DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to claims filed on 26 January 2024. Claims 1-30 are pending examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-9, 12, 14-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (US 2021/0143936 A1) (hereinafter Zha).
In regards to claim 1, Zha teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication comprising:
a memory (Zha, [0076]-[0097]: [0077] The UE 106 may include a processor that is configured to execute program instructions stored in memory.); and
one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to (Zha, [0076]-[0097]: See paragraph [0077].):
receive an indication of a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state for non-UE-dedicated communication on a physical channel, the TCI state being shared with UE-dedicated communication on the physical channel or not shared with UE-dedicated communication on the physical channel based at least in part on a rule (Zha, fig. 8 and fig. 9, [0113]-[0117], [0119]-[0127], [0128]-[0131]: [0122] As a first example of such a predefined rule, a DCI mode may be signaled by the network and determined by the UE based on a number of TCI states (e.g., N) that corresponds to a TCI code point in DCI. A DCI message, e.g., transmitted on physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) resources (e.g., of a CORESET) may include a string of TCI code points. Each code point may identify one or more TCI states/values (e.g., one or more beams for the UE to use). A particular TCI code point for the UE to examine to determine the number of TCI states may be configured by media access control (MAC) control element (CE), among various possibilities. If the number of TCI states is greater than 1 (e.g., N>1), for any TCI code point in the DCI, the UE may operate in single-DCI mode. [0126] For example, if a network activates a CORESET with a same higher layer index, the UE may recognize the activation as a single-DCI mode. This approach may be viewed as a predefined rule based on group based beam reporting. In some embodiments, if the UE cannot support group based beam reporting (e.g., implying single-DCI mode), the same QCL typeD (e.g., spatial reception parameter) may be configured for the TCI for multiple BSs, e.g., for physical data shared channel (PDSCH)). In other words, if a UE cannot identify any downlink beams from multiple BSs that can be received simultaneously with different Rx beams, the only way to receive beams from multiple BSs simultaneously may be by a single Rx beam.); and
transmit or receive a communication using the TCI state (Zha, fig. 8 and fig. 9, [0113]-[0117], [0119]-[0127]: [0122] As a first example of such a predefined rule, a DCI mode may be signaled by the network and determined by the UE based on a number of TCI states (e.g., N) that corresponds to a TCI code point in DCI. A DCI message, e.g., transmitted on physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) resources (e.g., of a CORESET) may include a string of TCI code points. Each code point may identify one or more TCI states/values (e.g., one or more beams for the UE to use). [0126] Thus, the TCI state should share the same QCL-typeD assumption, e.g., in TCI associated with each of the BSs. Similarly, the same QCL typeD may be configured for the TCI for PDCCH of multiple BSs. Thus, PDCCH from multiple BSs may be transmitted with the same QCL-typeD and duplexed, e.g., time-division, frequency-division, or both. In some embodiments, a UE may report whether it supports multi-DCI mode in a UE capability report. Such a capability report may be transmitted before, after, or concurrently with a group based beam report.).
In regards to claim 5, Zha teaches the UE of claim 1:
wherein the physical channel is a physical uplink channel or a physical downlink channel, and wherein the rule specifies that the TCI state is shared with UE-dedicated communication on the physical uplink channel or the physical downlink channel (Zha, fig. 8 and fig. 9, [0113]-[0117], [0119]-[0127]: [0119] The UE and network may communicate in a single-DCI mode or a multi-DCI mode. The UE and network may exchange control information and/or data (e.g., payload data for an application, etc.) in the uplink and/or downlink directions. The UE and network may use a TCI for each BS 102 in communication with the UE, e.g., a first TCI with a first BS, a second TCI with a second BS, etc. [0122] As a first example of such a predefined rule, a DCI mode may be signaled by the network and determined by the UE based on a number of TCI states (e.g., N) that corresponds to a TCI code point in DCI. A DCI message, e.g., transmitted on physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) resources (e.g., of a CORESET) may include a string of TCI code points. Each code point may identify one or more TCI states/values (e.g., one or more beams for the UE to use). A particular TCI code point for the UE to examine to determine the number of TCI states may be configured by media access control (MAC) control element (CE), among various possibilities. If the number of TCI states is greater than 1 (e.g., N>1), for any TCI code point in the DCI, the UE may operate in single-DCI mode. In other words, the UE may determine that a TCI code point in DCI indicates multiple TCI values, and may thus conclude that the different TCI values correspond to different BSs (e.g., and therefore operate in multi-DCI mode). Otherwise, if the number of TCI states is not greater than 1 (e.g., N<=1), the UE may operate in multi-DCI mode. Thus, the DCI mode may be dynamically switched based on he indicated TCI field in PDCCH; e.g., the UE may select a second DCI mode based on whether a number of TCI states at any TCI code point in the DCI is greater than 1.).
In regards to claim 6, Zha teaches the UE of claim 1:
wherein the rule specifies that the TCI state is shared with UE- dedicated communication on a physical uplink channel and not shared with UE-dedicated communication on a physical downlink channel (Zha, fig. 8 and fig. 9, [0113]-[0117], [0119]-[0127]: [0119] The UE and network may communicate in a single-DCI mode or a multi-DCI mode. The UE and network may exchange control information and/or data (e.g., payload data for an application, etc.) in the uplink and/or downlink directions. The UE and network may use a TCI for each BS 102 in communication with the UE, e.g., a first TCI with a first BS, a second TCI with a second BS, etc. [0122] As a first example of such a predefined rule, a DCI mode may be signaled by the network and determined by the UE based on a number of TCI states (e.g., N) that corresponds to a TCI code point in DCI. A DCI message, e.g., transmitted on physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) resources (e.g., of a CORESET) may include a string of TCI code points. Each code point may identify one or more TCI states/values (e.g., one or more beams for the UE to use). A particular TCI code point for the UE to examine to determine the number of TCI states may be configured by media access control (MAC) control element (CE), among various possibilities. If the number of TCI states is greater than 1 (e.g., N>1), for any TCI code point in the DCI, the UE may operate in single-DCI mode. In other words, the UE may determine that a TCI code point in DCI indicates multiple TCI values, and may thus conclude that the different TCI values correspond to different BSs (e.g., and therefore operate in multi-DCI mode). Otherwise, if the number of TCI states is not greater than 1 (e.g., N<=1), the UE may operate in multi-DCI mode. Thus, the DCI mode may be dynamically switched based on he indicated TCI field in PDCCH; e.g., the UE may select a second DCI mode based on whether a number of TCI states at any TCI code point in the DCI is greater than 1.).
In regards to claim 7, Zha teaches the UE of claim 1:
wherein the rule specifies that the TCI state is shared with UE- dedicated communication on a physical downlink channel and not shared with UE- dedicated communication on a physical uplink channel (Zha, fig. 8 and fig. 9, [0113]-[0117], [0119]-[0127]: [0119] The UE and network may communicate in a single-DCI mode or a multi-DCI mode. The UE and network may exchange control information and/or data (e.g., payload data for an application, etc.) in the uplink and/or downlink directions. The UE and network may use a TCI for each BS 102 in communication with the UE, e.g., a first TCI with a first BS, a second TCI with a second BS, etc. [0122] As a first example of such a predefined rule, a DCI mode may be signaled by the network and determined by the UE based on a number of TCI states (e.g., N) that corresponds to a TCI code point in DCI. A DCI message, e.g., transmitted on physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) resources (e.g., of a CORESET) may include a string of TCI code points. Each code point may identify one or more TCI states/values (e.g., one or more beams for the UE to use). A particular TCI code point for the UE to examine to determine the number of TCI states may be configured by media access control (MAC) control element (CE), among various possibilities. If the number of TCI states is greater than 1 (e.g., N>1), for any TCI code point in the DCI, the UE may operate in single-DCI mode. In other words, the UE may determine that a TCI code point in DCI indicates multiple TCI values, and may thus conclude that the different TCI values correspond to different BSs (e.g., and therefore operate in multi-DCI mode). Otherwise, if the number of TCI states is not greater than 1 (e.g., N<=1), the UE may operate in multi-DCI mode. Thus, the DCI mode may be dynamically switched based on he indicated TCI field in PDCCH; e.g., the UE may select a second DCI mode based on whether a number of TCI states at any TCI code point in the DCI is greater than 1.).
