DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 01-26-2024 and 08-20-2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2002-110216 A hereinafter Okita in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2006/0127750 hereinafter Okada.
Regarding Claim 1, Okita teaches a secondary battery comprising: a positive electrode [41]; a negative electrode [43]; a separator [42] disposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode; an electrolyte that includes a lithium salt (i.e., electrolyte having lithium-ion conductivity); and a mesh (spacer) [61 or 62] disposed between the negative electrode and the separator, wherein the mesh (spacer) is made of woven wire or resin sheet having a plurality of spot-like projection portions (paragraphs 30-35, see annotated figure 10 below).
Okita does not specifically disclose that lithium metal deposits on the negative electrode during charging, and the lithium metal dissolves from the negative electrode during discharging.
However, Okada teaches a lithium secondary battery that comprises a cathode (positive electrode), an anode (negative electrode), a separator disposed between the cathode and the anode, wherein the lithium secondary battery is characterized in that lithium ions move back and forth between the cathode and anode during charge and discharge by dissolution into the electrolyte and deposition on the anode of metal lithium (paragraph 48). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form such battery structure using metal lithium as the anode material before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because Okada discloses that such configuration can form a battery with improved performance and charge/discharge cycle characteristics (paragraph 52).
Regarding Claim 2, Okita teaches that the mesh (spacer) [61 or 62] has plurality of spot-like projection portions disposed at an equal interval in a short direction of the negative electrode having a strip shape and plurality of the projected portion groups that arranged at an equal interval in a longitudinal direction of the negative electrode, wherein in the short direction the projected portion groups next to each other are offset (see figure 10 above).
Regarding Claim 3, Okita teaches that the projected portion groups next to each other are formed to be offset (see figure 10 above).
Regarding Claim 4, Okita teaches that the mesh (spacer) [61 or 62] is formed to be 30 x 50 mm and 100 µm thick (paragraph 40).
Regarding Claims 5-8, Okita teaches that the mesh (spacer) is made of resin sheet having a plurality of spot-like projection portions (see figure 10 above) and with regards to the design of the projection portions and size of the of the spacer, MPEP § 2143, E teaches that the rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that "a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103."KSR, 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397.
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2011-008929 A hereinafter Kaneda in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2006/0127750 hereinafter Okada.
Regarding Claim 1, Kaneda teaches a secondary battery comprising: a positive electrode [14]; a negative electrode [24]; a separator [31] disposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode; an electrolyte that includes a lithium salt (i.e., electrolyte having lithium-ion conductivity); and a spacer [10] disposed between the negative electrode and the separator, wherein the spacer is made of a porous resin sheet (i.e., resin sheet having a plurality of spot-like projection portions) (paragraphs 29, 33, see annotated figure 1 below).
Kaneda does not specifically disclose that lithium metal deposits on the negative electrode during charging, and the lithium metal dissolves from the negative electrode during discharging.
However, Okada teaches a lithium secondary battery that comprises a cathode (positive electrode), an anode (negative electrode), a separator disposed between the cathode and the anode, wherein the lithium secondary battery is characterized in that lithium ions move back and forth between the cathode and anode during charge and discharge by dissolution into the electrolyte and deposition on the anode of metal lithium (paragraph 48). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form such battery structure using metal lithium as the anode material before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because Okada discloses that such configuration can form a battery with improved performance and charge/discharge cycle characteristics (paragraph 52).
Conclusion
/OSEI K AMPONSAH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752