width of the [at least one] spiral groove or the concentric grooves, and an average groove pitch P (mm) of the [at least one] spiral groove or the concentric grooves, satisfy 0.2 ≤ {Wb2/(P×Wa)} × 100 ≤ 25” is rendered obvious by the Hung/Burke/Cook combination for the same reasons discussed for claim 1, with the additional element of concentric groove pitch (“P”) (Cook ¶ 0060, “120 mil pitch”) being an additional factor to vary. Specifically, in the example stated for claim 1, the value {Wb2/(P×Wa)} × 100 would be 5.555.
Additionally, absent a teaching as to criticality of this {Wb2/(P×Wa)} × 100 value range as claimed, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to this particular arrangement. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 555 (CCPA 1975). Without evidence of criticality or unexpected results, where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 267 (CCPA 1976); MPEP § 2144.05(I).
Claim 15 is obvious for the same reasons as claim 6, except as depending from claim 14.
Regarding claim 8, the Hung/Burke/Cook combination makes obvious polishing pad of claim 1 as applied above. Hung further discloses wherein the polishing layer comprises the concentric grooves (Figs. 4A-B, annular concentric grooves 214 spanning from the central region to the peripheral edge region).
Regarding claim 9, the Hung/Burke/Cook combination makes obvious polishing pad of claim 1 as applied above. Hung further discloses wherein the polishing layer comprises a thermoplastic polyurethane (¶ 0011, “The abrasive layer 202 is composed of a polymer substrate such as polyester, polyether, polyurethane, polycarbonate, polyacrylate, polybutadiene, or other thermosetting resins (thermosetting resin) or thermoplastic resin (thermoplastic resin).”).
Claim 16 is obvious for the same reasons as claim 9, except as depending from claim 15.
Hung in view of Burke, Cook, and Feng
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over TW 201217103 A1 (“Hung”) (citations are to the translation filed herewith) in view of US 5645469 A (“Burke”), US 20170274496 A1 (“Cook”), and US 20080003935 A1 (“Feng”).
Hung pertains to a polishing pad (Figs. 1, 2A-B, 3A-B, 4A-B). Burke pertains to a polishing pad and polishing apparatus (Abstr.; Figs. 1-9). Cook pertains to a polishing pad (Abstr.; Figs. 1-13). Feng pertains to a polishing pad (Abstr.; Figs. 1-8). These references are in the same field of endeavor.
Regarding claim 7, the Hung/Burke/Cook combination makes obvious polishing pad of claim 1 as applied above. Hung, Burke, and Cook do not explicitly disclose wherein the polishing layer comprises the [at least one] spiral groove. However, the Hung/Burke/Cook/Feng combination makes obvious this claim.
Feng discloses wherein the polishing layer comprises the [at least one] spiral groove (Fig. 7; ¶ 0026, spiral groove 71 with radial grooves 72).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this application to combine the teachings of Feng with the Hung/Burke/Cook combination by using a spiral groove instead of concentric grooves. This would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art because the use of a spiral groove is “designed to suck back a portion of the abrasive fluid as the grinding pad... rotates to provide the abrasive fluid with a different flow field distribution” (Hung Figs. 2A-B; ¶ 0016). Examiner notes that although Hung describes a different type of spiral grooves (i.e., the use of spiral grooves 212 with concentric grooves 210), a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the cited Hung teaching would apply to other types of spiral grooves, including the spiral grooves disclosed in Feng. Examiner also notes that Cook discusses the use of spiral grooves in the prior art (Cook ¶ 0005). With respect to the geometry of the spiral grooves, including the cross-sectional area, width, depth, groove pitch, and the recited relationships (i.e., ratios and values in claims 1-6), Examiner notes that a person of ordinary skill in the art would apply the same geometric principles for concentric grooves (in claims 1-6) to spiral grooves because it would be obvious to try (and optimize) as discussed in claims 1-6, where the use of spiral grooves instead of concentric grooves is an additional factor to vary.
Hung in view of Burke, Cook, and Oshita
Claims 10-12, 17-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over TW 201217103 A1 (“Hung”) (citations are to the translation filed herewith) in view of US 5645469 A (“Burke”), US 20170274496 A1 (“Cook”), and WO 2019216279 A1 (“Oshita”) (citations are to the translation filed herewith).
Hung pertains to a polishing pad (Figs. 1, 2A-B, 3A-B, 4A-B). Burke pertains to a polishing pad and polishing apparatus (Abstr.; Figs. 1-9). Cook pertains to a polishing pad (Abstr.; Figs. 1-13). Oshita pertains to a polishing pad (Abstr.; pp. 1-2). These references are in the same field of endeavor.
Regarding claim 10, the Hung/Burke/Cook combination makes obvious polishing pad of claim 1 as applied above. Hung, Burke, and Cook do not explicitly disclose wherein the polishing layer is a non-foam. However, the Hung/Burke/Cook/Oshita combination makes obvious this claim.
