Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments filed in response to the rejection of claims directed to the electrolyte composition have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Manthiram fails to teach or suggest the specific combination of components and weight percentages recited in the amended claims. Specifically, Applicant asserts that Manthiram’s broad ranges and lists of alternative components do not establish that the claimed components or their amounts are result-effective variables. Applicant further argues that Manthiram provides no guidance toward selecting lithium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide in an amount of 7–36 wt%, one or more further lithium salts in an amount of 2–3 wt%, an additive comprising vinylene carbonate and/or fluoroethylene carbonate in an amount of 2–10 wt%, and a solvent comprising one or more of dimethyl carbonate, diethyl carbonate, and ethyl methyl carbonate in an amount of 50–85 wt%.
The arguments have been considered in view of the amendments. However, the amendments do not overcome the rejection because the claimed weight percentages fall within the ranges disclosed by Manthiram. Specifically, Manthiram discloses lithium imide salts in amounts ranging from 1–90 wt%, metal salt additives in amounts ranging from 0.01–30 wt%, aprotic solvents in amounts ranging from 0.1–95 wt%, and cyclic carbonate solvents in amounts ranging from 0.01–10 wt%. Thus, the claimed amounts are encompassed by the broader ranges disclosed in the prior art, and the claimed ranges do not extend beyond the disclosed compositional possibilities.
Furthermore, Manthiram discloses multiple lithium salts, electrolyte additives, and solvents suitable for use in electrolyte compositions. The selection of particular components from a finite list of known alternatives, together with weight percentages falling within the disclosed ranges, represents a limited number of identified and predictable options available to one of ordinary skill in the art. Where the prior art discloses a range encompassing the claimed values, selecting values within that range does not, by itself, render the claimed subject matter patentable. Accordingly, the claimed ranges represent selections from the known compositional possibilities disclosed by Manthiram.
Applicant also asserts that the claimed composition provides unexpected improvements over conventional LiPF₆-based electrolytes, particularly when the further lithium salts are present in an amount of 2–3 wt%. These assertions have been considered. However, the existence of asserted improvements does not, by itself, overcome the rejection. Any evidence of unexpected results must be evaluated for its nexus to the claimed subject matter and its commensurateness with the scope of the claims. The evidence must also be considered in relation to the closest prior art and the subject matter actually claimed.
Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments do not overcome the rejection. The claimed components and weight percentages remain within the compositional ranges and known alternatives disclosed by Manthiram, and the amendments do not establish that the claimed selections render the composition nonobvious. Therefore, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 is maintained.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it fails to provide a concise summary of the technical disclosure. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 8, and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manthiram et al. (WO 2018200631), hereinafter Manthiram.
Regarding claim 1, Manthiram teaches an electrolyte composition for a lithium-ion battery (Abstract), including:
7-36 wt% of lithium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide, Manthiram specifically teaches the imide salt is 1-90 wt% by weight of the electrolyte;
2-3 wt% of one or more further lithium salts, selected from one or more the group consisting of: lithium difluoro(oxalato)borate, lithium difluorophosphate, lithium bis(oxalato) borate and lithium hexafluorophosphate (pg. 8, ln. 3-26; pg. 9, ln. 17 - pg. 10, ln. 17), Manthiram specifically teaches the salt is 1-90 wt% by weight of the electrolyte;
2-10 wt% of an additive, wherein the additive comprises vinylene carbonate and/or fluoroethylene carbonate (pg. 10, ln. 24 - pg. 11, ln. 28), Manthiram specifically teaches the additive (aprotic solvent) is 0.01-15 wt% by weight of the electrolyte;
the solvent comprises of: dimethyl carbonate, diethyl carbonate and ethyl methyl carbonate (pg. 9, ln 4-11).
Manthiram does not expressly disclose the claimed wt% of the solvent. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to select a relative amount within the claimed range. The optimization of the concentration of a known component to obtain the desired composition is considered a result-effective variable.
It is well established that where the claimed ranges overlap or lie within the ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art to select lithium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide, lithium salts, additive, and solvent wt% within the claimed ranges as a matter of routine optimization of a result-effective variable.
Regarding claim 3, Manthiram teaches the limitations of claim 1, as stated above. Manthiram further teaches the additive comprises vinylene carbonate and fluoroethylene carbonate (pg. 10, ln. 24 - pg. 11, ln. 28).
Regarding claim 4, Manthiram teaches the limitations of claim 3, as stated above. Manthiram further teaches the additive comprises vinylene carbonate and fluoroethylene carbonate (pg. 10, ln. 24 - pg. 11, ln. 28). Manthiram does not expressly disclose the claimed weight ratio between VC and FEC, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to select a relative amount of VC and FEC within the claimed range as a matter of routine optimization and design choice. The claimed weight ratio represent merely one of a finite number of predictable combinations of the taught additives and would have been arrived at through routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 5, Manthiram teaches the limitations of claim 3, as stated above. Manthiram further teaches the composition includes about 6-7 wt% of the additive (pg. 10, ln. 24 - pg. 11, ln. 28). Manthiram specifically teaches the additive (aprotic solvent) is 0.01-15 wt% by weight of the electrolyte.
It is well established that where the claimed ranges overlap or lie within the ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art to select additive wt% within the claimed ranges as a matter of routine optimization of a result-effective variable.
