DETAILED ACTION
1. It is hereby acknowledged that 18/292497 the following papers have been received and placed of record in the file: Amendment dated 04/14/26
2. Claims 14-21 are presented for examination. Claims 14, 16, 19, 20, 21 have been amended.
Response to Argument
3. Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 04/14/26 with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 14-21 upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made.
Claim Objection
4. Claims 14-21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 14, 19, 20 and 21 states…. and second information including center coordinate information and radius information for identifying the at least one coverage area….. for finding at least one neighbor cell, in a case in which the UE is within the at least one coverage area identified by the second information. …These limitations are unclear. It is unclear and vague what these information are or consist of. The specification explains….It will be appreciated that the information regarding the group location may be provided in any suitable way to allow UEs to determine where the neighbour cell groups are located or which areas they serve. For example, information relating to the location associated with a group may be provided as one or more of the following: co- ordinates inside the cell group (e.g. centre of the zone, barycentre of cells); centre of a cell group with radius; and a zone defined by a set of coordinates (e.g. a polygon) (see paragraph [0068]) In a different section of the specification discloses, The method according to Supplementary Note 1, further comprising: receiving second information identifying a location associated with the each group of the at least one group; and scanning frequencies identified by the first information, based on a location of the UE and the second information.(see paragraph [0094])
While part of these limitations seemed to be explained in these paragraphs, it does not seem to fully explain or support the claimed limitations.
Further stating in a case, can insinuate that the limitation does not necessarily needs to occur. The use of when may be an option to replace this term.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained through the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
6. Claims 14-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Cheng (EP3787348 )in view of GU( CN 111294733A)
Regarding claim 14, Cheng teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) for mobility between cells of a non-terrestrial network and a terrestrial network, the method comprising: receiving first information identifying an association between at least one group of neighbor frequencies and at least one coverage area for the terrestrial network where the neighbor frequencies serves; (see Cheng Fig.2 and 4 paragraph [0024] explains… the gNB may provide location information of reference point(s) in the configuration of cell search information for a UE to perform cell search for cell reselection, and transmit the location information of reference points to the UE within the coverage of the serving cell of NTN gNB. Therefore, the UE may be configured to determine whether or when to perform cell search for cell reselection (e.g., according to the frequency or frequencies included in the configuration of cell search information) according to the received location information of reference points.) and scanning neighbor frequencies corresponding to one group among the at least one group indicated by the first information for finding at least one neighbor cell, in a case in which the UE is within the at least one coverage area identified by the second information. (see Cheng paragraph [0024] explains…the gNB may provide location information of reference point(s) in the configuration of cell search information for a UE to perform cell search for cell reselection, and transmit the location information of reference points to the UE within the coverage of the serving cell of NTN gNB. Therefore, the UE may be configured to determine whether or when to perform cell search for cell reselection (e.g., according to the frequency or frequencies included in the configuration of cell search information) according to the received location information of reference points. In detail, the UE may be configured to start cell search for cell reselection when the location information of reference points indicates that there is a reference point corresponding to the TN cell in the reachable distance of the UE, or configured to stop cell search for cell reselection when the UE estimates and determines the location information of reference points suggesting that there is no reference point corresponding to the TN cell in the reachable distance of the UE)
Cheng does not explicitly disclose a second information including center coordinate information and radius information for identifying the at least one coverage area;
However GU page 10 paragraph [0002] discloses…. the quality of the adjacent cell can be the relative offset of updating reference signal measurement value of the adjacent cell and the adjacent cell and then subtracting the lag parameter of the adjacent cell, the relative offset of the adjacent cell can be a specific offset of the frequency of the adjacent cell, also can be the cell of the adjacent cell specific offset, also can be the sum of the two….. page 10 paragraph [0005]- page 11paragraph [0009] the reference signal measurement value so that the value of the reference signal measurement value by including a cell radius and the cell centre position of the first position information, and the distance between the user equipment and cell, can be received by the user equipment to update, the updated with obvious difference on the edge and the centre of cells of the cell, so it can on the basis without modifying the existing protocol for mobility management operation of user equipment, such as cell reselection is triggered or a measurement report.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine Cheng with GU. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to improving communication with the use of many mobility management operations (See Background)
Regarding claim 15, Cheng taught the method according to claim 14, as described above. The modified Cheng further teaches wherein the scanning is performed based on a location of the UE. (see Cheng Fig. 4 paragraph [0024] explains… the gNB may provide location information of reference point(s) in the configuration of cell search information for a UE to perform cell search for cell reselection, and transmit the location information of reference points to the UE within the coverage of the serving cell of NTN gNB. Therefore, the UE may be configured to determine whether or when to perform cell search for cell reselection (e.g., according to the frequency or frequencies included in the configuration of cell search information) according to the received location information of reference points.)