In regards to claim 8, Zha teaches the UE of claim 1:
wherein the TCI state is shared between UE-dedicated communication on the physical channel and non-UE-dedicated communication on the physical channel, and wherein the one or more processors, to receive the indication of the TCI state, are configured to receive the indication of the TCI state via a medium access control control element (MAC CE) or downlink control information (Zha, fig. 8 and fig. 9, [0113]-[0117], [0118]-[0127], [0130]-[0137]: [0122] As a first example of such a predefined rule, a DCI mode may be signaled by the network and determined by the UE based on a number of TCI states (e.g., N) that corresponds to a TCI code point in DCI. A DCI message, e.g., transmitted on physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) resources (e.g., of a CORESET) may include a string of TCI code points. Each code point may identify one or more TCI states/values (e.g., one or more beams for the UE to use). A particular TCI code point for the UE to examine to determine the number of TCI states may be configured by media access control (MAC) control element (CE), among various possibilities.).
In regards to claim 9, Zha teaches the UE of claim 1:
wherein the TCI state is not shared between UE-dedicated communication on the physical channel and non-UE-dedicated communication on the physical channel, and wherein the one or more processors, to receive the indication of the TCI state, are configured to receive the indication of the TCI state via a medium access control control element (MAC CE) or a radio resource control message (Zha, fig. 8 and fig. 9, [0113]-[0117], [0118]-[0127], [0130]-[0137]: [0122] As a first example of such a predefined rule, a DCI mode may be signaled by the network and determined by the UE based on a number of TCI states (e.g., N) that corresponds to a TCI code point in DCI. A DCI message, e.g., transmitted on physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) resources (e.g., of a CORESET) may include a string of TCI code points. Each code point may identify one or more TCI states/values (e.g., one or more beams for the UE to use). A particular TCI code point for the UE to examine to determine the number of TCI states may be configured by media access control (MAC) control element (CE), among various possibilities.).
In regards to claim 12, Zha teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication comprising:
a memory (Zha, [0076]-[0097]: [0077] The UE 106 may include a processor that is configured to execute program instructions stored in memory.); and
one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to (Zha, [0076]-[0097]: See paragraph [0077].):
transmit or receive a communication using the TCI state (Zha, fig. 8 and fig. 9, [0113]-[0117], [0119]-[0127]: [0122] As a first example of such a predefined rule, a DCI mode may be signaled by the network and determined by the UE based on a number of TCI states (e.g., N) that corresponds to a TCI code point in DCI. A DCI message, e.g., transmitted on physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) resources (e.g., of a CORESET) may include a string of TCI code points. Each code point may identify one or more TCI states/values (e.g., one or more beams for the UE to use). [0126] Thus, the TCI state should share the same QCL-typeD assumption, e.g., in TCI associated with each of the BSs. Similarly, the same QCL typeD may be configured for the TCI for PDCCH of multiple BSs. Thus, PDCCH from multiple BSs may be transmitted with the same QCL-typeD and duplexed, e.g., time-division, frequency-division, or both. In some embodiments, a UE may report whether it supports multi-DCI mode in a UE capability report. Such a capability report may be transmitted before, after, or concurrently with a group based beam report.).
receive an indication to activate a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state of the UE, the UE operating in one or more (Zha, fig. 11-12, [0114]-[0127]: [0123] FIGS. 11 and 12 illustrate this first example of a predefined rule. As shown in FIG. 11, a first TCI code point (1101) of four TCI code points includes two TCI values (e.g., 0, 2). ABS 102 may transmit a DCI including such a TCI code point to signal to the UE 106 to operate in single-DCI mode. It will be appreciated that other TCI code points (e.g., the fourth code point 1102) in the DCI may include single TCI values. These TCI code points may be selected (e.g., activated by a MAC CE) in order to cause the UE to communicate with a single BS 102. However, because at least one TCI code point in the DCI includes multiple TCI values, the UE may determine to operate in single-DCI mode (e.g., because the DCI may be used to schedule multiple TCIs). As shown in FIG. 12, all TCI code points in the DCI include single TCI values. Such a DCI may be transmitted to the UE and may signal the UE to operate in a multi-DCI mode. Notably, no TCI code point in this DCI may configure multiple TCIs, e.g., as may be used to communicate with multiple BSs, accordingly, the UE may determine that each BS is transmitting independent DCI (e.g., multi-DCI mode).):
a first mode in which the UE switches in a time domain between communicating using a non-UE-dedicated channel of a serving cell and communicating using a UE-dedicated channel of a non-serving cell, or a second mode in which the UE communicates using both the non-UE- dedicated channel and the UE-dedicated channel (Zha, fig. 8-10, [0067]-[0086], [0104]-[0109], [0114]-[0134]: [0106] In some embodiments, a switch (e.g., and/or combiner, multiplexer, etc.) 570 may couple transmit circuitry 534 to uplink (UL) front end 572. In addition, switch 570 may couple transmit circuitry 544 to UL front end 572. UL front end 572 may include circuitry for transmitting radio signals via antenna 336. Thus, when cellular communication circuitry 330 receives instructions to transmit according to the first RAT (e.g., as supported via modem 510), switch 570 may be switched to a first state that allows modem 510 to transmit signals according to the first RAT (e.g., via a transmit chain that includes transmit circuitry 534 and UL front end 572). Similarly, when cellular communication circuitry 330 receives instructions to transmit according to the second RAT (e.g., as supported via modem 520), switch 570 may be switched to a second state that allows modem 520 to transmit signals according to the second RAT (e.g., via a transmit chain that includes transmit circuitry 544 and UL front end 572). [0119] A UE 106 may establish a connection with a cellular network via one or more B S 102 (1002), according to some embodiments. Among various possibilities, the connection may operate according to 5G NR. The UE and network may communicate in a single-DCI mode or a multi-DCI mode. The UE and network may exchange control information and/or data (e.g., payload data for an application, etc.) in the uplink and/or downlink directions. The UE and network may use a TCI for each BS 102 in communication with the UE, e.g., a first TCI with a first BS, a second TCI with a second BS, etc. [0123] These TCI code points may be selected (e.g., activated by a MAC CE) in order to cause the UE to communicate with a single BS 102.).
In regards to claim 14, Zha teaches the UE of claim 12:
wherein, if the UE is operating in the first mode, the TCI state is associated with the serving cell and the non-UE-dedicated channel is of the serving cell (Zha, fig. 8-9, and fig. 10, [0067]-[0081], [0113]-[0117], [0118]-[0134]: [0073] Thus, while base station 102 may act as a “serving cell” for UEs 106A-N as illustrated in FIG. 1, each UE 106 may also be capable of receiving signals from (and possibly within communication range of) one or more other cells (which might be provided by other base stations 102B-N), which may be referred to as “neighboring cells”. Such cells may also be capable of facilitating communication between user devices and/or between user devices and the network 100. Such cells may include “macro” cells, “micro” cells, “pico” cells, and/or cells which provide any of various other granularities of service area size. Other configurations are also possible. [0128] As one example of using group based beam reporting, a UE (e.g., operating in a first DCI-mode, e.g., either single-DCI mode or multi-DCI mode) may use a first beam to receive communications from a first base station. At a first time, the UE may provide a report to a network indicating whether any other beams with satisfactory signal characteristics may be used for simultaneous reception with the first beam, e.g., in order to enable communications with a second base station. The report may identify any such satisfactory beams. At a second time, e.g., at least k slots after the first time, the UE may determine a second DCI mode based on the content of the group based beam report. For example, if the group based beam report identifies at least one suitable beam the UE may conclude that multi-DCI mode is in use (e.g., unless the network explicitly signals single-DCI mode). Alternatively, if the group based beam report does not identify any suitable beam, the UE may conclude that a single-DCI mode and/or communication with a single BS is in use.).
