This office action is in response to the Preliminary amendment filed 01/26/2024.
Claims 1-13, 14 and 16 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. REPUBLIC OF KOREA 10-2021-0102764, filed on 08/04/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/26/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 14, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. ( Patent No.: US 11071097, hereinafter, Choi’s 097) in view of Iyer et al ( Patent No.: 12177868, hereinafter, Iyer’s 868 ).
Regarding to the claim 1, Patent No.: US 11071097 teaches a method for a user equipment (UE) to perform a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving, from the base station, configuration information (physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) configuration information) related to a number of plurality of unit times (a number of plurality slots) in which a same PUCCH (repletion of PUCCH) (a number of plurality slots for repetition of a PUCCH transmission ) is transmitted (receiving, from the base station, configuration information related to a number of first plurality of unit times in which a same PUCCH is transmitted) [see Claim 1 and Claim 9 and Claim 12 ] ;
receiving, from the base station, downlink control information (DCI) (receiving, from the base station, downlink control information (DCI)) [see Claim 1 and Claim 9 and Claim 12 ] ;
performing the PUCCH transmission in each of a plurality of unit times based on information related to the DCI (determining the plural slots for the repetition of the PUCCH transmission starting from a first slot indicated to the terminal by the DCI ) [see Claim 1 and Claim 9 and Claim 12 ] .
However, Patent No.: US 11071097 does not explicitly teach first plurality of unit times in which a same PUCCH.
Patent No.: 12177868, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches receiving, from the base station, information related to a number of first plurality of unit times (first number of sub-slots in which a PUCCH is transmitted ) in which a PUCCH is transmitted
(receiving, from the base station, information related to a number of first plurality of unit times in which a PUCCH is transmitted) [see Claim 1 and Claim 11] ;
performing the PUCCH transmission in each of a second plurality of unit times (second number of sub-slots in which a PUCCH is transmitted ) based on information related to the DCI (the second DCI ) (performing the PUCCH transmission in each of a second plurality of unit times based on information related to the DCI ) [see Claim 1 and Claim 11].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Patent No.: US 11071097 in view of the Patent No.: 12177868 because the Patent No.: 12177868 suggests that accordingly, there is a need to identify the priority at the physical layer, define UE behavior when intra-UE collision occurs on the Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH), define the UE procedures to handle the collision, and enable the UE to resolve the prioritization at the MAC layer.
Regarding to the claim 14, Patent No.: US 11071097 teaches a user equipment (UE) performing a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising: at least one transceiver; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
receive, from the base station through the at least one transceiver, configuration information (physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) configuration information) related to a number of plurality of unit times (a number of plurality slots) in which a same PUCCH (repletion of PUCCH) (a number of plurality slots for repetition of a PUCCH transmission ) is transmitted (receive, from the base station, configuration information related to a number of first plurality of unit times in which a same PUCCH is transmitted) [see Claim 1 and Claim 9 and Claim 12 ] ;
receive, from the base station through the at least one transceiver , downlink control information (DCI) ( receive, from the base station, downlink control information (DCI)) [see Claim 1 and Claim 9 and Claim 12 ] ;
perform the PUCCH transmission in each of a plurality of unit times (a number of plurality slots) based on information related to the DCI (determining the plural slots for the repetition of the PUCCH transmission starting from a first slot indicated to the terminal by the DCI ) [see Claim 1 and Claim 9 and Claim 12 ] .
However, Patent No.: US 11071097 does not explicitly teach first plurality of unit times in which a same PUCCH.
Patent No.: 12177868, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches receiving, from the base station, information related to a number of first plurality of unit times (first number of sub-slots in which a PUCCH is transmitted ) in which a PUCCH is transmitted
(receiving, from the base station, information related to a number of first plurality of unit times in which a PUCCH is transmitted) [see Claim 1 and Claim 11] ;
performing the PUCCH transmission in each of a second plurality of unit times (second number of sub-slots in which a PUCCH is transmitted ) based on information related to the DCI (the second DCI ) (performing the PUCCH transmission in each of a second plurality of unit times based on information related to the DCI ) [see Claim 1 and Claim 11].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Patent No.: US 11071097 in view of the Patent No.: 12177868 because the Patent No.: 12177868 suggests that accordingly, there is a need to identify the priority at the physical layer, define UE behavior when intra-UE collision occurs on the Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH), define the UE procedures to handle the collision, and enable the UE to resolve the prioritization at the MAC layer.
