Drawings
The replacement drawings were received on 8/14/2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Objections
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the previously presented objections and thus the objections are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the previously presented rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) not recited below and therefore the unrecited rejections have been withdrawn.
Claims 1-14 and 18-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, the limitation “having two long sides a positioned in parallel or right angled to the respective axis, wherein each mortise has two long sides a” is indefinite because it is unclear whether the second set of “two long sides a” recited is intended to refer to the same or a different pair of long sides as recited previously or if this is merely an accidental repetition of a claim limitation.
In claim 4, the limitation “the inner rim” lacks antecedent basis and thus is indefinite because it is unclear whether the inner rim is intended to refer to the “circumferential rim” recited in claim 3, a different rim, or an inner portion of the circumferential rim.
In claim 4, the limitation “the rim or the projection” is indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation is intended to refer to the circumferential rim or the inner rim.
In claim 21, the limitation “from a niche of the processing chamber or a separate compartment in a central position over the chuck” is indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation is requiring rotating the arm from a niche or separate compartment “to” a central position over the chuck or if the separate compartment is in a central position over the chuck. This rejection may be overcome by amending the claim to recite “to a central position over the chuck” instead of “in”.
Claims 2-14 and 18-24 are indefinite by virtue of depending on an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yedla (US 20220028711 A1) in view of Fujii (US 20120103793 A1) and Yudovsky (US 6375748 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Yedla (US 20220028711 A1) teaches a vacuum process chamber 160 (system) including a process shutter arrangement comprising a shutter disk 187 having an outer diameter defined by the inner disk 187A, thickness, first surface, and second surface (see Fig. 4A-4B), where the first surface may include at least three locating features 212 for coupling to locating pins 253, where the locating features are formed in openings (positioning mortises) in the disk and are located adjacent an outer diameter and each centered with respect to a separate radially oriented axis in an xy-plane of the disk (para 0025, 0028, 0035, 0040-0041; Fig. 3A-3B, 4A-4B). Yedla also teaches a transfer arm 210 (shutter arm) having locating pins 253 (at least three positioning tenons) corresponding to the locating features 212 (positioning mortises) of the shutter disk to position the disk when set on the locating pins (para 0028, 0035, 0041; Fig. 2, 3A-3B).
Yedla fails to explicitly teach the shutter arm comprises a bearing sickle with an inner periphery, where the tenons are adjacent to the inner diameter. However, Fujii (US 20120103793 A1), in the analogous art of shutter mechanisms, teaches a plurality of guide pins (22a-22c) (tenons) for supporting a shutter plate located on a plate holding portion 9a (bearing sickle) with an inner periphery connected to an arm 9b (para 0037; Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the end portion of the transfer arm of Yedla with the plate holding portion (bearing sickle) of Fujii because this is a substitution of known elements yielding predictable results of supporting a shutter disk with pins. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The combination of Yedla and Fujii fails to explicitly teach each mortise has two long sides positioned in parallel or right angled to the respective axis and a short dimension where b<a, and wherein each tenon has a long dimension m and a short dimension n, where n is less than or equal to m. However, Yudovsky (US 6375748 B1), in the analogous art of aligning pins, teaches pin and slot coupling of components, where the pins 19 and slots 17 may be rectangular (having two long sides, a short dimension, and a depth dimension where the long sides of the pins and slots are longer than the short dimensions) and extending in the radially outward direction (two long sides parallel with respect to the axis) further than the pins (col 3 line 22-57, col 5 line 20-40, col 6 line 22-35; Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the holes/openings (mortises) and locating pins (tenons) of Yedla with rectangular shaped holes and pins, as described by Yudovsky, because this is a substitution of known elements yielding predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B). Alternatively, or in addition, It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the size of the openings/holes for receiving the pins to a rectangular shape, having two long sides, two short sides/dimensions not as long as the long sides, and a depth dimension, because it is an obvious matter of design choice absent persuasive evidence that the particular shape is significant. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B).
