DETAILED ACTION
1. It is hereby acknowledged that 18/292497 the following papers have been received and placed of record in the file: Remark date 01/26/24.
2. The present application, file on or after March 16, 2013, is being examiner under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Specification
4.The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
5. Claims 14-21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 14, 19-21 disclose “….finding at least one neighbour cell in the at least one coverage area corresponding to one group of the at least one group indicated by the first information..”
It is unclear what is meant by one group of at least one group.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claim(s)14-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cheng (EP3787348 )
Regarding claim 14, Cheng teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) for mobility between cells of a non-terrestrial network and a terrestrial network, the method comprising: receiving first information identifying mapping of at least one group of neighbour frequencies and at least one coverage area for the terrestrial network where the neighbour frequencies serves; (see Cheng Fig.2 and 4 paragraph [0024] explains… the gNB may provide location information of reference point(s) in the configuration of cell search information for a UE to perform cell search for cell reselection, and transmit the location information of reference points to the UE within the coverage of the serving cell of NTN gNB. Therefore, the UE may be configured to determine whether or when to perform cell search for cell reselection (e.g., according to the frequency or frequencies included in the configuration of cell search information) according to the received location information of reference points.) and scanning neighbour frequencies for finding at least one neighbour cell in the at least one coverage area corresponding to one group of the at least one group indicated by the first information. (see Cheng paragraph [0024] explains…the gNB may provide location information of reference point(s) in the configuration of cell search information for a UE to perform cell search for cell reselection, and transmit the location information of reference points to the UE within the coverage of the serving cell of NTN gNB. Therefore, the UE may be configured to determine whether or when to perform cell search for cell reselection (e.g., according to the frequency or frequencies included in the configuration of cell search information) according to the received location information of reference points. In detail, the UE may be configured to start cell search for cell reselection when the location information of reference points indicates that there is a reference point corresponding to the TN cell in the reachable distance of the UE, or configured to stop cell search for cell reselection when the UE estimates and determines the location information of reference points suggesting that there is no reference point corresponding to the TN cell in the reachable distance of the UE)
Regarding claim 15, Cheng taught the method according to claim 14, wherein the scanning is performed based on a location of the UE. (see Cheng Fig. 4 paragraph [0024] explains… the gNB may provide location information of reference point(s) in the configuration of cell search information for a UE to perform cell search for cell reselection, and transmit the location information of reference points to the UE within the coverage of the serving cell of NTN gNB. Therefore, the UE may be configured to determine whether or when to perform cell search for cell reselection (e.g., according to the frequency or frequencies included in the configuration of cell search information) according to the received location information of reference points.)
Regarding claim 16, Cheng taught the method according to claim 14, further comprising: performing a search for finding at least one potential neighbour cell for each group of the at least one group; and determining the one group, based on a frequency used by the at least one potential neighbour cell and the first information. (see Cheng Fig. 4 paragraph [0024] the gNB may provide location information of reference point(s) in the configuration of cell search information for a UE to perform cell search for cell reselection, and transmit the location information of reference points to the UE within the coverage of the serving cell of NTN gNB. Therefore, the UE may be configured to determine whether or when to perform cell search for cell reselection (e.g., according to the frequency or frequencies included in the configuration of cell search information) according to the received location information of reference points.)
