DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to Applicants Request for Continued Examination filed 4/13/26 (claims filed 3/10/26) which has been entered. Claims 1-2, 7, 15, 31 and 14-18 have been amended. No claims have been cancelled. No claims have been added. Claims 1-12, 14-18, and 31-33 are still pending in this application, with Claims 1, 7, and 31 being independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6-7, 9-10, 12, 15-16, 18, and 31-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mauchly et al. US Publication No. 20130044893 (from IDS) in view of Visser et al. US Publication No. 20080208538.
Referring to claim 1, Mauchly et al. teaches an apparatus comprising:
a processor that executes instructions stored in a memory to configure the processor (Fig. 3: processor 32, memory 34; para 0031: “The processor 32 includes an audio processor 37 configured to process audio to remove sound from a sound source. The audio processor 37 is operable, for example, to process audio signals, determine the direction of a sound, separate out different signals (voices), and subtract (cancel, filter) signals of a muted sound source, as described in detail below. In one embodiment, the audio processor 37 first digitizes the sound received from all of the microphones”):
receive, via a microphone array comprising a plurality of microphones, a plurality of input audio signals (Fig. 2: microphones 24; para 0036: “the processing system 31 receives audio from a plurality of microphones 24”) from a plurality of sound sources (para 0031: “different signals (voices)”);
using a mute function, identify in real time an individual sound source among the plurality of sound sources, a separated audio signal, from, a plurality of separated audio signals, corresponding to the individual sound source (abstract: “identifying a sound source to be muted, processing the audio to remove sound received from the sound source at each of the microphones”; para 0038: “Real-Time Face Detection”; para 0031: “The audio processor 37 is operable, for example, to process audio signals, determine the direction of a sound, separate out different signals (voices)”);
mute the individual sound source (para 0036: “One or more participants may select a mute option to remove their voice from an audio output”);
in response to the individual sound source being muted, subtract the separated audio signal from the input audio signal to generate an output audio signal (para 0036: “The processing system outputs an audio signal or signals which contain the summed sound of the individual speakers in the room, minus sound from the muted sound source.”).
However, Mauchly et al. does not teach delaying a signal, but Visser et al. teaches delay an input audio signal from the plurality of input audio signals to time-align with a separated audio signal, from a plurality of separated audio signals (Fig. 19B: input channel I2a is delayed to time align with source separated signal input channel I1f, where input channel I1f and input channel I2f are separated signals). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to delay an input audio signal, as taught in Visser et al., in the apparatus of Mauchly et al. because the delay is “provided to compensate for processing delay of the corresponding source separator (e.g., to synchronize the input channels of the subsequent stage)”.
Referring to claim 3, Mauchly et al. teaches receive a video image from a video camera; and identify the individual sound source based on the video image (para 0022: “the camera 25 may be used to track participants in the room for use in identifying a sound to be muted.”; para 0037: “The camera 25 is used to track the person in the room (step 52). The system associates the person (visually detected face or face and body) with a voice (audio detected sound source)”).
Referring to claim 4, Mauchly et al. teaches receive, via a user interface, an input from a user to mute or unmute the individual sound source (para 0023: “a user interface 26 for use in selecting a mute option”; para 0024: “The user interface 26 may be associated with one of the microphones 24, a zone 28, or a user 20”).
Referring to claim 6, Mauchly et al. teaches execute a speaker separation function on the plurality of input audio signals to separate the plurality of sound sources and generate a plurality of separated audio signals, each corresponding to a respective individual sound source (para 0031: “separate out different signals (voices)”).
