DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) document submitted on January 26,.2024, and January 31,2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3, 10,11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toda (US Pub. No.: US 2020/0033519 A1), in view of Lee (US Pub. No.: US 2020/0373339 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Toda discloses an imaging element (Fig. 8; Para 91; solid state imaging device 300) comprising:
a pixel array that includes pixels that are arranged two-dimensionally (Para 9; a plurality of pixels may be arranged one-dimensionally or two-dimensionally) and each of which has a photoelectric converter ( Para 62; photodiode ) and a spectroscopic element that is arranged on a light incident side of the photoelectric converter and disperses light in a predetermined wavelength range ( Fig. 6-8; Para 62-71; spectroscopic element; wherein 102-1 spectroscopic element is located on a light incident side of the photodiode 104-1).
However, Toda does not disclose wherein the pixels include cyan pixels that receive cyan light, magenta pixels that receive magenta light, and yellow pixels that receive yellow light.
Lee discloses the pixels include cyan pixels that receive cyan light, magenta pixels that receive magenta light, and yellow pixels that receive yellow light ( Para 60; Each of the central pixels or the peripheral pixels may be a unit pixel pattern PI, and the image sensor may be formed such that the unit pixel patterns PI are repeated. For example, unlike the illustration in FIG. 2, the unit pixel pattern PI may include a cyan color filter Cy, a magenta color filter Mg, and a yellow color filter Ye as array elements.) .
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Toda with the teaching of Lee to include cyan, magenta and yellow pixels to provide a wide range of colors and capture images with consistent color tones.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Toda and Lee teaches the imaging element according to claim 1, wherein the cyan pixel includes a cyan color filter that transmits cyan light, the magenta pixel includes a magenta color filter that transmits magenta light, and the yellow pixel includes a yellow color filter that transmits yellow light (Lee; Para 60; the unit pixel pattern PI may include a cyan color filter Cy, a magenta color filter Mg, and a yellow color filter Ye as array elements.).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Toda and Lee teaches the imaging element according to claim 1, wherein the pixel has a rectangular shape as viewed from a light incident side (Toda; Fig. 6; each pixel has a rectangular shape), and the pixel array includes the pixels arranged in a first direction and a second direction orthogonal to the first direction at equal intervals (Toda; Para 9; pixels arranged two-dimensionally wherein it is well known in the art that pixels are arranged in rows and columns in image sensor).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Toda and Lee teaches wherein the pixel arranged in a portion other than an outer most peripheral portion of the pixel array is arranged so as to be surrounded by six of the pixels (Lee; Fig. 1; any pixel located in the middle of the columns/ rows is surrounded by at least six of the other pixels).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toda (US Pub. No.: US 2020/0033519 A1), in view of Lee (US Pub. No.: US 2020/0373339 A1) and further in view of Hiramoto et al. (US Pub. No.: US 2012/0206637 A1).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Toda and Lee does not teach the imaging element according to claim 11, wherein the six adjacent pixels of the cyan pixel are either one of the yellow pixels and the magenta pixels, the six adjacent pixels of the yellow pixel are either one of the cyan pixels and the magenta pixels, and the six adjacent pixels of the magenta pixel are either one of the cyan pixels and the yellow pixels.
Hiramoto et al. discloses the imaging element according to claim 11, wherein the six adjacent pixels of the cyan pixel are either one of the yellow pixels and the magenta pixels, the six adjacent pixels of the yellow pixel are either one of the cyan pixels and the magenta pixels, and the six adjacent pixels of the magenta pixel are either one of the cyan pixels and the yellow pixels (Hiramoto et al.; Fig. 10; wherein the pixels adjacent to the cyan pixel is yellow and Mg, the pixels adjacent to yellow pixels are cyan and magenta pixels; the pixels adjacent to magenta pixels are yellow pixels.).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Toda and Lee with the teaching of Hiramoto to include certain color of pixels adjacent to yellow, magenta and cyan pixels in order to overlap the colors that absorb specific wavelength in order to create a full color image through optical blending.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toda (US Pub. No.: US 2020/0033519 A1), in view of Lee (US Pub. No.: US 2020/0373339 A1) and further in view of Mlinar (US Pub. No.: US 2019/0349542 A1).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Toda and Lee does not teach the imaging element according to claim 11, wherein the pixel has a hexagonal shape as viewed from a light incident side.
