DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Claim Interpretation
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. This application includes one or more claim limitations that uses the word “means,” and are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
(i) core portion forming control unit (claim 7),
(ii) shell portion forming control unit (claim 7), because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim limitation
(i) core portion forming control unit (claim 7),
(ii) shell portion forming control unit (claim 7), has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim 1 has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
(i) core portion forming control unit (claim 7), US2025/0083254, figure 4, 0050, core portion forming control unit
(ii) shell portion forming control unit (claim 7), figure 4, 0050, shell portion forming control unit
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 6 recites “the outer part 13” which should be amended to “the outer part . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ishida (US 2017/0106589).
With respect to the limitations of claim 1, Ishida teaches a production method for additive manufactured object (title, abstract), the method comprising: a core portion forming step of additively forming a core portion as an inner portion of an additive manufactured object by stacking first weld beads (0107, the lasers L are radiated from the laser radiating sections 1300′ to form, as a first layer having large layer thickness corresponding to the first layer and the second layer having the small layer thickness) each size of which is corresponding to a first resolution (Figs 9E-9J, molten layers 310 (312), 0099, 0107, 0108, the molten layers 312…have thickness twice as large as the thickness of the molten layers 311); and a shell portion forming step of additively forming a shell portion as an outer portion (Figs 9K-9N, 0112, the molten layers 310 (311) having small layer thickness are formed) of the additive manufactured object on a surface of the core portion by stacking second weld beads each size of which is corresponding to a second resolution higher than the first resolution after the core portion forming step (body O, 0114).
With respect to the limitations of claims 3 and 5, Ishida teaches further comprising: a region specifying step of specifying a core region in which the core portion is to be formed (Fig 10, 0120, in step S120, data for each layer is created; 0123, 0124, when it is determined that the layer to be formed is the layer formed by the large dots, the processing proceeds to step S170) and a shell region in which the shell portion is to be formed with aiming at a final shape of the additive manufactured object before the core portion forming step (Fig 10, 0120, in step S120, data for each layer is created; 0123, 0124, when it is determined in this step that the layer to be formed is the layer formed by the small dots, processing proceeds to step S140), in the core portion forming step, the core portion is additively formed in the core region (molten layers 310 (312)) specified by the region specifying step, and in the shell portion forming step, the shell portion is additively formed in the shell region (molten layers 310 (311) specified by the region specifying step;
the core portion forming step and the shell portion forming step are performed by laser welding (Figs 1A, 1B, laser radiating sections 1300, 0126) or electron beam welding.
With respect to the limitations of claim 7, Ishida teaches a production system for additive manufactured object, the system comprising: a welding head (Figs 1-4, laser radiating sections 1300, 0126; constituent-material discharging section 1230, 0141); and an additive forming control device (control unit 400, material supply controller 1500, laser controller 430, 0074, 0075, 0077) which is configured to control the welding head so that an additive manufactured object is formed by operating the welding head (0074), the additive forming control device includes: a core portion forming control unit (control unit 400) which is configured to control the welding head so that a core portion as an inner portion of the additive manufactured object is additively formed by stacking first weld beads (0107, the lasers L are radiated from the laser radiating sections 1300′ to form, as a first layer having large layer thickness corresponding to the first layer and the second layer having the small layer thickness) each size of which is corresponding to a first resolution (Figs 9E-9J, molten layers 310 (312), 0099, 0107, 0108, the molten layers 312…have thickness twice as large as the thickness of the molten layers 311); and a shell portion forming control unit (control unit 400) which is configured to control the welding head so that a shell portion as an outer portion (Figs 9K-9N, 0112, the molten layers 310 (311) having small layer thickness are formed) of the additive manufactured object is additively formed on a surface of the core portion by stacking second weld beads each size of which is corresponding to a second resolution higher than the first resolution after at least part of the core portion is additively formed (body O, 0114).
Claim 9 is similarly rejected as set forth in the rejection of claim 3 above.
Claim 11 is similarly rejected as set forth in the rejection of claim 5 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Ishida (US 2017/0106589) as applied to claims 1 and 7.
With respect to the limitations of claim 2, Ishida teaches the core portion forming step includes: an outer part forming step of forming an outer part of the core portion, which has the surface of the core portion, by stacking third weld beads (Figs 9G-9J, left most, stacked molten layers 310 (312)); and an inner part forming step of additively forming an inner part of the core portion inside the outer part by stacking the first weld beads each corresponding to the first resolution (central stacked molten layers 310 (312)) after the outer-skin forming step. Ishida disclose the claimed invention except for the third weld beads each corresponding to a third resolution higher than the first resolution.
However, Ishida discloses that the third weld beads each corresponding to a third resolution higher than the first resolution (0139, 0140, capable of discharging droplets of 50 pl, 100 pl, and 150 pl) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the additive production method of Ishida having a third weld bead resolution with the third weld beads each corresponding to a third resolution higher than the first resolution of Ishida for the purpose of discharging the droplets having a plurality of kinds of sizes (0140) based on the required properties of the additively manufactured part.
Additionally, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to have the third weld beads each corresponding to a third resolution higher than the first resolution, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable bead resolution ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04).
Claim 8 is similarly rejected as set forth in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Claims 4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Ishida (US 2017/0106589) as applied to claims 1 and 7, further in view of Ryuichi (JP2021085662). A copy of Ryuichi (JP2021085662) is included with the Notice of Reference Cited (PTO-892).
With respect to the limitations of claim 4, Ishida discloses the claimed invention except for further comprising: an accuracy determining step of determining the accuracy of the surface of the core portion at a time between the core portion forming step and the shell portion forming step, the shell portion forming step is performed only when the accuracy is determined to be inappropriate in the accuracy determining step. However, Ryuichi discloses further comprising: an accuracy determining step of determining the accuracy of the surface of the core portion at a time between the core portion forming step and the shell portion forming step (Figs 1-3, shape measuring sensors 41, 42, 0018; 0050, comparison unit 113 calculates the extent of any region where the cross-sectional shape 65 of the newly formed bead 243 does not reach the target cross-sectional shape, and determines that a region with insufficient material exists), the shell portion forming step is performed only when the accuracy is determined to be inappropriate in the accuracy determining step (0059, the path correction unit 103 sets a modified path setting that modifies the path setting to add a path to fill the missing material areas; 0061, 0062) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the additive production method of Ishida silent to an accuracy determining step with the further comprising: an accuracy determining step of determining the accuracy of the surface of the core portion at a time between the core portion forming step and the shell portion forming step, the shell portion forming step is performed only when the accuracy is determined to be inappropriate in the accuracy determining step of Ryuichi for the purpose of providing a known accuracy determining step that allows for the detection and correction of errors in weld bead height of the additively manufactured part (0062)..
Claim 10 is similarly rejected as set forth in the rejection of claim 4 above.
Claims 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Ishida (US 2017/0106589) as applied to claims 1 and 7, further in view of Narayan (US 2018/0319097).
With respect to the limitations of claim 6, Ishida discloses the claimed invention except for the core portion forming step and the shell portion forming step are performed by arc welding. However, Narayan discloses the core portion forming step and the shell portion forming step (Figs 4A-4C, 0048-0050) are performed by arc welding (electrodes 32, 0018, 0019) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the additive production method of Ishida using laser welding silent to arc welding with the core portion forming step and the shell portion forming step are performed by arc welding of Narayan for the purpose of using a known, alternative arc welding technique that is suitable for additive manufacturing to sequentially depositing material layer-by-layer to form a three-dimensional part (0006).
Claim 12 is similarly rejected as set forth in the rejection of claim 6 above.
Conclusion
/THIEN S TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761 10/1/2026