Referring to claim 7, Mauchly et al. teaches a method comprising:
by a processor (Fig. 3: processor 32; para 0031: “The processor 32 includes an audio processor 37 configured to process audio to remove sound from a sound source. The audio processor 37 is operable, for example, to process audio signals, determine the direction of a sound, separate out different signals (voices), and subtract (cancel, filter) signals of a muted sound source, as described in detail below. In one embodiment, the audio processor 37 first digitizes the sound received from all of the microphones”), receiving, via a microphone array comprising a plurality of microphones, a plurality of input audio signals (Fig. 2: microphones 24; para 0036: “the processing system 31 receives audio from a plurality of microphones 24”) from a plurality of sound sources (para 0031: “different signals (voices)”);
by the processor, identifying an individual sound source among the plurality of sound sources in real time using a mute function, a separated audio signal, from, a plurality of separated audio signals, corresponding to the individual sound source (abstract: “identifying a sound source to be muted, processing the audio to remove sound received from the sound source at each of the microphones”; para 0038: “Real-Time Face Detection”; para 0031: “The audio processor 37 is operable, for example, to process audio signals, determine the direction of a sound, separate out different signals (voices)”);
by the processor, muting the individual sound source (para 0036: “One or more participants may select a mute option to remove their voice from an audio output”);
in response to the individual sound source being muted, subtracting, by the processor, the separated audio signal from the input audio signal to generate an output audio signal (para 0036: “The processing system outputs an audio signal or signals which contain the summed sound of the individual speakers in the room, minus sound from the muted sound source.”).
However, Mauchly et al. does not teach delaying a signal, but Visser et al. teaches by the processor, delaying an input audio signal from the plurality of input audio signals to time-align with a separated audio signal, from a plurality of separated audio signals (Fig. 19B: input channel I2a is delayed to time align with source separated signal input channel I1f, where input channel I1f and input channel I2f are separated signals). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to delay an input audio signal, as taught in Visser et al., in the method of Mauchly et al. because the delay is “provided to compensate for processing delay of the corresponding source separator (e.g., to synchronize the input channels of the subsequent stage)”.
Referring to claim 9, Mauchly et al. teaches receiving a video image from a video camera; and identifying the individual sound source based on the video image (para 0022: “the camera 25 may be used to track participants in the room for use in identifying a sound to be muted.”; para 0037: “The camera 25 is used to track the person in the room (step 52). The system associates the person (visually detected face or face and body) with a voice (audio detected sound source)”).
Referring to claim 10, Mauchly et al. teaches receiving, via a user interface, an input from a user to selectively mute or unmute the individual sound source (para 0023: “a user interface 26 for use in selecting a mute option”; para 0024: “The user interface 26 may be associated with one of the microphones 24, a zone 28, or a user 20”).
Referring to claim 12, Mauchly et al. teaches executing a speaker separation function on the plurality of input audio signals to separate the plurality of sound sources and generate a plurality of separated audio signals, each corresponding to a respective individual sound source (para 0031: “separate out different signals (voices)”).
Referring to claim 15, Mauchly et al. teaches receiving a video image from a video camera; and identifying the individual sound source based on the video image (para 0022: “the camera 25 may be used to track participants in the room for use in identifying a sound to be muted.”; para 0037: “The camera 25 is used to track the person in the room (step 52). The system associates the person (visually detected face or face and body) with a voice (audio detected sound source)”).
Referring to claim 16, Mauchly et al. teaches receiving, via a user interface, an input from a user to selectively mute or unmute the individual sound source (para 0023: “a user interface 26 for use in selecting a mute option”; para 0024: “The user interface 26 may be associated with one of the microphones 24, a zone 28, or a user 20”).
Referring to claim 18, Mauchly et al. teaches executing a speaker separation function on the plurality of input audio signals to separate the plurality of sound sources and generate a plurality of separated audio signals, each corresponding to a respective individual sound source (para 0031: “separate out different signals (voices)”).
Referring to claim 31, Mauchly et al. teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform (Fig. 3: processor 32; para 0031: “The processor 32 includes an audio processor 37 configured to process audio to remove sound from a sound source. The audio processor 37 is operable, for example, to process audio signals, determine the direction of a sound, separate out different signals (voices), and subtract (cancel, filter) signals of a muted sound source, as described in detail below. In one embodiment, the audio processor 37 first digitizes the sound received from all of the microphones”):
receiving, via a microphone array comprising a plurality of microphones, a plurality of input audio signals (Fig. 2: microphones 24; para 0036: “the processing system 31 receives audio from a plurality of microphones 24”) from a plurality of sound sources (para 0031: “different signals (voices)”);
identifying an individual sound source among the plurality of sound sources in real time using a mute function, a separated audio signal, from, a plurality of separated audio signals, corresponding to the individual sound source (abstract: “identifying a sound source to be muted, processing the audio to remove sound received from the sound source at each of the microphones”; para 0038: “Real-Time Face Detection”; para 0031: “The audio processor 37 is operable, for example, to process audio signals, determine the direction of a sound, separate out different signals (voices)”);
muting the individual sound source (para 0036: “One or more participants may select a mute option to remove their voice from an audio output”);
in response to the individual sound source being muted, subtracting the separated audio signal from the input audio signal to generate an output audio signal (para 0036: “The processing system outputs an audio signal or signals which contain the summed sound of the individual speakers in the room, minus sound from the muted sound source.”).