Regarding claim 16, Cheng taught the method according to claim 14, as described above. The modified Cheng further teaches further comprising: performing a search for finding at least one potential neighbor cell for each group among the at least one group; and determining the one group, based on a frequency used by the at least one potential neighbor cell and the first information. (see Cheng Fig. 4 paragraph [0024] the gNB may provide location information of reference point(s) in the configuration of cell search information for a UE to perform cell search for cell reselection, and transmit the location information of reference points to the UE within the coverage of the serving cell of NTN gNB. Therefore, the UE may be configured to determine whether or when to perform cell search for cell reselection (e.g., according to the frequency or frequencies included in the configuration of cell search information) according to the received location information of reference points.)
Regarding claim 17, Cheng taught the method according to claim 14, as described above. The modified Cheng further teaches wherein the first information is transmitted via a system information block.(see Cheng paragraphs[0024]- [0026] explains…. In an embodiment, the gNB may broadcast the location information of reference points through a system information block (SIB) (e.g., SIB2). The SIB provides common information for every type of cell reselection. )
Regarding claim 18, Cheng taught the method according to claim 14, as described above. The modified Cheng further teaches further comprising: not scanning any frequency that is not associated with the at least one coverage area that corresponds to a current location of the UE.(see Cheng paragraph [0024], [0041]-[0044] explains whether or when to perform cell search for cell selection and stop cell search for cell reselection when the UE estimates and determines the location information of reference points suggesting that there is no reference point corresponding to the TC cell in the reachable distance of the UE….further paragraphs explain cell search for cell reselection…)
Regarding claim 19, Cheng teaches a method performed by a network node for assisting mobility of a user equipment (UE) between cells of a non-terrestrial network and a terrestrial network, the method comprising: transmitting first information identifying an association between at least one group of neighbor frequencies and at least one coverage area for the terrestrial network where the neighbor frequencies serves, (see Cheng Fig.2 and 4 paragraph [0024] explains… the gNB may provide location information of reference point(s) in the configuration of cell search information for a UE to perform cell search for cell reselection, and transmit the location information of reference points to the UE within the coverage of the serving cell of NTN gNB. Therefore, the UE may be configured to determine whether or when to perform cell search for cell reselection (e.g., according to the frequency or frequencies included in the configuration of cell search information) according to the received location information of reference points.)the first information being configured for use by the UE in scanning neighbor frequencies corresponding to one group among the at least one group indicated by the first information for finding at least one neighbor cell, in a case in which the UE is within the at least one coverage area identified by the second information (see Cheng paragraph [0024] the gNB may provide location information of reference point(s) in the configuration of cell search information for a UE to perform cell search for cell reselection, and transmit the location information of reference points to the UE within the coverage of the serving cell of NTN gNB. Therefore, the UE may be configured to determine whether or when to perform cell search for cell reselection (e.g., according to the frequency or frequencies included in the configuration of cell search information) according to the received location information of reference points. In detail, the UE may be configured to start cell search for cell reselection when the location information of reference points indicates that there is a reference point corresponding to the TN cell in the reachable distance of the UE, or configured to stop cell search for cell reselection when the UE estimates and determines the location information of reference points suggesting that there is no reference point corresponding to the TN cell in the reachable distance of the UE)
Cheng does not explicitly disclose a second information including center coordinate information and radius information for identifying the at least one coverage area;
However GU page 10 paragraph [0002]-page 11paragraph [0009] discloses… the reference signal measurement value so that the value of the reference signal measurement value by including a cell radius and the cell centre position of the first position information, and the distance between the user equipment and cell, can be received by the user equipment to update, the updated with obvious difference on the edge and the centre of cells of the cell, so it can on the basis without modifying the existing protocol for mobility management operation of user equipment, such as cell reselection is triggered or a measurement report.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine Cheng with GU. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to improving communication with the use of many mobility management operations (See Background)
