DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 10 April 2026. Claims 9, 11, and 13-14 are now pending in the present application and claims 1-8, 10, and 12 are canceled. This office action is made Final.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9, 11, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al. (hereinafter Li) (WO 2021/012137 A1).
Regarding claims 9, 13, and 14, Li discloses a terminal (e.g., UE 115) { (see Figs. 7-9, 11, & 15) } comprising:
a receiver (e.g., UE 115, 1120) that receives a notification including information regarding an application condition of a number of repetitions of uplink channel transmission, and receives a downlink signal { (see pp. 44-45, [0170, 0173]; pg. 2, [0005]; Figs. 7-9, 11, & 15), where the system provides a UE (115) with parameters of a number of repetitions (see pg. 43, [0163]; pg. 46, [0176]; pg. 27, [0112]; pg. 53, [0216]) }; and
a processor (e.g., UE 115, 1140) that determines, based on the information regarding the application condition and a received power (e.g., signal strength) of the downlink signal, the number of repetitions to apply to the uplink channel transmission { (see pg. 53, [0216]); pp. 44-45, [0170, 0173]; pg. 2, [0005]; Figs. 7-9, 11, & 15), where the system provides a UE (115) with parameters of a number of repetitions and a processor (1140) (see pg. 43, [0163]; pg. 46, [0176]; pg. 27, [0112]), and monitors signal strength and signal quality (see pp. 23-24, [0099-0100]; pg. 25, [0103]; pg. 30, [0120]; pg. 31, [0124]) },
wherein the application condition is a range of a reference signal received power (RSRP) of the downlink signal, and when the RSRP of the downlink signal is within the range, the processor determines to apply the number of repetitions to the uplink channel transmission { (see pp. 23-24, [0099-0100]; pg. 25, [0103]; pg. 30, [0120]; pg. 31, [0124]; Figs. 7-9, 11, & 15), monitors signal strength and signal quality (see pg. 53, [0216]); pp. 44-45, [0170, 0173]) }.
Regarding claim 11, Li discloses the terminal according to claim 9, wherein the receiver (e.g., UE 115, 1120) receives the notification by broadcast (e.g., PBCH) or higher layer signaling { (see pg. 30, [0130]; pg. 53, [0216]; Figs. 7-9, 11, & 15) }.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s arguments as the applied reference(s) provide more than adequate support and to further clarify (see the above claims for relevant citations and comments in this section).
Regarding applicant’s argument of claim 9 on pg. 7, 3rd full par., “…fail to disclose determining the number of repetitions of the random access preamble based on a received power of a downlink…”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant has failed to interpret and appreciate the teachings of well-known prior art ??? that clearly discloses the claimed feature(s) as would be clearly recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art.
As a note, applicant statement and orig. spec. discloses is the following:
Note 1: Applicant states “…Support for the amendments can be found in the originally-filed specification, for example at least in claim 10…” without citing any specific paragraphs/figures of orig. spec. as support.
Note 2: The applicant is advised to review the subject matter of the orig. specification (see pg. 52, [0272]), which basically describes “…application condition may be at least one of…received power / reception quality of a specific SSB is equal to or lower than a threshold (for example, the specific SSB…corresponding to the highest received power / reception quality among 65 SSBs)…”.
Note 3: The applicant is advised to review the subject matter of the orig. specification (see pg. 54, [0277]), which clearly states “…application condition may be defined by a range of a value P of an SSB RSRP. Boundary values P_0, P_1, and P_2 may be defined in a specification or may be notified…”.
As a note, applicant admits the following:
Admission #1: Applicant admits “…Li discloses that UE…may receive an indication (e.g., in an SSB) of a number of repetitions for the initial random access preamble and a repetition pattern from the base station…” (see pg. 7, 1st full par., lines 1 et seq.).
Admission #2: Applicant admits “…Li…transmit signals multiple time in different directions for identifying a beam direction for…transmission or reception by the UE…direction which has the best reception quality…” (see pg. 7, 2nd full par.). Therefore, the BS and UE has a feedback operation for determining quality and power control.
In particular, Li discloses the language as related to the claimed feature(s)
wherein the application condition is a range of a reference signal received power (RSRP) of the downlink signal { (see pg. 23, [0098]), where the base station (e.g., 105) transmits reference signals, and the UE receives a SSB and parameters for transmitting repetitions (see pg. 16, lines 1-4 [0077], lines 5-11,16-23 [0078]; pg. 29, lines 5-7 [0116]; pg. 17, [0082, lines 23-27]), and monitors signal strength and signal quality (see pp. 23-24, [0099-0100]; pg. 25, [0103]; pg. 30, [0120]; pg. 53, [0216]); pp. 44-45, [0170, 0173]), }, and
when the RSRP of the downlink signal is within the range, the processor determines to apply the number of repetitions to the uplink channel transmission { (see pp. 23-24, [0099-0100]; pg. 25, [0103]; pg. 30, [0120]; pg. 31, [0124]; Figs. 7-9, 11, & 15), monitors signal strength and signal quality (see pg. 53, [0216]); pp. 44-45, [0170, 0173]), and the base station (e.g., 105) transmits reference signals(see pg. 23, [0098]), and the UE receives a SSB and parameters for transmitting repetitions (see pg. 16, lines 1-4 [0077], lines 5-11,16-23 [0078]; pg. 29, lines 5-7 [0116]; pg. 17, [0082, lines 23-27]) }.
Therefore, as addressed above, the applied reference more than adequately meets the claim limitations.
Regarding applicant’s argument(s) of claims 11 and 13-14, the claims are addressed for the same reasons as set forth above and as applied above in each claim rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yi et al. (US 2023/0074086 A1) discloses repetition of a transport block via a plurality of carriers.
Moroga et al. (US 11,595,997 B2) discloses user terminal, radio base station and radio communication method.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIE J DANIEL JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465
WJD,Jr
26 May 2026