Response to Amendment
The amendment and response filed on August 24, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 3-29 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Claim 1, 3, and 17 are directed to the elected invention. And, claims 4-16 and 18-29 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on April 28, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1, 3, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Nakajima et al. (US Pub 2017/0146906).
Regarding claim 1, US ‘906 discloses a silicon-containing resist underlayer film (claim 1) comprising a constituent unit derived from a hydrolysable silane having a phenanthryl group [0049]. US ‘906 does not disclose the maximum optical absorption coefficient of an example of an underlayer film comprising a hydrolysable silane having a phenanthryl group, but all of the examples set forth in Table 3, have a maximum optical absorption coefficient within the claimed range. Further, as set forth in MPEP 2112, "The discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art's functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. V. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). "Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable." In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). MPEP 2112 further sets forth that "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Accordingly, it is reasonable to conclude that underlayer film of US ‘906 would meet the claimed maximum optical coefficient range of claim 1, since US ‘906 uses the same materials as the presently claimed underlayer film. With respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 part of this rejection, see MPEP 2112. III that states "Where applicant claims a composition in terms of a function, property or characteristic and the composition of the prior art is the same as that of the claim but the function is not explicitly disclosed by the reference, the examiner may make a rejection under both 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103. 'There is nothing inconsistent in concurrent rejections for obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 and for anticipation under 35 U.S.C. 102.'" In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255 n.4, 195 USPQ 430, 433 n.4 (CCPA 1977).
Regarding claim 3, US ‘906 discloses that the silicon-containing resist underlayer film is suitable for use in extreme ultraviolet (EUV) lithography [0147].
Regarding claim 17, US ‘906 discloses a semiconductor processing substrate comprising a semiconductor substrate and a silicon-containing resist underlayer film set forth above (claim 1, claim 7, Table 3, Examples 1-14, [0049).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection.
While it is agreed that US ‘906 does not disclose a silicon-containing underlayer film comprising a methoxyphenyl sulfonyl group in a now claimed amount of 9.34 to 50 parts by mass per the total amount of hydrolysable silane, US ‘906 does disclose using a hydrolysable silane containing a phenanthryl group [0049]. That is, amended claim 1 does not require the presence of a hydrolysable silane having a methoxyphenyl sulfonyl group.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BLAINE COPENHEAVER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781