Specification
The specification and drawings have been reviewed and no clear informalities or objections have been noted.
Double Patenting
Claims 6-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 6-10 of copending Application No. 18/292737 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed to near identical metallic plates that are utilized in batteries. The difference between the reference applicant and the instant application is merely a mode of using the claimed plate (cover vs cooling plate) and one of ordinary skill in the art, given the corrosion benefits of the instantly claimed plate, would have been motivated to utilize the plate in other areas of the battery, including the cover to prevent corrosion.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi (US 2004/0018316).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Choi discloses a cooling system of battery pack comprising (this preamble is directed to an intended use of the claimed apparatus and does not further limit the claim, see MPEP §2111.02):
a metallic coated steel sheet including a steel sheet and a metallic coating, the metallic coating being based on aluminum (see abstract which discloses a steel sheet coated in an aluminum alloy comprising silicon) and including optionally silicon and unavoidable impurities (these italicized limitations, along with all limitations of claim 7, are optional and therefore do not further limit the claim).
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang (KR 20140025001 A with references made to the machine translation).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Yang discloses a cooling system of battery pack comprising (this preamble is directed to an intended use of the claimed apparatus and does not further limit the claim, see MPEP §2111.02):
a metallic coated steel sheet including a steel sheet and a metallic coating, the metallic coating being based on aluminum (see abstract which discloses a steel sheet coated in an aluminum alloy comprising silicon) and including optionally silicon and unavoidable impurities (these italicized limitations, along with all limitations of claim 7, are optional and therefore do not further limit the claim).
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ArcelorMittal (Leaflet published 01/2018, http://amiresources.arcelormittal.com/strapidata/uploads/Alusi_leaflet_EN_6b663fc682.pdf).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, ArcelorMittal discloses a cooling system of battery pack comprising (this preamble is directed to an intended use of the claimed apparatus and does not further limit the claim, see MPEP §2111.02):
a metallic coated steel sheet including a steel sheet and a metallic coating, the metallic coating being based on aluminum (see leaflet intro which discloses a steel sheet coated in an aluminum alloy comprising silicon) and including optionally silicon and unavoidable impurities (these italicized limitations, along with all limitations of claim 7, are optional and therefore do not further limit the claim).
Regarding claim 8, ArcelorMittal further discloses the metallic coating has a coating thickness of 10 to 40 μm on a side in contact with a liquid coolant (see 2nd page of leaflet on the right-hand side which discloses several thicknesses of the coating that fall within this range).
Regarding claim 9, ArcelorMittal further discloses the metallic coated steel sheet has a coating weight of 50 to 200 g/m.sup.2 in total on both sides (see 2nd page of leaflet on the right-hand side which discloses several coating weights that fall within this range).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (KR 20140025001 A with references made to the machine translation).
Regarding claim 8, Yang further discloses the metallic coating has a coating thickness of the coating is between 3-10 microns on a side in contact with a liquid coolant (such a feature is directed toward a manner of operating the claimed steel sheet and does not further limit the claimed apparatus). This disclosure is not identical to the claimed range, but it does overlap the claimed range of 10-40 microns. As such, arriving at the claimed range would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP §2144.05(I)).
Regarding limitations recited in claim 8 which are directed to a manner of operating disclosed system, neither the manner of operating a disclosed device nor material or article worked upon further limit an apparatus claim (in this case, stating that steel plate is in contact with a liquid does not further define the claimed steel plate but rather discloses a material that is worked upon by the steel plate). Said limitations do not differentiate apparatus claims from prior art. See MPEP §2114 and 2115. Further, process limitations do not have a patentable weight in an apparatus claim. See Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969) that states "Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and to an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 2004/0018316).
Regarding claim 9, Choi does not explicitly teach the claimed range of the coating weight on both sides, but does teach hot dipping the plate, which will coat the steel plate on both sides and teaches a coating weight (20-300 g/m-2, see paragraph 26) which overlaps the claimed range. As such, arriving at the claimed range would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP §2144.05(I)).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 2004/0018316) in view of Weber (US 2011/016820).
Regarding claim 10, Choi teaches a coated steel sheet that exhibits excellent corrosion resistance in high temperature service (see abstract). Choi, however, does not teach a battery pack which includes the aluminum coated plate.
Weber also discloses a steel coated sheet (paragraph 24).
Weber teaches utilizing the coated steel as a cooling plate due to its corrosion resistance (see paragraph 24).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the coated steel sheet of Choi with the battery pack cooling plate of Weber in order to take advantage of the corrosion resistance of Choi in a battery pack.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by ArcelorMittal (Leaflet published 01/2018, http://amiresources.arcelormittal.com/strapidata/uploads/Alusi_leaflet_EN_6b663fc682.pdf) in view of Weber (US 2011/016820).
Regarding claim 10, ArcelorMittal teaches a coated steel sheet that exhibits excellent corrosion resistance in high temperature service (see leaflet) and teaches utilizing the coated plate in heat exchange service (see bottom of 2nd page). ArcelorMittal, however, does not teach a battery pack which includes the aluminum coated plate.
Weber also discloses a steel coated sheet (paragraph 24).
Weber teaches utilizing the coated steel as a cooling plate due to its corrosion resistance (see paragraph 24).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the coated steel sheet of ArcelorMittal with the battery pack cooling plate of Weber in order to take advantage of the corrosion resistance of ArcelorMittal in a battery pack and utilize its effectiveness in heat exchange.
Relevant Prior Art
US 2017/0331086 - Discloses an aluminum/silicon coating on steel (paragraph 39), similar to that of the instant invention.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW J MERKLING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725