DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-5 and 7-11, in the reply filed on 09/01/2026 is acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 01/26/2024. These drawings are accepted.
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 2, 8, and 15 are as currently amended, Claims 3-5, 7, 9-11, 16, 18, 19. 22, 25, 26, 28, and 30, and Claims 6, 12-14, 17, 20, 21, 24, 27, and 29 are canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Bonilla et al (US 2022/0314541 A1).
Bonilla et al is in the same patent family as WO 2020/237166 A2.
Bonilla et al teaches a method of additive manufacturing as represented below in the annotated drawings:
The lid has an upper surface and a lower surface. The material is sintered [0132, 0264, 0268]. The temperature is controlled with the lid [0352]; this teaching reads on releasing heat when the lid is opened. Bonilla et al anticipates the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 2, the build platform comprises an opening [0132].
Regarding Claim 5, build material is distributed [0219].
Regarding Claim 7, the build material 400 reads on the “base,” and the binder 500 reads on the “layer” [0223]. The build hopper 360 reads on the support powder dispenser and the source of the binder reads on the build powder dispenser.
Regarding Claim 8, the “open end” is represented at the bottom of the image in FIG. 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonilla et al as applied to claims 1, 5, and 7 above, and further in view of Ryan (US 2017/0173884 A1).
Bonilla et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Bonilla et al teaches dispensing a metal powder [0264] as in Claim 9. However, Bonilla et al does not teach a nozzle with a broad nozzle as in Claim 9 or a fine nozzle as in Claim 10.
Ryan teaches rotation and nozzle opening control of extruders in printing systems such as for 3D printers [0003-0005]. For fine printing a smaller nozzle can be used to make smaller steps that use more fill passes [0018]. The nozzle opening can be a non-circular opening, which can be configured to deposit a wide but controlled bead of material to reduce passes for the print [0023]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a wide or broad nozzle as in Claim 9 or fine nozzle for printing as in Claim 10, since Ryan teaches an extruder can include a rotating nozzle with a variable-size opening that can be adjusted for fine detail work and sharp corners. The opening can be a non-circular opening configured to deposit wide ribbons of material with fine edge control. The printing system can advantageously enable at least 3-10 times increase in printing speed when compared to existing printing systems. For example, the printing system, according to some embodiments, can create an outside wall in a single pass compared to three passes needed by existing printing systems. Highly filled structures may benefit from the greatest increase in speed and efficiency. Internal fill structures could be reshaped and speed up with the ability for a larger print. As a result, efficiency and accuracy can be improved [0054].
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonilla et al as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of Swier et al (US 11,325,308 B2).
Bonilla et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Bonilla et al does not teach dispensing from an extruder hopper and refilling the extruder hopper from a main hopper as claimed.
Swier et al teaches a powder metering device (“dispensing mechanism”) to move powder in a 3D printing system (abstract). A controlled amount of powder is delivered from compartments. Compartments receive powder from a powder source (e.g. a hopper; “main hopper storing powder”) to a powder transport device (“extruder hopper”) in discrete dosed units. Multiple compartments can be receiving powder while other compartments are dispensing powder (column 2, line 30 to column 3, line 4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the powder metering device as taught by Swier et al with the process of Bonilla et al, since Swier et al teaches enabling the movement of powder between differently pressurized regions of a 3D printing system (column 5, lines 26-29).
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo et al (US 2018/0178241 A1).
The lifting plate moves vertically up and down [0100-0101]. Sintering is taught in [0049]. Heating element 325 may be used to increase the rate for generating mist and/or to obtain desired properties of the micro droplets of mist generated from liquid. However, Luo et al does not teach releasing heat by opening the upper lid. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that heat would be released from the apparatus of Luo et al by opening the lid, since the ambient temperature (20-25 °C) would be less than the heating element temperature as taught in [0065] (25-90 °C).
Regarding Claim 2, the lifting plate moves vertically as represented in FIG. 6A.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding Claim 3, neither Bonilla et al nor Luo et al suggest heating or thermal elements in the lid of the furnace as claimed. Regarding Claim 4, neither Bonilla et al nor Luo et al suggest a lid rotatably connected as claimed.
Conclusion
Tima M. McGuthry-Banks
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1733
/Tima M. McGuthry-Banks/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733