DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schulz (WO 2020/120454, see English language equivalent US 2022/0052410).
Regarding claim 7, Schulz discloses a battery housing for receiving one of more battery modules, wherein the battery housing is manufactured from a steel sheet having a zinc-based coat [metallic coated steel sheet] (abstract).
The zinc-based coat [metallic coating] preferably has 0.5-4% by weight of aluminum, and/or 0.5-4% by weight of magnesium, with the remainder being zinc and unavoidable impurities ([0016]). Preferably, the zinc-based coat [metallic coating] comprises 1-2.5% by weight aluminum and 1-2.5% by weight magnesium for improved corrosion protection, with the remainder being zinc and unavoidable impurities ([0016]). Therefore, the metallic coating is based on zinc and comprising aluminum, magnesium, and unavoidable impurities.
Regarding claim 12, Schulz discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Schulz discloses a battery housing for receiving one or more battery modules [a battery pack], wherein the steel sheet is used as the cover (abstract, [0025], [0033] “cover (not illustrated) can be manufactured from a steel sheet having the aforementioned properties”, Fig 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schulz (WO 2020/120454, see English language equivalent US 2022/0052410), as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Okuma (JP H09-085881, see machine translation).
Regarding claim 8, Schulz discloses all of claim limitations as set forth above. While Schulz teaches that additional dip coating can be performed to generate a barrier and slow down degradation of the coating ([0018], [0032]), Schulz does not explicitly disclose wherein the metallic coating [zinc-based coating] is topped by a passivation metallic coating wherein a surface weight of a passivating element is from 5 to 50 mg/m2.
Okuma discloses a steel sheet with a coating film having excellent workability, adhesive property, and corrosion resistance (abstract). The coating is a two-layer coating, where the first coating is a hot dip coating with zinc ([0004], [0007]), and the second coating is a chemical conversion coating which can be chromate-based [passivation metallic coating] ([0005]). Hot-dip steel sheets are subjected to a chemical conversion treatment of chromate treatment, where the adhesion amount in terms of metallic chromium is 30 mg/m2 ([0020]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the chemical conversion coating of chromate in an amount of 30 mg/m2 on a hot dip steel sheet as taught by Okuma with the coated steel sheet of Schulz for the purpose of having excellent workability and corrosion resistance.
Claim(s) 9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schulz (WO 2020/120454, see English language equivalent US 2022/0052410).
Regarding claim 9, Schulz discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Schulz teaches the zinc-based coat preferably comprises 1-2.5% by weight aluminum and 1-2.5% by weight magnesium for improved corrosion protection, with the remainder being zinc and unavoidable impurities ([0016]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select an amount of aluminum and magnesium both within the range of 1.5-2.5% by mass (or 1.5-4% by mass) to obtain the desired amounts of corrosion protection.
Regarding claim 11, Schulz discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Schulz teaches that the zinc-based coat has an applied amount of 40-90 g/m2 per side on one or both sides ([0017]). Schulz additionally teaches that the zinc-based coat for the steel sheet can be 120-300 g/m2 per side on one or both sides when used as an underride guard ([0017]). The underride guard ensures additional protection of the battery modules from foreign bodies penetrating the box ([0012]). That is, Schulz teaches that the amount of coating affects the protection. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select an coating weight amount, including an amount of 50-300 g/m2 as taught by Schulz for the purpose of protection.
In addition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize, by routine experimentation, the coating weight amount (including an amount of 50-300 g/m2) of Schulz for the purpose of obtaining the desired amount of protection versus additional material or manufacturing cost.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schulz (WO 2020/120454, see English language equivalent US 2022/0052410), as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Fujiwara (JP 2019-031727, see machine translation).
Regarding claim 10, Schulz discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Schulz discloses a zinc-based coating with aluminum and magnesium on one or both sides ([0016]-[0017]), Schulz does not explicitly disclose the thickness of the coating.
Fujiwara discloses a Zn-Al-Mg based surface-coated steel sheet for automobile components (abstract). The average thickness of the Zn-Al-Mg coating layer is 3 to 100 µm ([0013]). Fujiwara teaches to maintain excellent rust-prevention, a coating of 3 µm or more is needed, but excessively thick is uneconomical and leads to decrease in processability of the coating layer, and the coating should be 100 µm or less ([0032]). That is, Fujiwara discloses that the thickness of the coating is a result effective variable.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize, by routine experimentation, the thickness of the zinc coating layer (including in the range of 10-40 µm) of the coated steel sheet of Schulz for the purpose of obtaining the desired balance between rust prevention, cost economy, and processability of the coating layer.
Conclusion
/JACOB BUCHANAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725