DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group III, claims 14-19 in the reply filed on December 23, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on December 23, 2025.
Summary
Currently claims 1-13 are withdrawn, resulting in claims 14-19 pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 14-15 and 17-18, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claims 14-15 and 17-18 recites variations of the limitation “pressing the non-woven fiber layer, thereby imposing a natural crimp on the fibers”. The limitation is indefinite because it is unclear what structure is required for a crimp to be “natural”, and if it is possible for a crimp to be natural if it is provided mechanically, as required by the claims.
Claims 16 and 19 recite the limitation “wherein the product is selected from a list comprising … technical applications”. The limitation is indefinite because a technical application is not a product, and the scope of products that would be considered technical application is unclear.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jung (US 2019/0345641).
With respect to claims 14-16, Jung teaches a lyocell fiber prepared in the form of a short staple fiber and used as a nonwoven fibrous aggregate for a mask pack (paragraph [0041]). The lyocell fiber may be crimped (paragraph [0046]).
The limitation “produced in a processing facility including a spinneret for extruding a spinning solution into a coagulation bath which contains a salt and preferably an alkali to produce a fiber tow, the spinning solution comprising cellulose dissolved in an aqueous solvent comprising NaOH and ZnO, the coagulation bath having a pH-value of at least seven, the processing facility further comprising a cutter configured to cut the fiber tow in an undried state into cut fibers; a fleece-forming device configured to suspend the cut fibers and collect them in form of a non-woven fiber layer, and at least one pressing device configured to squeeze the non-woven fiber layer to impose a natural crimp” is a method limitation and does not determine the patentability of the product, unless the method produces a structural feature of the product. The method of forming the product is not germane to the issue of patentability of the product itself, unless Applicant presents evidence from which the Examiner could reasonably conclude that the claimed product differs in kind from those of the prior art. See MPEP § 2113.
Furthermore, there does not appear to be a difference between the prior art structure and the structure resulting from the claimed method because as discussed above, Jung discloses a crimped lyocell fiber in the form of a staple fiber forming a nonwoven fibrous aggregate.
With respect to claims 17-19, Jung teaches a lyocell fiber prepared in the form of a short staple fiber and used as a nonwoven fibrous aggregate for a mask pack (paragraph [0041]). The lyocell fiber may be crimped (paragraph [0046]).
The limitation “produced by a method including extruding a spinning solution into a coagulation bath which contains a salt and preferably an alkali to produce a fiber tow, the spinning solution comprising cellulose dissolved in an aqueous solvent comprising NaOH and ZnO, the coagulation bath having a pH-value of at least seven, the method further comprising the steps of cutting the fiber tow in an undried state into cut fibers; suspending the cut fibers and collecting them in the form of a non-woven fiber layer; and pressing the non-woven fiber layer, thereby imposing a natural crimp on the fibers” is a method limitation and does not determine the patentability of the product, unless the method produces a structural feature of the product. The method of forming the product is not germane to the issue of patentability of the product itself, unless Applicant presents evidence from which the Examiner could reasonably conclude that the claimed product differs in kind from those of the prior art. See MPEP § 2113.
Furthermore, there does not appear to be a difference between the prior art structure and the structure resulting from the claimed method because as discussed above, Jung discloses a crimped lyocell fiber in the form of a staple fiber forming a nonwoven fibrous aggregate.
Alternate Rejection
In the event it is determined the processing facility and the production method provide additional structure to the final product than awarded above the claims are rejected as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stigsson (US 2016/0138200) in view of Hedlund (US 2019/0062950) and Jung (US 2019/0345641).
With respect to claims 14-19, Stigsson teaches a process for preparation of regenerated cellulosic fibers wherein an alkaline solvent is used in dissolving cellulose (paragraph [0001]). Cellulose is dissolved in an alkaline aqueous solvent system comprising sodium hydroxide (NaOH) to form a liquid (spinning dope) (paragraph [0006]). Following spinning of the cellulose the cellulose derivative is coagulated in a coagulation bath to form fibers (paragraph [0006]-[0007]). The coagulation bath includes salts such as sodium carbonate, sodium sulfate, aluminum, and zinc salts, and has a pH of higher than about 6, such as higher than 7, preferably above about 8 or even above 10 (paragraphs [0007]-[0008]). The filaments are thereafter subjected to further treatments such as crimping and cutting (paragraph [0010]).
Stigsson is silent as to the aqueous solvent for the spinning solution comprising ZnO.
