DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 01/26/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 7, 8, and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 states “Peer Trafffic Indication”, which is a misspelling of “traffic”.
Claims 7, 8, and 21 state anagrams (ie. “PTI”, “TPU”). These anagrams should be spelled out, like shown in the other claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 6, 10, 13, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chu et al. (“Chu”) [PGPUB 2021/0211871].
Regarding claim 1, the Chu reference discloses a multi-link communication method, comprising: determining a first message frame on one link of multiple links [Chu; figures 1 and 5A; paragraphs 0046 and 0069-0071],
wherein the first message frame comprises identification information for indicating that data is buffered for a device in a sleep state on at least one link of the multiple links [“for indicating” is intended use of the identification information; ie. frame contains another link information indicating Unscheduled Automatic Power Save Delivery (U-APSD) for a sleep STA (“buffered frames for a device in a sleep state”); Chu; fig 5A and 6; para 0056 and 0076-0079], and
a Tunneled Direct Link Setup (TDLS) function is supported on the at least one link [Chu; para 0069, 0073, and 0076]; and
sending the first message frame [ie. “a frame transmitted on a first link among the multiple links”; Chu; fig 8; para 0056, 0059, and 0079-0080].
Regarding claim 5, the Chu reference further discloses at least one of: sending a second message frame; or receiving a third message frame, wherein at least one of the second message frame and the third message frame comprises information identifying support for a multi-link communication [ie. response message frame; Chu; fig 8; para 0046-0048].
Regarding claim 6, the Chu reference discloses a multi-link communication method, comprising: receiving a first message frame on one link of multiple links, wherein the first message frame comprises identification information for indicating that data is buffered for a device in a sleep state on at least one link of the multiple links, and a Tunneled Direct Link Setup (TDLS) function is supported on the at least one link [“for indicating” is intended use of the identification information; ie. frame contains another link information indicating Unscheduled Automatic Power Save Delivery (U-APSD) for a sleep STA (“buffered frames for a device in a sleep state”); Chu; fig 5A and 6; para 0056, 0069, 0073, and 0076-0079]; and performing a communication operation based on the first message frame [ie. responding to the first message frame (“communication operation”); Chu; para 0046-0048].
Regarding claim 10, the Chu reference further discloses at least one of: sending a second message frame; or receiving a third message frame, wherein at least one of the second message frame and the third message frame comprises information identifying support for a multi-link communication [ie. response message frame; Chu; fig 8; para 0046-0048].
Regarding claims 13, 18, and 19, the apparatus of claims 13, 18, and 19 perform the similar steps as the method of claims 1, 5, and 6. The Chu reference teaches the method of claims 1, 5, and 6, as referenced above. The additional limitations of an “electronic device”, a “memory”, and a “processor” are rejected with the citation of paragraphs 0043 and 0086 of Chu. Therefore, claims 13, 18, and 19 are rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above in the rejection of claims 1, 5, and 6, by the teachings of Chu.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 7, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu in view of Seok [PGPUB 2011/0188429] and Li et al. (“LI”) [PGPUB 2016/0100443].
Regarding claim 2, the Chu reference discloses the identification information comprises a Peer Traffic Indication (PTI) information element [ie. “TDLS peer traffic indication of one link”; Chu; para 0079-0080]. Also, the Chu reference discloses BSSID, traffic ID, and packet number [Chu; para 0062 and 0072-0073] but does not specifically disclose “the PTI information element comprises: a basic service set identifier or link identification corresponding to each link of the at least one link, a transmission identifier, and sequence number control information; and the transmission identifier indicates a traffic buffered for the device in the sleep state on a respective link”.
However, in the same field of endeavor, the Seok reference discloses a Peer Traffic Indication (PTI) information element comprises: a transmission identifier, sequence number control information and the transmission identifier indicates a traffic buffered for the device in the sleep state on a respective link [Seok; abstract; fig 2 and 4; para 0012-0013, 0027, 0030, and 0089]. The Chu and Seok references are analogous art, since they have similar problem solving area in being able to support a tunneled direct link setup (TDLS) in a WLAN system. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of more specific data within the PTI, taught by Seok, into the system, taught by Chu. The motivation for doing so would have been to have multiple element identifications within one element (PTI), in order to reduce data being transferred.
