DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/26/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. See MPEP 606.01. The following tittle is suggested:
--Quality monitoring of welding assembly and method--.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it should avoid using phases which can be implied, such as, “This disclosure concerns”, “The disclosure defined by this invention”, “This disclosure describes”, “is disclosed”, “are disclosed”, “the invention relates to” etc. Correction is required. See MPEP 608.01 (b).
In this case, the present Abstract, filed on 01/26/2024, contains the term “The present disclosure is related to” that should avoid.
Claim Objections
Claims 9-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 9: the phrase: "welding a component with a base metal", as cited in line 3, should be changed to --"welding the component with the base metal"--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9-11 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arndt (US 20040079156 A1) in view of Kwan (US 20200278323 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Arndt discloses
A welding assembly (resistance spot welding, Par.0001), comprising:
at least one electrode (welding electrode 31, figs.1a-b) in electrical communication with a power source and configured to run a current through a component (intended use) and a base metal (intended use) to create at least one weld joint between the component (intended use) and the base metal (intended use) [Par.0006cited: “…weld objects…”];
an ultrasonic sensor (oscillating element 32, figs.1a-b) joined with said electrode (welding electrode 31) [Par.0014 cited: “…FIG. 1 a is a sectional drawing through the welding electrode with the sensor mounted thereon…”] and configured to emit ultrasonic waves through the component (intended use) and the at least one weld joint [Par.0009 cited: “…sensor carrier according to the invention has at least one oscillator element that introduces ultrasonic waves into an area to be examined and/or receives the ultrasonic waves coming from the area to be examined…”].
Arndt does not disclose an electronic device configured to generate an acoustic map of the at least one weld joint, the electronic device (generator 14) being configured to compare the acoustic map of the at least one weld joint to at least one predetermined threshold to establish a quality of the weld joint.
Kwan discloses an electronic device (generator 14, fig.1) configured to generate an acoustic map of the at least one weld joint [Par.0008 cited: “…acoustic region of influence (AROI) comprising an acoustic amplitude sensitivity map for a first inspection mode amongst the plurality of inspection modes; and generating, for display, a first image comprising the AROI associated with the first inspection mode for capturing or inspecting the image of the at least one flaw…”], the electronic device (generator 14) being configured to compare the acoustic map of the at least one weld joint to at least one predetermined threshold to establish a quality of the weld joint [Par.0048 cited: “…user can compare TFM acoustic sensitivities for different scan plans and for different acoustic modes…”].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the welding assembly of Arndt, by including an electronic device configured to generate an acoustic map of the at least one weld joint, the electronic device being configured to compare the acoustic map of the at least one weld joint to at least one predetermined threshold, as taught by Kwan, in order to establish a quality of the weld joint.
Regarding claim 2, Arndt discloses
said ultrasonic sensor (oscillating element 32, figs.1a-b) is integral with said at least one electrode (welding electrode 31, figs.1a-b) [Par.0014 cited: “…FIG. 1 a is a sectional drawing through the welding electrode with the sensor mounted thereon…”].
Regarding claim 3, Arndt discloses
said ultrasonic sensor (oscillating element 32, figs.1a-b) is a separate component (intended use) from said at least one electrode (welding electrode 31, figs.1a-b) and is fixedly attached with said at least one electrode (welding electrode 31) [Par.0014 cited: “…FIG. 1 a is a sectional drawing through the welding electrode with the sensor mounted thereon…”].
Regarding claim 9, Arndt discloses
A method (resistance spot welding, Par.0001) of welding a component (intended use) with a base metal (intended use), comprising the steps of:
welding a component (intended use) with a base metal (intended use) to create at least one weld joint using at least one electrode (welding electrode 31, figs.1a-b) [Par.0006cited: “…weld objects…”];
emitting ultrasonic waves from an ultrasonic sensor (oscillating element 32, figs.1a-b) on an electrode (welding electrode 31) and receiving reflections of those ultrasonic waves with the ultrasonic sensor (oscillating element 32) [Par.0009 cited: “…sensor carrier according to the invention has at least one oscillator element that introduces ultrasonic waves into an area to be examined and/or receives the ultrasonic waves coming from the area to be examined…”].