Alternatively, or in addition, the combination of Yedla and Yudovsky fails to explicitly teach the two long sides are positioned in parallel or right angled with respect to the axis. However, shifting the position/angle of the openings/holes would not have modified the operation of the device and thus is an obvious matter of design choice. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Yedla, Fujii, and Yudovsky teaches a plate holding portion 9a (bearing surface) extending from an inner periphery of the sickle where the pins (22a-22c) (tenons) are located near or adjacent to the inner periphery (Fujii para 0037; Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Yedla, Fujii, and Yudovsky teaches the shutter disk 187 has a circumferential rim extending in a vertically downward direction and separating the inner disk 187A from the outer disk 187B (Yedla para 0040; Fig. 4B)
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Yedla, Fujii, and Yudovsky teaches the positioning features 212 (mortises) are located within an inner diameter of the rim and adjacent to the rim (Yedla para 0040; Fig. 4B).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Yedla, Fujii, and Yudovsky teaches the openings (mortises) have a rectangular shape (basic rectangular geometry) (Yudovsky col 6 line 22-35).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Yedla, Fujii, and Yudovsky teaches the shutter disk may be made of oxide, carbide, or nitride (ceramic), and/or metal materials like titanium and aluminum (Yedla para 0040).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Yedla, Fujii, and Yudovsky teaches a sidewall linking the arm 9b and the plate holding portion 9a and forming an outer periphery of the sickle, where the outer diameter of the shutter disk fits into the inner periphery of the sidewall/sickle (Fujii para 0037; Fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Yedla, Fujii, and Yudovsky teaches the sidewall between the arm 9b and the plate holding portion 9a about semi-circularly surrounds part of the plate holding portion 9a (bearing surface) (Fujii Fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Yedla, Fujii, and Yudovsky teaches the pins (22a-22c) (tenons) are mounted on the plate holding portion 9a (cantilever) extending from the sidewall and indirectly on the arm 9b (cantilever projecting from the sidewall) (Fujii Fig. 1-2) and therefore the pins/tenons are mounted on cantilevers projecting from the sidewall.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Yedla, Fujii, and Yudovsky teaches the plate holding portion 9a (bearing surface) of the sickle extends over an angular range within 180-360° of an inner diameter of the sickle defined as the diameter of the inner opening space between the pins (Fujii Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Yedla, Fujii, and Yudovsky teaches the pins/tenons may have a rectangular shape (basic rectangular) (Yudovsky col 6 line 22-35).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Yedla, Fujii, and Yudovsky teaches the pins/tenons 253 extend into the holes/openings 212 (mortises) in the first surface of the shutter disk (Yedla para 0040; Fig. 3A, 4B), where the pins/tenons (22a-22c) are disposed on the plate holding portion 9a (bearing surface) (Fujii Fig. 2), and therefore the tenons are provided at the first surface of the disk and the mortises are provided at the bearing surface of the sickle.
Claim(s) 12-13 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yedla (US 20220028711 A1) in view of Fujii (US 20120103793 A1) and Yudovsky (US 6375748 B1), as applied to claims 11 and 1 above, and further in view of Lavitsky (US 20140271081 A1). Kyocera (NPL – “Titanium Properties”) is cited as evidence of inherency.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Yedla, Fujii, and Yudovsky teaches the pins/tenons may have a rectangular shape/base (Yudovsky col 6 line 22-35) but fails to explicitly teach the tenons have round corners. However, Lavitsky (US 20140271081 A1), in the analogous art of shutter disks, teaches that an alignment post 530 between the arm/blade 418 and the shutter disk 414 may have a rounded end to facilitate alignment with a hole 502 in the shutter disk (para 0063, 0069-0071). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the square shaped pins of Yedla in view of Yudovsky to include a rounded end (round corners) at least on the side of the shutter disk to facilitate alignment and engagement with the alignment/pin hole.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Yedla, Fujii, and Yudovsky fails to explicitly teach the arm is made of a material having a modulus of elasticity which is at least 100 GPa. However, Lavitsky (US 20140271081 A1), in the analogous art of shutter disks, teaches a blade/arm 418 for supporting the shutter disk 414 may be made of titanium (para 0064; Fig. 5), which has a Young’s modulus (modulus of elasticity) of 120 GPa (at least 100 GPa) (Kyocera pg. 2). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the material used for the arm of Yedla with the titanium material of Lavitsky because this is a substitution of known elements yielding predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Yedla, Fujii, and Yudovsky teaches the pins/tenons may have a rectangular shape/base (Yudovsky col 6 line 22-35) but fails to explicitly teach the tenons have a circular end geometry. However, Lavitsky (US 20140271081 A1), in the analogous art of shutter disks, teaches that an alignment post 530 between the arm/blade 418 and the shutter disk 414 may have a rounded end to facilitate alignment with a hole 502 in the shutter disk (para 0063, 0069-0071). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the square shaped pins of Yedla in view of Yudovsky to include a rounded end (circular end geometry) at least on the side of the shutter disk to facilitate alignment and engagement with the alignment/pin hole.