Regarding claim 17, Cheng taught the method according to claim 14, wherein the first information is transmitted via a system information block.(see Cheng paragraphs[0024]- [0026] explains…. In an embodiment, the gNB may broadcast the location information of reference points through a system information block (SIB) (e.g., SIB2). The SIB provides common information for every type of cell reselection. )
Regarding claim 18, Cheng taught the method according to claim 14, further comprising: not scanning any frequency that is not associated with the at least one coverage area that corresponds to a current location of the UE.(see Cheng paragraph [0024], [0041]-[0044] explains whether or when to perform cell search for cell selection and stop cell search for cell reselection when the UE estimates and determines the location information of reference points suggesting that there is no reference point corresponding to the TC cell in the reachable distance of the UE….further paragraphs explain cell search for cell reselection…)
Regarding claim 19, Cheng teaches a method performed by a network node for assisting mobility of a user equipment (UE) between cells of a non-terrestrial network and a terrestrial network, the method comprising: transmitting first information identifying mapping of at least one group of neighbour frequencies and at least one coverage area for the terrestrial network where the neighbour frequencies serves, (see Cheng Fig.2 and 4 paragraph [0024] explains… the gNB may provide location information of reference point(s) in the configuration of cell search information for a UE to perform cell search for cell reselection, and transmit the location information of reference points to the UE within the coverage of the serving cell of NTN gNB. Therefore, the UE may be configured to determine whether or when to perform cell search for cell reselection (e.g., according to the frequency or frequencies included in the configuration of cell search information) according to the received location information of reference points.)the first information being configured for use by the UE in scanning neighbour frequencies for finding at least one neighbour cell in the at least one coverage area corresponding to one group of the at least one group indicated by the first information. (see Cheng paragraph [0024] the gNB may provide location information of reference point(s) in the configuration of cell search information for a UE to perform cell search for cell reselection, and transmit the location information of reference points to the UE within the coverage of the serving cell of NTN gNB. Therefore, the UE may be configured to determine whether or when to perform cell search for cell reselection (e.g., according to the frequency or frequencies included in the configuration of cell search information) according to the received location information of reference points. In detail, the UE may be configured to start cell search for cell reselection when the location information of reference points indicates that there is a reference point corresponding to the TN cell in the reachable distance of the UE, or configured to stop cell search for cell reselection when the UE estimates and determines the location information of reference points suggesting that there is no reference point corresponding to the TN cell in the reachable distance of the UE)
Regarding claim 20, Cheng teaches a user equipment (UE) configured to perform mobility between cells of a non-terrestrial network and a terrestrial network, the UE comprising: at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to process the instructions to: receive first information identifying mapping of at least one group of neighbour frequencies and at least one coverage area for the terrestrial network where the neighbour frequencies serves; (see Cheng Fig.2 and 4 paragraph [0024] the gNB may provide location information of reference point(s) in the configuration of cell search information for a UE to perform cell search for cell reselection, and transmit the location information of reference points to the UE within the coverage of the serving cell of NTN gNB. Therefore, the UE may be configured to determine whether or when to perform cell search for cell reselection (e.g., according to the frequency or frequencies included in the configuration of cell search information) according to the received location information of reference points.) and scan neighbour frequencies for finding at least one neighbour cell in the at least one coverage area corresponding to one group of the at least one group indicated by the first information. (see Cheng paragraph [0024] the gNB may provide location information of reference point(s) in the configuration of cell search information for a UE to perform cell search for cell reselection, and transmit the location information of reference points to the UE within the coverage of the serving cell of NTN gNB. Therefore, the UE may be configured to determine whether or when to perform cell search for cell reselection (e.g., according to the frequency or frequencies included in the configuration of cell search information) according to the received location information of reference points. In detail, the UE may be configured to start cell search for cell reselection when the location information of reference points indicates that there is a reference point corresponding to the TN cell in the reachable distance of the UE, or configured to stop cell search for cell reselection when the UE estimates and determines the location information of reference points suggesting that there is no reference point corresponding to the TN cell in the reachable distance of the UE)
Regarding claim 21, Cheng teaches a network node for assisting mobility of a user equipment (UE) between cells of a non-terrestrial network and a terrestrial network, the network node comprising: at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to process the instructions to: transmit first information identifying mapping of at least one group of neighbour frequencies and at least one coverage area for the terrestrial network where the neighbour frequencies serves; (see Cheng Fig.2 and 4 paragraph [0024] explains… the gNB may provide location information of reference point(s) in the configuration of cell search information for a UE to perform cell search for cell reselection, and transmit the location information of reference points to the UE within the coverage of the serving cell of NTN gNB. Therefore, the UE may be configured to determine whether or when to perform cell search for cell reselection (e.g., according to the frequency or frequencies included in the configuration of cell search information) according to the received location information