Arndt does not disclose generating an acoustic map based on the reflections of the ultrasonic waves; and analyzing the acoustic map to determine a quality of the at least one weld joint.
Kwan discloses generating an acoustic map based on the reflections of the ultrasonic waves [Par.0008 cited: “…acoustic region of influence (AROI) comprising an acoustic amplitude sensitivity map for a first inspection mode amongst the plurality of inspection modes; and generating, for display, a first image comprising the AROI associated with the first inspection mode for capturing or inspecting the image of the at least one flaw…”]; and analyzing the acoustic map to determine a quality of the at least one weld joint [Par.0048 cited: “…user can compare TFM acoustic sensitivities for different scan plans and for different acoustic modes…”].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the welding method of Arndt, by including the step of generating an acoustic map based on the reflections of the ultrasonic waves; and analyzing the acoustic map to determine a quality of the at least one weld joint, as taught by Kwan, in order to establish a quality of the weld joint.
Regarding claim 10, Arndt discloses
said ultrasonic sensor (oscillating element 32, figs.1a-b) is integral with said at least one electrode (welding electrode 31, figs.1a-b) [Par.0014 cited: “…FIG. 1 a is a sectional drawing through the welding electrode with the sensor mounted thereon…”].
Regarding claim 11, Arndt discloses
said ultrasonic sensor (oscillating element 32, figs.1a-b) is a separate component from said at least one electrode (welding electrode 31, figs.1a-b) and is fixedly attached with said at least one electrode (welding electrode 31) [Par.0014 cited: “…FIG. 1 a is a sectional drawing through the welding electrode with the sensor mounted thereon…”].
Regarding claim 15, Arndt discloses
the welding step is drawn arc stud welding, capacitor discharge welding, or projection welding (resistance spot welding, Par.0001).
Regarding claim 16, Arndt discloses
A welding assembly (resistance spot welding, Par.0001) for welding a component (intended use) with a base metal (intended use), comprising:
at least one electrode (welding electrode 31, figs.1a-b) in electrical communication with a power source and configured to run a current through the component (intended use) and the base metal (intended use) to heat materials of the component and the base metal (intended use) such that at least one weld joint is created between the component and the base metal (intended use) [Par.0006cited: “…weld objects…”];
an ultrasonic sensor (oscillating element 32, figs.1a-b) joined with said electrode (welding electrode 31) [Par.0014 cited: “…FIG. 1 a is a sectional drawing through the welding electrode with the sensor mounted thereon…”] and configured to emit ultrasonic waves through the component (intended use) and the at least one weld joint [Par.0009 cited: “…sensor carrier according to the invention has at least one oscillator element that introduces ultrasonic waves into an area to be examined and/or receives the ultrasonic waves coming from the area to be examined…”].
Arndt does not disclose an electronic device in electronic communication with said ultrasonic sensor and configured to generate an acoustic map of the at least one weld joint and compare at least one parameter of the acoustic map to at least one predetermined threshold to establish a quality of the at least one weld joint.
Kwan discloses an electronic device (generator 14, fig.1) configured to generate an acoustic map of the at least one weld joint [Par.0008 cited: “…acoustic region of influence (AROI) comprising an acoustic amplitude sensitivity map for a first inspection mode amongst the plurality of inspection modes; and generating, for display, a first image comprising the AROI associated with the first inspection mode for capturing or inspecting the image of the at least one flaw…”] and compare at least one parameter of the acoustic map to at least one predetermined threshold to establish a quality of the at least one weld joint [Par.0048 cited: “…user can compare TFM acoustic sensitivities for different scan plans and for different acoustic modes…”].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the welding assembly of Arndt, by including an electronic device configured to generate an acoustic map of the at least one weld joint, the electronic device being configured to compare the acoustic map of the at least one weld joint to at least one predetermined threshold, as taught by Kwan, in order to establish a quality of the weld joint.
