DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 11 and 19, and all the claims (12-18, 20-30) which depend from claims 11 and 19, it is misdescriptive to claim there is only a single joint section (S2) with the separate section (S1, figure 9). The specification discloses that the separate section (S1) is formed between two joint sections (S2).
Therefore, the limitation “to form a separate section and one or more joint sections” is misdescriptive. At least two joint sections must be formed to create the separate section. It is suggested that the limitation be changed to “to form a separate section and at least two joint sections” to correct the problem.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Hatanaka, US 20160258084 A1. Hatanaka discloses a braided watch band (100) comprising a braided band (106). The braided band comprises a first braided band branch (L1, L2, figure 15) and a second braided band branch (L3, L4, figure 15) arranged in a thickness direction. The first braided band branch comprises at least one first webbing layer (L1 or L2). The first webbing layer is arranged in a first band shape in a length direction. The second braided band branch comprises at least one second webbing layer (L3 or L4). The second webbing layer is arranged in a second band shape in the length direction. A first binding yarn (346a) and a second binding yarn (346b) braids (figure 15) the first braided band branch and the second braided band branch to form a separate section (352) and two joint sections (350, 354). In the joint sections, the first binding yarn and the second binding yarn respectively pass through the first braided band branch and the second braided band branch to form an orthogonally locking structure (figure 15). In the separate section (352), the first binding yarn passes through one of the first braided band branch or the second braided band branch (figure 15). The second binding yarn passes through the other of the first braided band branch or the second braided band branch (figure 15). Wherein, one or more portions of the first braided band branch and the second braided band branch at the separate section form a loop (348) to house a pin (340, [0075]).
Regarding claim 17, Hatanaka discloses the webbing layer with a plain pattern (figure 15) identical to the plain pattern show in applicant’s figure 9.
Regarding claim 18, Hatanaka discloses a braided band that has been integrally braided, i.e., it has the same final structure that is implied by the method of forming limitation, “integrally braided”, i.e., the end with the loop has no adhesive or an end link structure, as the term is defined in the applicant’s specification ([0009]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatanaka, US 20160258084 A1 in view of Lui, US 2020/0323316 A. Hatanaka discloses a two-piece watch band with the buckle part of the watch band attached to the braided band with a pin (340) that extends through a loop (348) formed in the separate section (352)of the braided band (figures 14-15). Claim 12 is claiming a one piece braided band as the watch band. The one-piece braided band has a loop formed on each end of the braided band for housing the attachment pin that connects the ends of the band to the watch.
Lui discloses that one piece braided watch bands (50) having attachment pins (110) on each end of the band for connecting to the watch/wearable housing (14) is old and well known.
This type of band provides for a faster method of attaching the watch to the user, i.e., they just slide it over the hand without the need to buckle the band about the wrist of the wearer. Therefore, it would have been obvious, prior to the earliest effective filing date, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to make Hatanaka’s two-piece watch band as a one-piece watch band with attachment loops on each end of the band for receiving the pins for connecting the one-piece band to the watch. This modification makes it quicker for the wearer to place the watch on the wearer’s wrist without the need for connecting a buckle.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatanaka, US 20160258084 A1 in view of Lui, US 2020/0323316 A and further in view of Ikegami, US 4564308. The claim requires that the inner surface of the loop comprise an avoiding hole that avoids a release bar on a spring bar, i.e., connecting pin. Hatanaka discloses a pin (340) provided in the loop for attaching the braided band to a buckle. Hatanaka fails to disclose a spring bar with a release bar extending therefrom for actuating the release of the pin. However, Ikegami discloses that fact that spring bars (7) with release bars (15) are an old and effective mechanism for attaching a strap to a watch.
Ikegami also discloses an avoiding hole (17) in the strap for allow the release bar to pass through the strap for access by the wearer to actuate the spring bar. These type of spring bars make it easier to attach or remove the end of the strap from the watch. Therefore, it would have been obvious, prior to the earliest effective filing date, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Hatanaka’s band/pin connection to have an avoidance hole in the loop of the band for a release bar on a spring bar to provide an easier means of attaching or removing the band from the watch.
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatanaka, US 20160258084 A1 in view of Jones, US 2020/0249634 A1. Hatanaka discloses a two-piece braided band. Whereas, the claim requires a one-piece band connected to the watch with a pin at one end and a tail fixing structure on the other end. The tail fixing structure comprises an interlinked ring structure relative to the watch body to fix the other end of the one-piece band in an adjustable manner to the watch. The tail fixture structure comprises a hook and loop connector (as required by claim 15) for adjusting the length of the band around the wearer’s wrist.
Jones discloses a single-piece band with a loop connection (34) at one end of the band to the watch and a tail fixture having a hook and loop connector (20, 22) on the other end of the band to adjustably connect to the watch. The tail fixture forms an interlinked ring structure relative to the watch (figure 1). This type of band makes for a quicker connection and adjustability of the band about the wearer’s wrist.
Therefore, it would have been obvious, prior to the earliest effective filing date, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to make Hatanaka’s two-piece watch band as a one-piece watch band to provide for a quicker connection and adjustability of the band about the wearer’s wrist.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatanaka, US 20160258084 A1 in view of Ikegami, US 4564308. The claim requires that the inner surface of the loop comprise an avoiding hole that avoids a release bar on a spring bar, i.e., connecting pin. Hatanaka discloses a pin (340) provided in the loop for attaching the braided band to a buckle. Hatanaka fails to disclose a spring bar with a release bar extending therefrom for actuating the release of the pin. However, Ikegami discloses that fact that spring bars (7) with release bars (15) are an old and effective mechanism for attaching a strap to a watch.
