DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to claims filed on 17 June 2026. Claims 1-8, 10-27, 29-32 are pending examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 11-19, filed 17 June 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-2,5-8, 10-27, 29-32 under Zhang et al. (US 2021/0143936 A1) and Gao et al. (US 2024/0372689 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Bhamri et al. (US 20230396307A1) and Matsumura et al. (US 20230389038A1) and continue to rely on Gao et al. (US 20240372689 A1), which was applied in the prior office action, for claims 2, 10-11, 13, 26-30.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-8, 10-11, 26-27, 29-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhamri et al. (US 20230396307A1) (hereinafter Bha) in view of Matsumura et al. (US 20230389038A1) (hereinafter Mat).
In regard to claim 1, Bha-Mat teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication comprising:
one or more antennas (Bha, fig. 1, fig. 6A-6I, fig. 8, fig. 10, [0090]-[0115]: [0090] the apparatus can include… at least one antenna port, such as at least one antenna, coupled to the transceiver…); and
one or more processors, and one or more memories that store code for the one or more processors, the one or more processors individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to (Bha, fig. 1, fig. 6A-6I, fig. 8, [0090]-[0115]: [0090]-[0093] discloses an apparatus, such as UE, includes controller and memory; memory may include RAM, ROM, EPROM, flash memory and other memory; software or coding for the disclosed operations may be stored in memory or firmware; controller may comprise a programable processor or processor devices capable of implementing the disclosed embodiments and the operations may be performed using computer-executable by at least one computer processor.):
…via radio resource control (RRC) signaling (Bha, fig. 1, fig. 6A-6I, fig. 8, [0013]-[0074], [0075]-[0087]: [0068] … the UE is semi-statically configured by the gNB via RRC signalling ....);
receive an indication of a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state… (Bha, fig. 1, fig. 6A-6I, fig. 8, [0013]-[0074], [0075]-[0087]: [0039] ...the UE shall use the TCI-State according to the value of the ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’ field in the detected PDCCH with DCI…).
Thus, the system of Bha does not expressly teach receive a rule; for non- UE-dedicated communication on a physical channel, the TCI state being shared with UE- dedicated communication on the physical channel based at least in part on the rule specifying that the TCI state is shared with the UE-dedicated communication on the physical channel, and the non-UE-dedicated communication being a communication that is not dedicated to the UE; transmit or receive a communication using the TCI state.
Similar to the system of Bha, Mat teaches that RRC signaling configures whether a TCI-common-indication field is present and whether received DCI updates the common TCI state (Mat, [0153], [0186]-[0188]), which can be seen as, receive a rule (Mat, fig. 2, fig. 5, fig. 6-9, fig. 11-17, [0050]-[0080], [0146]-[0161], [0162]-[0198]: The Examiner views the RRC configuration as the rule because it specifies how the UE processes and applies the received common-TCI indication. [0186] New RRC signaling (higher layer parameter) may be configured which indicates whether the UE-specific DCI is not used to schedule the PDSCH/PUSCH (or, there is no DL data/UL data) and is used or not to update the common TCI state.);
Similar to the system of Bha, Mat teaches a common/unified TCI-state framework and a common-TCI indication that may be provided through UE-specific DCI or group-common PDCCH, which can be seen as, for non- UE-dedicated communication on a physical channel, the TCI state being shared with UE- dedicated communication on the physical channel based at least in part on the rule specifying that the TCI state is shared with the UE-dedicated communication on the physical channel, and the non-UE-dedicated communication being a communication that is not dedicated to the UE (Mat, fig. 2, fig. 5, fig. 6-9, fig. 11-17, [0050]-[0080], [0146]-[0161]: The Examiner views group common PDCCH as non-UE dedicated communication since the indication is directed to a group of UEs and is not dedicated to one particular UE. UE-specific DCI viewed as UE-dedicated communication. The Examiner also views RRC configuration of the TCI-common-indication as the rule. [0064] According to a unified TCI framework, the UL and DL channels can be controlled by a common framework. In the unified TCI framework, rather than defining the TCI state or the spatial relation per channel, unlike in Rel. 15, a common beam is indicated, and the common beam may be applied to all UL and DL channels, or a common beam for UL may be applied to all UL channels and a common beam for DL may be all DL channels. [0067] In an example in FIG. 1, the RRC configures a plurality of TCI states (joint common TCI state pool) for both DL and UL. Each of the plurality of TCI states may be an SSB, a CSI-RS, or an SRS. The MAC CE may activate some of the plurality of configured TCI states. The DCI may indicate at least one of the plurality of activated TCI states. [0069] The selected TCI state may be applied to the channel/RS for both UL and DL. [0150] A new DCI format may be used to indicate the TCI state in the common TCI state pool. [0151] The new DCI format may be UE-specific DCI, or a group common PDCCH. One indication may be applied to the all UEs in the group in the group common DCI. [0153] Whether or not the new DCI field exists may be configured through RRC signaling.);
Similar to the system of Bha, Mat teaches that the UE uses the beam corresponding to DCI-indicated TCI state #2 for PDSCH reception and PUCCH transmission, which can be seen as, transmit or receive a communication using the TCI state (Mat, fig. 2, fig. 5, fig. 6-9, fig. 11-17, [0050]-[0080], [0081]-[0145], [0146]-[0161]: [0120] The DCI field indicating the common beam may be used to indicate the beam for PDSCH/PUCCH/PUSCH. In an example in FIG. 9, the UE receives the DCI and the PDSCH, and transmits the PUCCH, similarly to FIG. 6. The beam used for the PDSCH reception and the PUCCH transmission may be TCI #2.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Bha with Mat to enable Bha’s unified TCI framework to provide RRC-configured common-TCI updates through either UE-specific or group-common PDCCH signaling, in order to support individual and group-based TCI indications while reducing signaling overhead and improving flexibility (Bha, [0052]; Mat [0115], [0153, [0186]-[0188]).
In regard to claim 2, Bha teaches the UE of claim 1:
wherein the rule specifies that the TCI state is shared with the UE- dedicated communication on the physical channel for inter-cell beam management or for intra-cell beam management (Bha, fig. 1, fig. 6A-6I, fig. 8, [0013]-[0074], [0075]-[0087]: The Examiner views the dynamic TCI-state updates and the unified TCI framework to non-serving -cell communication as inter-cell beam management since TCI state information provides the QCL and spatial -filter information used for communication with a non-serving cell. [0047] For beam management in NR, for Rel.17 NR FeMIMO, on the unified TCI framework, joint TCI for DL and UL can be supported based on and analogous to Rel. 15/16 DL TCI framework. [0051] Additional components along with the associated alternatives required can be identified for supporting inter-cell mobility can be identified based on the same unified TCI framework as that for intra-cell mobility (including dynamic TCI state update signalling), including: method(s) for incorporating non-serving cell information associated with TCI; method(s) for DL measurements and UE reporting (e.g. L1-RSRP) associated with non-serving cell(s); UE behavior for reception of signals and non-UE-specific control and data channels associated with non-serving cell(s); UL-related enhancements, e.g. related to RA procedure including TA; beam-level event-driven mechanism for L1/L2-centric inter-cell mobility.).
In regard to claim 5, Mat the UE of claim 1:
Thus, the system of Bha does not expressly teach wherein the physical channel is a physical uplink channel or a physical downlink channel, and wherein the rule specifies that the TCI state is shared with the UE-dedicated communication on the physical uplink channel or the physical downlink channel.
Similar to the system of Bha, Mat teaches that a TCI state may be configured or indicated for PDSCH and PDCCH physical downlink channels and PUSCH and PUCCH physical uplink channels. Mat further discloses that a common beam may be applied to UL and DL channels and that the selected TCI state may be applied to channels or reference signals for both UL and DL, which can be seen as, wherein the physical channel is a physical uplink channel or a physical downlink channel, and wherein the rule specifies that the TCI state is shared with the UE-dedicated communication on the physical uplink channel or the physical downlink channel (Mat, fig. 2, fig. 5, fig. 6-9, fig. 11-17, [0032]-[0049], [0050]-[0080], [0146]-[0161]: The Examiner views the application of a common TCI state to PDSCH/PDCCH physical downlink channels and PUSCH/PUCCH physical uplink channels as the TCI state being shared with UE-dedicated communication on a physical uplink or physical downlink channel. [0047] A channel for which the TCI state or the spatial relation is configured (indicated) may be, for example, at least one of a downlink shared channel (Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH)), a downlink control channel (Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH)), an uplink shared channel (Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH)), and an uplink control channel (Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH)).). [0064] a common beam is indicated and the common beam may be applied to all UL and DL channels, or a common beam for UL may be applied to all UL channels and a common beam for DL may be all DL channels. [0069] The selected TCI state may be applied to the channel/RS for both UL and DL.)
The motivation for combining Bha and Mat is set forth above with respect to claim 1 and applies equally here.
In regard to claim 6, Matt the UE of claim 1:
Thus, the system of Bha does not expressly teach wherein the rule specifies that the TCI state is shared with the UE- dedicated communication on a physical uplink channel and not on a physical downlink channel.