Claim(s) 13 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yedla (US 20220028711 A1) in view of Fujii (US 20120103793 A1) and Yudovsky (US 6375748 B1), as applied to claims 11 and 1 above, and further in view of Lavitsky (US 20140271081 A1) and Mahon (US 20040226514 A1).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Yedla, Fujii, and Yudovsky fails to explicitly teach the arm is made of a material having a modulus of elasticity which is at least 100 GPa. However, Lavitsky (US 20140271081 A1), in the analogous art of shutter disks, teaches a blade/arm 418 for supporting the shutter disk 414 may be made of a rigid material suitable for use in a vacuum processing environment (para 0064; Fig. 5). Furthermore, Mahon (US 20040226514 A1), in the analogous art of substrate processing, teaches a support arm may be made of a ceramic material such as aluminum oxide (para 0018), which has a modulus of elasticity above 100 GPa. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the material used for the arm of Yedla with the aluminum oxide material of Mahon because this is a substitution of known elements yielding predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Yedla, Fujii, Yudovsky, Lavitsky, and Mahon teaches the shutter arm is made of aluminum oxide (ceramic material) (Mahon para 0018).
Claim(s) 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yedla (US 20220028711 A1) in view of Fujii (US 20120103793 A1) and Yudovsky (US 6375748 B1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Savandaiah (US 20220235453 A1) and Chia (US 20150348823 A1).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Yedla, Fujii, and Yudovsky teaches the process shutter arrangement according to claim 1 as described above, where the shutter arrangement is located in a vacuum process system comprising a (vacuum) processing chamber 160 that contains a substrate support 226 (chuck) with alignment elements 240 (pins), and wherein the arm 210 of the shutter arrangement is mounted to a vacuum side of a rod mounted to the chamber by a feedthrough (Yedla para 0025, 0028, 0036; Fig. 3A)).
The previous combination of Yedla, Fujii, and Yudovsky fails to explicitly teach the rod has a vertical rotational axis and is in operative connection with a shutter drive at the atmosphere side of the rod to rotate the arm from a niche of the processing chamber or a separate compartment to a central position over the chuck). However, Fujii teaches the arm 9b may be mounted on a drive shaft 9c (rod) that is rotated by an actuator 9d (shutter drive) on the outside (atmospheric side) of the chamber from a niche of the processing chamber to a central position over the substrate support/chuck (6a-6b), where the drive shaft 9c (rod) passes through a passage in the bottom of the chamber (mounted by a feedthrough) (para 0031, 0037-0038; Fig. 1-2). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the support mechanism of the arm of Yedla with the support mechanism of Fujii, including a rod rotated by a shutter drive from a niche to a central position over the chuck, because this is a substitution of known elements yielding predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The previous combination of Yedla, Fujii, and Yudovsky fails to explicitly teach the chuck pins are movable mounted in a z-direction to a pin drive. However, Savandaiah (US 20220235453 A1), in the analogous art of shutter disks, teaches lift pins 212 mounted in a chuck 224 to move a substrate or shutter disk to or from the substrate support, where the pins may extend and retract from the substrate supporting surface by vertical (z-direction) movement of the chuck by an actuator (drive) (para 0046, 0048, 0050, 0061, 0077; Fig. 2A). Yedla teaches the alignment elements 240 of the substrate support are configured to center the shutter disk 187 over the substrate support 226, wherein a lift assembly for moving the substrate holder from a transfer position below the arm and a processing position after picking the shutter disk up from the arm (para 0033, 0036-0037; Fig. 3A-3B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the alignment elements of Yedla with the lift pins of Savandaiah because this is a substitution of known elements yielding predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The combination of Yedla, Fujii, Yudovsky, and Savandaiah fails to explicitly teach the pins are moved in a z-direction by a pin drive. However, Chia (US 20150348823 A1), in the analogous art of lift pins, teaches that a substrate lift pin assembly may include a lift mechanism 135 (pin drive) for raising and lowering a lift pin assembly 133 having lift pins 109 in a z-direction so that a substrate or shutter disk may be placed on or removed from the substrate support, where the shutter disk may be rotated from a retracted position (niche) to a position concentric with the substrate support (central position over the chuck) (para 0025, 0027; Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the lift pin assembly of Savandaiah with the lift pin assembly of Chia including a lift mechanism (pin drive) because this is a substitution of known elements yielding predictable results of extending and retracting pins from the substrate supporting surface. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Yedla, Fujii, Yudovsky, Savandaiah, and Chia teaches the lift mechanism 135 (pin drive) is located outside the chamber (mounted to the process chamber on the atmosphere side) (Chia para 0025; Fig. 1). Alternatively, the pin drive is necessarily mounted on either the vacuum side or atmospheric side of the process chamber.
