DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
By way of the amendment filed 2/26/2026; claims 1-20 and 29 are cancelled, claims 21, 22, 25, 26, 28, and 30 are amended, claims 23, 24, and 27 were previously presented, and claims 31 is withdrawn and amended, and claims 32-40 are withdrawn.
Claim Objections
The previous objections are withdrawn due to the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The previous rejections under this heading are withdrawn due to the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 22, 25, 27, 28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gold (U.S. PGPub 2018/0369912), as evidenced by Wagner et al (U.S. PGPub 2002/0160620; herein Wagner), in view of Maidin et al (Effect of Vacuum Assisted Fused Deposition Modeling on 3D Printed ABS Microstructure; already of record, herein Maidin). Regarding claim 21:
Gold teaches most of the method of claim 21 in the Abstract and paragraphs 0007, 0023, 0031, 0034, 0036, 0037, 0046, 0071, and 0071. Gold teaches (a) fusing at least a portion of a given layer of build material to form at least one fused region; (b) providing a subsequent layer of build material; (c) repeating steps (a) and (b) until the object is formed; and (d) at least one step of depositing a second material by chemical vapor deposition during or after forming the object. The layer material can be a polymer, and the apparatus used has a vacuum source. The layers can be made via fused filament fabrication. Gold teaches using PLCVD or UHVCVD, and as evidenced by Wagner (paragraphs 0012 and 0030), such CVD processing occurs at under 1 mbar.
Gold does not teach that the apparatus used for the fused filament fabrication is completely or partially within a vacuum chamber. In the same field of endeavor Maidin teaches printing ABS filaments in vacuum (Methodology, page 4879), and that printing in vacuum increased the bonding strength between layers (Conclusion, page 4880).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to filament print in a vacuum chamber as taught by Maidin, since it increases the bonding strength between layers.
Regarding claim 22:
Gold teaches the coating material can be a metal (paragraph 30. Metal is inorganic, thermally conductive, and electrically conductive.
Regarding claim 25:
Gold, as evidenced by Wagner (paragraph 0030), teaches UDVCVD, which occurs at 1x10-2 mbar or less.
Regarding claim 27:
Due to the breadth of the phrase “reactive coating”, Gold teaches claim 27 in paragraph 0030, since the gas used creates coatings that can react, such as most of the metals listed will readily form oxides.
Regarding claim 28:
Gold is silent to the polymer used.
In the same field of endeavor Maidin teaches printing ABS filaments in vacuum (Methodology, page 4879), and that printing in vacuum increased the bonding strength between layers (Conclusion, page 4880). ABS is an engineering polymer as stated by the Applicant in paragraph 0019 of the specification.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use ABS, since selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claim 29:
Gold teaches using fused deposition modeling (paragraph 0071), which is seen as the claimed fused filament fabrication.
Regarding claim 30:
As previously discussed Gold teaches iteratively forming the polymer layers.
Claims 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gold and Maidin, as applied above and in further view of Shetty et al (U.S. PGPub 2020/0276019; herein Shetty, already of record). Regarding claim 23:
Gold teaches coating in materials that are one or both osseointegrative and antibacterial in paragraph 0030. However, Gold does not state that the final product is a medical implant.
In the same field of endeavor Shetty teaches that medical implants can be printed and CVD coated (e.g. paragraphs 0007 and 0031).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to create a medical implant, based on the processing capabilities of Gold, since it has been shown that 3D printing and CVD coating can create medical implants, such a design choice is seen as obvious since the shape of a final object is obvious (MPEP 2144.04 IV B). In this case the art shows that implants can be made via printing and CVD coating, thus Gold would be capable of printing and coating a shape that is a medical implant.
Regarding claim 24:
Gold teaches CVD, but not PVD. In the same field of endeavor Shetty teaches that one can use either PVD or CVD for the same purpose (paragraph 0031).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use PVD since the art has shown PVD and CVD to be equivalents for the same purpose (See MPEP 2144.06 II)
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gold and Maidin, as applied above and in further view of Cheng et al (Surface functionalization of 3D-printed plastics via initiated chemical vapor deposition; herein Cheng, already of record). Regarding claim 26:
Gold teaches filament printing and CVD coating, but does not expressly state that the coating would be on all the exposed surfaces.
In the same field of endeavor Cheng teaches printing (at standard pressure) and then iCVD coating the printed part (e.g. Experimental, pages 1634-1635). Cheng also teaches that the iCVD processing creates a conformal coating (page 1630, right column, lines 3-6), this means exposed surfaces will be coated.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use iCVD coating, since it is a conformal coating over the entire exposed surface.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 2/26/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TIMOTHY KENNEDY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743