Similar to the system of Bha, Mat teaches that the UE may assume different TCI states and separate TCI-state pools for UL and DL, that RRC may configure a TCI-state pool for each of the UL and DL channels, and that the common-TCI update field may include different fields for UL and DL and may be configured through RRC signaling, which can be seen as, wherein the rule specifies that the TCI state is shared with the UE- dedicated communication on a physical uplink channel and not on a physical downlink channel (Mat, fig. 2, fig. 5, fig. 6-9, fig. 11-17, [0032]-[0049], [0050]-[0080], [0146]-[0161]: The Examiner views RRC configuration as rule. Examiner further views separate UL and DL TCI states as suggesting that the rule shares the UL TCI state with UE-dedicated UL channels, but not with UE-dedicated DL channels. [0064] …a common beam is indicated, and the common beam may be applied to all UL and DL channels, or a common beam for UL may be applied to all UL channels and a common beam for DL may be all DL channels. [0070] The UE may assume different TCI states for respective UL and DL (separate TCI state, separate TCI state pool, UL separate TCI state pool and DL separate TCI state pool, separate common TCI state pool, UL common TCI state pool and DL common TCI state pool). [0071] the RRC (parameter, information element) may configure a plurality of TCI states (pool) for each of the UL and DL channels. See paragraphs [0073]-[0074]. [0160] The special DCI may include a new DCI field for indicating update of the common TCI state. The new DCI field may include fields different for UL and DL or a kind of a channel/RS. Whether or not the new DCI field exists may be configured through RRC signaling.).
The motivation for combining Bha and Mat is set forth above with respect to claim 1 and applies equally here.
In regard to claim 7, Mat teaches the UE of claim 1:
wherein the rule specifies that the TCI state is shared with the UE- dedicated communication on a physical downlink channel and not on a physical uplink channel
Thus, the system of Bha does not expressly teach wherein the rule specifies that the TCI state is shared with the UE- dedicated communication on a physical downlink channel and not on a physical uplink channel.
Similar to the system of Bha, Mat teaches that the UE may assume different TCI states and separate TCI-state pools for UL and DL, that RRC may configure a TCI-state pool for each of the UL and DL channels, and that the common-TCI update field may include different fields for UL and DL and may be configured through RRC signaling, which can be seen as, wherein the rule specifies that the TCI state is shared with the UE- dedicated communication on a physical downlink channel and not on a physical uplink channel (Mat, fig. 2, fig. 5, fig. 6-9, fig. 11-17, [0032]-[0049], [0050]-[0080], [0146]-[0161]: The Examiner views RRC configuration as rule. Examiner further views separate UL and DL TCI states as suggesting that the rule shares the DL TCI state with UE-dedicated communication on a physical downlink channel, but not on a physical uplink channel. [0064] …a common beam is indicated, and the common beam may be applied to all UL and DL channels, or a common beam for UL may be applied to all UL channels and a common beam for DL may be all DL channels. [0070] The UE may assume different TCI states for respective UL and DL (separate TCI state, separate TCI state pool, UL separate TCI state pool and DL separate TCI state pool, separate common TCI state pool, UL common TCI state pool and DL common TCI state pool). [0071] the RRC (parameter, information element) may configure a plurality of TCI states (pool) for each of the UL and DL channels. [0073] The DL DCI may select (indicate) one or more TCI states (for example, one TCI state). The TCI state may be applied to one or more DL channels. The DL channel may be PDCCH/PDSCH/CSI-RS. The UE may use the operation for the TCI state (TCI framework) in Rel. 16 to determine a TCI state of each DL channel/RS. [0074] The UL DCI may select (indicate) one or more TCI states (for example, one TCI state). The TCI state may be applied to one or more UL channels. The UL channel may be PUSCH/SRS/PUCCH.. [0160] The special DCI may include a new DCI field for indicating update of the common TCI state. The new DCI field may include fields different for UL and DL or a kind of a channel/RS. Whether or not the new DCI field exists may be configured through RRC signaling.).
The motivation for combining Bha and Mat is set forth above with respect to claim 1 and applies equally here.
In regard to claim 8, Bha teaches the UE of claim 1:
wherein the one or more processors, to receive the indication of the TCI state, are configured to cause the UE to receive the indication of the TCI state via a medium access control control element (MAC CE) or downlink control information (Bha, fig. 1, fig. 6A-6I, fig. 8, [0013]-[0074], [0075]-[0087]: Examiner views TCI field in the DCI transmitted on the PDCCH as the indication of the TCI state received via downlink control information. [0035] The UE receives an activation command, as described in clause 6.1.3.14 of TS 38.321 or in clause 6.1.3.x of TS 38.321, used to map up to 8 TCI states to the codepoints of the DCI field ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’ in one CC/DL BWP or in a set of CCs/DL BWPs, respectively. [0038] If a UE is configured with the higher layer parameter tci-PresentInDCI that is set as ‘enabled’ for the CORESET scheduling the PDSCH, the UE assumes that the TCI field is present in the DCI format 1_1 of the PDCCH transmitted on the CORESET. If a UE is configured with the higher layer parameter tci-PresentInDCI-ForFormat1_2 for the CORESET scheduling the PDSCH, the UE assumes that the TCI field with a DCI field size indicated by tci-PresentInDCI-ForFormat1_2 is present in the DCI format 1_2 of the PDCCH transmitted on the CORESET. [0039] the UE shall use the TCI-State according to the value of the ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’ field in the detected PDCCH with DCI for determining PDSCH antenna port quasi co-location.).
In regard to claim 10, Bha teaches the UE of claim 1:
wherein the TCI state is a unified TCI state that indicates a common beam for at least one downlink channel or downlink reference signal (RS) and at least one uplink channel or uplink RS (Bha, fig. 1, fig. 6A-6I, fig. 8, [0013]-[0074], [0075]-[0087]: The Examiner views common/unified TCI state, which applies the same TCI state to both DL reception and UL transmission as the unified TCI state indicating a common beam for at least one downlink channel and at least one uplink channel. [0047] For beam management in NR, for Rel.17 NR FeMIMO, on the unified TCI framework, joint TCI for DL and UL can be supported based on and analogous to Rel. 15/16 DL TCI framework. The term “TCI” at least comprises a TCI state that includes at least one source RS to provide a reference (UE assumption) for determining QCL and/or spatial filter. The source reference signal(s) in M TCIs provide common QCL information at least for UE-dedicated reception on PDSCH and all or subset of CORESETs in a CC. The source reference signal(s) in N TCIs provide a reference for determining common UL TX spatial filter(s) at least for dynamic-grant/configured-grant based PUSCH, all or subset of dedicated PUCCH resources in a CC. When used for the purpose of joint beam indication for UL and DL, potentially either a joint TCI pool for DL and UL dedicated for the purpose is used, or the same TCI pool as that used for the purpose of separate DL/UL beam indication is used. The resulting beam indication directly refers to the associated source RS(s).) [0079] In some embodiments, a UE receives a single DCI that schedules both PDSCH and PUSCH across multiple transmission time intervals spanning one or multiple slots and receives corresponding beam indication via TCI states with QCL type-D assumption in the DCI. In one implementation, a unified TCI state field is used, where the index of the field indicates multiple TCI states and a corresponding duration for each of the TCI states. The TCI states are applied accordingly for the indicated duration and switching from one TCI state to another in a sequential manner. The UE is expected to use same Rx/Tx filter based on the common/unified TCI state. For example, if TCI index 0 is indicated from Table 2, then for the two slots following the PDCCH reception, UE will use TCI state 1 for both UL transmissions and DL receptions that might be scheduled in those two slots.).
In regard to claim 11, Bha teaches the UE of claim 1:
wherein the TCI state is a unified TCI state that indicates a common beam for more than one downlink channel or downlink RS or more than one uplink channel or uplink RS (Bha, fig. 1, fig. 6A-6I, fig. 8, [0013]-[0074], [0075]-[0087]: The Examiner views common UL transmit spatial filter for PUSCH and dedicated PUCCH resources as the common beam for more than one uplink channel. [0047] For beam management in NR, for Rel.17 NR FeMIMO, on the unified TCI framework, joint TCI for DL and UL can be supported based on and analogous to Rel. 15/16 DL TCI framework. The term “TCI” at least comprises a TCI state that includes at least one source RS to provide a reference (UE assumption) for determining QCL and/or spatial filter. The source reference signal(s) in N TCIs provide a reference for determining common UL TX spatial filter(s) at least for dynamic-grant/configured-grant based PUSCH, all or subset of dedicated PUCCH resources in a CC.).
Claims 12-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhamri et al. (US 20230396307A1) (hereinafter Bha) in view of Matsumura et al. (US 20230389038A1) (hereinafter Mat) and further in view of Gao et al. (US 20240372689 A1) (hereinafter Gao).
In regard to claim 12, Bha-Mat-Gao teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication comprising:
One or more antennas (Bha, fig. 1, fig. 6A-6I, fig. 8, fig. 10, [0090]-[0115]: [0090] the apparatus can include… at least one antenna port, such as at least one antenna, coupled to the transceiver…); and
one or more processors, and one or more memories that store code for the one or more processors, the one or more processors individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to (Bha, fig. 1, fig. 6A-6I, fig. 8, [0090]-[0115]: [0090]-[0093] discloses an apparatus, such as UE, includes controller and memory; memory may include RAM, ROM, EPROM, flash memory and other memory; software or coding for the disclosed operations may be stored in memory or firmware; controller may comprise a programable processor or processor devices capable of implementing the disclosed embodiments and the operations may be performed using computer-executable by at least one computer processor.):
receive an indication to activate a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state of the UE, the UE operating in one or more (Bha, fig. 1, fig. 6A-6I, fig. 8, [0013]-[0074], [0075]-[0087]: [0039] ...the UE shall use the TCI-State according to the value of the ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’ field in the detected PDCCH with DCI…):
Thus, the system of Bha does not expressly teach …between communicating using a non-UE-dedicated channel of a serving cell and communicating using a UE-dedicated channel of a non-serving cell, or a second mode in which the UE communicates using both the non-UE- dedicated channel and the UE-dedicated channel. Wherein the non-UE-dedicated channel is a channel that is not dedicated to the UE; and transmit or receive a communication using the TCI state.
