DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Allely et al. (US 2018/0223409).
Regarding claim 6, Allely discloses a steel sheet coated with metallic coating based on aluminum comprising:
a steel sheet coated with metallic coating (abstract).
The coated steel sheet shaped by any method known to the man skilled in the art, for example cold-stamping and/or hot-forming (para 0036). The metallic coating includes from 2.0 to 24.0% by weight of zinc, from 7.1 to 12.0% by weight of silicon, optionally from 1.1 to 8.0% by weight of magnesium, and optionally additional elements chosen from Pb, Ni, Zr, or Hf, the content by weight of each additional element being less than 0.3% by weight, the balance being aluminum and optionally unavoidable impurities and residuals elements (para 0021).
With respect to the limitation “of a battery pack”, instant limitation is viewed as intended use. A prior art structure which is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble meets the claim. See MPEP 2111.02: Effect of Preamble.
Regarding claim 8, Allely discloses the thickness of the coating is advantageously between 12 and 18 μm or between 26 to 31 μm (para 0033).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allely et al. (US 2018/0223409).
Regarding claim 7, Allely teaches the metallic coating includes from 2.0 to 24.0% by weight of zinc, from 7.1 to 12.0% by weight of silicon, optionally from 1.1 to 8.0% by weight of magnesium, and optionally additional elements chosen from Pb, Ni, Zr, or Hf, the content by weight of each additional element being less than 0.3% by weight, the balance being aluminum and optionally unavoidable impurities and residuals elements (para 0021), which overlaps Applicant’s claimed range of 8-12% Si.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the recited concentrations because a prima facie case of obviousness exists in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Furthermore, "[ A ] prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness." In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 9, Allely does not expressly teach a coating weight; however, based on the coating thickness (see claim 8) and coating metallic coating composition (see claim 2) of Allely, the coating weight would be expected to lie within or at least overlap Applicant’s claimed range of 50 to 200 g/m2 in total on both sides. See MPEP 2144.05.
Claims 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (US 2022/0416343) in view of Frehn et al. (US 2017/0331086).
Regarding claims 6 and 10, He, directed to a battery pack and electric vehicle, teaches battery assembly 200 and a housing 100 including a tray and an upper cover (Fig. 1); wherein the upper cover is a multi-layer composite structure; the multi-layer composite structure includes two aluminum plate layers and a steel plate (para 0042).
He does not teach press stamping.
Frehn, directed to a battery holder for a vehicle, teaches multi-laminated composite steel (abstract; para 0039) wherein the sheets can be manufactured by hot-stamping and press-hardening (para 0033).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to press stamp the sheet so as to have desired high-tensile or even ultra-high-tensile material properties (para 0033).
Conclusion
/CARLOS BARCENA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723