The combination of Chu-Seok does not specifically disclose the “PTI information element comprises: a basic service set identifier or link identification corresponding to each link of the at least one link”.
However, in the same field of endeavor, the Li reference discloses the PTI information element comprises: a basic service set identifier or link identification corresponding to each link of the at least one link [Li; Table 1; para 0008-0009]. The Chu-Seok and Li references are analogous art, since they have similar problem solving area in being able to manage device to device transmission. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of BSSID, taught by Li, into the system, taught by Chu-Seok. The motivation for doing so would have been to have indicating which TDLS link.
Regarding claim 7, the Chu reference discloses the identification information comprises a Peer Traffic Indication (PTI) information element [ie. “TDLS peer traffic indication of one link”; Chu; para 0079-0080]. Also, the Chu reference discloses BSSID, traffic ID, and packet number [Chu; para 0062 and 0072-0073] but does not specifically disclose “the PTI information element comprises: a basic service set identifier or link identification corresponding to each link of the at least one link, a transmission identifier, and sequence number control information; and the transmission identifier indicates a traffic buffered for the device in the sleep state on a respective link”.
However, in the same field of endeavor, the Seok reference discloses a Peer Traffic Indication (PTI) information element comprises: a transmission identifier, sequence number control information and the transmission identifier indicates a traffic buffered for the device in the sleep state on a respective link [Seok; abstract; fig 2 and 4; para 0012-0013, 0027, 0030, and 0089]. The Chu and Seok references are analogous art, since they have similar problem solving area in being able to support a tunneled direct link setup (TDLS) in a WLAN system. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of more specific data within the PTI, taught by Seok, into the system, taught by Chu. The motivation for doing so would have been to have multiple element identifications within one element (PTI), in order to reduce data being transferred.
The combination of Chu-Seok does not specifically disclose the “PTI information element comprises: a basic service set identifier or link identification corresponding to each link of the at least one link”.
However, in the same field of endeavor, the Li reference discloses the PTI information element comprises: a basic service set identifier or link identification corresponding to each link of the at least one link [Li; Table 1; para 0008-0009]. The Chu-Seok and Li references are analogous art, since they have similar problem solving area in being able to manage device to device transmission. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of BSSID, taught by Li, into the system, taught by Chu-Seok. The motivation for doing so would have been to have indicating which TDLS link.
Regarding claim 15, the apparatus of claim 15 performs the similar steps as the method of claims 1 and 5. The Chu reference teaches the method of claim 2, as referenced above. The additional limitations of an “electronic device”, a “memory”, and a “processor” are rejected with the citation of paragraphs 0043 and 0086 of Chu. Therefore, claims 13 and 18 are rejected using the same art and rationale set forth above in the rejection of claim 15, by the teachings of Chu-Seok-Li.
Claims 3, 4, 8, 9, 16, 17, 20, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu in view of Li et al. (“LI”) [PGPUB 2016/0100443].
Regarding claim 3, the Chu reference further discloses the identification information comprises a TDLS Peer U-APSD (TPU) information element [Chu; para 0078] but does not specifically disclose “the TPU information element comprises: a basic service set identifier or link identification corresponding to each link of the at least one link, and TPU buffer status information, and the TPU buffer status information indicates buffer statuses for traffics of different access categories on a respective link”.
However, in the same field of endeavor, the Li reference discloses the TPU information element comprises: a basic service set identifier or link identification corresponding to each link of the at least one link, and TPU buffer status information, and the TPU buffer status information indicates buffer statuses for traffics of different access categories on a respective link [Li; Table 1; para 0008-0009]. The Chu and Li references are analogous art, since they have similar problem solving area in being able to manage device to device transmission. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of TPU buffer status, taught by Li, into the system, taught by Chu. The motivation for doing so would have been to have been to have the receiving device know the status of buffering.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Chu-Li further discloses each basic service set identifier indicates an identifier of a basic service set to which an access point on a respective link belongs [Chu; para 0062] [Li; Table 1; para 0003 and 0008-0009].
Regarding claim 8, the Chu reference further discloses the identification information comprises a TDLS Peer U-APSD (TPU) information element [Chu; para 0078] but does not specifically disclose “the TPU information element comprises: a basic service set identifier or link identification corresponding to each link of the at least one link, and TPU buffer status information, and the TPU buffer status information indicates buffer statuses for traffics of different access categories on a respective link”.