Similar to the system of Bha, Mat teaches a common/unified TCI-state framework and a common-TCI indication that may be provided through UE-specific DCI or group-common PDCCH, which can be seen as, … between communicating using a non-UE-dedicated channel of a serving cell and communicating using a UE-dedicated channel of a non-serving cell, … (Mat, fig. 2, fig. 5, fig. 6-9, fig. 11-17, [0050]-[0080], [0146]-[0161]: The Examiner views group common PDCCH as non-UE dedicated communication since the indication is directed to a group of UEs and is not dedicated to one particular UE. UE-specific DCI viewed as UE-dedicated communication. The Examiner also views RRC configuration of the TCI-common-indication as the rule. [0064] According to a unified TCI framework, the UL and DL channels can be controlled by a common framework. In the unified TCI framework, rather than defining the TCI state or the spatial relation per channel, unlike in Rel. 15, a common beam is indicated, and the common beam may be applied to all UL and DL channels, or a common beam for UL may be applied to all UL channels and a common beam for DL may be all DL channels. [0067] In an example in FIG. 1, the RRC configures a plurality of TCI states (joint common TCI state pool) for both DL and UL. Each of the plurality of TCI states may be an SSB, a CSI-RS, or an SRS. The MAC CE may activate some of the plurality of configured TCI states. The DCI may indicate at least one of the plurality of activated TCI states. [0069] The selected TCI state may be applied to the channel/RS for both UL and DL. [0150] A new DCI format may be used to indicate the TCI state in the common TCI state pool. [0151] The new DCI format may be UE-specific DCI, or a group common PDCCH. One indication may be applied to the all UEs in the group in the group common DCI. [0153] Whether or not the new DCI field exists may be configured through RRC signaling.).
Similar to the system of Bha, Mat teaches a group-common PDCCH through which a common-TCI indication may be provided to all UEs in a group, which can be seen as, Wherein the non-UE-dedicated channel is a channel that is not dedicated to the UE (Mat, fig. 2, fig. 5, fig. 6-9, fig. 11-17, [0050]-[0080], [0146]-[0161]: The Examiner views group-common PDCCH as non-UE-dedicated channel because its indication can be applied to a group of UEs rather than being dedicated to one specific UE. [0151] The new DCI format may be UE-specific DCI, or a group common PDCCH. One indication may be applied to the all UEs in the group in the group common DCI. A plurality of indications may be applied respectively to a plurality of UEs in the group.); and
Similar to the system of Bha, Mat teaches that the UE uses the beam corresponding to DCI-indicated TCI state #2 for PDSCH reception and PUCCH transmission, which can be seen as, transmit or receive a communication using the TCI state (Mat, fig. 2, fig. 5, fig. 6-9, fig. 11-17, [0050]-[0080], [0081]-[0145], [0146]-[0161]: [0120] The DCI field indicating the common beam may be used to indicate the beam for PDSCH/PUCCH/PUSCH. In an example in FIG. 9, the UE receives the DCI and the PDSCH, and transmits the PUCCH, similarly to FIG. 6. The beam used for the PDSCH reception and the PUCCH transmission may be TCI #2.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Bha with Mat to enable Bha’s unified TCI framework to provide RRC-configured common-TCI updates through either UE-specific or group-common PDCCH signaling, in order to support individual and group-based TCI indications while reducing signaling overhead and improving flexibility (Bha, [0052]; Mat [0115], [0153, [0186]-[0188]).
Thus, the system of Bha and Mat does not explicitly teach a first mode in which the UE switches in a time domain.
Similar to the system of Bha and Mat, Gao teaches that the UE monitors the PDCCH in the common search space during an overlapping time duration and monitors the PDCCH in the UE-specific search space during a non-overlapping time duration, which can be seen as, a first mode in which the UE switches in a time domain… (Gao, fig. 7, [0154]-[0200], [0201]-[0243]: The Examiner views the operating arrangement show in fig. 7 as the first mode. The Examiner views the UE’s use of the common-search space PDCCH during one time duration and the UE-specific-search-space PDCCH during another time duration as switching in a time domain. [0201] For example, as shown in FIG. 7, the terminal device 120 may be configured with a second TCI state (for example, TCI state A) to monitor or receive a PDCCH in a common search space. In some embodiments, in case of the common search space and the UE specific search space overlap in time domain or in same duration, the terminal device 120 may not monitor or receive the PDCCH in the UE specific search space in the overlapping duration or in the same duration. In some embodiments, the terminal device 120 may be configured with a first TCI state (for example, TCI state B) to monitor or receive a PDCCH in a UE specific search space. For example, the terminal device 120 may monitor or receive a PDCCH in the common search space in the overlapping duration or in the same duration based on the TCI state A. In some embodiments, in case of a duration for the UE specific search space is not overlapped with CSS, the terminal device 120 may receive a PDCCH in the UE specific search space in the duration based on the first TCI state (TCI state B as shown in FIG. 7).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bha and Mat to include Gao’s time-domain PDCCH-monitoring arrangement in order to provide more efficient DL/UL beam management with lower latency and overhead for inter-cell scenarios (Gao, [0002] and [0201]).
In regard to claim 13, Bha-Gao teaches the UE of claim 12:
Wherein the UE supports no more than one active TCI state for inter-cell beam management (Bha, fig. 1, fig. 6A-6I, fig. 8, [0013]-[0074], [0075]-[0087]: The Examiner views M=1 and single-TCI-state as the UE supporting no more than one active TCI state. Since Bha teaches that the same TCI framework applies to inter-cell mobility, the Examiner views this single TCI-state configuration as inter-cell beam management. [0040] if all the TCI codepoints are mapped to a single TCI state [0047] For beam management in NR … on the unified TCI framework, joint TCI for DL and UL can be supported…The value for M can be selected between M=1 and M>=1. [0051] Additional components …for supporting inter-cell mobility can be identified based on the same unified TCI framework as that for intra-cell mobility (including dynamic TCI state update signaling).), and
wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to receive a medium access control control element (MAC CE) or a radio resource control message …(Bha, fig. 1, fig. 6A-6I, fig. 8, [0013]-[0074], [0075]-[0110]: Examiner views Mac CE indication that triggers a switch from one TCI state to another as teaching that the UE receives a MAC CE containing switching information. [0098] … a MAC CE indication is used to trigger a switch from one TCI state to another TCI state … [0102] … a MAC CE indication can be used to trigger a switch from one TCI state to another TCI state … for both receiving DL signals and transmitting UL signals.), or to operate in both the first mode and the second mode.
Thus, Bha does not expressly teach that indicates that the UE is to switch from the first mode to the second mode, to switch from the second mode to the first mode.
Similar to the system of Bha, Gao teaches that the UE may receive, through a MA CE or RRC message, an indication or activation of a first or second TCI state, where second TCI state may be applied to common search space and the first TCI state may be applied to a UE specific search space , which can be seen as, that indicates that the UE is to switch from the first mode to the second mode, to switch from the second mode to the first mode (Gao, fig. 7, [0154]-[0200], [0201]-[0243]: The Examiner views UE-specific search space as the UE-dedicated channel and common search space as the non-UE-dedicated channel. Because Gao uses both search spaces, the Examiner views this arrangement as the second mode. [0168] In some embodiments, the terminal device 120 may receive, from the network device 110, an indication or activation of the second TCI state. For example, via downlink control information (DCI) and/or MAC CE and/or RRC. [0169] In some embodiments, the terminal device 120 may receive, from the network device 110, an indication or activation of the first TCI state. For example, via downlink control information (DCI) and/or MAC CE and/or RRC. [0178] the second physical cell ID may be a physical cell ID of a serving cell configured for the terminal device 120. In some embodiments, the first physical cell ID may be different from the physical cell ID of the serving cell. [0185] In some embodiments, the second TCI state may be indicated or activated or configured or applied for the common search space, and the first TCI state may be indicated or activated or configured or applied for the UE specific search space. [0220] In some embodiments, after the application timing, the first TCI state and the second TCI state may be applicable. For example, the first TCI state may be applied to PDCCH reception(s) in a UE specific search space. For another example, the second TCI state may be applied to PDCCH reception(s) in a common search space.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bha’s UE to include Gao’s TCI-state-controlled PDCCH-monitoring arrangements for the common and UE-specific search spaces to provide flexible inter-cell beam management with reduced latency and monitoring overhead (Gao, [0002] and [0201]).
In regard to claim 14, Bha-Gao teaches the UE of claim 12:
the TCI state is associated with the serving cell and the non-UE-dedicated channel is of the serving cell (Bha, fig. 1, fig. 6A-6I, fig. 8, [0013]-[0074], [0075]-[0087]: Examiner views mapping of the TCI codepoints to a single TCI state and its use of the corresponding QCL information for a monitored CORESET within the serving cell’s active BWP as teaching serving-cell associated TCI arrangement. [0040] Independent of the configuration of tci-PresentInDCI and tci-PresentInDCI-ForFormat1_2 in RRC connected mode, if all the TCI codepoints are mapped to a single TCI state and the offset between the reception of the DL DCI and the corresponding PDSCH is less than the threshold timeDurationForQCL, the UE may assume that the DM-RS ports of PDSCH of a serving cell are quasi co-located with the RS(s) with respect to the QCL parameter(s) used for PDCCH quasi co-location indication of the CORESET associated with a monitored search space with the lowest controlResourceSetId in the latest slot in which one or more CORESETs within the active BWP of the serving cell are monitored by the UE. [0051] Additional components along with the associated alternatives required can be identified for supporting inter-cell mobility can be identified based on the same unified TCI framework as that for intra-cell mobility (including dynamic TCI state update signalling), including: method(s) for incorporating non-serving cell information associated with TCI.).
Thus, Bha does not expressly teach wherein, if the UE is operating in the first mode.