Oshita discloses wherein the polishing layer is a non-foam (pp. 7-8, polishing pad with grooves (including spiral or concentric grooves) has a polishing layer made of non-foam thermoplastic polyurethane).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this application to combine the teachings of Oshita with the Hung/Burke/Cook combination by modifying the polishing layer to be made of a non-foam thermoplastic polyurethane because “However, the polyurethane is preferably a non-foam from the viewpoint that the polishing characteristics hardly change and stable polishing can be realized. For example, in the case of a polishing layer using polyurethane foam produced by casting foam curing, the foaming structure varies, and thus the polishing characteristics such as flatness and planarization efficiency tend to fluctuate” (as compared to foam thermoplastic polyurethane) (Oshita p. 8).
Claim 17 is obvious for the same reasons as claim 10, except as depending from claim 16.
Regarding claim 11, the Hung/Burke/Cook combination makes obvious polishing pad of claim 1 as applied above. Hung, Burke, and Cook do not explicitly disclose wherein the polishing layer has a JIS D hardness of 45 to 90. However, the Hung/Burke/Cook/Oshita combination makes obvious this claim.
Oshita discloses wherein the polishing layer has a JIS D hardness of 45 to 90 (p. 7, polishing pad with grooves (including spiral or concentric grooves) has a polishing layer with a JIS D hardness of 60 or more, or 65 or more).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this application to combine the teachings of Oshita with the Hung/Burke/Cook combination by modifying the polishing layer to have the recited hardness because “The hardness of each polishing layer is preferably 60 or more, more preferably 65 or more in terms of JIS-D hardness. When the JIS-D hardness is too low, the followability of the polishing pad to the surface to be polished becomes high and local flatness tends to be lowered.” (Oshita p. 8).
Regarding claim 12, the Hung/Burke/Cook combination makes obvious polishing pad of claim 1 as applied above. Hung, Burke, and Cook do not explicitly disclose wherein the polishing layer has a density of 1.00 to 1.20 g/cm3. However, the Hung/Burke/Cook/Oshita combination makes obvious this claim.
Oshita discloses wherein the polishing layer has a density of 1.00 to 1.20 g/cm3 (pp. 7-8, polishing pad with grooves (including spiral or concentric grooves) has a polishing layer with a density of 1.0 g/cm3 or more, or 1.1 g/cm3 or more, or 1.2 g/cm3 or more).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this application to combine the teachings of Oshita with the Hung/Burke/Cook combination by modifying the polishing layer to have the recited density because “In the case of non-foamed thermoplastic polyurethane, the density of the molded body is preferably 1.0 g/cm3 or more, more preferably 1.1 g/cm3 or more, and particularly preferably 1.2 g/cm3 or more. When the density of the molded body of thermoplastic polyurethane is too low, the polishing layer becomes too soft and local flatness tends to decrease. Further, as the thermoplastic polyurethane, non-foamed thermoplastic polyurethane is particularly preferable from the viewpoint of excellent polishing stability due to high rigidity and material homogeneity.” (Oshita p. 8).
Claim 18 is obvious for the same reasons as claim 12, except as depending from claim 17.
Regarding claim 20, the Hung/Burke/Cook combination makes obvious polishing pad of claim 17 as applied above. Hung further discloses wherein the polishing layer comprises the concentric grooves (Figs. 4A-B, annular concentric grooves 214 spanning from the central region to the peripheral edge region).
Hung in view of Burke, Cook, Oshita, and Feng
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over TW 201217103 A1 (“Hung”) (citations are to the translation filed herewith) in view of US 5645469 A (“Burke”), US 20170274496 A1 (“Cook”), WO 2019216279 A1 (“Oshita”) (citations are to the translation filed herewith), and US 20080003935 A1 (“Feng”).
Hung pertains to a polishing pad (Figs. 1, 2A-B, 3A-B, 4A-B). Burke pertains to a polishing pad and polishing apparatus (Abstr.; Figs. 1-9). Cook pertains to a polishing pad (Abstr.; Figs. 1-13). Oshita pertains to a polishing pad (Abstr.; pp. 1-2). Feng pertains to a polishing pad (Abstr.; Figs. 1-8). These references are in the same field of endeavor.
Regarding claim 19, the Hung/Burke/Cook/Oshita combination makes obvious polishing pad of claim 17 as applied above. Oshita discloses wherein the polishing layer comprises the spiral groove (p. 7, polishing pad with grooves (including spiral or concentric grooves)). Further, Feng discloses wherein the polishing layer comprises the [at least one] spiral groove (Fig. 7; ¶ 0026, spiral groove 71 with radial grooves 72).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this application to combine the teachings of Oshita and/or Feng with the Hung/Burke/Cook/Oshita combination by using a spiral groove instead of concentric grooves for the same reasons discussed for claim 7.
Status of Claims
New claims 13-20 have been added. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
US 6120366 A (“Lin”) discloses a grooved polishing pad (Abstr.; Figs. 2-4);
JP 2000237950 A (“Hasegawa”) discloses a polishing apparatus with a grooved polishing pad (Figs. 1-6);
JP 4320169 B2 (“Park”) discloses a polishing apparatus with a grooved polishing pad (Figs. 1-15).
/KENT N SHUM/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723