However, Mauchly et al. does not teach delaying a signal., but Visser et al. teaches delaying an input audio signal from the plurality of input audio signals to time-align with a separated audio signal, from a plurality of separated audio signals (Fig. 19B: input channel I2a is delayed to time align with source separated signal input channel I1f, where input channel I1f and input channel I2f are separated signals). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to delay an input audio signal, as taught in Visser et al., in the medium of Mauchly et al. because the delay is “provided to compensate for processing delay of the corresponding source separator (e.g., to synchronize the input channels of the subsequent stage)”.
Referring to claim 32, Mauchly et al. teaches the processor is configured to: remove contributions of the individual sound source from others of the plurality of input audio signals when the individual sound source is muted (para 0040: “Sound received at the microphone 24 is input for use in cancelling sound received from the sound source at other microphones”).
Referring to claim 33, Mauchly et al. teaches the processor is configured to: identify an exclusion zone based on a range of directions estimated for the plurality of sound sources; and identify that the individual sound source is in the exclusion zone, and when the processor selectively mutes the individual sound source, the processor is configured to: mute the individual sound source based on the individual sound source being in the exclusion zone (para 0025: “Muting of the microphone 24 prevents sound from a sound source (e.g., participant 20 or participants within zone 28) from being transmitted”; para 0026: “the processing system can use a two-dimensional overhead mapping of a location of the sound source relative to the microphones for use in identifying a sound received from the sound source. As described below, the processing system is coupled to the microphones 24 and may be configured to generate audio data and direction information indicative of the direction of sound received at the microphones”; para 0037: “the audio is processed to generate audio data and direction information indicative of the direction of sound received at the microphones 24. The location of a person 20 may be mapped relative to the microphones 24 and the approximate distance and angle from the microphones used to identify sound received from the person (step 54). The sound that is identified as coming from the person is separated from the other audio received at the microphones and rejected”).
Claim(s) 2, 5, 8, 11, 14, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mauchly et al. and Visser et al., as applied to claims 1, 7, and 31 above, and further in view of Sommers et al. US Publication No. 20180047395.
Referring to claim 2, Mauchly et al. teaches the mute function (para 0036), however, Mauchly et al. and Visser et al. do not teach machine learning per se, but Sommers et al. teaches identify the individual sound source using one or more of: artificial intelligence, machine learning, or deep learning (para 0093). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use machine learning, as taught in Sommers et al., in the apparatus of Mauchly et al. and Visser et al. because it helps to more accurately identify the speakers.
Referring to claim 5, Mauchly et al. and Visser et al. do not teach diarization per se, but Sommers et al. teaches execute a diarization function on the plurality of input audio signals to identify the individual sound source (para 0093). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a diarization function, as taught in Sommers et al., in the apparatus of Mauchly et al. and Visser et al. because it helps to more accurately identify the speakers.
Referring to claim 8, Mauchly et al. teaches the mute function (para 0036), however, Mauchly et al. and Visser et al. do not teach machine learning per se, but Sommers et al. teaches identifying the individual sound source using one or more of: artificial intelligence, machine learning, or deep learning (para 0093). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use machine learning, as taught in Sommers et al., in the method of Mauchly et al. and Visser et al. because it helps to more accurately identify the speakers.
Referring to claim 11, Mauchly et al. and Visser et al. do not teach diarization per se, but Sommers et al. teaches executing a diarization function on the plurality of input audio signals to identify the individual sound source (para 0093). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a diarization function, as taught in Sommers et al., in the method of Mauchly et al. and Visser et al. because it helps to more accurately identify the speakers.