Similar to the system of Bha, Gao teaches that the UE monitors a common-search space PDCCH using a serving cell associated TCI state and monitors a UE specific search space PDCCH using a different cell TCI state during different time duration. which can be seen as, wherein, if the UE is operating in the first mode (Gao, fig. 7, [0154]-[0200], [0201]-[0243]: Examiner views this time-domain alternation as operation in the first mode. [0178] In some embodiments, the second physical cell ID may be a physical cell ID of a serving cell configured for the terminal device 120. In some embodiments, the first physical cell ID may be different from the physical cell ID of the serving cell. [0199] if the TCI state is associated with physical cell ID of serving cell or the second physical cell ID (e.g. the second TCI state), the TCI state is applied to a first set of signals and channels including non-UE dedicated CORESETs and associated PDSCH. [0201] For example, as shown in FIG. 7, the terminal device 120 may be configured with a second TCI state (for example, TCI state A) to monitor or receive a PDCCH in a common search space. For example, the TCI state A may be associated with the second physical cell ID. In some embodiments, the terminal device 120 may be configured with a first TCI state (for example, TCI state B) to monitor or receive a PDCCH in a UE specific search space. For example, the TCI state B may be associated with the first physical cell ID. In some embodiments, in case of the common search space and the UE specific search space overlap in time domain or in same duration, the terminal device 120 may not monitor or receive the PDCCH in the UE specific search space in the overlapping duration or in the same duration. For example, the terminal device 120 may monitor or receive a PDCCH in the common search space in the overlapping duration or in the same duration based on the TCI state A. In some embodiments, in case of a duration for the UE specific search space is not overlapped with CSS, the terminal device 120 may receive a PDCCH in the UE specific search space in the duration based on the first TCI state (TCI state B as shown in FIG. 7).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bha as modified by Mat to include Gao’s time-domain PDCCH-monitoring arrangement in order to provide more efficient DL/UL beam management with lower latency and overhead for inter-cell scenarios (Gao, [0002] and [0201]).
In regard to claim 15, Bha-Gao teaches the UE of claim 12:
…the TCI state is associated with the non-serving cell and the UE-dedicated channel is of the non- serving cell (Bha, fig. 1, fig. 6A-6I, fig. 8, [0013]-[0074], [0075]-[0087]: Examiner views application of its unified TCI framework to inter-cell mobility, including incorporating non-serving cell information associated with TCI as teach TCI based communication involving a non-serving cell [0051] Additional components along with the associated alternatives required can be identified for supporting inter-cell mobility can be identified based on the same unified TCI framework as that for intra-cell mobility (including dynamic TCI state update signaling), including: method(s) for incorporating non-serving cell information associated with TCI.).
Thus, Bha does not expressly teach wherein, if the UE is operating in the first mode.
Similar to the system of Bha, Gao teaches that a first TCI state, such as TCI state B, may be associated with a physical cell ID different from the serving-cell physical cell ID and may be used to received a PDCCH in a UE specific search space during a duration that does not overlap the common search space, which can be seen as, wherein, if the UE is operating in the first mode (Gao, fig. 7, [0154]-[0200], [0201]-[0243]: Examiner views this time-domain alternation as operation in the first mode. [0178] In some embodiments, the second physical cell ID may be a physical cell ID of a serving cell configured for the terminal device 120. In some embodiments, the first physical cell ID may be different from the physical cell ID of the serving cell. [0201] For example, as shown in FIG. 7, the terminal device 120 may be configured with a second TCI state (for example, TCI state A) to monitor or receive a PDCCH in a common search space. For example, the TCI state A may be associated with the second physical cell ID. In some embodiments, the terminal device 120 may be configured with a first TCI state (for example, TCI state B) to monitor or receive a PDCCH in a UE specific search space. For example, the TCI state B may be associated with the first physical cell ID. In some embodiments, in case of the common search space and the UE specific search space overlap in time domain or in same duration, the terminal device 120 may not monitor or receive the PDCCH in the UE specific search space in the overlapping duration or in the same duration. For example, the terminal device 120 may monitor or receive a PDCCH in the common search space in the overlapping duration or in the same duration based on the TCI state A. In some embodiments, in case of a duration for the UE specific search space is not overlapped with CSS, the terminal device 120 may receive a PDCCH in the UE specific search space in the duration based on the first TCI state (TCI state B as shown in FIG. 7).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bha as modified by Mat to include Gao’s time-domain PDCCH-monitoring arrangement in order to provide more efficient DL/UL beam management with lower latency and overhead for inter-cell scenarios (Gao, [0002] and [0201]).
In regard to claim 16, Bha-Gao teaches the UE of claim 12:
wherein the UE is operating in the first mode, and wherein the one or more processors, to receive the indication, are configured to cause the UE to (Bha, fig. 1, fig. 6A-6I, fig. 8, [0013]-[0074], [0075]-[0087]: [0035] The UE receives an activation command, … used to map up to 8 TCI states to the codepoints of the DCI field ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’ …):
receive a medium access control control element (MAC CE) that activates the TCI state …(Bha, fig. 1, fig. 6A-6I, fig. 8, [0013]-[0074], [0075]-[0110]: Examiner views Mac CE indication that triggers a switch from one TCI state to another as teaching that the UE receives a MAC CE containing switching information. [0098] … a MAC CE indication is used to trigger a switch from one TCI state to another TCI state.); and
receive a MAC CE that activates the TCI …(Bha, fig. 1, fig. 6A-6I, fig. 8, [0013]-[0074], [0075]-[0110]: The Examiner views activation command and MAC CE indication that triffers switching between TCI states as receipt of a MAC CE that activates a TCI state. See above for paragraph [0098].).
Thus, Bha does not expressly teach for the non-UE-dedicated channel of the serving cell and state for the UE-dedicated channel of the non-serving cell.
Similar to the system of Bha, Gao teaches a first TCI-state activation command, that activates a TCI state for PDCCH reception in a UE specific search space. Gao also teaches a second TCI-state activation command, that activates a TCI state for a CORESET or common search space (Gao, [0187]-[0188]), which can be seen as, for the non-UE-dedicated channel of the serving cell and state for the UE-dedicated channel of the non-serving cell (Gao, fig. 7, [0154]-[0200], [0201]-[0243]: The Examiner views command_2, that activates the serving cell TCI state for common search space PDCCH, as the MAC CE for the non UE dedicated channel of the serving cell. The Examiner views command_1, that activates different cell TCI state for the UE specific search space PDCCH, as the MAC CE for the UE-dedicated channel of the non-serving cell. [0178] In some embodiments, the second physical cell ID may be a physical cell ID of a serving cell configured for the terminal device 120. In some embodiments, the first physical cell ID may be different from the physical cell ID of the serving cell. [0187] In some embodiments, there may be a first TCI state activation command (For example, via MAC CE. For example, represented as Command_1), and the Command_1 may be applied to activate TCI state(s) for …PDCCH reception(s) for UE specific search space(s)…. [0188] In some embodiments, there may be a second TCI state activation command (For example, via MAC CE. For example, represented as Command_2), and the Command_2 may be applied to activate TCI state(s) for a CORESET... For example, the second TCI state may be activated based on Command_2. [0201] …TCI state A may be associated with the second physical cell ID. In some embodiments, the terminal device 120 may be configured with a first TCI state (for example, TCI state B) to monitor or receive a PDCCH in a UE specific search space. For example, the TCI state B may be associated with the first physical cell ID. In some embodiments, in case of the common search space and the UE specific search space overlap in time domain or in same duration, the terminal device 120 may not monitor or receive the PDCCH in the UE specific search space in the overlapping duration or in the same duration. For example, the terminal device 120 may monitor or receive a PDCCH in the common search space in the overlapping duration or in the same duration based on the TCI state A. In some embodiments, in case of a duration for the UE specific search space is not overlapped with CSS, the terminal device 120 may receive a PDCCH in the UE specific search space in the duration based on the first TCI state (TCI state B as shown in FIG. 7).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bha as modified by Mat to include Gao’s time-domain PDCCH-monitoring arrangement in order to provide more efficient DL/UL beam management with lower latency and overhead for inter-cell scenarios (Gao, [0002] and [0201]).
In regard to claim 17, Gao teaches the UE of claim 16:
Thus, Bha does not expressly teach wherein a rule for the first mode specifies that the UE does not receive the non-UE-dedicated channel of the serving cell if the TCI state is activated for the UE-dedicated channel of the non-serving cell.
Similar to the system of Bha, Gao teaches that a first TCI state, such as TCI state B, may be associated with a physical cell ID different from the serving-cell physical cell ID and activated for receiving a PDCCH in a UE-specific search space during a duration that does not overlap the common search space (Gao, [0178], [0187], and [0201]), which can be seen as, wherein a rule for the first mode specifies that the UE does not receive (Gao, fig. 7, [0154]-[0200], [0201]-[0243]: The Examiner views conditional monitoring behavior in [0201] as the rule for the first mode. When TCI state B is activated for receiving the UE-specific search-space PDCCH associated with the non-serving cell, the UE receives that PDCCH during a duration that does not overlap the common search space, and in turn, does not receive the common-search space PDCCH associated with the serving cell during that duration. [0178] In some embodiments, the second physical cell ID may be a physical cell ID of a serving cell configured for the terminal device 120. In some embodiments, the first physical cell ID may be different from the physical cell ID of the serving-cell. [0201] For example, as shown in FIG. 7, the terminal device 120 may be configured with a second TCI state (for example, TCI state A) to monitor or receive a PDCCH in a common search space. For example, the TCI state A may be associated with the second physical cell ID. In some embodiments, the terminal device 120 may be configured with a first TCI state (for example, TCI state B) to monitor or receive a PDCCH in a UE specific search space. For example, the TCI state B may be associated with the first physical cell ID. In some embodiments, in case of the common search space and the UE specific search space overlap in time domain or in same duration, the terminal device 120 may not monitor or receive the PDCCH in the UE specific search space in the overlapping duration or in the same duration. For example, the terminal device 120 may monitor or receive a PDCCH in the common search space in the overlapping duration or in the same duration based on the TCI state A. In some embodiments, in case of a duration for the UE specific search space is not overlapped with CSS, the terminal device 120 may receive a PDCCH in the UE specific search space in the duration based on the first TCI state (TCI state B as shown in FIG. 7).).
