DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues, on page 10 first paragraph, that the message received by the L-MME 506 is an upstream message from the in-facility/local side of the system, and Edge does not disclose this locally-initiated upstream message flow. The examiner respectfully disagrees. As admitted by the applicant on page 9 last paragraph, Edge discloses a message originated from the in-facility WEA Gateway 502 and sent to the L-MME by the CBC. Thus, teaching the argued limitation. It is noted that there is no support in the specification for the “upstream” message. Therefore, the “upstream” feature is ignored in the above response. Edge discloses similar transmission of the alert message as in the present application which is obvious from comparing Fig. 6 of Edge to Fig.5 of the present application. .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 36, 42, 47, 49-59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 recites “sending an upstream message”. The original specification does not support this limitation. Claims 2-6 and 36 are rejected for depending from claim 1
Claim 47 recites “sending an upstream message”. The original specification does not support this limitation. Claims 49-59 are rejected for depending from claim 47.
Claim 4 recites “the write request and the one or more identifiers are sent upstream”. The original specification does not support this limitation.
Claim 5 recites “wherein the write replace warning request and the one or more tracking area identifiers are sent upstream to the local mobility management entity”. The original specification does not support this limitation.
Claim 42 recites “sending an upstream message.”. The original specification does not support this limitation.
Claim 47 recites “sending an upstream message.”. The original specification does not support this limitation.
Claim 51 recites “the write request and the one or more identifiers are sent upstream”. The original specification does not support this limitations.
Claim 52 recites “wherein the write replace warning request and the one or more tracking area identifiers are sent upstream to the local mobility management entity” . The original specification does not support this limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Edge et al. (US 20190246260 A1).
Regarding claim 42, Edge et al. teach A non-transitory computer readable program product (Note: inherent in a wireless Node) for providing a wireless emergency alert message for a facility, the non-transitory computer readable program product having instructions that, when read by at least one processor (processor 1030 in Fig. 10), cause the at least one processor to execute, or direct execution of, operations of -comprising:
receiving an alert for an emergency event (Edge [0065] alert information may be transmitted from the alert gateway 612 to CBE 610. For example, the alert information may include general information regarding an emergency event) at an in-facility network (Edge [0039] an impacted area represented by an elliptical shape 302a is overlaid on the coverage area of the access network 300 , [0075] The geographic area may include or comprise a polygon, a circle, an ellipse or some other two-dimensional area or possibly three-dimensional volume (e.g. such as corresponding to the upper floors of a tall building. Note: an in facility network is interpreted as any network covering the facility interpreted as the tall building);
identifying an emergency incident area of the facility (Edge [0066] process the received emergency broadcast request information to generate a list of impacted cells (or impacted tracking areas or impacted emergency areas). The impacted cells (or impacted tracking areas or emergency areas) may comprise cells (or tracking areas or emergency areas) whose coverage areas (e.g. normal coverage area and/or extended coverage area) are totally within the impact area or at least partially within the impact area.); and
sending the wireless emergency alert message through a cellular network to one or more wireless devices within the emergency incident area (Edge [0007] determine that the device is within the geographic area and provide the content of the warning message to the user based on determining that the mobile device is within the geographic area, Edge [0046] the base stations, comprising the eNBs 422a-d, ng-eNB 432 and gNB 434 broadcast the alert message (e.g. using a SIB12) to UEs 405 in their respective coverage areas, Edge [0069] ENB 604 may then broadcast the warning message in the determined cells), wherein sending the wireless emergency alert message comprises sending an upstream message (Edge [0042] The CBCs 410 may pass alert messages to one or more Mobility Management Entities (MME) 414a-b via a SBc interface).