In regards to claim 15, Zha teaches the UE of claim 12:
wherein, if the UE is operating in the first mode, the TCI state is associated with the non-serving cell and the UE-dedicated channel is of the non- serving cell (Zha, fig. 8-9, and fig. 10, [0067]-[0081], [0113]-[0117], [0118]-[0134]: [0073] Thus, while base station 102 may act as a “serving cell” for UEs 106A-N as illustrated in FIG. 1, each UE 106 may also be capable of receiving signals from (and possibly within communication range of) one or more other cells (which might be provided by other base stations 102B-N), which may be referred to as “neighboring cells”. Such cells may also be capable of facilitating communication between user devices and/or between user devices and the network 100. Such cells may include “macro” cells, “micro” cells, “pico” cells, and/or cells which provide any of various other granularities of service area size. Other configurations are also possible. [0128] As one example of using group based beam reporting, a UE (e.g., operating in a first DCI-mode, e.g., either single-DCI mode or multi-DCI mode) may use a first beam to receive communications from a first base station. At a first time, the UE may provide a report to a network indicating whether any other beams with satisfactory signal characteristics may be used for simultaneous reception with the first beam, e.g., in order to enable communications with a second base station. The report may identify any such satisfactory beams. At a second time, e.g., at least k slots after the first time, the UE may determine a second DCI mode based on the content of the group based beam report. For example, if the group based beam report identifies at least one suitable beam the UE may conclude that multi-DCI mode is in use (e.g., unless the network explicitly signals single-DCI mode). Alternatively, if the group based beam report does not identify any suitable beam, the UE may conclude that a single-DCI mode and/or communication with a single BS is in use.).
In regards to claim 16, Zha teaches the UE of claim 12:
wherein the UE is operating in the first mode, and wherein the one or more processors, to receive the indication, are configured to (Zha, fig. 8-9, and fig. 10, [0067]-[0081], [0113]-[0117], [0118]-[0134]: [0077] The UE 106 may include a processor that is configured to execute program instructions stored in memory. The UE 106 may perform any of the method embodiments described herein by executing such stored instructions. [0128] As one example of using group based beam reporting, a UE (e.g., operating in a first DCI-mode, e.g., either single-DCI mode or multi-DCI mode) may use a first beam to receive communications from a first base station. At a first time, the UE may provide a report to a network indicating whether any other beams with satisfactory signal characteristics may be used for simultaneous reception with the first beam, e.g., in order to enable communications with a second base station. The report may identify any such satisfactory beams. At a second time, e.g., at least k slots after the first time, the UE may determine a second DCI mode based on the content of the group based beam report. For example, if the group based beam report identifies at least one suitable beam the UE may conclude that multi-DCI mode is in use (e.g., unless the network explicitly signals single-DCI mode). Alternatively, if the group based beam report does not identify any suitable beam, the UE may conclude that a single-DCI mode and/or communication with a single BS is in use.):
receive a medium access control control element (MAC CE) that activates the TCI state for the non-UE-dedicated channel of the serving cell (Zha, fig. 11-12, fig. 15, [0123]-[0134]: [0123] FIGS. 11 and 12 illustrate this first example of a predefined rule. As shown in FIG. 11, a first TCI code point (1101) of four TCI code points includes two TCI values (e.g., 0, 2). ABS 102 may transmit a DCI including such a TCI code point to signal to the UE 106 to operate in single-DCI mode. It will be appreciated that other TCI code points (e.g., the fourth code point 1102) in the DCI may include single TCI values. These TCI code points may be selected (e.g., activated by a MAC CE) in order to cause the UE to communicate with a single BS 102.); and
receive a MAC CE that activates the TCI state for the UE-dedicated channel of the non-serving cell (Zha, fig. 11-12, fig. 15, [0123]-[0134]: [0123] FIGS. 11 and 12 illustrate this first example of a predefined rule. As shown in FIG. 11, a first TCI code point (1101) of four TCI code points includes two TCI values (e.g., 0, 2). ABS 102 may transmit a DCI including such a TCI code point to signal to the UE 106 to operate in single-DCI mode. It will be appreciated that other TCI code points (e.g., the fourth code point 1102) in the DCI may include single TCI values. These TCI code points may be selected (e.g., activated by a MAC CE) in order to cause the UE to communicate with a single BS 102.).
In regards to claim 17, Zha teaches the UE of claim 16:
wherein a rule for the first mode specifies that the UE does not receive the non-UE-dedicated channel of the serving cell if the TCI state is activated for the UE-dedicated channel of the non-serving cell (Zha, fig. 8 and fig. 9 and fig. 15, [0113]-[0117], [0119]-[0127], [0133]: [0119] The UE and network may communicate in a single-DCI mode or a multi-DCI mode. The UE and network may exchange control information and/or data (e.g., payload data for an application, etc.) in the uplink and/or downlink directions. The UE and network may use a TCI for each BS 102 in communication with the UE, e.g., a first TCI with a first BS, a second TCI with a second BS, etc. [0122] As a first example of such a predefined rule, a DCI mode may be signaled by the network and determined by the UE based on a number of TCI states (e.g., N) that corresponds to a TCI code point in DCI. A DCI message, e.g., transmitted on physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) resources (e.g., of a CORESET) may include a string of TCI code points. Each code point may identify one or more TCI states/values (e.g., one or more beams for the UE to use). A particular TCI code point for the UE to examine to determine the number of TCI states may be configured by media access control (MAC) control element (CE), among various possibilities. If the number of TCI states is greater than 1 (e.g., N>1), for any TCI code point in the DCI, the UE may operate in single-DCI mode. In other words, the UE may determine that a TCI code point in DCI indicates multiple TCI values, and may thus conclude that the different TCI values correspond to different BSs (e.g., and therefore operate in multi-DCI mode). Otherwise, if the number of TCI states is not greater than 1 (e.g., N<=1), the UE may operate in multi-DCI mode. Thus, the DCI mode may be dynamically switched based on he indicated TCI field in PDCCH; e.g., the UE may select a second DCI mode based on whether a number of TCI states at any TCI code point in the DCI is greater than 1.).
In regards to claim 18, Zha teaches the UE of claim 16:
wherein a rule for the first mode specifies that the UE receives the non-UE-dedicated channel of the serving cell using the TCI state that is activated for the UE-dedicated channel of the non-serving cell (Zha, fig. 8 and fig. 9, [0113]-[0117], [0119]-[0127]: [0119] The UE and network may communicate in a single-DCI mode or a multi-DCI mode. The UE and network may exchange control information and/or data (e.g., payload data for an application, etc.) in the uplink and/or downlink directions. The UE and network may use a TCI for each BS 102 in communication with the UE, e.g., a first TCI with a first BS, a second TCI with a second BS, etc. [0122] As a first example of such a predefined rule, a DCI mode may be signaled by the network and determined by the UE based on a number of TCI states (e.g., N) that corresponds to a TCI code point in DCI. A DCI message, e.g., transmitted on physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) resources (e.g., of a CORESET) may include a string of TCI code points. Each code point may identify one or more TCI states/values (e.g., one or more beams for the UE to use). A particular TCI code point for the UE to examine to determine the number of TCI states may be configured by media access control (MAC) control element (CE), among various possibilities. If the number of TCI states is greater than 1 (e.g., N>1), for any TCI code point in the DCI, the UE may operate in single-DCI mode. In other words, the UE may determine that a TCI code point in DCI indicates multiple TCI values, and may thus conclude that the different TCI values correspond to different BSs (e.g., and therefore operate in multi-DCI mode). Otherwise, if the number of TCI states is not greater than 1 (e.g., N<=1), the UE may operate in multi-DCI mode. Thus, the DCI mode may be dynamically switched based on he indicated TCI field in PDCCH; e.g., the UE may select a second DCI mode based on whether a number of TCI states at any TCI code point in the DCI is greater than 1.).