Similar to the system of Bha, Gao teaches a first TCI-state activation command, that activates a TCI state for PDCCH reception in a UE specific search space. Gao also teaches a second TCI-state activation command, that activates a TCI state for a CORESET or common search space (Gao, [0187]-[0188]), which can be seen as, …the non-UE-dedicated channel of the serving cell if the TCI state is activated for the UE-dedicated channel of the non-serving cell (Gao, fig. 7, [0154]-[0200], [0201]-[0243]: The Examiner views command_2, that activates the serving cell TCI state for common search space PDCCH, as the MAC CE for the non UE dedicated channel of the serving cell. The Examiner views command_1, that activates different cell TCI state for the UE specific search space PDCCH, as the MAC CE for the UE-dedicated channel of the non-serving cell. [0178] In some embodiments, the second physical cell ID may be a physical cell ID of a serving cell configured for the terminal device 120. In some embodiments, the first physical cell ID may be different from the physical cell ID of the serving cell. [0187] In some embodiments, there may be a first TCI state activation command (For example, via MAC CE. For example, represented as Command_1), and the Command_1 may be applied to activate TCI state(s) for …PDCCH reception(s) for UE specific search space(s)…. [0188] In some embodiments, there may be a second TCI state activation command (For example, via MAC CE. For example, represented as Command_2), and the Command_2 may be applied to activate TCI state(s) for a CORESET... For example, the second TCI state may be activated based on Command_2. [0201] …TCI state A may be associated with the second physical cell ID. In some embodiments, the terminal device 120 may be configured with a first TCI state (for example, TCI state B) to monitor or receive a PDCCH in a UE specific search space. For example, the TCI state B may be associated with the first physical cell ID. In some embodiments, in case of the common search space and the UE specific search space overlap in time domain or in same duration, the terminal device 120 may not monitor or receive the PDCCH in the UE specific search space in the overlapping duration or in the same duration. For example, the terminal device 120 may monitor or receive a PDCCH in the common search space in the overlapping duration or in the same duration based on the TCI state A. In some embodiments, in case of a duration for the UE specific search space is not overlapped with CSS, the terminal device 120 may receive a PDCCH in the UE specific search space in the duration based on the first TCI state (TCI state B as shown in FIG. 7).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bha to include Gao’s time-domain PDCCH-monitoring arrangement in order to provide more efficient DL/UL beam management with lower latency and overhead for inter-cell scenarios (Gao, [0002] and [0201]).
In regard to claim 18, Gao-Mat teaches the UE of claim 16:
Thus, Bha does not expressly teach the non-UE-dedicated channel of the serving cell using the TCI state that is activated for the UE-dedicated channel of the non-serving cell.
Similar to the system of Bha, Mat teaches applying one MAC-CE-activated common TCI state to multiple downlink channels, which can be seen as, … the non-UE-dedicated channel of the serving cell using the TCI state that is activated for the UE-dedicated channel of the non-serving cell (Mat, fig. 2, fig. 5, fig. 6-9, fig. 11-17, [0050]-[0080], [0130]-[0161], [0162]-[0198]: The Examiner views one MAC-CE activated common TCI state to all downlink channels as encompassing the use of that state by both the serving-cell non-UE-dedicated channel and the non-serving cell UE-dedicated channel.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Bha with Mat to enable Bha’s unified TCI framework to provide RRC-configured common-TCI updates through either UE-specific or group-common PDCCH signaling, in order to support individual and group-based TCI indications while reducing signaling overhead and improving flexibility (Bha, [0052]; Mat [0115], [0153, [0186]-[0188]).
Thus, Bha and Mat do not expressly teach wherein a rule for the first mode specifies that the UE receives …
Similar to the system of Bha and Mat, Gao teaches that a first TCI state, such as TCI state B, may be associated with a physical cell ID different from the serving-cell physical cell ID and may be used to receive a PDCCH in a UE specific search space during a duration that does not overlap the common search space, which can be seen as, teach wherein a rule for the first mode specifies that the UE receives…(Gao, fig. 7, [0154]-[0200], [0201]-[0243]: Examiner views this time-domain alternation as operation in the first mode. [0178] In some embodiments, the second physical cell ID may be a physical cell ID of a serving cell configured for the terminal device 120. In some embodiments, the first physical cell ID may be different from the physical cell ID of the serving-cell. [0201] For example, as shown in FIG. 7, the terminal device 120 may be configured with a second TCI state (for example, TCI state A) to monitor or receive a PDCCH in a common search space. For example, the TCI state A may be associated with the second physical cell ID. In some embodiments, the terminal device 120 may be configured with a first TCI state (for example, TCI state B) to monitor or receive a PDCCH in a UE specific search space. For example, the TCI state B may be associated with the first physical cell ID. In some embodiments, in case of the common search space and the UE specific search space overlap in time domain or in same duration, the terminal device 120 may not monitor or receive the PDCCH in the UE specific search space in the overlapping duration or in the same duration. For example, the terminal device 120 may monitor or receive a PDCCH in the common search space in the overlapping duration or in the same duration based on the TCI state A. In some embodiments, in case of a duration for the UE specific search space is not overlapped with CSS, the terminal device 120 may receive a PDCCH in the UE specific search space in the duration based on the first TCI state (TCI state B as shown in FIG. 7).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bha to include Gao’s time-domain PDCCH-monitoring arrangement in order to provide more efficient DL/UL beam management with lower latency and overhead for inter-cell scenarios (Gao, [0002] and [0201]).
In regard to claim 19, Mat-Gao teaches the UE of claim 16:
Thus, Bha does not expressly teach the UE-dedicated channel of the non-serving cell if the TCI state is activated for the non-UE-dedicated channel of the serving cell.
Similar to the system of Bha, Mat teaches applying a single MAC-CE-activated common TCI state across multiple downlink channels, which can be seen as, … the UE-dedicated channel of the non-serving cell if the TCI state is activated for the non-UE-dedicated channel of the serving cell (Mat, fig. 2, fig. 5, fig. 6-9, fig. 11-17, [0050]-[0080], [0130]-[0161], [0162]-[0198]: Examiner views MAC-CE activation of a common TCI state across multiple downlink channels as activation of the TCI state for the serving-cell non- UE-dedicated channel. [0139] The UE may use the TCI state activated by the MAC CE from the common TCI state pool for the MAC CE level indication for the PDCCH reception and may use the TCI state activated/indicated by the MAC CE/DCI from the common TCI state pool for the DCI level indication for the PDSCH reception. [0142] The TCI state of the PDCCH may be selected from among the TCI states activated by the MAC CE level beam indication in accordance with a rule. [0150] A new DCI format may be used to indicate the TCI state in the common TCI state pool. [0151] The new DCI format may be UE-specific DCI, or a group common PDCCH. One indication may be applied to the all UEs in the group in the group common DCI. A plurality of indications may be applied respectively to a plurality of UEs in the group.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Bha with Mat to enable Bha’s unified TCI framework to provide RRC-configured common-TCI updates through either UE-specific or group-common PDCCH signaling, in order to support individual and group-based TCI indications while reducing signaling overhead and improving flexibility (Bha, [0052]; Mat [0115], [0153, [0186]-[0188]).
Thus, Bha and Mat do not expressly teach wherein a rule for the first mode specifies that the UE does not receive …
Similar to the system of Bha and Mat, Gao teaches that during an overlap between the common and UE-specific search space, the UE may receive the common-search-space PDCCH using TCI state A and not receive the UE-specific-search-space PDCCH associated with the different physical cell ID, which can be seen as, teach wherein a rule for the first mode specifies that the UE does not receive … (Gao, fig. 7, [0154]-[0200], [0201]-[0243]: The Examiner views overlapping-search-space rule as teaching that, when the TCI state is activated for the serving cell non-UE-dedicated, the UE does not receive the non-serving-cell-UE dedicated channel during the overlapping duration. [0178] In some embodiments, the second physical cell ID may be a physical cell ID of a serving cell configured for the terminal device 120. In some embodiments, the first physical cell ID may be different from the physical cell ID of the serving-cell. [0201] For example, as shown in FIG. 7, the terminal device 120 may be configured with a second TCI state (for example, TCI state A) to monitor or receive a PDCCH in a common search space. For example, the TCI state A may be associated with the second physical cell ID. In some embodiments, the terminal device 120 may be configured with a first TCI state (for example, TCI state B) to monitor or receive a PDCCH in a UE specific search space. For example, the TCI state B may be associated with the first physical cell ID. In some embodiments, in case of the common search space and the UE specific search space overlap in time domain or in same duration, the terminal device 120 may not monitor or receive the PDCCH in the UE specific search space in the overlapping duration or in the same duration. For example, the terminal device 120 may monitor or receive a PDCCH in the common search space in the overlapping duration or in the same duration based on the TCI state A. In some embodiments, in case of a duration for the UE specific search space is not overlapped with CSS, the terminal device 120 may receive a PDCCH in the UE specific search space in the duration based on the first TCI state (TCI state B as shown in FIG. 7).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bha to include Gao’s time-domain PDCCH-monitoring arrangement in order to provide more efficient DL/UL beam management with lower latency and overhead for inter-cell scenarios (Gao, [0002] and [0201]).
In regard to claim 20, Mat-Gao teaches the UE of claim 16:
Thus, Bha does not expressly teach the UE receives the UE-dedicated channel of the non-serving cell using the TCI state that is activated for the non-UE-dedicated channel of the serving cell.
