DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The specification amendment submitted on 01/26/2024 which amended the abstract has been accepted.
The specification amendment submitted on 01/26/2024 which added the cross-reference to related applications has been accepted.
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: BEAM MANAGEMENT AND BANDWIDTH PARTS (BWP) OPERATION FOR NON-TERRESTRIAL NETWORK (NTN)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 32-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 32 recites “measurement procedure” in line 8. It is unclear whether it is referring to “a measurement procedure” in lines 3-4. For the purpose of examination, examiner will interpret the claim as best understood.
Claims 33-36 are also rejected since they are depended on the rejected claim 32 as set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 31 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by QUALCOMM INCORPORATED, “BWP operation and other issues for NTN”, 3GPP DRAFT; R1-2104670, May 12, 2021, hereinafter “Qualcomm”.
Regarding claim 31, Qualcomm discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
communicating with an access network node via a non-terrestrial network (NTN), using a first bandwidth part corresponding to a first coverage area [see section 3, Fig. 5; a UE communicating with an access network node via a NTN, using an initial BWP (reference BWP) corresponding to a first coverage area. Note that a BWP is corresponding to a beam corresponding to a coverage area];
receiving, from the access network node, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message including information for identifying a set of one or more bandwidth parts, each bandwidth part of the set of the one or more bandwidth parts respectively corresponding to a corresponding further coverage area [see section 3, Fig. 5; receiving, from the access network node, a RRC message including the difference of other BWPs relative to the reference BWP, each BWP of the other BWPs respectively corresponding to a corresponding further coverage area (each beam along the straight line in Figure 5 is corresponding to each BWP of the other BWPs)];
switching from the first bandwidth part to a next bandwidth part of the set of the one or more bandwidth parts, based on a location of the UE, or upon approaching the corresponding further coverage area corresponding to the next bandwidth part [see section 3, Fig. 5; switching from the reference BWP to a next BWP of the other BWPs upon approaching the corresponding further coverage area corresponding to the next BWP. For example, if the UE moves along the straight line and traverses 7 BWPs in Figure 5, the UE would switch from the reference BWP (beam 15) to the next BWP (beam 20) upon approaching the corresponding further coverage area corresponding to the next BWP (beam 20)].
Regarding claim 39, Qualcomm discloses a method performed by an access network node, the method comprising:
communicating with a user equipment (UE) via a non-terrestrial network (NTN), using a first bandwidth part corresponding to a first coverage area [see section 3, Fig. 5; an access network node communicating with a UE via a NTN, using an initial BWP (reference BWP) corresponding to a first coverage area. Note that a BWP is corresponding to a beam corresponding to a coverage area];
transmitting, to the UE, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message including information for identifying a set of one or more bandwidth parts, each bandwidth part of the set of the one or more bandwidth parts respectively corresponding to a corresponding further coverage area [see section 3, Fig. 5; transmitting, to the UE, a RRC message including the difference of other BWPs relative to the reference BWP, each BWP of the other BWPs respectively corresponding to a corresponding further coverage area (each beam along the straight line in Figure 5 is corresponding to each BWP of the other BWPs)];
identifying a next bandwidth part of the set of the one or more bandwidth parts, for the UE to switch from the first bandwidth part, based on a location of the UE, orsee section 3, Fig. 5; identifying a next BWP of the other BWPs, for the UE to switch from the reference BWP upon the UE approaching the corresponding further coverage area corresponding to the next BWP. For example, if the UE moves along the straight line and traverses 7 BWPs in Figure 5, the UE would switch from the reference BWP (beam 15) to the next BWP (beam 20) upon approaching the corresponding further coverage area corresponding to the next BWP (beam 20)].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 32 and 40-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qualcomm in view of Kim et al. (US 2023/0247501 A1, hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding claim 32, Qualcomm discloses a measurement procedure to be performed by the UE for at least one beam in respect of which the next bandwidth part is to be used [see section 3, page7; the UE measures the quality of its current serving satellite beam and neighboring satellite beams in respect of which the next BWP is to be used]; and
performing the measurement procedure for the next bandwidth part, wherein the switching is performed based on a result of measurement procedure for the next bandwidth part [see section 3, page7; to help the network decide on the best BWP or satellite beam for the UE to switch to, the UE measures the quality of its current serving satellite beam and neighboring satellite beams and reports the measurements back to the network].
Qualcomm does not explicitly disclose “receiving measurement configuration information for configuring” a measurement procedure to be performed by the UE; and performing the measurement procedure “based on the measurement configuration information”.
However, Kim teaches receiving measurement configuration information for configuring a measurement procedure to be performed by a UE; and performing the measurement procedure based on the measurement configuration information [see Fig. 16, step 1635, para. 600, 612-613; receiving measurement configuration information (measConfig) for configuring a measurement procedure to be performed by a UE; and performing the measurement procedure based on the configuration].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “receiving measurement configuration information for configuring a measurement procedure to be performed by a UE; and performing the measurement procedure based on the measurement configuration information”, as taught by Kim, into the system of Qualcomm so that it would reduce battery consumption of the UE [see Kim, para. 618].