Hedlund teaches a process for extruding dissolved cellulose to form cellulose fibers or films (paragraph [0001]). The solution used to dissolve the cellulose comprises aqueous sodium hydroxide (NaOH) and zinc oxide (ZnO) (paragraphs [0025]-[0028]). The zinc oxide is a preferred additive for stabilizing the composition and reducing the risk of unwanted gelation in the spin dope (paragraphs [0058], [0064]).
Since both Stigsson and Hedlund teach dissolving cellulose to form fibers in an aqueous NaOH solution, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the aqueous NaOH spinning dope of Stigsson to include ZnO in order to stabilize the composition and reduce the risk of unwanted gelation.
Stigsson in view of Hedlund is silent as to the fibers being formed into a non-woven layer.
Jung teaches a lyocell fiber prepared in the form of a short staple fiber and used as a nonwoven fibrous aggregate for a mask pack (paragraph [0041]). The lyocell fiber may be crimped (paragraph [0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have collected the regenerated cellulose fibers of Stigsson in view of Hedlund into a nonwoven because it is known in the art that crimped regenerated cellulose staple fibers are suitable for formation of a nonwoven for forming products such as mask packs.
Double Patenting
Claims 14-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 14-19 of copending Application No. 18/292,781 (reference application) in view of Jung (US 2019/0345641). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
With respect to instant claims 14-15, claims 14-15 of ‘781 claims a regenerated cellulosic fiber and a product comprising a regenerated cellulosic fiber, produced in a processing facility for producing regenerated cellulosic fibers including a spinneret for extruding a spinning solution into a coagulation bath which contains a salt and preferably an alkali to produce a fiber tow, the spinning solution comprising cellulose dissolved in an aqueous solvent comprising NaOH and ZnO, the coagulation bath having a pH-value of at least seven, the processing facility further comprising a cutter for cutting the fibers to staple fibers in an undried state.
‘781 is silent as to the cut fibers being crimped and present in a non-woven fiber layer.
Jung teaches a lyocell fiber prepared in the form of a short staple fiber and used as a nonwoven fibrous aggregate for a mask pack (paragraph [0041]). The lyocell fiber may be crimped for suitable entanglement and processability of the nonwoven (paragraph [0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have collected the regenerated cellulose fibers of ‘781 into a nonwoven because it is known in the art that crimped regenerated cellulose staple fibers are suitable for formation of a nonwoven for forming products such as mask packs. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to crimp the staple fibers in order to provide suitable entanglement and processability of the nonwoven.
With respect to instant claim 16, claim 16 of ‘781 claims the product according to claim 15, wherein the product is selected from a list consisting of yarns, fabrics, textiles, home textiles, garments, nonwovens, hygiene products, upholstery, or technical applications.
With respect to instant claims 17-18, claims 17-18 of ‘781 claims a regenerated cellulosic fiber and a product comprising a regenerated cellulosic fiber, produced by a method for producing regenerated cellulosic fibers including extruding a spinning solution into a coagulation bath which contains a salt and preferably an alkali to produce a fiber tow, the spinning solution comprising cellulose dissolved in an aqueous solvent comprising NaOH and ZnO, the coagulation bath having a pH-value of at least seven, the method comprising the steps of cutting the fiber tow to a staple fiber in an undried state.
‘781 is silent as to the cut fibers being crimped and present in a non-woven fiber layer.
Jung teaches a lyocell fiber prepared in the form of a short staple fiber and used as a nonwoven fibrous aggregate for a mask pack (paragraph [0041]). The lyocell fiber may be crimped for suitable entanglement and processability of the nonwoven (paragraph [0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have collected the regenerated cellulose fibers of ‘781 into a nonwoven because it is known in the art that crimped regenerated cellulose staple fibers are suitable for formation of a nonwoven for forming products such as mask packs. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to crimp the staple fibers in order to provide suitable entanglement and processability of the nonwoven.
With respect to instant claim 19, claim 19 of ‘781 claims the product according to claim 18, wherein the product is selected from a list consisting of yarns, fabrics, textiles, home textiles, garments, nonwovens, hygiene products, upholstery, or technical applications.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 14-15 and 17-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13, 15-16, and 18 of copending Application No. 18/694,402 (reference application) in view of Jung (US 2019/0345641). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
With respect to instant claim 14, claim 16 of ‘402 claims a regenerated cellulosic fiber produced in a processing facility for producing regenerated cellulosic fibers comprising: a coagulation bath containing a salt and having a pH-value of at least seven; a spinneret configured to extrude a spinning solution into the coagulation bath to produce fibers, wherein the spinning solution comprises cellulose dissolved in an aqueous solvent.