Regarding claim 20, Cheng teaches a user equipment (UE) configured to perform mobility between cells of a non-terrestrial network and a terrestrial network, the UE comprising: at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to process the instructions to: receive first information identifying an association between at least one group of neighbor frequencies and at least one coverage area for the terrestrial network where the neighbor frequencies serves; (see Cheng Fig.2 and 4 paragraph [0024] the gNB may provide location information of reference point(s) in the configuration of cell search information for a UE to perform cell search for cell reselection, and transmit the location information of reference points to the UE within the coverage of the serving cell of NTN gNB. Therefore, the UE may be configured to determine whether or when to perform cell search for cell reselection (e.g., according to the frequency or frequencies included in the configuration of cell search information) according to the received location information of reference points.) serves, and second information including center coordinate information and radius information for identifying the at least one coverage area; and scan neighbor frequencies corresponding to one group the at least one group indicated by the first information for finding at least one neighbor cell, in a case in which the UE is within the at least one coverage area identified by the second information. (see Cheng paragraph [0024] the gNB may provide location information of reference point(s) in the configuration of cell search information for a UE to perform cell search for cell reselection, and transmit the location information of reference points to the UE within the coverage of the serving cell of NTN gNB. Therefore, the UE may be configured to determine whether or when to perform cell search for cell reselection (e.g., according to the frequency or frequencies included in the configuration of cell search information) according to the received location information of reference points. In detail, the UE may be configured to start cell search for cell reselection when the location information of reference points indicates that there is a reference point corresponding to the TN cell in the reachable distance of the UE, or configured to stop cell search for cell reselection when the UE estimates and determines the location information of reference points suggesting that there is no reference point corresponding to the TN cell in the reachable distance of the UE)
Cheng does not explicitly disclose a second information including center coordinate information and radius information for identifying the at least one coverage area;
However GU page 10 paragraph [0002]-page 11paragraph [0009] discloses… the reference signal measurement value so that the value of the reference signal measurement value by including a cell radius and the cell centre position of the first position information, and the distance between the user equipment and cell, can be received by the user equipment to update, the updated with obvious difference on the edge and the centre of cells of the cell, so it can on the basis without modifying the existing protocol for mobility management operation of user equipment, such as cell reselection is triggered or a measurement report.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine Cheng with GU. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to improving communication with the use of many mobility management operations (See Background)
Regarding claim 21, Cheng teaches a network node for assisting mobility of a user equipment (UE) between cells of a non-terrestrial network and a terrestrial network, the network node comprising: at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to process the instructions to: transmit first information identifying an association between at least one group of neighbor r frequencies and at least one coverage area for the terrestrial network where the neighbor frequencies serves; (see Cheng Fig.2 and 4 paragraph [0024] explains… the gNB may provide location information of reference point(s) in the configuration of cell search information for a UE to perform cell search for cell reselection, and transmit the location information of reference points to the UE within the coverage of the serving cell of NTN gNB. Therefore, the UE may be configured to determine whether or when to perform cell search for cell reselection (e.g., according to the frequency or frequencies included in the configuration of cell search information) according to the received location information of reference points.) the first information being configured for use by the UE in scanning neighbor frequencies corresponding to one group the at least one group indicated by the first information for finding at least one neighbor cell, in a case in which the UE is within the at least one coverage area identified by the second information (see Cheng paragraph [0024] the gNB may provide location information of reference point(s) in the configuration of cell search information for a UE to perform cell search for cell reselection, and transmit the location information of reference points to the UE within the coverage of the serving cell of NTN gNB. Therefore, the UE may be configured to determine whether or when to perform cell search for cell reselection (e.g., according to the frequency or frequencies included in the configuration of cell search information) according to the received location information of reference points. In detail, the UE may be configured to start cell search for cell reselection when the location information of reference points indicates that there is a reference point corresponding to the TN cell in the reachable distance of the UE, or configured to stop cell search for cell reselection when the UE estimates and determines the location information of reference points suggesting that there is no reference point corresponding to the TN cell in the reachable distance of the UE)
Cheng does not explicitly disclose a second information including center coordinate information and radius information for identifying the at least one coverage area;