In regards to claim 19, Zha teaches the UE of claim 16:
wherein a rule for the first mode specifies that the UE does not receive the UE-dedicated channel of the non-serving cell if the TCI state is activated for the non-UE-dedicated channel of the serving cell (Zha, fig. 8 and fig. 9, [0113]-[0117], [0119]-[0127]: [0126] In some embodiments, the mode switch may be signaled (e.g., implicitly) based on a most recent group based beam reporting (e.g., in a slot k slots prior to a current slot, where the number of slots k may be configured as desired). In other words, the UE may attempt to identify a set of beams (e.g., with sufficiently good signal strength/quality) that can be used together (e.g., for simultaneous/concurrent reception). If such a set of beams is identified, multi-DCI mode may be used; if not, single-DCI mode should be used. Thus, the UE may be viewed as the initial decision maker, e.g., for selecting a DCI mode. However, in the case that the UE recommends (e.g., or indicates the possibility of) using a multi-DCI mode, the network may still determine to use a single-DCI mode (e.g., based on the network's scheduling decisions). For example, a UE may report that multiple beams may be used for simultaneous reception in a group based beam report. However, notwithstanding the indication from the UE that multi-DCI mode is possible, the network may select a single-DCI mode in the scheduling process. Among various possibilities, the network may signal this decision to the UE using further DCI, such as a MAC CE, thus reducing or avoiding the need for the UE to monitor CORESETs associated with a second BS. In other words, group based beam reporting may be complementary to using a MAC CE to activate/deactivate CORESETs as described herein. For example, if a network activates a CORESET with a same higher layer index, the UE may recognize the activation as a single-DCI mode. This approach may be viewed as a predefined rule based on group based beam reporting. In some embodiments, if the UE cannot support group based beam reporting (e.g., implying single-DCI mode), the same QCL typeD (e.g., spatial reception parameter) may be configured for the TCI for multiple BSs, e.g., for physical data shared channel (PDSCH)). In other words, if a UE cannot identify any downlink beams from multiple BSs that can be received simultaneously with different Rx beams, the only way to receive beams from multiple BSs simultaneously may be by a single Rx beam. Thus, the TCI state should share the same QCL-typeD assumption, e.g., in TCI associated with each of the BSs. Similarly, the same QCL typeD may be configured for the TCI for PDCCH of multiple BSs. Thus, PDCCH from multiple BSs may be transmitted with the same QCL-typeD and duplexed, e.g., time-division, frequency-division, or both. In some embodiments, a UE may report whether it supports multi-DCI mode in a UE capability report. Such a capability report may be transmitted before, after, or concurrently with a group based beam report.).
In regards to claim 20, Zha teaches the UE of claim 16:
wherein a rule for the first mode specifies that the UE receives the UE-dedicated channel of the non-serving cell using the TCI state that is activated for the non-UE-dedicated channel of the serving cell (Zha, fig. 8 and fig. 9, [0113]-[0117], [0119]-[0127]: See above for paragraph [0119).
In regards to claim 21, blank teaches the UE of claim 12:
wherein the UE is operating in the second mode, and wherein the TCI state is associated with the serving cell (Zha, fig. 8 and fig. 9, [0113]-[0117], [0119]-[0138]: [0129] It will be appreciated that the network may signal and the UE may detect a DCI mode periodically, e.g., even when no mode switch occurs. Thus, a first DCI mode in use before checking for a second DCI mode may or may not be the same as the second DCI mode. For example, a network may signal and a UE may check a DCI mode periodically. For example, a UE may periodically evaluate a predefined rule and/or perform group based reporting to determine a DCI mode. Thus, some periodic determinations of a DCI mode may result in a DCI mode switch and others may not. For example, at a first time a UE may perform a DCI mode determination that results in a DCI mode switch; at a second time the UE may perform a second DCI mode determination that does not result in a DCI mode switch. The two DCI mode determinations may be performed in the same manner or in different manners (e.g., according to different embodiments of the various embodiments described above). [0133] For example, a network may configure any number (e.g., potentially >3) CORESETs by RRC, but a BS 102 may signal to the UE which CORESET(s) are activated (e.g., and should be monitored) by MAC CE. As shown in FIG. 15, such a MAC CE may include a bitmap and/or serving cell index (and/or serving cell group index). Such a bitmap may identify which CORESETs the UE should monitor and/or which CORESETs it should not monitor. In some embodiments, a CORESET with ID 0 may not be deactivated. In some embodiments, up to 3 CORESETs may be activated for a BWP.).
In regards to claim 22, Zha teaches the UE of claim 12:
wherein the UE is operating in the second mode, and wherein receiving the indication includes receiving a first medium access control control element (MAC CE) that activates the TCI state (Zha, fig. 8 and fig. 9, [0113]-[0117], [0119]-[0138]: [0126] In some embodiments, the mode switch may be signaled (e.g., implicitly) based on a most recent group based beam reporting (e.g., in a slot k slots prior to a current slot, where the number of slots k may be configured as desired). In other words, the UE may attempt to identify a set of beams (e.g., with sufficiently good signal strength/quality) that can be used together (e.g., for simultaneous/concurrent reception). If such a set of beams is identified, multi-DCI mode may be used; if not, single-DCI mode should be used. Thus, the UE may be viewed as the initial decision maker, e.g., for selecting a DCI mode. However, in the case that the UE recommends (e.g., or indicates the possibility of) using a multi-DCI mode, the network may still determine to use a single-DCI mode (e.g., based on the network's scheduling decisions). For example, a UE may report that multiple beams may be used for simultaneous reception in a group based beam report. However, notwithstanding the indication from the UE that multi-DCI mode is possible, the network may select a single-DCI mode in the scheduling process. Among various possibilities, the network may signal this decision to the UE using further DCI, such as a MAC CE, thus reducing or avoiding the need for the UE to monitor CORESETs associated with a second BS. In other words, group based beam reporting may be complementary to using a MAC CE to activate/deactivate CORESETs as described herein. For example, if a network activates a CORESET with a same higher layer index, the UE may recognize the activation as a single-DCI mode. This approach may be viewed as a predefined rule based on group based beam reporting. In some embodiments, if the UE cannot support group based beam reporting (e.g., implying single-DCI mode), the same QCL typeD (e.g., spatial reception parameter) may be configured for the TCI for multiple BSs, e.g., for physical data shared channel (PDSCH)). In other words, if a UE cannot identify any downlink beams from multiple BSs that can be received simultaneously with different Rx beams, the only way to receive beams from multiple BSs simultaneously may be by a single Rx beam. Thus, the TCI state should share the same QCL-typeD assumption, e.g., in TCI associated with each of the BSs. Similarly, the same QCL typeD may be configured for the TCI for PDCCH of multiple BSs. Thus, PDCCH from multiple BSs may be transmitted with the same QCL-typeD and duplexed, e.g., time-division, frequency-division, or both. In some embodiments, a UE may report whether it supports multi-DCI mode in a UE capability report. Such a capability report may be transmitted before, after, or concurrently with a group based beam report.).
In regards to claim 23, Zha teaches the UE of claim 22:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to receive a second MAC CE that updates the TCI state (Zha, fig. 8 and fig. 9, [0113]-[0117], [0119]-[0138]: [0085] In some embodiments, as further described below, cellular communication circuitry 330 may include dedicated receive chains (including and/or coupled to, e.g., communicatively, directly or indirectly, dedicated processors and/or radios) for multiple RATs (e.g., a first receive chain for LTE and a second receive chain for 5G NR).