of reference points.) the first information being configured for use by the UE in scanning neighbour frequencies for finding at least one neighbour cell in the at least one coverage area corresponding to one group of the at least one group indicated by the first information. (see Cheng paragraph [0024] the gNB may provide location information of reference point(s) in the configuration of cell search information for a UE to perform cell search for cell reselection, and transmit the location information of reference points to the UE within the coverage of the serving cell of NTN gNB. Therefore, the UE may be configured to determine whether or when to perform cell search for cell reselection (e.g., according to the frequency or frequencies included in the configuration of cell search information) according to the received location information of reference points. In detail, the UE may be configured to start cell search for cell reselection when the location information of reference points indicates that there is a reference point corresponding to the TN cell in the reachable distance of the UE, or configured to stop cell search for cell reselection when the UE estimates and determines the location information of reference points suggesting that there is no reference point corresponding to the TN cell in the reachable distance of the UE)
8. Claim(s) 14-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by BENAMMAR(EP3800936A1 )
Regarding claim 14, Benammar teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) for mobility between cells of a non-terrestrial network and a terrestrial network, the method comprising: receiving first information identifying mapping of at least one group of neighbour frequencies and at least one coverage area for the terrestrial network where the neighbour frequencies serves; (see Benammar Fig.2 paragraphs [0033],[0036], [0037] explains…. The NTN RAN 202 may decide, based on the UT location and proximity of the UT 206 to neighboring TN cells and coverage, when to instruct the UT 206 to start measurements of a TN signal using a measurement configuration that reflects the TN air interface requirement. The measurement configuration may be preconfigured or be provided by the NTN RAN 202 to the UT 206 dynamically. After receiving a measurement report, the NTN may comply with any measurement gaps and not allocate resources to the UT 206 during those gaps.) and scanning neighbour frequencies for finding at least one neighbour cell in the at least one coverage area corresponding to one group of the at least one group indicated by the first information. (see Benammar Fig.2 paragraphs [0033],[0036], [0037] explains…. The NTN RAN 202 may decide, based on the UT location and proximity of the UT 206 to neighboring TN cells and coverage, when to instruct the UT 206 to start measurements of a TN signal using a measurement configuration that reflects the TN air interface requirement. The measurement configuration may be preconfigured or be provided by the NTN RAN 202 to the UT 206 dynamically. After receiving a measurement report, the NTN may comply with any measurement gaps and not allocate resources to the UT 206 during those gaps…..When the UT location service 210 does not depend on the UT 206 reporting its location, the NTN may broadcast, for example, in System Information, the vertices of the TN coverage. In one embodiment, only the vertices relevant to the NTN beam coverage need to be broadcast within that beam. A measurement order configuration or measurement configuration can be setup at the UT 206 with an indication that it only applies when the UT 206 is within the broadcasted vertices. Based on this, the UT 206 may start measuring when its position falls within the vertices of the TN coverage without having to share or report its location with the NTN.)
Regarding claim 15, Benammar taught the method according to claim 14, as described above. Benammar further teaches wherein the scanning is performed based on a location of the UE. (see Benammar Fig.2 paragraphs [0036]-[0037] explains…. The NTN RAN 202 may decide, based on the UT location and proximity of the UT 206 to neighboring TN cells and coverage, when to instruct the UT 206 to start measurements of a TN signal using a measurement configuration that reflects the TN air interface requirement. The measurement configuration may be preconfigured or be provided by the NTN RAN 202 to the UT 206 dynamically. After receiving a measurement report, the NTN may comply with any measurement gaps and not allocate resources to the UT 206 during those gaps…..When the UT location service 210 does not depend on the UT 206 reporting its location, the NTN may broadcast, for example, in System Information, the vertices of the TN coverage. In one embodiment, only the vertices relevant to the NTN beam coverage need to be broadcast within that beam. A measurement order configuration or measurement configuration can be setup at the UT 206 with an indication that it only applies when the UT 206 is within the broadcasted vertices. Based on this, the UT 206 may start measuring when its position falls within the vertices of the TN coverage without having to share or report its location with the NTN….)
Regarding claim 16, Benmmar taught the method according to claim 14, further comprising: performing a search for finding at least one potential neighbour cell for each group of the at least one group; and determining the one group, based on a frequency used by the at least one potential neighbour cell and the first information. (see Benammar Fig.2 paragraphs [0036]-[0037] explains…. The NTN RAN 202 may decide, based on the UT location and proximity of the UT 206 to neighboring TN cells and coverage, when to instruct the UT 206 to start measurements of a TN signal using a measurement configuration that reflects the TN air interface requirement. The measurement configuration may be preconfigured or be provided by the NTN RAN 202 to the UT 206 dynamically. After receiving a measurement report, the NTN may comply with any measurement gaps and not allocate resources to the UT 206 during those gaps…..When the UT location service 210 does not depend on the UT 206 reporting its location, the NTN may broadcast, for example, in System Information, the vertices of the TN coverage. In one embodiment, only the vertices relevant to the NTN beam coverage need to be broadcast within that beam. A measurement order configuration or measurement configuration can be setup at the UT 206 with an indication that it only applies when the UT 206 is within the broadcasted vertices. Based on this, the UT 206 may start measuring when its position falls within the vertices of the TN coverage without having to share or report its location with the NTN….)