However GU page 10 paragraph [0002] discloses…. the quality of the adjacent cell can be the relative offset of updating reference signal measurement value of the adjacent cell and the adjacent cell and then subtracting the lag parameter of the adjacent cell, the relative offset of the adjacent cell can be a specific offset of the frequency of the adjacent cell, also can be the cell of the adjacent cell specific offset, also can be the sum of the two….. page 10 paragraph [0005]- page 11paragraph [0009] the reference signal measurement value so that the value of the reference signal measurement value by including a cell radius and the cell centre position of the first position information, and the distance between the user equipment and cell, can be received by the user equipment to update, the updated with obvious difference on the edge and the centre of cells of the cell, so it can on the basis without modifying the existing protocol for mobility management operation of user equipment, such as cell reselection is triggered or a measurement report.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine Cheng with GU. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to improving communication with the use of many mobility management operations (See Background)
7. Claims 14-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over BENAMMAR(EP3800936A1 ) in view of GU( CN 111294733A)
Regarding claim 14, Benammar teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) for mobility between cells of a non-terrestrial network and a terrestrial network, the method comprising: receiving first information identifying an association between at least one group of neighbor frequencies and at least one coverage area for the terrestrial network where the neighbor frequencies serves; (see Benammar Fig.2 paragraphs [0033],[0036], [0037] explains…. The NTN RAN 202 may decide, based on the UT location and proximity of the UT 206 to neighboring TN cells and coverage, when to instruct the UT 206 to start measurements of a TN signal using a measurement configuration that reflects the TN air interface requirement. The measurement configuration may be preconfigured or be provided by the NTN RAN 202 to the UT 206 dynamically. After receiving a measurement report, the NTN may comply with any measurement gaps and not allocate resources to the UT 206 during those gaps.) and scanning neighbor frequencies corresponding to one group among the at least one group indicated by the first information for finding at least one neighbor cell, in a case in which the UE is within the at least one coverage area identified by the second information. (see Benammar Fig.2 paragraphs [0033],[0036], [0037] explains…. The NTN RAN 202 may decide, based on the UT location and proximity of the UT 206 to neighboring TN cells and coverage, when to instruct the UT 206 to start measurements of a TN signal using a measurement configuration that reflects the TN air interface requirement. The measurement configuration may be preconfigured or be provided by the NTN RAN 202 to the UT 206 dynamically. After receiving a measurement report, the NTN may comply with any measurement gaps and not allocate resources to the UT 206 during those gaps…..When the UT location service 210 does not depend on the UT 206 reporting its location, the NTN may broadcast, for example, in System Information, the vertices of the TN coverage. In one embodiment, only the vertices relevant to the NTN beam coverage need to be broadcast within that beam. A measurement order configuration or measurement configuration can be setup at the UT 206 with an indication that it only applies when the UT 206 is within the broadcasted vertices. Based on this, the UT 206 may start measuring when its position falls within the vertices of the TN coverage without having to share or report its location with the NTN.)
Cheng does not explicitly disclose a second information including center coordinate information and radius information for identifying the at least one coverage area;
However GU page 10 paragraph [0002] discloses…. the quality of the adjacent cell can be the relative offset of updating reference signal measurement value of the adjacent cell and the adjacent cell and then subtracting the lag parameter of the adjacent cell, the relative offset of the adjacent cell can be a specific offset of the frequency of the adjacent cell, also can be the cell of the adjacent cell specific offset, also can be the sum of the two….. page 10 paragraph [0005]- page 11paragraph [0009] the reference signal measurement value so that the value of the reference signal measurement value by including a cell radius and the cell centre position of the first position information, and the distance between the user equipment and cell, can be received by the user equipment to update, the updated with obvious difference on the edge and the centre of cells of the cell, so it can on the basis without modifying the existing protocol for mobility management operation of user equipment, such as cell reselection is triggered or a measurement report.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine Benammar with GU. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to improving communication with the use of many mobility management operations (See Background)
Regarding claim 15, Benammar taught the method according to claim 14, as described above. The modified Benammar further teaches wherein the scanning is performed based on a location of the UE. (see Benammar Fig.2 paragraphs [0036]-[0037] explains…. The NTN RAN 202 may decide, based on the UT location and proximity of the UT 206 to neighboring TN cells and coverage, when to instruct the UT 206 to start measurements of a TN signal using a measurement configuration that reflects the TN air interface requirement. The measurement configuration may be preconfigured or be provided by the NTN RAN 202 to the UT 206 dynamically. After receiving a measurement report, the NTN may comply with any measurement gaps and not allocate resources to the UT 206 during those gaps…..When the UT location service 210 does not depend on the UT 206 reporting its location, the NTN may broadcast, for example, in System Information, the vertices of the TN coverage. In one embodiment, only the vertices relevant to the NTN beam coverage need to be broadcast within that beam. A measurement order configuration or measurement configuration can be setup at the UT 206 with an indication that it only applies when the UT 206 is within the broadcasted vertices. Based on this, the UT 206 may start measuring when its position falls within the vertices of the TN coverage without having to share or report its location with the NTN….)