‘402 is silent as to the fibers being cut, crimped, and present in a non-woven fiber layer.
Jung teaches a lyocell fiber prepared in the form of a short staple fiber and used as a nonwoven fibrous aggregate for a mask pack (paragraph [0041]). The lyocell fiber may be crimped for suitable entanglement and processability of the nonwoven (paragraph [0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have cut and collected the regenerated cellulose fibers of ‘402 into a nonwoven because it is known in the art that crimped regenerated cellulose staple fibers are suitable for formation of a nonwoven for forming products such as mask packs. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to crimp the staple fibers in order to provide suitable entanglement and processability of the nonwoven.
With respect to instant claim 15, claim 18 of ‘402 claims a product made from a regenerated cellulosic fiber produced in a processing facility for producing regenerated cellulosic fibers comprising: a coagulation bath containing a salt and having a pH-value of at least seven; a spinneret configured to extrude a spinning solution into the coagulation bath to produce fibers, wherein the spinning solution comprises cellulose dissolved in an aqueous solvent.
‘402 is silent as to the fibers being cut, crimped, and present in a non-woven fiber layer.
Jung teaches a lyocell fiber prepared in the form of a short staple fiber and used as a nonwoven fibrous aggregate for a mask pack (paragraph [0041]). The lyocell fiber may be crimped for suitable entanglement and processability of the nonwoven (paragraph [0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have cut and collected the regenerated cellulose fibers of ‘402 into a nonwoven because it is known in the art that crimped regenerated cellulose staple fibers are suitable for formation of a nonwoven for forming products such as mask packs. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to crimp the staple fibers in order to provide suitable entanglement and processability of the nonwoven.
With respect to instant claim 17, claim 13 of ‘402 claims a regenerated cellulosic fiber produced by a method comprising the steps of: extruding a spinning solution comprising cellulose dissolved in an aqueous solvent comprising NaOH and ZnO, the coagulation bathe having a pH-value of at least 7.
‘402 is silent as to the fibers being cut, crimped, and present in a non-woven fiber layer.
Jung teaches a lyocell fiber prepared in the form of a short staple fiber and used as a nonwoven fibrous aggregate for a mask pack (paragraph [0041]). The lyocell fiber may be crimped for suitable entanglement and processability of the nonwoven (paragraph [0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have cut and collected the regenerated cellulose fibers of ‘402 into a nonwoven because it is known in the art that crimped regenerated cellulose staple fibers are suitable for formation of a nonwoven for forming products such as mask packs. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to crimp the staple fibers in order to provide suitable entanglement and processability of the nonwoven.
With respect to instant claims 18-19, claim 15 of ‘402 claims a product made from a regenerated cellulosic fiber produced by a method comprising the steps of: extruding a spinning solution comprising cellulose dissolved in an aqueous solvent comprising NaOH and ZnO, the coagulation bathe having a pH-value of at least 7, wherein the product is selected from a list of yarns, fabrics, textiles, home textiles, garments, nonwovens, hygiene products, upholstery, technical applications, filter material, and paper.
‘402 is silent as to the fibers being cut, crimped, and present in a non-woven fiber layer.
Jung teaches a lyocell fiber prepared in the form of a short staple fiber and used as a nonwoven fibrous aggregate for a mask pack (paragraph [0041]). The lyocell fiber may be crimped for suitable entanglement and processability of the nonwoven (paragraph [0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have cut and collected the regenerated cellulose fibers of ‘402 into a nonwoven because it is known in the art that crimped regenerated cellulose staple fibers are suitable for formation of a nonwoven for forming products such as mask packs. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to crimp the staple fibers in order to provide suitable entanglement and processability of the nonwoven.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hagstrom (WO 2020/171767) discloses a process for forming a fiber tow, involving a wet spinning procedure comprising the steps of: dissolving cellulose pulp
in an alkaline aqueous solvent to form a cellulose spin dope composition, spinning the cellulose spin dope composition in a coagulation bath having a pH of more than 7.0, preferably a pH of at least 10, to produce a fiber tow, and passing the produced fiber tow through a sequence of consecutive stretching and washing steps in which the formed fiber tow is washed with a washing liquid by a countercurrent flow washing procedure (abstract).
LARISSA ROWE EMRICH
Examiner
Art Unit 1789
/LARISSA ROWE EMRICH/Examiner, Art Unit 1789