Mlinar disclose the imaging element according to claim 11, wherein the pixel has a hexagonal shape as viewed from a light incident side (Figs. 2B; Para 42;
image sensor pixels 202 may be circular or hexagonal image sensor pixels.).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Toda and Lee with the teaching of Mlinar to include pixels in hexagonal shape in order to provide higher angular resolutions, more efficient spatial sampling and can be packed tightly together without gap.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toda (US Pub. No.: US 2020/0033519 A1), in view of Lee (US Pub. No.: US 2020/0373339 A1) and further in view of Kurokawa (US Pub. No.: US 2017/0207268 A1).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Toda and Lee does not teach the imaging element according to claim 1, comprising:
an on-chip microlens on a light incident side of the spectroscopic element.
Kurokawa discloses an on-chip microlens on a light incident side of the spectroscopic element ( Figs. 5A, 5B; Para 115,116; the spectroscopic element 65R is provided on an optical path of light passing through the microlense 1540.) .
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Toda and Lee with the teaching of Kurokawa to spatially separate light into discrete spots while the grating spreads these spots into spectra without overlapping adjacent data and allow the system to balance light throughout and provide images with better quality.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4,5,6,7,8,9, 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Toda Lee discloses the spectroscopic element ( Toda; Fig. 6-8; Para 62-71; spectroscopic element; wherein 102-1 spectroscopic element is located on a light incident side of the photodiode 104-1).
However, none of the prior art discloses wherein the spectroscopic element of the cyan pixel is a first spectroscopic element that disperses red light toward the magenta pixel and the yellow pixel therearound, the spectroscopic element of the magenta pixel is a second spectroscopic element that disperses green light toward the cyan pixel and the yellow pixel therearound, and the spectroscopic element of the yellow pixel is a third spectroscopic element that disperses blue light toward the cyan pixel and the magenta pixel therearound.
Claims 4-9 are objected to as being dependent from claim 2.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Toda Lee discloses the spectroscopic element ( Toda; Fig. 6-8; Para 62-71; spectroscopic element; wherein 102-1 spectroscopic element is located on a light incident side of the photodiode 104-1).
However, none of the prior art discloses wherein the spectroscopic element includes a plurality of types of microstructures having refractive indices different from one another.
Claim 16, 17 are allowed.
Regarding claim 16, prior art on record Ishiga et al. (US Pub. No.: US 2015/0002634 A1) discloses an imaging element (Para 57; digital camera 10) comprising:
a pixel array that includes pixels arranged two-dimensionally and each of which has a photoelectric converter that includes a first-type photoelectric converter and a second-type photoelectric converter (abstract; The image sensor has a primitive lattice that is a group of pixels including (i) at least four types of parallax pixels formed by photoelectric converter elements each of which is associated with one of combinations of two different types of aperture masks and two different types of color filters and (ii) no-parallax pixels configured to guide an incident luminous flux to photoelectric converter elements without limitation. In the group of pixels, the no-parallax pixels are more than the parallax pixels.).
Prior art on record Toda (US Pub. No.: US 2020/0033519 A1) discloses spectroscopic element ( Fig. 6-8; Para 62-71; spectroscopic element; wherein 102-1 spectroscopic element is located on a light incident side of the photodiode 104-1).
However, the prior art does not disclose “a prior stage spectroscopic element that disperses light in a predetermined wavelength range of incident light toward another pixel, and a posterior stage spectroscopic element that is arranged between the prior stage spectroscopic element and the photoelectric converter, that disperses the light that has passed through the prior stage spectroscopic element to light in a first wavelength band and light in a second wavelength band, on a basis of a reference wavelength, that causes the first type photoelectric converter to receive the light in the first wavelength band, and that causes the second type photoelectric converter to
receive the light in the second wavelength band” in the claim.
Claim 17 is allowed as being dependent from claim 16.
Conclusion
/XI WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637