However, in the same field of endeavor, the Li reference discloses the TPU information element comprises: a basic service set identifier or link identification corresponding to each link of the at least one link, and TPU buffer status information, and the TPU buffer status information indicates buffer statuses for traffics of different access categories on a respective link [Li; Table 1; para 0008-0009]. The Chu and Li references are analogous art, since they have similar problem solving area in being able to manage device to device transmission. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of TPU buffer status, taught by Li, into the system, taught by Chu. The motivation for doing so would have been to have been to have the receiving device know the status of buffering.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Chu-Li further discloses each basic service set identifier indicates an identifier of a basic service set to which an access point on a respective link belongs [Chu; para 0062] [Li; Table 1; para 0003 and 0008-0009].
Regarding claim 16, the Chu reference further discloses the identification information comprises a TDLS Peer U-APSD (TPU) information element [Chu; para 0078] but does not specifically disclose “the TPU information element comprises: a basic service set identifier or link identification corresponding to each link of the at least one link, and TPU buffer status information, and the TPU buffer status information indicates buffer statuses for traffics of different access categories on a respective link”.
However, in the same field of endeavor, the Li reference discloses the TPU information element comprises: a basic service set identifier or link identification corresponding to each link of the at least one link, and TPU buffer status information, and the TPU buffer status information indicates buffer statuses for traffics of different access categories on a respective link [Li; Table 1; para 0008-0009]. The Chu and Li references are analogous art, since they have similar problem solving area in being able to manage device to device transmission. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of TPU buffer status, taught by Li, into the system, taught by Chu. The motivation for doing so would have been to have been to have the receiving device know the status of buffering.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Chu-Li further discloses each basic service set identifier indicates an identifier of a basic service set to which an access point on a respective link belongs [Chu; para 0062] [Li; Table 1; para 0003 and 0008-0009].
Regarding claim 20, the Chu reference further discloses the identification information comprises a TDLS Peer U-APSD (TPU) information element [Chu; para 0078] but does not specifically disclose “the TPU information element comprises: a basic service set identifier or link identification corresponding to each link of the at least one link, and TPU buffer status information, and the TPU buffer status information indicates buffer statuses for traffics of different access categories on a respective link”.
However, in the same field of endeavor, the Li reference discloses the TPU information element comprises: a basic service set identifier or link identification corresponding to each link of the at least one link, and TPU buffer status information, and the TPU buffer status information indicates buffer statuses for traffics of different access categories on a respective link [Li; Table 1; para 0008-0009]. The Chu and Li references are analogous art, since they have similar problem solving area in being able to manage device to device transmission. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of TPU buffer status, taught by Li, into the system, taught by Chu. The motivation for doing so would have been to have been to have the receiving device know the status of buffering.
Regarding claim 21, the Chu reference further discloses the identification information comprises a TDLS Peer U-APSD (TPU) information element [Chu; para 0078] but does not specifically disclose “the TPU information element comprises: a basic service set identifier or link identification corresponding to each link of the at least one link, and TPU buffer status information, and the TPU buffer status information indicates buffer statuses for traffics of different access categories on a respective link”.
However, in the same field of endeavor, the Li reference discloses the TPU information element comprises: a basic service set identifier or link identification corresponding to each link of the at least one link, and TPU buffer status information, and the TPU buffer status information indicates buffer statuses for traffics of different access categories on a respective link [Li; Table 1; para 0008-0009]. The Chu and Li references are analogous art, since they have similar problem solving area in being able to manage device to device transmission. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of TPU buffer status, taught by Li, into the system, taught by Chu. The motivation for doing so would have been to have been to have the receiving device know the status of buffering.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dwivedi et al. [PGPUB 2012/0051240] describes TDLS with buffering data for a wireless station that is in sleep state.
Huang et al. [PGPUB 2025/0317997] describes setting up Tunneled direct link setup (TDLS).
Fischer et al. [USPAT 12,526,755] describes synchronous multi-link devices (SMLD).
Grandhi et al. [PGPUB 2011/0069689] describes peer-to-peer communication frames with TDLS.
/JASON D CARDONE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2458