In regards to claim 24, Zha teaches the UE of claim 12:
wherein the TCI state is for the UE-dedicated channel of the non-serving cell, and wherein the one or more processors are configured to (Zha, fig. 8 and fig. 9, [0067]-[0075], [0113]-[0117], [0119]-[0138]: As shown, the UE may communicate with two BSs, e.g., BS 102a and BS 102b. BS 102a may transmit first DCI (e.g., DCI 901) and BS 102b may transmit second DCI (e.g., DCI 902). DCI 901 may include TCI (e.g., one or more TCI values) for BS 102a and DCI 902 may include TCI for BS 102b. In the multi-DCI mode, the UE may receive multiple DCIs on multiple CORESETs. Each DCI may schedule PDSCH with a single TCI, e.g., from a single BS. For example, DCI 901 may schedule PDSCH 911 using TCI1 and DCI 902 may schedule PDSCH 912 using TCI2. [0073] Thus, while base station 102 may act as a “serving cell” for UEs 106A-N as illustrated in FIG. 1, each UE 106 may also be capable of receiving signals from (and possibly within communication range of) one or more other cells (which might be provided by other base stations 102B-N), which may be referred to as “neighboring cells”. Such cells may also be capable of facilitating communication between user devices and/or between user devices and the network 100. Such cells may include “macro” cells, “micro” cells, “pico” cells, and/or cells which provide any of various other granularities of service area size. Other configurations are also possible.):
receive another indication to switch to another TCI state for the non-UE-dedicated channel of the serving cell (Zha, fig. 8 and fig. 9, [0067]-[0075], [0113]-[0117], [0119]-[0138]: [0116] In multi-DCI mode, a UE may monitor more CORESETs (e.g., up to 5, according to some embodiments) than in single-DCI mode (e.g., up to 3, according to some embodiments). CORESETs may be configured by radio resource control (RRC) signaling. Thus, if the BS (e.g., or other network element) decides to switch from multi-DCI mode to single-DCI mode, the switch may be signaled explicitly through RRC (e.g., RRC reconfiguration from up to 5 CORESETs to up to 3 CORESETs). Note that a UE may monitor one or more CORESETs associated with each of one or more BSs. For example, in the multi-DCI mode, the UE may monitor up to 3 CORESETs associated with a first base station and up to 2 additional CORESETs associated with a second base station.); and
switch back to the TCI state for the UE-dedicated channel of the non-serving cell upon expiration of a timer (Zha, fig. 8 and fig. 9, [0067]-[0075], [0113]-[0117], [0119]-[0138]: [0125] In some embodiments, the mode switch may be signaled (e.g., explicitly) via RRC and/or MAC CE. For example, an initial DCI mode may be configured via RRC, e.g., at the time of connection establishment in 1002. A mode switch may be signaled by the network to the UE via a MAC CE or via an RRC reconfiguration. [0126] In some embodiments, the mode switch may be signaled (e.g., implicitly) based on a most recent group based beam reporting (e.g., in a slot k slots prior to a current slot, where the number of slots k may be configured as desired). In other words, the UE may attempt to identify a set of beams (e.g., with sufficiently good signal strength/quality) that can be used together (e.g., for simultaneous/concurrent reception). If such a set of beams is identified, multi-DCI mode may be used; if not, single-DCI mode should be used. Thus, the UE may be viewed as the initial decision maker, e.g., for selecting a DCI mode. However, in the case that the UE recommends (e.g., or indicates the possibility of) using a multi-DCI mode, the network may still determine to use a single-DCI mode (e.g., based on the network's scheduling decisions). For example, a UE may report that multiple beams may be used for simultaneous reception in a group based beam report. However, notwithstanding the indication from the UE that multi-DCI mode is possible, the network may select a single-DCI mode in the scheduling process. Among various possibilities, the network may signal this decision to the UE using further DCI, such as a MAC CE, thus reducing or avoiding the need for the UE to monitor CORESETs associated with a second BS. In other words, group based beam reporting may be complementary to using a MAC CE to activate/deactivate CORESETs as described herein. For example, if a network activates a CORESET with a same higher layer index, the UE may recognize the activation as a single-DCI mode. This approach may be viewed as a predefined rule based on group based beam reporting. In some embodiments, if the UE cannot support group based beam reporting (e.g., implying single-DCI mode), the same QCL typeD (e.g., spatial reception parameter) may be configured for the TCI for multiple BSs, e.g., for physical data shared channel (PDSCH)). In other words, if a UE cannot identify any downlink beams from multiple BSs that can be received simultaneously with different Rx beams, the only way to receive beams from multiple BSs simultaneously may be by a single Rx beam. Thus, the TCI state should share the same QCL-typeD assumption, e.g., in TCI associated with each of the BSs. Similarly, the same QCL typeD may be configured for the TCI for PDCCH of multiple BSs. Thus, PDCCH from multiple BSs may be transmitted with the same QCL-typeD and duplexed, e.g., time-division, frequency-division, or both. In some embodiments, a UE may report whether it supports multi-DCI mode in a UE capability report. Such a capability report may be transmitted before, after, or concurrently with a group based beam report.).
In regards to claim 25, blank teaches the UE of claim 12:
wherein the TCI state is for the UE-dedicated channel of the non-serving cell, and wherein the one or more processors are configured to (Zha, fig. 8 and fig. 9, [0067]-[0075], [0113]-[0117], [0119]-[0138]: See paragraph [0115].):
switch, according to a periodic switching configuration, to another TCI state for the non-UE-dedicated channel of the serving cell (Zha, fig. 8 and fig. 9, [0067]-[0075], [0113]-[0117], [0119]-[0138]: See above for paragraph [0116]. [0107] In some embodiments, modem 510 and modem 520 may be configured to transmit at the same time, receive at the same time, and/or transmit and receive at the same time. Thus, when cellular communication circuitry 330 receives instructions to transmit according to both the first RAT (e.g., as supported via modem 510) and the second RAT (e.g., as supported via modem 520), combiner 570 may be switched to a third state that allows modems 510 and 520 to transmit signals according to the first and second RATs (e.g., via a transmit circuitry 534 and 544 and UL front end 572). In other words, the modems may coordinate communication activity, and each may perform transmit and/or receive functions at any time, as desired.); and
switch back to the TCI state for the UE-dedicated channel of the non-serving cell upon expiration of a timer (Zha, fig. 8 and fig. 9, [0067]-[0075], [0113]-[0117], [0119]-[0138]: [0128] As one example of using group based beam reporting, a UE (e.g., operating in a first DCI-mode, e.g., either single-DCI mode or multi-DCI mode) may use a first beam to receive communications from a first base station. At a first time, the UE may provide a report to a network indicating whether any other beams with satisfactory signal characteristics may be used for simultaneous reception with the first beam, e.g., in order to enable communications with a second base station. The report may identify any such satisfactory beams. At a second time, e.g., at least k slots after the first time, the UE may determine a second DCI mode based on the content of the group based beam report. For example, if the group based beam report identifies at least one suitable beam the UE may conclude that multi-DCI mode is in use (e.g., unless the network explicitly signals single-DCI mode). Alternatively, if the group based beam report does not identify any suitable beam, the UE may conclude that a single-DCI mode and/or communication with a single BS is in use.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 10-11, 13, 26-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2021/0143936 A1) (hereinafter Zha) in view of Gao et al. (US 2024/0372689 A1) (hereinafter Gao).
In regards to claim 2, Gao teaches the UE of claim 1:
Thus, Zha does not explicitly teach wherein the rule specifies that the TCI state is shared with UE- dedicated communication on the physical channel for inter-cell beam management or for intra-cell beam management.