Regarding claim 16, Benmmar taught the method according to claim 14, as described above. The modified Benammar further teaches further comprising: performing a search for finding at least one potential neighbor cell for each group among the at least one group; and determining the one group, based on a frequency used by the at least one potential neighbor cell and the first information. (see Benammar Fig.2 paragraphs [0036]-[0037] explains…. The NTN RAN 202 may decide, based on the UT location and proximity of the UT 206 to neighboring TN cells and coverage, when to instruct the UT 206 to start measurements of a TN signal using a measurement configuration that reflects the TN air interface requirement. The measurement configuration may be preconfigured or be provided by the NTN RAN 202 to the UT 206 dynamically. After receiving a measurement report, the NTN may comply with any measurement gaps and not allocate resources to the UT 206 during those gaps…..When the UT location service 210 does not depend on the UT 206 reporting its location, the NTN may broadcast, for example, in System Information, the vertices of the TN coverage. In one embodiment, only the vertices relevant to the NTN beam coverage need to be broadcast within that beam. A measurement order configuration or measurement configuration can be setup at the UT 206 with an indication that it only applies when the UT 206 is within the broadcasted vertices. Based on this, the UT 206 may start measuring when its position falls within the vertices of the TN coverage without having to share or report its location with the NTN….)
Regarding claim 17, Benammar taught the method according to claim 14, as described above. The modified Benammar further teaches wherein the first information is transmitted via a system information block. (see Benammar Fig.2 paragraphs [0036]-[0037] explains…. The NTN RAN 202 may decide, based on the UT location and proximity of the UT 206 to neighboring TN cells and coverage, when to instruct the UT 206 to start measurements of a TN signal using a measurement configuration that reflects the TN air interface requirement. The measurement configuration may be preconfigured or be provided by the NTN RAN 202 to the UT 206 dynamically. After receiving a measurement report, the NTN may comply with any measurement gaps and not allocate resources to the UT 206 during those gaps…..When the UT location service 210 does not depend on the UT 206 reporting its location, the NTN may broadcast, for example, in System Information, the vertices of the TN coverage. In one embodiment, only the vertices relevant to the NTN beam coverage need to be broadcast within that beam. A measurement order configuration or measurement configuration can be setup at the UT 206 with an indication that it only applies when the UT 206 is within the broadcasted vertices. Based on this, the UT 206 may start measuring when its position falls within the vertices of the TN coverage without having to share or report its location with the NTN….)
Regarding claim 18, Benmmar taught the method according to claim 14, as described above. Benammar further teaches further comprising: not scanning any frequency that is not associated with the at least one coverage area that corresponds to a current location of the UE. (see Benammar Fig.2 paragraphs [0036]-[0037] explains…. The NTN RAN 202 may decide, based on the UT location and proximity of the UT 206 to neighboring TN cells and coverage, when to instruct the UT 206 to start measurements of a TN signal using a measurement configuration that reflects the TN air interface requirement. The measurement configuration may be preconfigured or be provided by the NTN RAN 202 to the UT 206 dynamically. After receiving a measurement report, the NTN may comply with any measurement gaps and not allocate resources to the UT 206 during those gaps…..When the UT location service 210 does not depend on the UT 206 reporting its location, the NTN may broadcast, for example, in System Information, the vertices of the TN coverage. In one embodiment, only the vertices relevant to the NTN beam coverage need to be broadcast within that beam. A measurement order configuration or measurement configuration can be setup at the UT 206 with an indication that it only applies when the UT 206 is within the broadcasted vertices. Based on this, the UT 206 may start measuring when its position falls within the vertices of the TN coverage without having to share or report its location with the NTN….)
