Response to Amendment
1. This action is in response to the amendment filed March 27, 2026.
Claim 1 and 9-10 were amended, rendering claims 1-11 pending, with claims 9-11 withdrawn as a non-elected invention.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102(a)(1)
3. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Narutomi (JP H05207909 A).
Narutomi discloses a thermoplastic elastic body (layer) comprising polyether block amide (paragraph 22) and primers used to heat bond the surfaces (paragraph 20), as in claim 1. In claim 1, the phrase, “for a display device” is an intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In a claim drawn to a process of making, the intended use must result in a manipulative difference as compared to the prior art. See In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102(a)(1)
4. Claims 1, 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (JP 4903332 B2).
JP ‘332 discloses a layer of extruded elastic polyether block amide matrix (paragraph 94) and a pressure sensitive adhesive (primer) comprising a copolymer comprising acrylamide units with a substrate (paragraph 85), as in claim 1.
In claim 1, the phrase, “for a display device” is an intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In a claim drawn to a process of making, the intended use must result in a manipulative difference as compared to the prior art. See In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963).
Concerning claim 5, JP ‘332 discloses a pressure sensitive adhesive (primer) comprising a copolymer comprising acrylamide units with a substrate (paragraph 85).
Concerning claim 8, JP ‘332 discloses a polymeric layer (polymeric base film) (paragraph 94).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narutomi (JP H05207909 A).
Narutomi discloses a thermoplastic elastic body (layer) comprising polyether block amide (paragraph 22) and primers used to heat bond the surfaces (paragraph 20).
Narutomi does not appear to explicitly teach the adhesive force between the base film and the elastic layer, however substantially identical materials treated in a substantially identical manner are expected to have substantially identical properties. In the present case the laminate film is carried out using material (polyether-block-amide) and process conditions which are substantially identical to those disclosed by applicants. Therefore the laminate film discussed above would be expected to meet the claimed adhesive force, as in claim 2. In claim 2, the phrase, “laminate film is cut to a size of 5 cm in length and 1 cm in width and subjected to a 180° peel test at a speed of 300 mm/min at room temperature” introduces a process limitation to the product claim.
For purposes of examination, product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulation of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. See MPEP 2113. In the present case, the recited steps imply a structure having an elastic layer comprising a polyether-block-amide and a primer layer. The reference suggests such a product because Narutomi discloses a thermoplastic elastic body (layer) comprising polyether block amide (paragraph 22) and primers used to heat bond the surfaces (paragraph 20).
Concerning claim 3, the phrase, “the laminate film is cut to a size of 12 cm in length and 4 cm in width and subjected to repeated folding at room temperature and a folding speed of 1 time/second while the base film is folded inward such that the radius of curvature is 1.5 R, the number of folding until interlayer delamination occurs is 100,000 times or more” introduces a process limitation to the product claim.
For purposes of examination, product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulation of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. See MPEP 2113. In the present case, the recited steps imply a structure having an elastic layer comprising a polyether-block-amide and a primer layer. The reference suggests such a product because Narutomi discloses a thermoplastic elastic body (layer) comprising polyether block amide (paragraph 22) and primers used to heat bond the surfaces (paragraph 20).
Concerning claim 4, Narutomi discloses polyester elastomer can be used in the article of Narutomi (paragraph 22).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 2-3, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (JP 4903332 B2).
JP ‘332 discloses a layer of extruded elastic polyether block amide matrix (paragraph 94) and a pressure sensitive adhesive (primer) comprising a copolymer of 96% isooctyl acrylate units and 4% acrylamide units with a substrate (paragraph 85).
JP ‘332 does not appear to explicitly teach the adhesive force between the base film and the elastic layer, however substantially identical materials treated in a substantially identical manner are expected to have substantially identical properties. In the present case the laminate film is carried out using material (polyether-block-amide) and process conditions which are substantially identical to those disclosed by applicants. Therefore the laminate film discussed above would be expected to meet the claimed adhesive force, as in claim 2. In claim 2, the phrase, “laminate film is cut to a size of 5 cm in length and 1 cm in width and subjected to a 180° peel test at a speed of 300 mm/min at room temperature” introduces a process limitation to the product claim.
For purposes of examination, product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulation of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. See MPEP 2113. In the present case, the recited steps imply a structure having an elastic layer comprising a polyether-block-amide and a primer layer. The reference suggests such a product because JP ‘332 discloses a layer of extruded elastic polyether block amide matrix (paragraph 94) and a pressure sensitive adhesive (primer) comprising a copolymer of 96% isooctyl acrylate units and 4% acrylamide units with a substrate (paragraph 85).
Concerning claim 3, the phrase, “the laminate film is cut to a size of 12 cm in length and 4 cm in width and subjected to repeated folding at room temperature and a folding speed of 1 time/second while the base film is folded inward such that the radius of curvature is 1.5 R, the number of folding until interlayer delamination occurs is 100,000 times or more” introduces a process limitation to the product claim.
For purposes of examination, product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulation of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. See MPEP 2113. In the present case, the recited steps imply a structure having an elastic layer comprising a polyether-block-amide and a primer layer. The reference suggests such a product because JP ‘332 discloses a layer of extruded elastic polyether block amide matrix (paragraph 94) and a pressure sensitive adhesive (primer) comprising a copolymer of 96% isooctyl acrylate units and 4% acrylamide units with a substrate (paragraph 85).
Concerning claim 7, the phrase, “when the laminate film is stored for 96 hours at room temperature and 50% RH, the change in adhesive force calculated by the following Equation (1) is 35% or less: …to measure the load applied between the base film and the elastic layer” constitutes a ‘capable of’ limitation and that such a recitation that an element is ‘capable of’ performing a function is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform.
Claim Objections
8. Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The closest prior art does not teach or suggest the recited laminate film further including the primer layer comprises 100 parts by weight of a polyester acrylate; and 5 parts by weight to 40 parts by weight of an acrylamide-based compound. The closest prior art does not teach or suggest the recited laminate film further including
The prior art does not teach motivation or suggestion for modification to make the invention as instantly claimed.
Response to Arguments
9. Applicant’s argument of the rejection made under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Narutomi (JP H05207909 A) has been considered; however, is unpersuasive. Applicant argues Narutomi does not disclose instant claim 1, as amended, as Narutomi does not disclose a laminate film for a display device. In response to Applicant’s argument, the phrase, “for a display device” is an intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In a claim drawn to a process of making, the intended use must result in a manipulative difference as compared to the prior art. See In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963).
Applicant argues the rejection made under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (JP 4903332 B2) has been considered; however, is unpersuasive. Applicant argues JP 4903332 B2 does not disclose instant claim 1, as amended, as Narutomi does not disclose a laminate film for a display device. In response to Applicant’s argument, the phrase, “for a display device” is an intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In a claim drawn to a process of making, the intended use must result in a manipulative difference as compared to the prior art. See In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963).
Applicant’s arguments of the rejections made under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narutomi (JP H05207909 A) and (JP 4903332 B2) are maintained for reasons of record, as claim 1 has been maintained over both references.
Conclusion
10. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAWRENCE D FERGUSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1781