Similar to the system of Zha, Gao teaches configuring a TCI state that defines spatial relationship used by multiple downlink signals and channels with the UE prioritizing reception of the PDCCH associated with the CORESET, which can be seen as, wherein the rule specifies that the TCI state is shared with UE- dedicated communication on the physical channel for inter-cell beam management or for intra-cell beam management (Gao, fig.5, [0034]-[0050], [0064]-[0066], [0071]-[0085], [0194]-[0200]: [0079] the UE is expected to prioritize the reception of PDCCH associated with that CORESET. This also applies to the intra-band CA case (when PDSCH and the CORESET are in different component carriers). [0083] If a UE is configured with enableTwoDefaultTCI-States, and at least one TCI codepoint indicates two TCI states, the UE may assume that the DM-RS ports of PDSCH or PDSCH transmission occasions of a serving cell are quasi co-located with the RS(s) with respect to the QCL parameter(s) associated with the TCI states corresponding to the lowest codepoint among the TCI codepoints containing two different TCI states. [0199] In some embodiments, the terminal device 120 may receive indication or activation of a Rel-17 TCI state (e.g. joint TCI state or separate DL and/or UL TCI state), if the Rel-17 TCI state is associated with physical cell ID of serving cell or the second physical cell ID (e.g. the second TCI state), the TCI state is applied to a first set of signals and channels (e.g. all signals and channels for intra-cell beam management (e.g. aperiodic CSI-RS for beam management, aperiodic CSI-RS for channel state information (CSI), UE dedicated PDSCH, CORESETs and non-UE dedicated CORESETs and associated PDSCH), and if the Rel-17 TCI state is associated with physical cell ID different from serving cell or the first physical cell ID (e.g. the first TCI state), the TCI state is applied to a second set of signals and channels (e.g. the first set excluding non-UE dedicated signals and channels).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zha with Gao to facilitate more efficient (lower latency and overhead) DL/UL beam management for intra-cell and inter-cell scenarios to support higher UE speed and/or a larger number of configured TCI states (Gao, [0034]).
In regards to claim 10, Gao teaches the UE of claim 1:
Thus, Zha does not explicitly teach wherein the TCI state is a unified TCI state that indicates a common beam for at least one downlink channel or downlink reference signal (RS) and at least one uplink channel or uplink RS.
Similar to the system of Zha, Gao teaches configuring a TCI state that defines spatial relationship used by multiple downlink signals and channels with the UE prioritizing reception of the PDCCH associated with the CORESET, which can be seen as, wherein the TCI state is a unified TCI state that indicates a common beam for at least one downlink channel or downlink reference signal (RS) and at least one uplink channel or uplink RS (Gao, [0034]-[0050], [0057]-[0068], [0070]-[0105], [0134]-[0144]: [0066] In some embodiments, the TRPs may be explicitly associated with different higher-layer configured identities. For example, a higher-layer configured identity can be associated with a Control Resource Set (CORESET), a group of CORESETs, a reference signal (RS), a set of RS, a Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) state or a group of TCI states, which is used to differentiate between transmissions between different TRPs and the terminal device 120. When the terminal device 120 receives two DCIs from two CORESETs which are associated with different higher-layer configured identities, the two DCIs may be transmitted or indicated from different TRPs. Further, the TRPs may be implicitly identified by a dedicated configuration to the physical channels or signals. For example, a dedicated CORESET, a RS, and a TCI state, which are associated with a TRP, are used to identify a transmission from a different TRP to the terminal device 120. For example, when the terminal device 120 receives a DCI from a dedicated CORESET, the DCI is indicated from the associated TRP dedicated by the CORESET. In some embodiments, the RS may be at least one of CSI-RS, SRS, positioning RS, uplink DM-RS, downlink DM-RS, uplink PTRS and downlink PTRS.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zha with Gao to facilitate more efficient (lower latency and overhead) DL/UL beam management for intra-cell and inter-cell scenarios to support higher UE speed and/or a larger number of configured TCI states (Gao, [0034]).
In regards to claim 11, Gao teaches the UE of claim 1:
Thus, Zha does not explicitly teach wherein the TCI state is a unified TCI state that indicates a common beam for more than one downlink channel or downlink RS or more than one uplink channel or uplink RS.
Similar to the system of Zha, Gao teaches configuring a TCI state that defines spatial relationship used by multiple downlink signals and channels with the UE prioritizing reception of the PDCCH associated with the CORESET, which can be seen as, wherein the TCI state is a unified TCI state that indicates a common beam for more than one downlink channel or downlink RS or more than one uplink channel or uplink RS (Gao, [0034]-[0050], [0057]-[0068], [0070]-[0105], [0134]-[0144]: [0066] In some embodiments, the TRPs may be explicitly associated with different higher-layer configured identities. For example, a higher-layer configured identity can be associated with a Control Resource Set (CORESET), a group of CORESETs, a reference signal (RS), a set of RS, a Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) state or a group of TCI states, which is used to differentiate between transmissions between different TRPs and the terminal device 120. When the terminal device 120 receives two DCIs from two CORESETs which are associated with different higher-layer configured identities, the two DCIs may be transmitted or indicated from different TRPs. Further, the TRPs may be implicitly identified by a dedicated configuration to the physical channels or signals. For example, a dedicated CORESET, a RS, and a TCI state, which are associated with a TRP, are used to identify a transmission from a different TRP to the terminal device 120. For example, when the terminal device 120 receives a DCI from a dedicated CORESET, the DCI is indicated from the associated TRP dedicated by the CORESET. In some embodiments, the RS may be at least one of CSI-RS, SRS, positioning RS, uplink DM-RS, downlink DM-RS, uplink PTRS and downlink PTRS.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zha with Gao to facilitate more efficient (lower latency and overhead) DL/UL beam management for intra-cell and inter-cell scenarios to support higher UE speed and/or a larger number of configured TCI states (Gao, [0034]).
In regards to claim 13, Zha teaches the UE of claim 12:
Wherein the UE supports no more than one active TCI state for inter-cell beam management, and wherein the one or more processors are configured to receive a medium access control control element (MAC CE) or a radio resource control message that indicates that the UE is to switch from the first mode to the second mode, to switch from the second mode to the first mode, or to operate in both the first mode and the second mode (Zha, fig. 8-9 and fig. 11-12, [0067]-[0086], [0104]-[0109], [0116]-[0134]: [0106] In some embodiments, a switch (e.g., and/or combiner, multiplexer, etc.) 570 may couple transmit circuitry 534 to uplink (UL) front end 572. In addition, switch 570 may couple transmit circuitry 544 to UL front end 572. UL front end 572 may include circuitry for transmitting radio signals via antenna 336. Thus, when cellular communication circuitry 330 receives instructions to transmit according to the first RAT (e.g., as supported via modem 510), switch 570 may be switched to a first state that allows modem 510 to transmit signals according to the first RAT (e.g., via a transmit chain that includes transmit circuitry 534 and UL front end 572). Similarly, when cellular communication circuitry 330 receives instructions to transmit according to the second RAT (e.g., as supported via modem 520), switch 570 may be switched to a second state that allows modem 520 to transmit signals according to the second RAT (e.g., via a transmit chain that includes transmit circuitry 544 and UL front end 572). [0119] A UE 106 may establish a connection with a cellular network via one or more B S 102 (1002), according to some embodiments. Among various possibilities, the connection may operate according to 5G NR. The UE and network may communicate in a single-DCI mode or a multi-DCI mode. The UE and network may exchange control information and/or data (e.g., payload data for an application, etc.) in the uplink and/or downlink directions. The UE and network may use a TCI for each BS 102 in communication with the UE, e.g., a first TCI with a first BS, a second TCI with a second BS, etc. [0125] In some embodiments, the mode switch may be signaled (e.g., explicitly) via RRC and/or MAC CE. For example, an initial DCI mode may be configured via RRC, e.g., at the time of connection establishment in 1002. A mode switch may be signaled by the network to the UE via a MAC CE or via an RRC reconfiguration.).