Regarding claim 17, Benammar taught the method according to claim 14, , as described above. Benammar further teaches wherein the first information is transmitted via a system information block. (see Benammar Fig.2 paragraphs [0036]-[0037] explains…. The NTN RAN 202 may decide, based on the UT location and proximity of the UT 206 to neighboring TN cells and coverage, when to instruct the UT 206 to start measurements of a TN signal using a measurement configuration that reflects the TN air interface requirement. The measurement configuration may be preconfigured or be provided by the NTN RAN 202 to the UT 206 dynamically. After receiving a measurement report, the NTN may comply with any measurement gaps and not allocate resources to the UT 206 during those gaps…..When the UT location service 210 does not depend on the UT 206 reporting its location, the NTN may broadcast, for example, in System Information, the vertices of the TN coverage. In one embodiment, only the vertices relevant to the NTN beam coverage need to be broadcast within that beam. A measurement order configuration or measurement configuration can be setup at the UT 206 with an indication that it only applies when the UT 206 is within the broadcasted vertices. Based on this, the UT 206 may start measuring when its position falls within the vertices of the TN coverage without having to share or report its location with the NTN….)
Regarding claim 18, Benmmar taught the method according to claim 14, as described above. Benammar further teaches further comprising: not scanning any frequency that is not associated with the at least one coverage area that corresponds to a current location of the UE. (see Benammar Fig.2 paragraphs [0036]-[0037] explains…. The NTN RAN 202 may decide, based on the UT location and proximity of the UT 206 to neighboring TN cells and coverage, when to instruct the UT 206 to start measurements of a TN signal using a measurement configuration that reflects the TN air interface requirement. The measurement configuration may be preconfigured or be provided by the NTN RAN 202 to the UT 206 dynamically. After receiving a measurement report, the NTN may comply with any measurement gaps and not allocate resources to the UT 206 during those gaps…..When the UT location service 210 does not depend on the UT 206 reporting its location, the NTN may broadcast, for example, in System Information, the vertices of the TN coverage. In one embodiment, only the vertices relevant to the NTN beam coverage need to be broadcast within that beam. A measurement order configuration or measurement configuration can be setup at the UT 206 with an indication that it only applies when the UT 206 is within the broadcasted vertices. Based on this, the UT 206 may start measuring when its position falls within the vertices of the TN coverage without having to share or report its location with the NTN….)
Regarding claim 19, Benammar teaches a method performed by a network node for assisting mobility of a user equipment (UE) between cells of a non-terrestrial network and a terrestrial network, the method comprising: transmitting first information identifying mapping of at least one group of neighbour frequencies and at least one coverage area for the terrestrial network where the neighbour frequencies serves, (see Benammar Fig.2 paragraphs [0033],[0036], [0037] explains…. The NTN RAN 202 may decide, based on the UT location and proximity of the UT 206 to neighboring TN cells and coverage, when to instruct the UT 206 to start measurements of a TN signal using a measurement configuration that reflects the TN air interface requirement. The measurement configuration may be preconfigured or be provided by the NTN RAN 202 to the UT 206 dynamically. After receiving a measurement report, the NTN may comply with any measurement gaps and not allocate resources to the UT 206 during those gaps.) the first information being configured for use by the UE in scanning neighbour frequencies for finding at least one neighbour cell in the at least one coverage area corresponding to one group of the at least one group indicated by the first information. (see Benammar Fig.2 paragraphs [0033],[0036], [0037] explains…. The NTN RAN 202 may decide, based on the UT location and proximity of the UT 206 to neighboring TN cells and coverage, when to instruct the UT 206 to start measurements of a TN signal using a measurement configuration that reflects the TN air interface requirement. The measurement configuration may be preconfigured or be provided by the NTN RAN 202 to the UT 206 dynamically. After receiving a measurement report, the NTN may comply with any measurement gaps and not allocate resources to the UT 206 during those gaps…..When the UT location service 210 does not depend on the UT 206 reporting its location, the NTN may broadcast, for example, in System Information, the vertices of the TN coverage. In one embodiment, only the vertices relevant to the NTN beam coverage need to be broadcast within that beam. A measurement order configuration or measurement configuration can be setup at the UT 206 with an indication that it only applies when the UT 206 is within the broadcasted vertices. Based on this, the UT 206 may start measuring when its position falls within the vertices of the TN coverage without having to share or report its location with the NTN.)