Regarding to the claim 16, Patent No.: 12177868 teaches a base station performing a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) reception in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising: at least one transceiver; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE) through the at least one transceiver, configuration information (physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) configuration information) related to a number of plurality of unit times (a number of plurality slots) in which a same PUCCH (repletion of PUCCH) (a number of plurality slots for repetition of a PUCCH transmission ) is transmitted (receiving, from the base station, configuration information related to a number of first plurality of unit times in which a same PUCCH is transmitted) [see Claim 1 and Claim 9 and Claim 12 ] ;
transmit, to the UE through the at least one transceiver, downlink control information (DCI) (receiving, from the base station, downlink control information (DCI)) [see Claim 1 and Claim 9 and Claim 12 ] ;
performing the PUCCH transmission in each of a plurality of unit times based on information related to the DCI (determining the plural slots for the repetition of the PUCCH transmission starting from a first slot indicated to the terminal by the DCI ) [see Claim 1 and Claim 9 and Claim 12 ] .
However, Patent No.: US 11071097 does not explicitly teach first plurality of unit times in which a same PUCCH.
Patent No.: 12177868, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches transmit, to the UE through the at least one transceiver, information related to a number of first plurality of unit times (first number of sub-slots in which a PUCCH is transmitted ) in which a PUCCH is transmitted (receiving, from the base station, information related to a number of first plurality of unit times in which a PUCCH is transmitted) [see Claim 1 and Claim 11] ;
performing the PUCCH transmission in each of a second plurality of unit times (second number of sub-slots in which a PUCCH is transmitted ) based on information related to the DCI (the second DCI ) (performing the PUCCH transmission in each of a second plurality of unit times based on information related to the DCI ) [see Claim 1 and Claim 11].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Patent No.: US 11071097 in view of the Patent No.: 12177868 because the Patent No.: 12177868 suggests that accordingly, there is a need to identify the priority at the physical layer, define UE behavior when intra-UE collision occurs on the Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH), define the UE procedures to handle the collision, and enable the UE to resolve the prioritization at the MAC layer.
Claim(s) 2, 3, 8, 9, 11, 12, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. ( Patent No.: US 11071097, hereinafter, Choi’s 097) in view of Iyer et al ( Patent No.: 12177868, hereinafter, Iyer’s 868 ), and further in view of Taherzadeh Boroujeni et al. ( US 20220321286, Provisional Application No. 63170166 ).
Regarding to the claim 2, Patent No.: US 11071097 and Patent No.: 12177868 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, Patent No.: US 11071097 does not explicitly teach wherein: the information related to the DCI includes at least one of a PUCCH resource indicator (PRI) field included in the DCI or an aggregation level corresponding to a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) carrying the DCI.
( US 20220321286, Provisional Application No. 63170166 ), from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein: the information related to the DCI includes at least one of a PUCCH resource indicator (PRI) field included in the DCI or an aggregation level corresponding to a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) carrying the DCI (wherein: the information related to the DCI includes at least one of a PUCCH resource indicator (PRI) field included in the DCI or an aggregation level corresponding to a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) carrying the DCI) [see Paragraphs 0098 & 0100 & 0053 & 0054 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( Patent No.: US 11071097 and Patent No.: 12177868), and further in view of US 20220321286 because US 20220321286 suggests that In the NR, under such an environment, the plurality of UEs are assumed to simultaneously receive the same PDSCH using a multicast.
Regarding to the claim 3, Patent No.: US 11071097 and Patent No.: 12177868 and ( US 20220321286, Provisional Application No. 63170166 ) teach the limitations of the claim 2 above.
However, Patent No.: US 11071097 does not explicitly teach wherein: the number of second plurality of unit times is configured to a value mapped to the aggregation level.