Thus, Zha does not explicitly teach the term inter-cell beam management.
Similar to the system of Zha, Gao teaches a configuration in which a UE communicates with a single cell while beam measurement and reporting may be performed with respect to other cells, which can be seen as, inter-cell beam management (Gao, fig. 3A-3B, [0034]-[0050], [0152]-[0170]: [0034] For inter-cell beam management, a UE can transmit to or receive from only a single cell (i.e. serving cell does not change when beam selection is done). This includes L1-only measurement/reporting (i.e. no L3 impact) and beam indication associated with cell(s) with any Physical Cell ID(s): The beam indication is based on Rel-17 unified TCI framework; The same beam measurement/reporting mechanism will be reused for inter-cell mTRP; This work shall only consider intra-Distributed Unit (intra-DU) and intra-frequency cases.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zha with Gao to facilitate more efficient (lower latency and overhead) DL/UL beam management for intra-cell and inter-cell scenarios to support higher UE speed and/or a larger number of configured TCI states (Gao, [0034]).
In regards to claim 26, Zha teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication comprising:
a memory (Zha, [0076]-[0097]: [0077] The UE 106 may include a processor that is configured to execute program instructions stored in memory.); and
one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to (Zha, [0076]-[0097]: See paragraph [0077].):
transmit a UE capability report that indicates a maximum quantity of control resource sets (CORESETs) that the UE is able to support for inter-cell beam management (Zha, [0113]-[0117], [0122]-[0134]: [0131] In some embodiments, a set of CORESETs (e.g., up to 3) may be configured for an active bandwidth part (BWP), e.g., in a single-DCI mode. For example, such a configuration may be performed using RRC reconfiguration and/or MAC CE signaling. For example, a MAC CE may be configured to identify and/or update a subset of CORESETs for the UE to monitor. Such a MAC CE may reduce latency of such a reconfiguration relative to using RRC. This approach may be implemented as a restriction that a network may only configure (e.g., by RRC) and/or reconfigure (e.g., by MAC CE) up to 3 CORESETs per BWP. For example, a technical specification may state something like “UE shall expect up to 3 CORESETs should be configured for a BWP.);
receive a configuration that indicates one or more CORESETs that do not exceed the maximum quantity of CORESETs (Zha, [0113]-[0117], [0122]-[0134]: [0117] Using RRC to trigger the switch may result in a large amount of delay (e.g., approximately 100 ms, among various possibilities) and signaling overhead. Another possible means of triggering the switch may be to schedule only up to 3 CORESETs without explicit signaling. However this implicit triggering may waste power on the UE side, e.g., because the UE may continue to monitor additional CORESETs that will not be used to carry DCI (e.g., or other physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) messages). Accordingly, the techniques disclosed herein offer improvements to reduce signaling overhead and/or latency associated with DCI mode switch (e.g., fast mode switching between single-TRP/single-DCI and multi-DCI) and to reduce UE power consumption (e.g., via improved CORESET monitoring when UE switches from multi-DCI mode into single-DCI mode).);
receive an indication of a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state that is activated for the one or more CORESETs (Zha, [0113]-[0117], [0122]-[0134]: [0126] In other words, group based beam reporting may be complementary to using a MAC CE to activate/deactivate CORESETs as described herein. For example, if a network activates a CORESET with a same higher layer index, the UE may recognize the activation as a single-DCI mode.); and
receive a communication on at least one CORESET of the one or more CORESETs using the TCI state (Zha, [0113]-[0117], [0122]-[0134]: [0126] Among various possibilities, the network may signal this decision to the UE using further DCI, such as a MAC CE, thus reducing or avoiding the need for the UE to monitor CORESETs associated with a second BS. In other words, group based beam reporting may be complementary to using a MAC CE to activate/deactivate CORESETs as described herein. For example, if a network activates a CORESET with a same higher layer index, the UE may recognize the activation as a single-DCI mode. This approach may be viewed as a predefined rule based on group based beam reporting. In some embodiments, if the UE cannot support group based beam reporting (e.g., implying single-DCI mode), the same QCL typeD (e.g., spatial reception parameter) may be configured for the TCI for multiple BSs, e.g., for physical data shared channel (PDSCH)).).
Thus, Zha does not explicitly teach the term inter-cell beam management.
Similar to the system of Zha, Gao teaches a configuration in which a UE communicates with a single cell while beam measurement and reporting may be performed with respect to other cells, which can be seen as, inter-cell beam management (Gao, fig. 3A-3B, [0034]-[0050], [0152]-[0170]: [0034] For inter-cell beam management, a UE can transmit to or receive from only a single cell (i.e. serving cell does not change when beam selection is done). This includes L1-only measurement/reporting (i.e. no L3 impact) and beam indication associated with cell(s) with any Physical Cell ID(s): The beam indication is based on Rel-17 unified TCI framework; The same beam measurement/reporting mechanism will be reused for inter-cell mTRP; This work shall only consider intra-Distributed Unit (intra-DU) and intra-frequency cases.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zha with Gao to facilitate more efficient (lower latency and overhead) DL/UL beam management for intra-cell and inter-cell scenarios to support higher UE speed and/or a larger number of configured TCI states (Gao, [0034]).
In regards to claim 27, Zha teaches the UE of claim 26:
wherein the maximum quantity of CORESETs includes a maximum quantity of CORESETs supported per component carrier or a maximum quantity of CORESETs supported among all component carriers (Zha, [0113]-[0117], [0122]-[0134]: [0117] Using RRC to trigger the switch may result in a large amount of delay (e.g., approximately 100 ms, among various possibilities) and signaling overhead. Another possible means of triggering the switch may be to schedule only up to 3 CORESETs without explicit signaling. However this implicit triggering may waste power on the UE side, e.g., because the UE may continue to monitor additional CORESETs that will not be used to carry DCI (e.g., or other physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) messages). Accordingly, the techniques disclosed herein offer improvements to reduce signaling overhead and/or latency associated with DCI mode switch (e.g., fast mode switching between single-TRP/single-DCI and multi-DCI) and to reduce UE power consumption (e.g., via improved CORESET monitoring when UE switches from multi-DCI mode into single-DCI mode).).
In regards to claim 28, Zha teaches the UE of claim 26:
wherein the maximum quantity of CORESETs includes a maximum quantity of CORESETs supported for a non-UE-dedicated search space or a maximum quantity of CORESETs supported for a UE-dedicated search space (Zha, [0113]-[0117], [0122]-[0134]: [0132] In some embodiments, the UE may select a subset of CORESET(s) to monitor (e.g., if more than 3 CORESETs are configured, e.g., for an active BWP). The CORESET(s) to monitor may be selected based on any of various factors. For example, the CORESET(s) to monitor may be selected based on CORESET ID, higher layer index configured per CORESET, periodicity of search space associated with a CORESET, and/or type of search space associated with a CORESET (e.g., common search space (CSS) or UE specific search space (USS)). In some embodiments, if a higher layer index is not configured, it may be considered to be 0. It will be appreciated that these various factors (and/or possibly additional factors) may be considered individually and/or in combination in various ways to select a CORESET. As one example, only CORESETs with higher layer index equal to 0 (and/or 1, according to some embodiments) may be selected. As another example, a number (e.g., 3) of CORESETs with the lowest CORESET IDs may be selected. As another example, the UE may select CORESETs associated with CSS with lowest IDs first, e.g., before selecting CORESETs with USS with lowest IDs. In other words, first priority may be given to CORESETs with CSS and an ID below a first threshold and second priority may be given to CORESETs with USSS and an ID below a second threshold (e.g., which may be same or different than the first threshold). As another example, CORESETs with higher layer index less than or equal to a threshold may be selected in order of periodicity (e.g., from shortest to longest, or from longest to shortest, etc.).).