Regarding claim 40, Qualcomm discloses a user equipment (UE) configured to:
communicate, with an access network node via a non-terrestrial network (NTN), using a first bandwidth part corresponding to a first coverage area [see section 3, Fig. 5; a UE communicating with an access network node via a NTN, using an initial BWP (reference BWP) corresponding to a first coverage area. Note that a BWP is corresponding to a beam corresponding to a coverage area],
receive, from the access network node, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message including information for identifying a set of one or more bandwidth parts, each bandwidth part of the set of the one or more bandwidth parts respectively corresponding to a corresponding further coverage area [see section 3, Fig. 5; receiving, from the access network node, a RRC message including the difference of other BWPs relative to the reference BWP, each BWP of the other BWPs respectively corresponding to a corresponding further coverage area (each beam along the straight line in Figure 5 is corresponding to each BWP of the other BWPs)];
switch from the first bandwidth part to a next bandwidth part of the set of the one or more bandwidth parts, based on a location of the UE, or upon approaching the corresponding further area corresponding to the next bandwidth part [see section 3, Fig. 5; switching from the reference BWP to a next BWP of the other BWPs upon approaching the corresponding further coverage area corresponding to the next BWP. For example, if the UE moves along the straight line and traverses 7 BWPs in Figure 5, the UE would switch from the reference BWP (beam 15) to the next BWP (beam 20) upon approaching the corresponding further coverage area corresponding to the next BWP (beam 20)].
Qualcomm does not explicitly disclose a user equipment (UE) “comprising: at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to process the instructions”.
However, Kim teaches a UE comprising: at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to process the instructions [see Fig. 19, para. 780-786; a UE comprising a storage 1930 storing data (program/application) and controller 1940 including at least one processor to process the data].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “a UE comprising: at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to process the instructions”, as taught by Kim, into the system of Qualcomm so that it would save a battery of the UE and support a service without data interruption [see Kim, para. 19-20].
Regarding claim 41, Qualcomm discloses an access network node configured to:
communicate with a user equipment (UE) via a non-terrestrial network (NTN), using a first bandwidth part corresponding to a first coverage area [see section 3, Fig. 5; an access network node communicating with a UE via a NTN, using an initial BWP (reference BWP) corresponding to a first coverage area. Note that a BWP is corresponding to a beam corresponding to a coverage area];
transmit, to the UE, a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message including information for identifying a set of one or more bandwidth parts, each bandwidth part of the set of the one or more bandwidth parts respectively corresponding to a corresponding further coverage area [see section 3, Fig. 5; transmitting, to the UE, a RRC message including the difference of other BWPs relative to the reference BWP, each BWP of the other BWPs respectively corresponding to a corresponding further coverage area (each beam along the straight line in Figure 5 is corresponding to each BWP of the other BWPs)];
identify a next bandwidth part of the set of the one or more bandwidth parts, for the UE to switch from the first bandwidth part, based on a location of the UE, or upon the UE approaching the further coverage area corresponding to the next bandwidth part [see section 3, Fig. 5; identifying a next BWP of the other BWPs, for the UE to switch from the reference BWP upon the UE approaching the corresponding further coverage area corresponding to the next BWP. For example, if the UE moves along the straight line and traverses 7 BWPs in Figure 5, the UE would switch from the reference BWP (beam 15) to the next BWP (beam 20) upon approaching the corresponding further coverage area corresponding to the next BWP (beam 20)].
Qualcomm does not explicitly disclose an access network node “comprising: at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to process the instructions”.
However, Kim teaches an access network node comprising: at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to process the instructions [see Fig. 20, para. 787-793; a base station comprising a storage 2040 storing data (program/application) and controller 2050 including at least one processor to process the data].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “an access network node comprising: at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to process the instructions”, as taught by Kim, into the system of Qualcomm so that it would save a battery of the UE and support a service without data interruption [see Kim, para. 19-20].
Claims 37-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qualcomm in view of XIAOMI, “Discussion on other design aspects for NTN”, 3GPP DRAFT; R1-2105562, May 12, 2021, hereinafter “Xiaomi”.
Regarding claim 37, Qualcomm does not explicitly disclose wherein the location of the UE changes as a result of movement of the coverage area.
However, Xiao teaches a UE switching from a first bandwidth part to a next bandwidth part based on a location of the UE [see section 2.1.2; timer based BWP switching is configured to the UE based on the information of UE position and the satellite calendar], wherein the location of the UE changes as a result of movement of a coverage area [see section 2.1.2, Fig. 2; the UE position changes as a result of movement of a coverage area of satellite#1].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “a UE switching from a first bandwidth part to a next bandwidth part based on a location of the UE, wherein the location of the UE changes as a result of movement of a coverage area”, as taught by Xiao, into the system of Qualcomm so that it would prevent radio link failure and a long latency [see Xiao, section 2.1.2].
Regarding claim 38, Qualcomm does not explicitly disclose wherein the switching occurs when a bandwidth part inactivity timer expires.
However, Xiao teaches a UE switching from a first bandwidth part to a next bandwidth part based on a location of the UE [see section 2.1.2; timer based BWP switching is configured to the UE based on the information of UE position and the satellite calendar], wherein the switching occurs when a bandwidth part inactivity timer expires [see section 2.1.2, Fig. 2; the switching occurs when the timer expires].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “a UE switching from a first bandwidth part to a next bandwidth part based on a location of the UE, wherein the switching occurs when a bandwidth part inactivity timer expires”, as taught by Xiao, into the system of Qualcomm so that it would prevent radio link failure and a long latency [see Xiao, section 2.1.2].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jin et al. (US 2021/0144062 A1), see Fig. 11, para. 168-172, discloses a timer-based operation to use a BWP in a wireless communication system.
/BRIAN T LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469