DETAILED ACTION
This is the first action on the merits.
Claims 1-15 are pending and under consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim indicates a formula (II) and a formula 3. Remove the formula 3 from the claim to overcome the objection. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections
Claims 1-15 are rejected as each directed to an improper Markush group. These Markush claims are rejected under the judicially approved ‘‘improper Markush grouping’’ doctrine when the claim contains an improper grouping of alternatively useable species. In re Harnisch, 206 USPQ 300 (CCPA 1980). A Markush claim contains an ‘‘improper Markush grouping’’ if: (1) the species of the Markush group do not share a ‘‘single structural similarity,’’ or (2) the species do not share a common use. The species of the present claims do not share a ‘‘single structural similarity. Therefore, a rejection on the basis that the claims contain an ‘‘improper Markush grouping’’ is appropriate. The rejection of the claims will be maintained on the basis that the claims contain an ‘‘improper Markush grouping’’ until the claims are amended to include only species that share a single structural similarity and a common use, or the applicant presents a sufficient showing that the species in fact share a single structural similarity and a common use.
Under principles of compact prosecution, the applicant elected a single disclosed species for search and examination (i.e., an election of species). The prior art search did not find the elected species in the prior art, and the search has been extended to those additional species that fall within the scope of a permissible Markush claim. In other words, the search has been extended to the species that share a single structural similarity and a common use. Proper Markush claims will be examined for patentability over the prior art with respect to the elected species or group of indistinct species, as well as the species that share a single structural similarity and a common use with the elected species or group of indistinct species (i.e., the species that would fall within the scope of a proper Markush claim). Federal Register, Vol. 76, No. 27, 02-09-2011, page 7166.
Note also, the written description rejection below which is incorporated here.
The rejection may be overcome by limiting ring A to a benzene ring and R5 to an acetyl (COCH3) group.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the appli
The term “isomers” throughout the claims is vague. There are many different kinds of isomers, e.g. regioisomers, constitutional isomers, stereoisomers, etc. Constitutional isomers are isomers with different connectivity that have the same molecular formula. For example, n-propanol and methyl ethyl ether have the same molecular formula, C3H8O.
The rejection may be overcome by removing the term from the claims.
Regarding claim 1, the R12 variable cannot be defined with an R12. Thus, claims 1-15 are indefinite.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitation groups, and the claim also recites atoms which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation, see the definition of R12. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
The rejection may be overcome by removing the term “atoms” from the claim.
With regards to claim 4, the phrase “the bonding hand” lacks antecedent basis, see the first line below the formulas.
The rejection may be overcome by adding (*) after the phrase.
With regards to claim 6, the phrase “the C6-10 aryl” lacks antecedent basis, see the first line below the formulas.
The rejection may be overcome by changing the dependency to claim 1.
With regards to claim 7, the phrase “the heteroaryl” lacks antecedent basis, see the first line below the formulas.
The rejection may be overcome by changing the dependency to claim 1.
With regards to claim 8, the phrase “the heterocyclyl” lacks antecedent basis, see the first line below the formulas.
The rejection may be overcome by changing the dependency to claim 1.
In claim 8, the phrase, “the heterocyclyl group containing 1 or 2 atoms (groups) selected from N, S, SO, SO2 and O, in the heterocyclyl group containing 1 or 2 atoms (groups) selected from N, S, SO, SO2 and 0, and optionally having a substituent, as represented in R12 “ is confusing and therefore, indefinite.
The rejection may be overcome by rewording the phrase.
In claim 9, the “-CO-“ group is indefinite since the valency is not satisfied.
The rejection may be overcome by deleting the group.
Regarding claim 12, the subformulas are vague and ambiguous as the point of attachment is not provided.
The rejection may be overcome by adding the point of attachment to the rest of molecule.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
This is a written description rejection.