In regards to claim 29, Zha teaches the UE of claim 26:
wherein the maximum quantity of CORESETs includes a maximum quantity of CORESETs supported for a serving cell or a maximum quantity of CORESETs supported for a non-serving cell (Zha, [0113]-[0117], [0122]-[0134]: [0117] Using RRC to trigger the switch may result in a large amount of delay (e.g., approximately 100 ms, among various possibilities) and signaling overhead. Another possible means of triggering the switch may be to schedule only up to 3 CORESETs without explicit signaling. However this implicit triggering may waste power on the UE side, e.g., because the UE may continue to monitor additional CORESETs that will not be used to carry DCI (e.g., or other physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) messages). Accordingly, the techniques disclosed herein offer improvements to reduce signaling overhead and/or latency associated with DCI mode switch (e.g., fast mode switching between single-TRP/single-DCI and multi-DCI) and to reduce UE power consumption (e.g., via improved CORESET monitoring when UE switches from multi-DCI mode into single-DCI mode).).
In regards to claim 30, Zha teaches a base station for wireless communication, comprising:
a memory (Zha, [0076]-[0097]: [0077] The UE 106 may include a processor that is configured to execute program instructions stored in memory.); and
one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to (Zha, [0076]-[0097]: See paragraph [0077].):
receive, from a user equipment (UE), a UE capability report that indicates a maximum quantity of control resource sets (CORESETs) that the UE is able to support for inter-cell beam management (Zha, [0113]-[0117], [0122]-[0134]: [0117] Using RRC to trigger the switch may result in a large amount of delay (e.g., approximately 100 ms, among various possibilities) and signaling overhead. Another possible means of triggering the switch may be to schedule only up to 3 CORESETs without explicit signaling. However this implicit triggering may waste power on the UE side, e.g., because the UE may continue to monitor additional CORESETs that will not be used to carry DCI (e.g., or other physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) messages). Accordingly, the techniques disclosed herein offer improvements to reduce signaling overhead and/or latency associated with DCI mode switch (e.g., fast mode switching between single-TRP/single-DCI and multi-DCI) and to reduce UE power consumption (e.g., via improved CORESET monitoring when UE switches from multi-DCI mode into single-DCI mode).).;
transmit a configuration that indicates a quantity of CORESETs that does not exceed the maximum quantity of CORESETs (Zha, fig. 8 and 10, [0113]-[0117], [0122]-[0134]: [0117] Using RRC to trigger the switch may result in a large amount of delay (e.g., approximately 100 ms, among various possibilities) and signaling overhead. Another possible means of triggering the switch may be to schedule only up to 3 CORESETs without explicit signaling. However this implicit triggering may waste power on the UE side, e.g., because the UE may continue to monitor additional CORESETs that will not be used to carry DCI (e.g., or other physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) messages). Accordingly, the techniques disclosed herein offer improvements to reduce signaling overhead and/or latency associated with DCI mode switch (e.g., fast mode switching between single-TRP/single-DCI and multi-DCI) and to reduce UE power consumption (e.g., via improved CORESET monitoring when UE switches from multi-DCI mode into single-DCI mode).).;
transmit an indication of a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state that is activated for one or more CORESETs (Zha, fig. 8 and 10, [0113]-[0117], [0122]-[0134]: [0117] Using RRC to trigger the switch may result in a large amount of delay (e.g., approximately 100 ms, among various possibilities) and signaling overhead. Another possible means of triggering the switch may be to schedule only up to 3 CORESETs without explicit signaling. However this implicit triggering may waste power on the UE side, e.g., because the UE may continue to monitor additional CORESETs that will not be used to carry DCI (e.g., or other physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) messages). Accordingly, the techniques disclosed herein offer improvements to reduce signaling overhead and/or latency associated with DCI mode switch (e.g., fast mode switching between single-TRP/single-DCI and multi-DCI) and to reduce UE power consumption (e.g., via improved CORESET monitoring when UE switches from multi-DCI mode into single-DCI mode).).; and
transmit a communication on at least one CORESET of the one or more CORESETs using the TCI state (Zha, fig. 8 and 10, [0113]-[0117], [0122]-[0134]: [0115] FIG. 9 illustrates a UE 106 operating in a multi-DCI mode, according to some embodiments. As shown, the UE may communicate with two BSs, e.g., BS 102a and BS 102b. BS 102a may transmit first DCI (e.g., DCI 901) and BS 102b may transmit second DCI (e.g., DCI 902). DCI 901 may include TCI (e.g., one or more TCI values) for BS 102a and DCI 902 may include TCI for BS 102b. In the multi-DCI mode, the UE may receive multiple DCIs on multiple CORESETs. Each DCI may schedule PDSCH with a single TCI, e.g., from a single BS. For example, DCI 901 may schedule PDSCH 911 using TCI1 and DCI 902 may schedule PDSCH 912 using TCI2.).
Thus, Zha does not explicitly teach the term inter-cell beam management.
Similar to the system of Zha, Gao teaches a configuration in which a UE communicates with a single cell while beam measurement and reporting may be performed with respect to other cells, which can be seen as, inter-cell beam management (Gao, fig. 3A-3B, [0034]-[0050], [0152]-[0170]: [0034] For inter-cell beam management, a UE can transmit to or receive from only a single cell (i.e. serving cell does not change when beam selection is done). This includes L1-only measurement/reporting (i.e. no L3 impact) and beam indication associated with cell(s) with any Physical Cell ID(s): The beam indication is based on Rel-17 unified TCI framework; The same beam measurement/reporting mechanism will be reused for inter-cell mTRP; This work shall only consider intra-Distributed Unit (intra-DU) and intra-frequency cases.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zha with Gao to facilitate more efficient (lower latency and overhead) DL/UL beam management for intra-cell and inter-cell scenarios to support higher UE speed and/or a larger number of configured TCI states (Gao, [0034]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang et al. (US 2019/0306924 A1) abstract discloses a UE can include processing circuitry coupled to memory. To configure the UE for semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) transmission or a grant-free transmission, the processing circuitry is to decode RRC signaling from a base station, the RRC signaling configuring a plurality of transmission configuration information (TCI) candidates indicating a first set of transmission beams for an initial transmission on an SPS PDSCH. The initial transmission uses an initial transmission beam that is selected based on a TCI beam index. A MAC CE from the base station is decoded, the MAC CE indicating a re-configuration of the plurality of TCI candidates to include at least a second set of transmission beams for the SPS PDSCH. A transmission beam is selected from the second set of transmission beams based on the TCI beam index. Downlink data received in a subsequent transmission via the selected transmission beam on the SPS PDSCH is decoded (see fig. 8-10).
Zhang et al. (US 10986622 B2) abstract discloses determining one or more candidate TCIs for a downlink slot; determining a scheduling offset between a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) and a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH); prioritizing the candidate TCIs based on the scheduling offset; identifying a highest priority candidate TCI; and select the highest priority candidate TCI for receiving the PDSCH (see fig. 5).
Da Silva et al. (US 2023/0362817 A1) abstract discloses methods for a user equipment (UE) configured to communicate with a wireless network via a master cell group (MCG) and a secondary cell group (SCG). Such methods include entering a reduced-energy mode for the SCG responsive to receiving a first command via the MCG or the SCG. Such methods also include, while in the reduced-energy mode for the SCG and in a connected mode for the MCG, performing SCG measurements and reporting the SCG measurements to the wireless network (e.g., via MCG or SCG). Other embodiments include complementary methods for first and second network nodes arranged, respectively, to provide the MCG and the SCG, as well as UEs and network nodes configured to perform the exemplary methods (see fig. 27).
/FRANCESCA LIMA SANTOS/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468