Regarding claim 19, Benammar teaches a method performed by a network node for assisting mobility of a user equipment (UE) between cells of a non-terrestrial network and a terrestrial network, the method comprising: transmitting first information identifying an association between at least one group of neighbor frequencies and at least one coverage area for the terrestrial network where the neighbor frequencies serves, (see Benammar Fig.2 paragraphs [0033],[0036], [0037] explains…. The NTN RAN 202 may decide, based on the UT location and proximity of the UT 206 to neighboring TN cells and coverage, when to instruct the UT 206 to start measurements of a TN signal using a measurement configuration that reflects the TN air interface requirement. The measurement configuration may be preconfigured or be provided by the NTN RAN 202 to the UT 206 dynamically. After receiving a measurement report, the NTN may comply with any measurement gaps and not allocate resources to the UT 206 during those gaps.) the first information being configured for use by the UE in scanning neighbor frequencies corresponding to one group among the at least one group indicated by the first information for finding at least one neighbor cell, in a case in which the UE is within the at least one coverage area identified by the second information (see Benammar Fig.2 paragraphs [0033],[0036], [0037] explains…. The NTN RAN 202 may decide, based on the UT location and proximity of the UT 206 to neighboring TN cells and coverage, when to instruct the UT 206 to start measurements of a TN signal using a measurement configuration that reflects the TN air interface requirement. The measurement configuration may be preconfigured or be provided by the NTN RAN 202 to the UT 206 dynamically. After receiving a measurement report, the NTN may comply with any measurement gaps and not allocate resources to the UT 206 during those gaps…..When the UT location service 210 does not depend on the UT 206 reporting its location, the NTN may broadcast, for example, in System Information, the vertices of the TN coverage. In one embodiment, only the vertices relevant to the NTN beam coverage need to be broadcast within that beam. A measurement order configuration or measurement configuration can be setup at the UT 206 with an indication that it only applies when the UT 206 is within the broadcasted vertices. Based on this, the UT 206 may start measuring when its position falls within the vertices of the TN coverage without having to share or report its location with the NTN.)
Cheng does not explicitly disclose a second information including center coordinate information and radius information for identifying the at least one coverage area;
However GU page 10 paragraph [0002] discloses…. the quality of the adjacent cell can be the relative offset of updating reference signal measurement value of the adjacent cell and the adjacent cell and then subtracting the lag parameter of the adjacent cell, the relative offset of the adjacent cell can be a specific offset of the frequency of the adjacent cell, also can be the cell of the adjacent cell specific offset, also can be the sum of the two….. page 10 paragraph [0005]- page 11paragraph [0009] the reference signal measurement value so that the value of the reference signal measurement value by including a cell radius and the cell centre position of the first position information, and the distance between the user equipment and cell, can be received by the user equipment to update, the updated with obvious difference on the edge and the centre of cells of the cell, so it can on the basis without modifying the existing protocol for mobility management operation of user equipment, such as cell reselection is triggered or a measurement report.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine Benammar with GU. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to improving communication with the use of many mobility management operations (See Background)
Regarding claim 20, Benammar teaches a user equipment (UE) configured to perform mobility between cells of a non-terrestrial network and a terrestrial network, the UE comprising: at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to process the instructions to: receive first information identifying an association between at least one group of neighbor frequencies and at least one coverage area for the terrestrial network where the neighbor frequencies serves; (see Benammar Fig.2 paragraphs [0033],[0036], [0037] explains…. The NTN RAN 202 may decide, based on the UT location and proximity of the UT 206 to neighboring TN cells and coverage, when to instruct the UT 206 to start measurements of a TN signal using a measurement configuration that reflects the TN air interface requirement. The measurement configuration may be preconfigured or be provided by the NTN RAN 202 to the UT 206 dynamically. After receiving a measurement report, the NTN may comply with any measurement gaps and not allocate resources to the UT 206 during those gaps.) serves, and second information including center coordinate information and radius information for identifying the at least one coverage area; and scan neighbor frequencies corresponding to one group the at least one group indicated by the first information for finding at least one neighbor cell, in a case in which the UE is within the at least one coverage area identified by the second information. (see Benammar Fig.2 paragraphs [0033],[0036], [0037] explains…. The NTN RAN 202 may decide, based on the UT location and proximity of the UT 206 to neighboring TN cells and coverage, when to instruct the UT 206 to start measurements of a TN signal using a measurement configuration that reflects the TN air interface requirement. The measurement configuration may be preconfigured or be provided by the NTN RAN 202 to the UT 206 dynamically. After receiving a measurement report, the NTN may comply with any measurement gaps and not allocate resources to the UT 206 during those gaps…..When the UT location service 210 does not depend on the UT 206 reporting its location, the NTN may broadcast, for example, in System Information, the vertices of the TN coverage. In one embodiment, only the vertices relevant to the NTN beam coverage need to be broadcast within that beam. A measurement order configuration or measurement configuration can be setup at the UT 206 with an indication that it only applies when the UT 206 is within the broadcasted vertices. Based on this, the UT 206 may start measuring when its position falls within the vertices of the TN coverage without having to share or report its location with the NTN.)