Similar to the system of Bha, Mat teaches applying a single MAC-CE-activated common TCI state across multiple downlink channels, which can be seen as, … the UE receives the UE-dedicated channel of the non-serving cell using the TCI state that is activated for the non-UE-dedicated channel of the serving cell (Mat, fig. 2, fig. 5, fig. 6-9, fig. 11-17, [0050]-[0080], [0130]-[0161], [0162]-[0198]: Examiner views MAC-CE activation of a common TCI state across multiple downlink channels as activation of the TCI state for the serving-cell non- UE-dedicated channel. [0139] The UE may use the TCI state activated by the MAC CE from the common TCI state pool for the MAC CE level indication for the PDCCH reception and may use the TCI state activated/indicated by the MAC CE/DCI from the common TCI state pool for the DCI level indication for the PDSCH reception. [0142] The TCI state of the PDCCH may be selected from among the TCI states activated by the MAC CE level beam indication in accordance with a rule. [0150] A new DCI format may be used to indicate the TCI state in the common TCI state pool. [0151] The new DCI format may be UE-specific DCI, or a group common PDCCH. One indication may be applied to the all UEs in the group in the group common DCI. A plurality of indications may be applied respectively to a plurality of UEs in the group.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Bha with Mat to enable Bha’s unified TCI framework to provide RRC-configured common-TCI updates through either UE-specific or group-common PDCCH signaling, in order to support individual and group-based TCI indications while reducing signaling overhead and improving flexibility (Bha, [0052]; Mat [0115], [0153, [0186]-[0188]).
Thus, Bha and Mat do not expressly teach wherein a rule for the first mode specifies that…
Similar to the system of Bha and Mat, Gao teaches that during an overlap between the common and UE-specific search space, the UE may receive the common-search-space PDCCH using TCI state A and not receive the UE-specific-search-space PDCCH associated with the different physical cell ID, which can be seen as, teach wherein a rule for the first mode specifies that… (Gao, fig. 7, [0154]-[0200], [0201]-[0243]: The Examiner views overlapping-search-space rule as teaching that, when the TCI state is activated for the serving cell non-UE-dedicated, the UE does not receive the non-serving-cell-UE dedicated channel during the overlapping duration. [0178] In some embodiments, the second physical cell ID may be a physical cell ID of a serving cell configured for the terminal device 120. In some embodiments, the first physical cell ID may be different from the physical cell ID of the serving-cell. [0201] For example, as shown in FIG. 7, the terminal device 120 may be configured with a second TCI state (for example, TCI state A) to monitor or receive a PDCCH in a common search space. For example, the TCI state A may be associated with the second physical cell ID. In some embodiments, the terminal device 120 may be configured with a first TCI state (for example, TCI state B) to monitor or receive a PDCCH in a UE specific search space. For example, the TCI state B may be associated with the first physical cell ID. In some embodiments, in case of the common search space and the UE specific search space overlap in time domain or in same duration, the terminal device 120 may not monitor or receive the PDCCH in the UE specific search space in the overlapping duration or in the same duration. For example, the terminal device 120 may monitor or receive a PDCCH in the common search space in the overlapping duration or in the same duration based on the TCI state A. In some embodiments, in case of a duration for the UE specific search space is not overlapped with CSS, the terminal device 120 may receive a PDCCH in the UE specific search space in the duration based on the first TCI state (TCI state B as shown in FIG. 7).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bha to include Gao’s time-domain PDCCH-monitoring arrangement in order to provide more efficient DL/UL beam management with lower latency and overhead for inter-cell scenarios (Gao, [0002] and [0201]).
In regard to claim 21, Gao teaches the UE of claim 12:
Thus, Bha does not expressly teach wherein the UE is operating in the second mode, and wherein the TCI state is associated with the serving cell.
Similar to the system of Bha, Gao teaches that the UE may receive, through a MA CE or RRC message, an indication or activation of a first or second TCI state, where second TCI state may be applied to common search space and the first TCI state may be applied to a UE specific search space , which can be seen as, wherein the UE is operating in the second mode, and wherein the TCI state is associated with the serving cell (Gao, fig. 7, [0154]-[0200], [0201]-[0243]: The Examiner views UE-specific search space as the UE-dedicated channel and common search space as the non-UE-dedicated channel. Because Gao uses both search spaces, the Examiner views this arrangement as the second mode. [0178] In some embodiments, the second physical cell ID may be a physical cell ID of a serving cell configured for the terminal device 120. In some embodiments, the first physical cell ID may be different from the physical cell ID of the serving cell. [0220] For example, the second TCI state may be associated with the second physical cell ID. In some embodiments, after the application timing, the first TCI state and the second TCI state may be applicable. For example, the first TCI state may be applied to PDCCH reception(s) in a UE specific search space. For another example, the second TCI state may be applied to PDCCH reception(s) in a common search space.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bha’s UE to include Gao’s TCI-state-controlled PDCCH-monitoring arrangements for the common and UE-specific search spaces to provide flexible inter-cell beam management with reduced latency and monitoring overhead (Gao, [0002] and [0201]).
In regard to claim 22, Bha-Gao teaches the UE of claim 12:
…and wherein the one or more processors, to receive the indication, are configured to cause the UE to receive a first medium access control control element (MAC CE) that activates the TCI state (Bha, fig. 1, fig. 6A-6I, fig. 8, [0013]-[0074], [0075]-[0087]: [0035] The UE receives an activation command, … used to map up to 8 TCI states to the codepoints of the DCI field ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’ …)
Thus, the system of Bha does not expressly teach wherein the UE is operating in the second mode.
Similar to the system of Bha, Gao teaches that the UE may receive, through a MA CE or RRC message, an indication or activation of a first or second TCI state, where second TCI state may be applied to common search space and the first TCI state may be applied to a UE specific search space , which can be seen as, wherein the UE is operating in the second mode (Gao, fig. 7, [0154]-[0200], [0201]-[0243]: The Examiner views UE-specific search space as the UE-dedicated channel and common search space as the non-UE-dedicated channel. Because Gao uses both search spaces, the Examiner views this arrangement as the second mode. [0178] In some embodiments, the second physical cell ID may be a physical cell ID of a serving cell configured for the terminal device 120. In some embodiments, the first physical cell ID may be different from the physical cell ID of the serving cell. [0220] For example, the second TCI state may be associated with the second physical cell ID. In some embodiments, after the application timing, the first TCI state and the second TCI state may be applicable. For example, the first TCI state may be applied to PDCCH reception(s) in a UE specific search space. For another example, the second TCI state may be applied to PDCCH reception(s) in a common search space.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Bha’s UE to include Gao’s TCI-state-controlled PDCCH-monitoring arrangements for the common and UE-specific search spaces to provide flexible inter-cell beam management with reduced latency and monitoring overhead (Gao, [0002] and [0201]).
In regard to claim 23, Bha teaches the UE of claim 22:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to receive a second MAC CE that updates the TCI state (Bha, fig. 1, fig. 6A-6I, fig. 8, [0013]-[0074], [0075]-[0087]: The Examiner views “another MAC CE trigger” as the second MAC CE and views the instruction to use the next TCI state as updating the currently applied TCI state.. [0079] In another embodiment, the duration for which each of the TCI state is applicable for either of DL or UL or both is not indicated by DCI but switching of TCI states is triggered by MAC CE. Basically, a MAC CE can indicate that the following UL and/or DL should use the next TCI state unless it receives another MAC CE trigger.).
In regard to claim 24, Bha teaches the UE of claim 12:
wherein the TCI state is for the UE-dedicated channel of the non-serving cell, and wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE receive to (Bha, [0051] incorporating non-serving cell information associated with TCI; method(s) for DL measurements and UE reporting (e.g. L1-RSRP) associated with non-serving cell(s); UE behavior for reception of signals and non-UE-specific control and data channels associated with non-serving cell(s); UL-related enhancements, e.g. related to RA procedure including TA; beam-level event-driven mechanism for L1/L2-centric inter-cell mobility.):
receive another indication to switch to another TCI state for the non-UE-dedicated channel of the serving cell (Bha, fig. 1, fig. 6A-6I, fig. 8, [0013]-[0074], [0075]-[0087]: [0061] For periodic beam switching, according to a possible embodiment, a UE is configured/indicated by a network (gNB) with N Rx beams to receive DL transmissions and/or M Tx beams to transmit UL transmissions with periodicity of P.sub.rx and P.sub.tx, respectively, when a UE follows a fixed path corresponding to a TRP and repeats upon the fixed path in a periodic manner. Basically, a beam periodicity corresponds to the switching of the same beam after every period that is configured/indicated by gNB. Alternatively, instead of configuring the periodicity of beams, the duration for each of the beams can be configured/indicated to the UE. Furthermore, the sequence or the order of applying the configured/indicated beams for each of the reception and transmission set is either explicitly indicated to the UE or can be implicitly determined by the UE.); and
witch back to the TCI state for the UE-dedicated channel of the non-serving cell upon expiration of a timer (Bha, fig. 1, fig. 6A-6I, fig. 8, [0013]-[0074], [0075]-[0087]: [0039] If the PDSCH is scheduled by a DCI format having the TCI field present, the TCI field in DCI in the scheduling component carrier points to the activated TCI states in the scheduled component carrier or DL BWP, the UE shall use the TCI-State according to the value of the ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’ field in the detected PDCCH with DCI for determining PDSCH antenna port quasi co-location. The UE may assume that the DM-RS ports of PDSCH of a serving cell are quasi co-located with the RS(s) in the TCI state with respect to the QCL type parameter(s) given by the indicated TCI state if the time offset between the reception of the DL DCI and the corresponding PDSCH is equal to or greater than a threshold timeDurationForQCL, where the threshold is based on reported UE capability in TS 38.306. When the UE is configured with a single slot PDSCH, the indicated TCI state should be based on the activated TCI states in the slot with the scheduled PDSCH. When the UE is configured with a multi-slot PDSCH, the indicated TCI state should be based on the activated TCI states in the first slot with the scheduled PDSCH, and UE shall expect the activated TCI states are the same across the slots with the scheduled PDSCH. When the UE is configured with CORESET associated with a search space set for cross-carrier scheduling, and the PDCCH carrying the scheduling DCI and the PDSCH scheduled by that DCI are transmitted on the same carrier, the UE expects tci-PresentInDCI is set as ‘enabled’ or tci-PresentInDCI-ForFormat1_2 is configured for the CORESET, and if one or more of the TCI states configured for the serving cell scheduled by the search space set contains ‘QCL-TypeD’, the UE expects the time offset between the reception of the detected PDCCH in the search space set and the corresponding PDSCH is larger than or equal to the threshold timeDurationForQCL.).