Regarding claim 6, Manthiram teaches the limitations of claim 1, as stated above. Manthiram further teaches the composition includes 20-30 wt% of lithium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide (pg. 8, ln. 3-26). Manthiram specifically teaches the imide salt is 1-90 wt% by weight of the electrolyte.
It is well established that where the claimed ranges overlap or lie within the ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art to select imide salt wt% within the claimed ranges as a matter of routine optimization of a result-effective variable.
Regarding claim 8, Manthiram teaches the limitations of claim 1, as stated above. Manthiram teaches the further lithium salt consists of lithium difluoro(oxalato)borate (pg. 9, ln. 17 - pg. 10, ln. 17).
Regarding claim 10, Manthiram teaches the limitations of claim 1, as stated above. Manthiram further teaches the solvent includes two of ethyl methyl carbonate, diethyl carbonate and dimethyl carbonate (pg. 9, ln 4-11). Manthiram teaches a variety of carbonate solvents and combinations thereof, therefore encompassing the claimed solvent.
Regarding claim 11, Manthiram teaches the limitations of claim 1, as stated above. Manthiram further teaches the composition is substantially free from ethylene carbonate (pg. 34, ln. 1-10). Manthiram teaches an ethylene carbonate-free electrolyte.
Regarding claim 12, Manthiram teaches the limitations of claim 1, as stated above. Manthiram teaches:
The composition consists of (Abstract):
lithium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide (pg. 8, ln. 3-26);
lithium difluoro(oxalato)borate (pg. 9, ln. 17 - pg. 10, ln. 17);
vinylene carbonate (pg. 10, ln. 24 - pg. 11, ln. 28);
fluoroethylene carbonate (pg. 10, ln. 24 - pg. 11, ln. 28);
A solvent consisting of one or more dimethyl carbonate, diethyl carbonate and ethyl methyl carbonate (pg. 9, ln 4-11).
Regarding claim 13, Manthiram teaches the limitations of claim 1, as stated above. Manthiram teaches:
The composition consisting of about:
26.5 wt% lithium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide (pg. 8, ln. 3-26), Manthiram specifically teaches the imide salt is 1-90 wt% by weight of the electrolyte;
2-4 wt% lithium difluoro(oxalato)borate (pg. 8, ln. 3-26; pg. 9, ln. 17 - pg. 10, ln. 17), Manthiram specifically teaches the salt is 1-90 wt% by weight of the electrolyte;
3.8 wt% vinylene carbonate (pg. 10, ln. 24 - pg. 11, ln. 28), Manthiram specifically teaches the additive (aprotic solvent) is 0.01-15 wt% by weight of the electrolyte;
1.9wt% fluoroethylene carbonate (pg. 10, ln. 24 - pg. 11, ln. 28), Manthiram specifically teaches the additive (aprotic solvent) is 0.01-15 wt% by weight of the electrolyte;
a solvent consisting of one or more dimethyl carbonate, diethyl carbonate and ethyl methyl carbonate (pg. 9, ln 4-11).
Manthiram fails to teach:
The composition consists of:
32.7 wt% of dimethyl carbonate
32.7 wt% of ethyl methyl carbonate.
Manthiram does not expressly disclose the claimed wt% of the dimethyl carbonate or ethyl methyl carbonate. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to select a relative amount within the claimed range. The optimization of the concentration of a known component to obtain the desired composition is considered a result-effective variable.
It is well established that where the claimed ranges overlap or lie within the ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art to select lithium bis(fluorosulfonyl)imide, lithium difluoro(oxalato)borate, vinylene carbonate, fluoroethylene carbonate, and solvent wt% within the claimed ranges as a matter of routine optimization of a result-effective variable.
Regarding claim 14, Manthiram teaches the limitations of claim 1, as stated above. Manthiram further teaches an electrolyte composition according to claim 1 (Abstract).
Claims 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manthiram, in view of Li (EP 3072178), hereinafter Li.
Regarding claim 2, Manthiram teaches the limitations of claim 1, as stated above. Manthiram fails to teach the lithium concentration in the composition is between about 0.8 M and 2.8 M. Li teaches the lithium concentration in the composition is between about 0.8 M and 2.8 M ([0040]).
Manthiram and Li are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of electrolyte compositions for lithium-ion batteries. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify the electrolyte composition of Manthiram to include the lithium concentration taught by Li. The lithium concentration taught by Li would lead to improved ionic conductivity and battery performance. The modification merely involves selecting a known lithium concentration for use in a known electrolyte composition and would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 9, Manthiram teaches the limitations of claim 1, as stated above. Manthiram fails to teach the composition includes 60-70 wt% of solvent. Li teaches the composition includes 60-70 wt% of solvent ([0023]).
Manthiram and Li are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of electrolyte compositions for lithium-ion batteries. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify the amount of solvent in Manthiram as taught by Li. The modification merely involves selecting a known concentration of a known solvent component for use in a known electrolyte system and would have yielded predictable results.
It is well established that where the claimed ranges overlap or lie within the ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art to select a solvent wt% within the claimed ranges as a matter of routine optimization of a result-effective variable.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAMARA ORDUNA/Examiner, Art Unit 1776
/Jennifer Dieterle/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1776