Ikegami also discloses an avoiding hole (17) in the strap for allow the release bar to pass through the strap for access by the wearer to actuate the spring bar. These type of spring bars make it easier to attach or remove the end of the strap from the watch. Therefore, it would have been obvious, prior to the earliest effective filing date, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Hatanaka’s band/pin connection to have an avoidance hole in the loop of the band for a release bar on a spring bar to provide an easier means of attaching or removing the band from the watch.
Claims 19, 26 and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guyard, FR 2766587 A1 in view of Hatanaka, US 20160258084 A1.
Regarding claim 19, Guyard discloses a leather watch band (5) having attachment spring pin (8) on the end of the band for connecting to the lugs (3) on the watch housing (2).
Claim 19 requires the use of a spring bar on the ends of a braided band. Wherein, the braided band comprises a very specific structure defining separate sections and joint sections defining holes for housing the spring pins. However, this structure of a braided band is old and well known as disclosed by Hatanaka.
Hatanaka discloses a braided watch band (100) comprising a braided band (106). The braided band comprises a first braided band branch (L1, L2, figure 15) and a second braided band branch (L3, L4, figure 15) arranged in a thickness direction. The first braided band branch comprises at least one first webbing layer (L1 or L2). The first webbing layer is arranged in a first band shape in a length direction. The second braided band branch comprises at least one second webbing layer (L3 or L4). The second webbing layer is arranged in a second band shape in the length direction. A first binding yarn (346a) and a second binding yarn (346b) braids (figure 15) the first braided band branch and the second braided band branch to form a separate section (352) and two joint sections (350, 354). In the joint sections, the first binding yarn and the second binding yarn respectively pass through the first braided band branch and the second braided band branch to form an orthogonally locking structure (figure 15). In the separate section (352), the first binding yarn passes through one of the first braided band branch or the second braided band branch (figure 15). The second binding yarn passes through the other of the first braided band branch or the second braided band branch (figure 15). Wherein, one or more portions of the first braided band branch and the second braided band branch at the separate section form a loop (348) to house a pin (340, [0075]) for attaching to a buckle (108).
Hatanaka’s braided band works equally as well as Guyard’s leather band in positioning and holding the watch to a user’s wrist. Hatanaka’s braided band provides for a different, aesthetically pleasing appearance and comfort to the wearer of the watch. Therefore, it would have been obvious, prior to the earliest effective filing date, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to replace Guyard’s leather band with a braided band to improve the comfort and appearance of the watch.
Regarding claim 26, Guyard discloses an avoiding hole (15) for allowing the release bar (13) to extend through the band (5) from the spring bar (8).
Regarding claim 28, Hatanaka discloses a braided band that has been integrally braided, i.e., it has the same final structure that is implied by the method of forming limitation, “integrally braided”, i.e., the end with the loop has no adhesive or an end link structure, as the term is defined in the applicant’s specification ([0009]).
Regarding claim 29, Hatanaka discloses the webbing layer with a plain pattern (figure 15) identical to the plain pattern show in applicant’s figure 9.
Regarding claim 30, Guyard discloses a release bar (13) that facilitates removal of the spring bar (8) from the watch body (2).
Claims 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guyard, FR 2766587 A1 in view of Hatanaka, US 20160258084 A1 and further in view of Liu, US 2020/0323316 A. Claim 20 requires that each end of the band comprises a loop with a spring bar to connect to the watch housing. Guyard fails to specifically discloses that the leather band is a single piece of leather connected at both ends to the watch housing. However, Lui discloses that one piece braided watch bands (50) having attachment pins (110) on each end of the band for connecting to the watch/wearable housing (14) is old and well known.
This type of band provides for a faster method of attaching the watch to the user, i.e., they just slide it over the hand without the need to buckle the band about the wrist of the wearer. Therefore, it would have been obvious, prior to the earliest effective filing date, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to make Guyard’s watch band as a one-piece watch band with attachment loops on each end of the band for receiving the pins for connecting the one-piece band to the sides of the watch housing. This modification makes it quicker for the wearer to place the watch on the wearer’s wrist without the need for connecting a buckle.
Regarding claim 21, Guyard discloses a release bar (13) that facilitates removal of the spring bar (8) from the watch body (2).
Regarding claim 22, the modification of Guyard would have a braided band with a loop on each end.
Regarding claim 23, Guyard discloses an avoiding hole (15) for allowing the release bar (13) to extend through the band (5) from the spring bar (8).
Claims 24-25 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guyard, FR 2766587 A1 in view of Hatanaka, US 20160258084 A1, and further in view of Jones, US 2020/0249634 A1. Guyard in view of Hatanaka fail to disclose a braided band with a tail fixing structure having an interlinked ring structure.
Claims 24 and 25 require a one-piece band connected to the watch with a pin at one end and a tail fixing structure on the other end. The tail fixing structure comprises an interlinked ring structure relative to the watch body to fix the other end of the one-piece band in an adjustable manner to the watch. The tail fixture structure comprises a hook and loop connector (as required by claim 15) for adjusting the length of the band around the wearer’s wrist.
Jones discloses a single-piece band with a loop connection (34) at one end of the band to the watch and a tail fixture having a hook and loop connector (20, 22) on the other end of the band to adjustably connect to the watch. The tail fixture forms an interlinked ring structure relative to the watch (figure 1). This type of band makes for a quicker connection and adjustability of the band about the wearer’s wrist.
Therefore, it would have been obvious, prior to the earliest effective filing date, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to make Guyard in view of Hatanaka’s two-piece watch band as a one-piece watch band to provide for a quicker connection and adjustability of the band about the wearer’s wrist.
Regarding claim 27, Guyard discloses a spring bar (8) fitted in a loop with two ends (9) of the spring bar pivotally connected to the watch body (2, 3).
JACK W. LAVINDER
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3677
/JACK W LAVINDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3677