In regard to claim 25, Bha teaches the UE of claim 12:
wherein the TCI state is for the UE-dedicated channel of the non-serving cell, and wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to (Bha, fig. 1, fig. 6A-6I, fig. 8, [0013]-[0074], [0075]-[0087]: [0051] incorporating non-serving cell information associated with TCI; method(s) for DL measurements and UE reporting (e.g. L1-RSRP) associated with non-serving cell(s); UE behavior for reception of signals and non-UE-specific control and data channels associated with non-serving cell(s); UL-related enhancements, e.g. related to RA procedure including TA; beam-level event-driven mechanism for L1/L2-centric inter-cell mobility.):
switch, according to a periodic switching configuration, to another TCI state for the non-UE-dedicated channel of the serving cell (Bha, fig. 1, fig. 6A-6I, fig. 8, [0013]-[0074], [0075]-[0087]:); and
switch back to the TCI state for the UE-dedicated channel of the non-serving cell upon expiration of a timer (Bha, fig. 1, fig. 6A-6I, fig. 8, [0013]-[0074], [0075]-[0087]: [0039] If the PDSCH is scheduled by a DCI format having the TCI field present, the TCI field in DCI in the scheduling component carrier points to the activated TCI states in the scheduled component carrier or DL BWP, the UE shall use the TCI-State according to the value of the ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’ field in the detected PDCCH with DCI for determining PDSCH antenna port quasi co-location. The UE may assume that the DM-RS ports of PDSCH of a serving cell are quasi co-located with the RS(s) in the TCI state with respect to the QCL type parameter(s) given by the indicated TCI state if the time offset between the reception of the DL DCI and the corresponding PDSCH is equal to or greater than a threshold timeDurationForQCL, where the threshold is based on reported UE capability in TS 38.306. When the UE is configured with a single slot PDSCH, the indicated TCI state should be based on the activated TCI states in the slot with the scheduled PDSCH. When the UE is configured with a multi-slot PDSCH, the indicated TCI state should be based on the activated TCI states in the first slot with the scheduled PDSCH, and UE shall expect the activated TCI states are the same across the slots with the scheduled PDSCH. When the UE is configured with CORESET associated with a search space set for cross-carrier scheduling, and the PDCCH carrying the scheduling DCI and the PDSCH scheduled by that DCI are transmitted on the same carrier, the UE expects tci-PresentInDCI is set as ‘enabled’ or tci-PresentInDCI-ForFormat1_2 is configured for the CORESET, and if one or more of the TCI states configured for the serving cell scheduled by the search space set contains ‘QCL-TypeD’, the UE expects the time offset between the reception of the detected PDCCH in the search space set and the corresponding PDSCH is larger than or equal to the threshold timeDurationForQCL.).
In regard to claim 26 and 30, Bha teaches a user equipment (UE) / a network entity for wireless communication comprising:
One or more antennas(Bha, fig. 1, fig. 6A-6I, fig. 8, fig. 10, [0090]-[0115]: [0090] the apparatus can include… at least one antenna port, such as at least one antenna, coupled to the transceiver…); and
one or more processors, and one or more memories that store code for the one or more processors, the one or more processors individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to (Bha, fig. 1, fig. 6A-6I, fig. 8, [0090]-[0115]: [0090]-[0093] discloses an apparatus, such as UE, includes controller and memory; memory may include RAM, ROM, EPROM, flash memory and other memory; software or coding for the disclosed operations may be stored in memory or firmware; controller may comprise a programable processor or processor devices capable of implementing the disclosed embodiments and the operations may be performed using computer-executable by at least one computer processor.):
transmit a UE capability report that indicates a maximum quantity of control resource sets (CORESETs) that the UE is able to support for inter-cell beam management, wherein the maximum quantity of CORESETs includes a first maximum quantity of CORESETs that the UE is able to support for …(Bha, fig. 1, fig. 6A-6I, fig. 8, [0013]-[0074], [0075]-[0087]: Examiner views mapping of the TCI codepoints to a single TCI state and its use of the corresponding QCL information for a monitored CORESET within the serving cell’s active BWP as teaching serving-cell associated TCI arrangement. [0040] Independent of the configuration of tci-PresentInDCI and tci-PresentInDCI-ForFormat1_2 in RRC connected mode, if all the TCI codepoints are mapped to a single TCI state and the offset between the reception of the DL DCI and the corresponding PDSCH is less than the threshold timeDurationForQCL, the UE may assume that the DM-RS ports of PDSCH of a serving cell are quasi co-located with the RS(s) with respect to the QCL parameter(s) used for PDCCH quasi co-location indication of the CORESET associated with a monitored search space with the lowest controlResourceSetId in the latest slot in which one or more CORESETs within the active BWP of the serving cell are monitored by the UE. [0051] Additional components along with the associated alternatives required can be identified for supporting inter-cell mobility can be identified based on the same unified TCI framework as that for intra-cell mobility (including dynamic TCI state update signalling), including: method(s) for incorporating non-serving cell information associated with TCI.);
receive a configuration that indicates one or more CORESETs that do not exceed the maximum quantity of CORESETs (Bha, fig. 1, fig. 6A-6I, fig. 8, [0013]-[0074], [0075]-[0087]: [0040] Independent of the configuration of tci-PresentInDCI and tci-PresentInDCI-ForFormat1_2 in RRC connected mode, if all the TCI codepoints are mapped to a single TCI state and the offset between the reception of the DL DCI and the corresponding PDSCH is less than the threshold timeDurationForQCL, the UE may assume that the DM-RS ports of PDSCH of a serving cell are quasi co-located with the RS(s) with respect to the QCL parameter(s) used for PDCCH quasi co-location indication of the CORESET associated with a monitored search space with the lowest controlResourceSetId in the latest slot in which one or more CORESETs within the active BWP of the serving cell are monitored by the UE. In this case, if the ‘QCL-TypeD’ of the PDSCH DM-RS is different from that of the PDCCH DM-RS with which they overlap in at least one symbol, the UE is expected to prioritize the reception of PDCCH associated with that CORESET. This also applies to the intra-band CA case (when PDSCH and the CORESET are in different component carriers). If none of configured TCI states for the serving cell of scheduled PDSCH contains ‘QCL-TypeD’, the UE shall obtain the other QCL assumptions from the indicated TCI states for its scheduled PDSCH irrespective of the time offset between the reception of the DL DCI and the corresponding PDSCH. If a UE configured by higher layer parameter PDCCH-Config that contains two different values of CORESETPoolIndex in ControlResourceSet, for both cases, when tci-PresentInDCI is set to ‘enabled’ and tci-PresentInDCI is not configured in RRC connected mode, if the offset between the reception of the DL DCI and the corresponding PDSCH is less than the threshold timeDurationForQCL, the UE may assume that the DM-RS ports of PDSCH associated with a value of CORESETPoolIndex of a serving cell are quasi co-located with the RS(s) with respect to the QCL parameter(s) used for PDCCH quasi co-location indication of the CORESET associated with a monitored search space with the lowest CORESET-ID among CORESETs, which are configured with the same value of CORESETPoolIndex as the PDCCH scheduling that PDSCH, in the latest slot in which one or more CORESETs associated with the same value of CORESETPoolIndex as the PDCCH scheduling that PDSCH within the active BWP of the serving cell are monitored by the UE. If the offset between the reception of the DL DCI and the corresponding PDSCH is less than the threshold timeDurationForQCL and at least one configured TCI state for the serving cell of scheduled PDSCH contains the ‘QCL-TypeD’, and at least one TCI codepoint indicates two TCI states, the UE may assume that the DM-RS ports of PDSCH of a serving cell are quasi co-located with the RS(s) with respect to the QCL parameter(s) associated with the TCI states corresponding to the lowest codepoint among the TCI codepoints containing two different TCI states.);
receive an indication of a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state that is activated for the one or more CORESETs (Bha, fig. 1, fig. 6A-6I, fig. 8, [0013]-[0074], [0075]-[0087]: [0035] The UE receives an activation command, … used to map up to 8 TCI states to the codepoints of the DCI field ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’ …[0039] When the UE is configured with a single slot PDSCH, the indicated TCI state should be based on the activated TCI states in the slot with the scheduled PDSCH. When the UE is configured with a multi-slot PDSCH, the indicated TCI state should be based on the activated TCI states in the first slot with the scheduled PDSCH, and UE shall expect the activated TCI states are the same across the slots with the scheduled PDSCH. When the UE is configured with CORESET associated with a search space set for cross-carrier scheduling, and the PDCCH carrying the scheduling DCI and the PDSCH scheduled by that DCI are transmitted on the same carrier, the UE expects tci-PresentInDCI is set as ‘enabled’ or tci-PresentInDCI-ForFormat1_2 is configured for the CORESET, and if one or more of the TCI states configured for the serving cell scheduled by the search space set contains ‘QCL-TypeD’, the UE expects the time offset between the reception of the detected PDCCH in the search space set and the corresponding PDSCH is larger than or equal to the threshold timeDurationForQCL.); and
Thus, the system of Bha does not expressly teach …a non-UE-dedicated search space and a second maximum quantity of CORESETs that the UE is able to support for a UE-dedicated search space; receive a communication on at least one CORESET of the one or more CORESETs using the TCI state.