The analysis for adequate written description considers the following:
(a) Actual reduction to practice;
(b) Disclosure of drawings or structural chemical formulas;
(c) Sufficient relevant identifying characteristics, such as (i) complete/partial structure, (ii) physical and/or chemical properties, and (iii) functional characteristics when coupled with known or disclosed correlation with structure; and
(d) Representative number of samples.
A lack of adequate written description issue arises if the knowledge and level of skill in the art would not permit one skilled in the art to immediately envisage the product claimed from the disclosed process. See, e.g., Fujikawa v. Wattanasin, 93 F.3d 1559, 1571,39 USPQ2d 1895, 1905 (Fed. Cir. 1996) (a "laundry list" disclosure of every possible moiety does not constitute a written description of every species in a genus because it would not "reasonably lead" those skilled in the art to any particular species); In re Ruschig, 379 F.2d 990, 995, 154 USPQ 118, 123 (CCPA 1967).
An applicant may also show that an invention is complete by disclosure of sufficiently detailed, relevant identifying characteristics which provide evidence that applicant was in possession of the claimed invention, i.e., complete or partial structure, other physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics when coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or some combination of such characteristics.
In particular, the specification as original filed fails to provide sufficient written basis for the scope of the compounds of formula (I), which demonstrates possession as RAS/RAF inhibitors. The mere fact that Applicant may have discovered a much narrower scope of the compounds of formula (I), is not sufficient to claim the entire genus.
The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. See Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406.
A "representative number of species" means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. The disclosure of only one species encompassed within a genus adequately describes a claim directed to that genus only if the disclosure "indicates that the patentee has invented species sufficient to constitute the gen[us]."
The rejection is made under 35 USC 112 (a), as written description is lacking.
The rejection may be overcome by limiting ring A to a benzene ring and R5 to an acetyl (COCH3) group.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 10, 11, 13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shibuya et al. (US 20060073410).
The reference teaches the following species:
,
see page 5. The preamble in claims 13 and 15 are inherent properties of the compounds of claim 1.
Thus, said claims are anticipated by Shibuya et al.
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 10, 11 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Carrasco et al. (ChemMedChem, 2016, 11, 2194-2704).
The reference teaches the following species:
, where at least compounds 9b, 9i, 9p, 99q, 9r, 9s, 9z, 9aa and 9ab read on claim 1, see page 2196, Table 1. The preamble in claims 13 and 15 are inherent properties of the compounds of claim 1. The compounds in the reference are tested in a solvent, and therefore, would be considered a medicament. Thus, said claims are anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 10, 11, 13 and 15 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Moeller et al. (EP 1300135).
The present application claims compounds of formula (I), wherein A= phenyl, R1= H, X= N(CH3), B= quinoylinyl, R2= methyl, R3= H, and R4= H.
The reference teaches the following species, wherein A= phenyl, R1= H, X= N(H), B= quinoylinyl, R2= H, R3= H, and R4= H:
.
The only differences between the claimed species and the cited species are 1) H versus Applicant’s methyl at X; and 2) H versus Applicant’s methyl at R2. Since a methyl group is considered a homolog of hydrogen these compounds are considered equivalent. The MPEP 2144.09 states “Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977).
Thus, said claims are obvious.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Shibuya et al. (US 20060073410).
The 102 rejection is incorporated here.
The present application claims compounds of formula (I), wherein A= phenyl, R1= H, X= N(ethyl), B= aryl or heteroaryl, R2= phenyl, R3= H, and R4= H.
The reference teaches the following species, wherein A= phenyl, R1= H, X= N(ethyl), B= phenyl-carbazolyl, R2= H, R3= H, and R4= H:
see page 5. The preamble in claims 13 and 15 are inherent properties of the compounds of claim 1.
With regards to claims 3-6, 8, 9 and 12, the genus teaches the equivalency of these variables, see pages 2-4 for the definitions.
Thus, said claims are rendered obvious over Shibuya et al.
Conclusion
/SUSANNA MOORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1624