Regarding claim 17, Arndt discloses
said ultrasonic sensor (oscillating element 32, figs.1a-b) is integral with said at least one electrode (welding electrode 31, figs.1a-b) [Par.0014 cited: “…FIG. 1 a is a sectional drawing through the welding electrode with the sensor mounted thereon…”].
Regarding claim 18, Arndt discloses
said ultrasonic sensor (oscillating element 32, figs.1a-b) is a separate component from said at least one electrode (welding electrode 31, figs.1a-b) and is fixedly attached with said at least one electrode (welding electrode 31) [Par.0014 cited: “…FIG. 1 a is a sectional drawing through the welding electrode with the sensor mounted thereon…”].
Claims 4-6, 8, 12-14, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arndt (US 20040079156 A1) in view of Kwan (US 20200278323 A1) and further in view of Kondo (US 20160262214 A1).
The modification of Arndt and Kwan disclose substantially all the features a set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose a fastener, a base metal and are made same metal material.
Regarding claim 4, Kondo discloses
the component is a fastener (fastener 10, fig.1).
Regarding claim 5, Kondo discloses
the fastener (fastener 10, fig.1) is pre-formed with a plurality of projections that are configured to melt to form the at least one weld joint [Par.0115 cited: “…After the tip portion 12a of fastener 10 contacts the metal member 42, a welding current flows through the electrode punch 31, fastener 10 and metal member 42, and the tip portion 12a of fastener 10 and metal member 42 are welded together …”].
Regarding claim 6, Kondo discloses
the component (fastener 10, fig.1) and the base metal (metal member 42, fig.1) are made of the same type of metal [Abstract cited: “…joining device for connecting a metal member and a resign member with a metal fastener…”].
Regarding claim 8, Kondo discloses
the component (fastener 10, fig.1) is a metal substrate [Abstract cited: “…metal fastener…”] that is pre-formed with projections [Par.0115 cited: “…After the tip portion 12a of fastener 10 contacts the metal member 42, a welding current flows through the electrode punch 31, fastener 10 and metal member 42, and the tip portion 12a of fastener 10 and metal member 42 are welded together …”].
Regarding claim 12, Kondo discloses
the component is a fastener (fastener 10, fig.1).
Regarding claim 13, Kondo discloses
the fastener (fastener 10, fig.1) is pre-formed with at least one projection that melts during the welding step [Par.0115 cited: “…After the tip portion 12a of fastener 10 contacts the metal member 42, a welding current flows through the electrode punch 31, fastener 10 and metal member 42, and the tip portion 12a of fastener 10 and metal member 42 are welded together …”].
Regarding claim 14, Kondo discloses
the component (fastener 10, fig.1) is a substrate (element 11, fig.1).
Regarding claim 19, Kondo discloses
the component is a fastener (fastener 10, fig.1).
Regarding claim 20, Kondo discloses
the fastener (fastener 10, fig.1) is pre-formed with a plurality of projections that are configured to melt to form the at least one weld joint [Par.0115 cited: “…After the tip portion 12a of fastener 10 contacts the metal member 42, a welding current flows through the electrode punch 31, fastener 10 and metal member 42, and the tip portion 12a of fastener 10 and metal member 42 are welded together …”].
Regarding claim 21, Kondo discloses
the component (fastener 10, fig.1) is a metal substrate [Abstract cited: “…metal fastener…”] that is pre-formed with projections [Par.0115 cited: “…After the tip portion 12a of fastener 10 contacts the metal member 42, a welding current flows through the electrode punch 31, fastener 10 and metal member 42, and the tip portion 12a of fastener 10 and metal member 42 are welded together …”].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to replace welding objects of Arndt, by using a fastener, a base metal and are made same metal material, as taught by Kondo, as it well known in the art of intended use purpose, in order suitable for the user application.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Spinella et al. (US 20150001189 A1) is considered as relevant prior art in field of resistance welding fastener, as shown in fig.4, with a fastener and at least one electrode, but does not disclose an ultrasonic sensor, and an electronic device…
/PHUONG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761
07/09/2026