Regarding claim 20, the previous combination of Yedla, Fujii, Yudovsky, Savandaiah, and Chia teaches the shutter drive rotationally moves the arm 9b with the shutter disk into a central position (Fujii Fig. 2; Chia para 0027, Fig. 1) and the lift mechanism 135 (pin drive) moves the pins 109 to lift and lower a substrate or shutter disk relative to the pedestal/chuck when in the central position (Chia para 0025, 0027; Fig. 1). The aforementioned combination fails to explicitly teach a control unit connected to the pin drive and the shutter drive to coordinate rotational movement of the arm and linear z-movement of the pins to rotate the arm with the disc and lift and lower the disc when the arm is in the central position. However, Savandaiah teaches a system controller that controls activities of the processing system including the lift mechanism and shutter disk rotation (shutter drive) (para 0038, 0048, 0066). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a controller, as described by Savandaiah, for controlling all chamber processes, including the pin drive and shutter drive, to improve efficiency and repeatability of the processes.
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Yedla, Fujii, Yudovsky, Savandaiah, and Chia teaches rotating the shutter disk arrangement (9a, 9b) in a horizontal plane from the niche to a central position (Fujii para 0038, Fig. 2; Chia para 0027, Fig. 1), extending the lift pins to lift the shutter disk from the bearing surface of the arm in a horizontal plane above the arm (Yedla Fig. 3a-3b; Chia para 0025, Fig. 1), and lowering and retracting the pins into the top surface of the chuck to cover the chuck with the disk as well as rotating the shutter blade/arm back to the niche/home position (Savandaiah para 0077-0078; Chia para 0025, 0027), and wherein the pedestal with the shutter disk is used in a pasting process (Yedla para 0028-0029, 0043; Savandaiah para 0077).
The aforementioned combination fails to explicitly teach the empty arm is rotated back to the niche or separate compartment. However, Savandaiah teaches the lift assemblies remove the shutter disk from the substrate handling device or shutter blade (para 0061), where the substrate handling device 145 is not included in the process chamber during the pasting operation (Fig. 2A-2B) and the arm for supporting the substrate/shutter disk may extend between a normal position (niche or separate compartment) and an extended position (central position) and an arm may move a substrate from the substrate support to a position within the transfer volume (niche or separate compartment) during the pasting process (para 0057-0058). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rotate the empty arm back to the niche or separate compartment after transferring the shutter disk to the substrate support to prevent the substrate support from colliding with or being obstructed by the arm and/or to prevent contamination of the substrate when performing the pasting process.
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Yedla, Fujii, Yudovsky, Savandaiah, and Chia teaches transferring the shutter disk back out of the process chamber by returning the shutter disk from the chuck to the arm, where the shutter disk is positioned on the arm by the locating pins 253 and locating features 212 coupling (precision positioning takes place by entering of the tenons into the mortises) (Yedla para 0028, 0030, 0033, 0035-0036; Fig. 3A-3B), and where the removal of the shutter disk from the chuck includes lifting the shutter disk from the chuck above the arms by extending the pins, moving the carrier/arm over the chuck and below the disk, retracting the pins below the carrier/arm to place the shutter disk on the carrier/arm, and returning the carrier/arm back to the niche/home position (Chia para 0025, 0027, Fig. 1; Savandaiah para 0078; Fujii para 0038-0039, Fig. 2).
Claim(s) 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yedla (US 20220028711 A1) in view of Yudovsky (US 6375748 B1).
Regarding claim 15, Yedla (US 20220028711 A1) teaches a shutter disk 187 having an outer diameter defined by the inner disk 187A, a thickness, a first surface, and a second surface (see Fig. 4A-4B), where the first surface may include at least three locating features 212 for coupling to locating pins 253, where the locating features are formed in openings (positioning mortises), which inherently have a depth dimension, in the disk and are located adjacent to the outer diameter and each centered with respect to a separate radially oriented axis in an xy-plane of the disk and a respective vertical (para 0025, 0028, 0035, 0040-0041; Fig. 3A-3B, 4A-4B).