Regarding claim 20, Benammar teaches a user equipment (UE) configured to perform mobility between cells of a non-terrestrial network and a terrestrial network, the UE comprising: at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to process the instructions to: receive first information identifying mapping of at least one group of neighbour frequencies and at least one coverage area for the terrestrial network where the neighbour frequencies serves; (see Benammar Fig.2 paragraphs [0033],[0036], [0037] explains…. The NTN RAN 202 may decide, based on the UT location and proximity of the UT 206 to neighboring TN cells and coverage, when to instruct the UT 206 to start measurements of a TN signal using a measurement configuration that reflects the TN air interface requirement. The measurement configuration may be preconfigured or be provided by the NTN RAN 202 to the UT 206 dynamically. After receiving a measurement report, the NTN may comply with any measurement gaps and not allocate resources to the UT 206 during those gaps.)and scan neighbour frequencies for finding at least one neighbour cell in the at least one coverage area corresponding to one group of the at least one group indicated by the first information. (see Benammar Fig.2 paragraphs [0033],[0036], [0037] explains…. The NTN RAN 202 may decide, based on the UT location and proximity of the UT 206 to neighboring TN cells and coverage, when to instruct the UT 206 to start measurements of a TN signal using a measurement configuration that reflects the TN air interface requirement. The measurement configuration may be preconfigured or be provided by the NTN RAN 202 to the UT 206 dynamically. After receiving a measurement report, the NTN may comply with any measurement gaps and not allocate resources to the UT 206 during those gaps…..When the UT location service 210 does not depend on the UT 206 reporting its location, the NTN may broadcast, for example, in System Information, the vertices of the TN coverage. In one embodiment, only the vertices relevant to the NTN beam coverage need to be broadcast within that beam. A measurement order configuration or measurement configuration can be setup at the UT 206 with an indication that it only applies when the UT 206 is within the broadcasted vertices. Based on this, the UT 206 may start measuring when its position falls within the vertices of the TN coverage without having to share or report its location with the NTN.)
Regarding claim 21, Benammar teaches a network node for assisting mobility of a user equipment (UE) between cells of a non-terrestrial network and a terrestrial network, the network node comprising: at least one memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to process the instructions to: transmit first information identifying mapping of at least one group of neighbour frequencies and at least one coverage area for the terrestrial network where the neighbour frequencies serves, (see Benammar Fig.2 paragraphs [0033],[0036], [0037] explains…. The NTN RAN 202 may decide, based on the UT location and proximity of the UT 206 to neighboring TN cells and coverage, when to instruct the UT 206 to start measurements of a TN signal using a measurement configuration that reflects the TN air interface requirement. The measurement configuration may be preconfigured or be provided by the NTN RAN 202 to the UT 206 dynamically. After receiving a measurement report, the NTN may comply with any measurement gaps and not allocate resources to the UT 206 during those gaps.) the first information being configured for use by the UE in scanning neighbour frequencies for finding at least one neighbour cell in the at least one coverage area corresponding to one group of the at least one group indicated by the first information. (see Benammar Fig.2 paragraphs [0033],[0036], [0037] explains…. The NTN RAN 202 may decide, based on the UT location and proximity of the UT 206 to neighboring TN cells and coverage, when to instruct the UT 206 to start measurements of a TN signal using a measurement configuration that reflects the TN air interface requirement. The measurement configuration may be preconfigured or be provided by the NTN RAN 202 to the UT 206 dynamically. After receiving a measurement report, the NTN may comply with any measurement gaps and not allocate resources to the UT 206 during those gaps…..When the UT location service 210 does not depend on the UT 206 reporting its location, the NTN may broadcast, for example, in System Information, the vertices of the TN coverage. In one embodiment, only the vertices relevant to the NTN beam coverage need to be broadcast within that beam. A measurement order configuration or measurement configuration can be setup at the UT 206 with an indication that it only applies when the UT 206 is within the broadcasted vertices. Based on this, the UT 206 may start measuring when its position falls within the vertices of the TN coverage without having to share or report its location with the NTN.)
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Gerald Smarth whose telephone number is (571) 270-1923. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday 6am-4:30pm ET. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joseph Avellino can be reached on 571-272-3905. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/GERALD A SMARTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478