Cheng does not explicitly disclose a second information including center coordinate information and radius information for identifying the at least one coverage area;
However GU page 10 paragraph [0002]-page 11paragraph [0009] discloses the reference signal measurement value so that the value of the reference signal measurement value by including a cell radius and the cell centre position of the first position information, and the distance between the user equipment and cell, can be received by the user equipment to update, the updated with obvious difference on the edge and the centre of cells of the cell, so it can on the basis without modifying the existing protocol for mobility management operation of user equipment, such as cell reselection is triggered or a measurement report.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine Benammar with GU. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to improving communication with the use of many mobility management operations (See Background)
Regarding claim 21, Benammar teaches a network node for assisting mobility of a user equipment (UE) between cells of a non-terrestrial network and a terrestrial network, the network node comprising: at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to process the instructions to: transmit first information identifying an association between at least one group of neighbor r frequencies and at least one coverage area for the terrestrial network where the neighbor frequencies serves; (see Benammar Fig.2 paragraphs [0033],[0036], [0037] explains…. The NTN RAN 202 may decide, based on the UT location and proximity of the UT 206 to neighboring TN cells and coverage, when to instruct the UT 206 to start measurements of a TN signal using a measurement configuration that reflects the TN air interface requirement. The measurement configuration may be preconfigured or be provided by the NTN RAN 202 to the UT 206 dynamically. After receiving a measurement report, the NTN may comply with any measurement gaps and not allocate resources to the UT 206 during those gaps.) the first information being configured for use by the UE in scanning neighbor frequencies corresponding to one group the at least one group indicated by the first information for finding at least one neighbor cell, in a case in which the UE is within the at least one coverage area identified by the second information. (see Benammar Fig.2 paragraphs [0033],[0036], [0037] explains…. The NTN RAN 202 may decide, based on the UT location and proximity of the UT 206 to neighboring TN cells and coverage, when to instruct the UT 206 to start measurements of a TN signal using a measurement configuration that reflects the TN air interface requirement. The measurement configuration may be preconfigured or be provided by the NTN RAN 202 to the UT 206 dynamically. After receiving a measurement report, the NTN may comply with any measurement gaps and not allocate resources to the UT 206 during those gaps…..When the UT location service 210 does not depend on the UT 206 reporting its location, the NTN may broadcast, for example, in System Information, the vertices of the TN coverage. In one embodiment, only the vertices relevant to the NTN beam coverage need to be broadcast within that beam. A measurement order configuration or measurement configuration can be setup at the UT 206 with an indication that it only applies when the UT 206 is within the broadcasted vertices. Based on this, the UT 206 may start measuring when its position falls within the vertices of the TN coverage without having to share or report its location with the NTN.)
Cheng does not explicitly disclose a second information including center coordinate information and radius information for identifying the at least one coverage area;
However GU page 10 paragraph [0002]-page 11paragraph [0009] discloses… the reference signal measurement value so that the value of the reference signal measurement value by including a cell radius and the cell centre position of the first position information, and the distance between the user equipment and cell, can be received by the user equipment to update, the updated with obvious difference on the edge and the centre of cells of the cell, so it can on the basis without modifying the existing protocol for mobility management operation of user equipment, such as cell reselection is triggered or a measurement report.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine Benammar with GU. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to improving communication with the use of many mobility management operations (See Background)
8. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GERALD A SMARTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478