Similar to the system of Bha, Mat teaches a common/unified TCI-state framework and a common-TCI indication that may be provided through UE-specific DCI or group-common PDCCH, which can be seen as, …an non-UE-dedicated search space and a second maximum quantity of CORESETs that the UE is able to support for a UE-dedicated search space (Mat, fig. 2, fig. 5, fig. 6-9, fig. 11-17, [0050]-[0080], [0146]-[0161]: The Examiner views group common PDCCH as non-UE dedicated communication since the indication is directed to a group of UEs and is not dedicated to one particular UE. UE-specific DCI viewed as UE-dedicated communication. The Examiner also views RRC configuration of the TCI-common-indication as the rule. [0064] According to a unified TCI framework, the UL and DL channels can be controlled by a common framework. In the unified TCI framework, rather than defining the TCI state or the spatial relation per channel, unlike in Rel. 15, a common beam is indicated, and the common beam may be applied to all UL and DL channels, or a common beam for UL may be applied to all UL channels and a common beam for DL may be all DL channels. [0067] In an example in FIG. 1, the RRC configures a plurality of TCI states (joint common TCI state pool) for both DL and UL. Each of the plurality of TCI states may be an SSB, a CSI-RS, or an SRS. The MAC CE may activate some of the plurality of configured TCI states. The DCI may indicate at least one of the plurality of activated TCI states. [0069] The selected TCI state may be applied to the channel/RS for both UL and DL. [0150] A new DCI format may be used to indicate the TCI state in the common TCI state pool. [0151] The new DCI format may be UE-specific DCI, or a group common PDCCH. One indication may be applied to the all UEs in the group in the group common DCI. [0153] Whether or not the new DCI field exists may be configured through RRC signaling.);
Similar to the system of Bha, Mat teaches that the UE uses the beam corresponding to DCI-indicated TCI state #2 for PDSCH reception and PUCCH transmission, which can be seen as, receive a communication on at least one CORESET of the one or more CORESETs using the TCI state (Mat, fig. 2, fig. 5, fig. 6-9, fig. 11-17, [0050]-[0080], [0081]-[0145], [0146]-[0161]: [0120] The DCI field indicating the common beam may be used to indicate the beam for PDSCH/PUCCH/PUSCH. In an example in FIG. 9, the UE receives the DCI and the PDSCH, and transmits the PUCCH, similarly to FIG. 6. The beam used for the PDSCH reception and the PUCCH transmission may be TCI #2.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Bha with Mat to enable Bha’s unified TCI framework to provide RRC-configured common-TCI updates through either UE-specific or group-common PDCCH signaling, in order to support individual and group-based TCI indications while reducing signaling overhead and improving flexibility (Bha, [0052]; Mat [0115], [0153, [0186]-[0188]).
In regard to claim 27 and 31, Bha-Mat teaches the UE / the network entity:
...supported per component carrier or supported among all component carriers (Bha, fig. 1, fig. 6A-6I, fig. 8, [0013]-[0074], [0075]-[0087]: Examiner views application of its unified TCI framework to inter-cell mobility, including incorporating non-serving cell information associated with TCI as teach TCI based communication involving a non-serving cell [0051] Additional components along with the associated alternatives required can be identified for supporting inter-cell mobility can be identified based on the same unified TCI framework as that for intra-cell mobility (including dynamic TCI state update signaling), including: method(s) for incorporating non-serving cell information associated with TCI.).
Thus, the system of Bha does not expressly teach wherein the maximum quantity of CORESETs includes a maximum quantity of CORESETs … or a maximum quantity of CORESETs…
Similar to the system of Bha, Mat teaches that the UE uses the beam corresponding to DCI-indicated TCI state #2 for PDSCH reception and PUCCH transmission, which can be seen as, wherein the maximum quantity of CORESETs includes a maximum quantity of CORESETs … or a maximum quantity of CORESETs…(Mat, fig. 2, fig. 5, fig. 6-9, fig. 11-17, [0050]-[0080], [0146]-[0161]: The Examiner views group common PDCCH as non-UE dedicated communication since the indication is directed to a group of UEs and is not dedicated to one particular UE. UE-specific DCI viewed as UE-dedicated communication. The Examiner also views RRC configuration of the TCI-common-indication as the rule. [0064] According to a unified TCI framework, the UL and DL channels can be controlled by a common framework. In the unified TCI framework, rather than defining the TCI state or the spatial relation per channel, unlike in Rel. 15, a common beam is indicated, and the common beam may be applied to all UL and DL channels, or a common beam for UL may be applied to all UL channels and a common beam for DL may be all DL channels. [0067] In an example in FIG. 1, the RRC configures a plurality of TCI states (joint common TCI state pool) for both DL and UL. Each of the plurality of TCI states may be an SSB, a CSI-RS, or an SRS. The MAC CE may activate some of the plurality of configured TCI states. The DCI may indicate at least one of the plurality of activated TCI states. [0069] The selected TCI state may be applied to the channel/RS for both UL and DL. [0150] A new DCI format may be used to indicate the TCI state in the common TCI state pool. [0151] The new DCI format may be UE-specific DCI, or a group common PDCCH. One indication may be applied to the all UEs in the group in the group common DCI. [0153] Whether or not the new DCI field exists may be configured through RRC signaling.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Bha with Mat to enable Bha’s unified TCI framework to provide RRC-configured common-TCI updates through either UE-specific or group-common PDCCH signaling, in order to support individual and group-based TCI indications while reducing signaling overhead and improving flexibility (Bha, [0052]; Mat [0115], [0153, [0186]-[0188]).
In regard to claim 29 and 32, Bha-Mat teaches the UE / the network entity:
...supported for a serving cell and supported for a non-serving cell(Bha, fig. 1, fig. 6A-6I, fig. 8, [0013]-[0074], [0075]-[0087]: Examiner views application of its unified TCI framework to inter-cell mobility, including incorporating non-serving cell information associated with TCI as teach TCI based communication involving a non-serving cell [0051] Additional components along with the associated alternatives required can be identified for supporting inter-cell mobility can be identified based on the same unified TCI framework as that for intra-cell mobility (including dynamic TCI state update signaling), including: method(s) for incorporating non-serving cell information associated with TCI.).
Similar to the system of Bha, Mat teaches that the UE uses the beam corresponding to DCI-indicated TCI state #2 for PDSCH reception and PUCCH transmission, which can be seen as, wherein the maximum quantity of CORESETs includes a maximum quantity of CORESETs supported for … or a maximum quantity of CORESETs …( Mat, fig. 2, fig. 5, fig. 6-9, fig. 11-17, [0050]-[0080], [0146]-[0161]: The Examiner views group common PDCCH as non-UE dedicated communication since the indication is directed to a group of UEs and is not dedicated to one particular UE. UE-specific DCI viewed as UE-dedicated communication. The Examiner also views RRC configuration of the TCI-common-indication as the rule. [0064] According to a unified TCI framework, the UL and DL channels can be controlled by a common framework. In the unified TCI framework, rather than defining the TCI state or the spatial relation per channel, unlike in Rel. 15, a common beam is indicated, and the common beam may be applied to all UL and DL channels, or a common beam for UL may be applied to all UL channels and a common beam for DL may be all DL channels. [0067] In an example in FIG. 1, the RRC configures a plurality of TCI states (joint common TCI state pool) for both DL and UL. Each of the plurality of TCI states may be an SSB, a CSI-RS, or an SRS. The MAC CE may activate some of the plurality of configured TCI states. The DCI may indicate at least one of the plurality of activated TCI states. [0069] The selected TCI state may be applied to the channel/RS for both UL and DL. [0150] A new DCI format may be used to indicate the TCI state in the common TCI state pool. [0151] The new DCI format may be UE-specific DCI, or a group common PDCCH. One indication may be applied to the all UEs in the group in the group common DCI. [0153] Whether or not the new DCI field exists may be configured through RRC signaling.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Bha with Mat to enable Bha’s unified TCI framework to provide RRC-configured common-TCI updates through either UE-specific or group-common PDCCH signaling, in order to support individual and group-based TCI indications while reducing signaling overhead and improving flexibility (Bha, [0052]; Mat [0115], [0153, [0186]-[0188]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 3, Bha teaches a unified TCI framework for intra-cell and inter-cell mobility (Bha, [0051]). Matsumura teaches using TCI states from a common TCI-state pool for PDCCH and PDSCH reception (Mat, [0139]); however, the prior art of record, including Bhamri et al. (US 20230396307A1) (hereinafter Bha) and Matsumura et al. (US 20230389038A1) (hereinafter Mat), does not teach or suggest, alone or in combination, the claimed rule specifying that the TCI state is shared with the UE-dedicated communication on the physical channel for inter-cell beam management and not for intra-cell beam management.
Regarding claim 4, Bha teaches a unified TCI framework for intra-cell and inter-cell mobility. Matsumura teaches using TCI states from a common TCI-state pool for PDCCH and PDSCH reception; however, the prior art of record, including Bhamri et al. (US 20230396307A1) (hereinafter Bha) and Matsumura et al. (US 20230389038A1) (hereinafter Mat), does not teach or suggest, alone or in combination, the claimed rule specifying that the TCI state is shared with the UE-dedicated communication on the physical channel for intra-cell beam management and not for inter-cell beam management.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang et al. (US-20230309181-A1) abstract discloses a first communication apparatus sends a first signal to a second communication apparatus, where the first signal indicates that the first communication apparatus requests to switch a mode of the first communication apparatus, the mode includes a first mode and a second mode, and there is a correspondence between the mode and a service type of the first communication apparatus. (see fig. 8-11).
/F.L.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2468 /Thomas R Cairns/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468