Referring to claim 14, Mauchly et al. teaches the mute function (para 0036), however, Mauchly et al. and Visser et al. do not teach machine learning per se, but Sommers et al. teaches identifying the individual sound source using one or more of: artificial intelligence, machine learning, or deep learning (para 0093). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use machine learning, as taught in Sommers et al., in the method of Mauchly et al. and Visser et al. because it helps to more accurately identify the speakers.
Referring to claim 17, Mauchly et al. and Visser et al. do not teach diarization per se, but Sommers et al. teaches executing a diarization function on the plurality of input audio signals to identify the individual sound source (para 0093). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a diarization function, as taught in Sommers et al., in the method of Mauchly et al. and Visser et al. because it helps to more accurately identify the speakers.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/10/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states at the end of page 8 to the top of page 9 of the remarks:
"Claim 1 requires that the separated audio signal, which is time-aligned with the input audio signal,
corresponds to a specific, identified sound source that is muted. VISSER does not identify an individual
sound source, does not mute an individual sound source, and does not separate signals based on
identified sound sources. 11f is described in VISSER 131 as "a primary signal (e.g., an information or
combination signal)" and does not correspond to any specific identified individual sound source as recited
in claim 1. Therefore, 11f is not "a separated audio signal, from a plurality of separated audio signals,
corresponding to the individual sound source" as recited in claim 1."
Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually,
one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on
combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck &
Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Examiner relies on Mauchly to teach identifying an
individual sound source, muting such sound source, separating signals based on identified sound
sources, and a separated audio signal, from a plurality of separated audio signals, corresponding to the individual sound source. Visser is only relied upon to teach delaying one input signal to synchronize with a signal output from a source separator. Therefore, Mauchly and Visser in combination teach the noted limitations.
Applicant states in paras 1 and 3 of page 9 of the remarks:
"Furthermore, VISSER 131 states that the purpose of the delay is "to compensate for processing delay of
the corresponding source separator (e.g., to synchronize the input channels of the subsequent stage)."
The delay in VISSER is therefore meant to synchronize signals entering a following adaptive filter stage,
not to "time-align with a separated audio signal, from a plurality of separated audio signals, corresponding
to the individual sound source" as recited in claim 1.
The Examiner's rationale for combining MAUCHLY and VISSER is that VISSER's delay compensates for
the processing delay of the source separator to synchronize input channels. However, incorporating
VISSER's delay into MAUCHLY's apparatus on this basis would delay an input audio signal to
synchronize it with a combined output of a source separator for input into a subsequent processing stage.
This is not the same as "delay an input audio signal from the plurality of input audio signals to time-align
with a separated audio signal, from a plurality of separated audio signals, corresponding to the individual
sound source" as recited in claim 1. As established above, the signal with which the delayed input is
time-aligned in VISSER is 11f, a combination output that does not correspond to any specific identified
individual sound source. The Examiner has not explained how adding VISSER's delay into MAUCHLY's
apparatus would create a delay that properly time-aligns an input audio signal with a separated audio
signal corresponding to a particular identified sound source, as recited in claim 1."
Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's argument that combining Visser with Mauchly
would lead to a different outcome, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary
reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed
invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the
combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re
Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). When the delay of Visser is applied to the signals in
Mauchly, the delay will be applied to any input signals (the sounds of the individual speakers) that are not
muted, so that when processing occurs to mute certain signals, the delay compensates for such
processing of removing the muted signals. The delay of Visser will time align the non-muted signals with the muted signals (which read on “the separated audio signal…corresponding to the individual sound source” of the claims) of Mauchly. Therefore, it is obvious to combine Visser with Mauchly.
Conclusion
Examiner respectfully requests, in response to this Office Action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line number(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist Examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this Office Action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner of Patents and Trademarks
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, Va. 22313-1450
Or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, for formal communications intended for entry and for
informal or draft communications, please label “PROPOSED” or “DRAFT”.
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Arlington, VA 22314
/KATHERINE A FALEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693