Yedla fails to explicitly teach each mortise has two long sides positioned in parallel or right angled to the respective axis and a short dimension and a depth dimension, where the long side is longer than the short dimension. However, Yudovsky (US 6375748 B1), in the analogous art of aligning pins, teaches pin a slot coupling of components, where the slots may be rectangular (having two long sides a short dimension and a depth dimension where the long sides are longer than the short dimension) extending in the radial direction in an amount more than the corresponding pins (long side positioned in parallel) (col 5 line 20-40, col 6 line 22-35; Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the holes/openings (mortises) and locating pins of Yedla with rectangular shaped holes and pins, as described by Yudovsky, because this is a substitution of known elements yielding predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B). Alternatively, or in addition, It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the size of the openings/holes for receiving the pins to a rectangular shape, having two long sides, two short sides/dimensions not as long as the long sides, and a depth dimension, because it is an obvious matter of design choice absent persuasive evidence that the particular shape is significant. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B).
Alternatively, or in addition, the combination of Yedla and Yudovsky fails to explicitly teach the two long sides are positioned in parallel or right angled with respect to the axis. However, shifting the position/angle of the openings/holes would not have modified the operation of the device and thus is an obvious matter of design choice. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Yedla and Yudovsky teaches the shutter disk 187 includes a trench/groove (control nick) on the second surface between an inner and outer portion (Yedla para 0040; Fig. 4A, 4C). Alternatively, Yedla teaches an opening 404 (control nick) in a second surface of the outer disk 187B to allow the outer disk to be attached and detached from the inner disk 187A (para 0040; Fig. 4D).
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yedla (US 20220028711 A1) in view of Fujii (US 20120103793 A1) and Yudovsky (US 6375748 B1).
Regarding claim 17, Yedla (US 20220028711 A1) teaches a transfer arm 210 (shutter arm) attached to a shaft by mounting means and having locating pins 253 (at least three positioning tenons) corresponding to locating features 212 (positioning mortises) of the shutter disk to position the disk when set on the locating pins, where the locating pins and features are positioned on radially oriented axes in an xy plane of the shutter disk and arm surface and symmetrically with reference to middle planes extending along the axes and a height direction, where each pin inherently has a height dimension (para 0028, 0035, 0040-0041; Fig. 2, 3A-3B).
Yedla fails to explicitly teach the shutter arm comprises a bearing sickle with an inner periphery, where the tenons are near or adjacent to the inner diameter. However, Fujii (US 20120103793 A1), in the analogous art of shutter mechanisms, teaches a plurality of guide pins (22a-22c) (tenons) for supporting a shutter plate located on a plate holding portion 9a (bearing sickle) with an inner periphery connected to an arm 9b (para 0037; Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the end portion of the transfer arm of Yedla with the plate holding portion (bearing sickle) of Fujii because this is a substitution of known elements yielding predictable results of supporting a shutter disk with pins. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
The combination of Yedla and Fujii fails to explicitly teach each tenon has a long dimension and a short dimension, where the long dimension is equal to or greater than the short dimension. However, Yudovsky (US 6375748 B1), in the analogous art of aligning pins, teaches pin a slot coupling of components, where the pins and slots may be rectangular (having a long dimension larger than a shorter dimension) (col 5 line 20-40, col 6 line 22-35). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the holes/openings and locating pins (tenons) of Yedla with rectangular shaped holes and pins, as described by Yudovsky, because this is a substitution of known elements yielding predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B). Alternatively, or in addition, It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the size of the openings/holes for receiving the pins to a rectangular shape, having two long sides, two short sides/dimensions not as long as the long sides, and a depth dimension, because it is an obvious matter of design choice absent persuasive evidence that the particular shape is significant. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Yudovsky (US 6375748 B1), which was previously cited in the rejections of claims 15 and 17, has been used in the rejection of claim 1 to teach the newly amended limitations.
Applicant argues that the locating features of Yedla are spaced every 120 degrees around the shutter disk and therefore the radial axes on which the location features are positioned are not orthogonal with each other and although the guide pins of Fujii are closer to 90 degrees, Fig. 2 clearly shows that pins 22a and 22b are not on the same radial axis. This argument is not persuasive because the presently filed claims do not require the radial axes to be orthogonal to each other or on the same radial axis.
Applicant also argues that nothing in the cited art teaches that the mortises have a long end that is either parallel or perpendicular to the radial axis on which it is located and just because one could use a rectangular mortise and tenon does not mean that those elements are arranged as claimed on the radial axis. This argument is not persuasive because the applicant has not shown sufficient evidence that the claimed shape and arrangement of mortises/tenons is significant and not merely an obvious design choice when using a rectangular pin/slot arrangement. Additionally, it should be noted that Yudovsky teaches rectangular slots, wherein the slots may extend along the radial direction.
Applicant’s arguments regarding Bedell are rendered moot because Bedell is no longer relied upon.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK S OTT/Examiner, Art Unit 1794