( US 20220321286, Provisional Application No. 63170166 ), from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein: the number of second plurality of unit times is configured to a value mapped to the aggregation level (wherein: the number of second plurality of unit times is configured to a value mapped to the aggregation level ) [see Paragraphs 0098 & 0100 & 0053 & 0054 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( Patent No.: US 11071097 and Patent No.: 12177868), and further in view of US 20220321286 because US 20220321286 suggests that In the NR, under such an environment, the plurality of UEs are assumed to simultaneously receive the same PDSCH using a multicast.
Regarding to the claim 8 , Patent No.: US 11071097 and Patent No.: 12177868 and ( US 20220321286, Provisional Application No. 63170166 ) teach the limitations of the claim 2 above.
However, Patent No.: US 11071097 does not explicitly teach wherein: a value mapped to the aggregation level is determined based on at least one of a format of the DCI, a payload size of the DCI, or a code rate of the DCI.
( US 20220321286, Provisional Application No. 63170166 ), from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein: a value mapped to the aggregation level is determined based on at least one of a format of the DCI, a payload size of the DCI, or a code rate of the DCI (wherein: a value mapped to the aggregation level is determined based on at least one of a format of the DCI, a payload size of the DCI, or a code rate of the DCI) [see Paragraphs 0098 & 0100 & 0053 & 0054 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( Patent No.: US 11071097 and Patent No.: 12177868), and further in view of US 20220321286 because US 20220321286 suggests that In the NR, under such an environment, the plurality of UEs are assumed to simultaneously receive the same PDSCH using a multicast.
Regarding to the claim 9, Patent No.: US 11071097 and Patent No.: 12177868 and ( US 20220321286, Provisional Application No. 63170166 ) teach the limitations of the claim 2 above.
However, Patent No.: US 11071097 does not explicitly teach wherein: the number of second plurality of unit times is configured to a value mapped to a value indicated by the PRI field.
( US 20220321286, Provisional Application No. 63170166 ), from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein: the number of second plurality of unit times is configured to a value mapped to a value indicated by the PRI field (wherein: the number of second plurality of unit times is configured to a value mapped to a value indicated by the PRI field ) [see Paragraphs 0098 & 0100 & 0053 & 0054 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( Patent No.: US 11071097 and Patent No.: 12177868), and further in view of US 20220321286 because US 20220321286 suggests that In the NR, under such an environment, the plurality of UEs are assumed to simultaneously receive the same PDSCH using a multicast.
Regarding to the claim 11, Patent No.: US 11071097 further teaches wherein: PUCCH transmission after the PUCCH transmission is performed in each unit time of the number of the second plurality of unit times based on the configuration information (PUCCH transmission after the PUCCH transmission is performed in each unit time of the number of the second plurality of unit times based on the configuration information) [see the claim 1 and claim 9 and claim 12].
Regarding to the claim 12, Patent No.: US 11071097 further teaches wherein: the unit time includes at least one of a slot, a slot group, a symbol, or a symbol group (wherein: the unit time includes at least one of a slot, a slot group, a symbol, or a symbol group) [see the claim 1 and claim 9 and claim 12].
Regarding to the claim 13, Patent No.: US 11071097 further teaches wherein: the number of the second plurality of unit times is a value less than or equal to the number of the first plurality of unit times (the number of the second plurality of unit times is a value less than or equal to the number of the first plurality of unit times) [see the claim 1 and claim 9 and claim 12].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose wherein: based on the aggregation level being configured to a first value or less, the number of the second plurality of unit times is configured to a second value mapped to the aggregation level, and based on the aggregation level being configured to exceed the first value, the number of the second plurality of unit times is configured to a third value mapped to the aggregation level.
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose wherein: based on the aggregation level being configured to 8, the number of second plurality of unit times is configured to a fourth value mapped to the aggregation level, based on the aggregation level being configured to 16, the number of the second plurality of unit times is configured to a fifth value mapped to the aggregation level, and the fourth value and the fifth value are same.
Claims 6, 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose wherein: the DCI includes a specific field indicating whether the aggregation level is configured to 8 or 16.
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose wherein: based on the aggregation level being configured to a sixth value or less, the number of second plurality of unit times is configured to a seventh value mapped to a value indicated by the PRI field, and based on the aggregation level being configured to exceed the sixth value, the number of the second plurality of unit times is configured to a eighth value mapped to the aggregation level.
Conclusion
/CHUONG T HO/Examiner, Art Unit 2412