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 36, 47, 49-53, and 59 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edge et al. in view of Verna et al. (US 20190266871 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Edge et al. teach A method of providing a wireless emergency alert message for a facility, the method comprising:
receiving an alert for an emergency event (Edge [0065] alert information may be transmitted from the alert gateway 612 to CBE 610. For example, the alert information may include general information regarding an emergency event) at an in-facility network (Edge [0039] an impacted area represented by an elliptical shape 302a is overlaid on the coverage area of the access network 300 , [0075] a geographic area which may correspond to a target area or impact area for the warning message... The geographic area may include or comprise a polygon, a circle, an ellipse or some other two-dimensional area or possibly three-dimensional volume (e.g. such as corresponding to the upper floors of a tall building. Note: an in facility network is interpreted as any network covering the facility interpreted as the tall building);
identifying an emergency incident area of the facility (Edge [0066] process the received emergency broadcast request information to generate a list of impacted cells (or impacted tracking areas or impacted emergency areas). The impacted cells (or impacted tracking areas or emergency areas) may comprise cells (or tracking areas or emergency areas) whose coverage areas (e.g. normal coverage area and/or extended coverage area) are totally within the impact area or at least partially within the impact area.); and
sending the wireless emergency alert message through a cellular network to one or more wireless devices within the emergency incident area (Edge [0007] determine that the device is within the geographic area and provide the content of the warning message to the user based on determining that the mobile device is within the geographic area, Edge [0046] the base stations, comprising the eNBs 422a-d, ng-eNB 432 and gNB 434 broadcast the alert message (e.g. using a SIB12) to UEs 405 in their respective coverage areas, (Edge [0069] ENB 604 may then broadcast the warning message in the determined cells), wherein sending the wireless emergency alert message comprises sending an upstream message (Edge [0042] The CBCs 410 may pass alert messages to one or more Mobility Management Entities (MME) 414a-b via a SBc interface).
Edge et al. do not teach
receiving an alert from a sensor at a fixed location in the facility.
In a similar endeavor, Verna et al. teach
receiving an alert from a sensor at a fixed location in the facility (Verna [0083] the one or more sensors in and/or associated with the residence can detect an activity (e.g., window opens, door opens, smoke detected, etc.))..
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Edge et al. method by incorporating Verna et al. sensor sending an alert to arrive at the invention
The motivation of doing so would have detected the emergency event using the sensor..
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Edge et al. and Venna et al. teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising:
mapping a location of the emergency event to one or more cells of the cellular network that serve the emergency incident area (Edge [0044] decide in which cells (or in which tracking areas or emergency areas which may map to cells) an alert message needs to be broadcast based on the impact area);
generating the wireless emergency alert message for the one or more cells (Edge [0046] AMF 416 may perform a corresponding role with respect to transferring the alert message along with a list of cells and the interior/exterior classifications to one or more of gNBs 434); and
sending the wireless emergency alert message to the one or more cells for distribution to the one or more wireless devices within the emergency incident area (Edge [0046] the base stations, comprising the eNBs 422a-d, ng-eNB 432 and gNB 434 broadcast the alert message (e.g. using a SIB12) to UEs 405 in their respective coverage areas).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Edge et al. and Venna et al. teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising:
obtaining a category for the emergency event (Edge [0032] An alert message may be triggered by various types of emergencies, such as an earthquake, a tsunami, a flood, a tornado, a wildfire, an act of terrorism, acts of war, civil unrest, and/or child abduction (e.g., an AMBER alert));
determining the emergency incident area of the facility based at least in part on the category (Edge [0030] the WEA system 100 may generate and provide alert messages to notify users about a geographically specific emergency such as an earthquake, a tsunami, a flood, a tornado, a wildfire, an act of terrorism, a child abduction (e.g., an AMBER alert));
mapping a location of the emergency event to one or more cells of the cellular network that serve the emergency incident area (Edge [0044] decide in which cells (or in which tracking areas or emergency areas which may map to cells) an alert message needs to be broadcast based on the impact area);
generating the wireless emergency alert message for the one or more cells (Edge [0046] AMF 416 may perform a corresponding role with respect to transferring the alert message along with a list of cells and the interior/exterior classifications to one or more of gNBs 434); and
sending the wireless emergency alert message to the one or more cells for distribution to the one or more wireless devices within the emergency incident area (Edge [0046] the base stations, comprising the eNBs 422a-d, ng-eNB 432 and gNB 434 broadcast the alert message (e.g. using a SIB12) to UEs 405 in their respective coverage areas).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Edge et al. and Venna et al. teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving an alerting request incorporating the wireless emergency alert message (Edge [0065] the CBE 610 may transmit an emergency broadcast request signal (e.g. a message) containing the alert information to the CBC 608);
generating a write request incorporating the wireless emergency alert message (Edge [0067] a write-replace warning request message to MME 606 containing the warning message and the delivery attributes);
selecting one or more area identifiers corresponding to the emergency incident area wherein each of the one or more area identifiers is associated with a corresponding destination cell of the cellular network (Edge [0066] process the received emergency broadcast request information to generate a list of impacted cells (or impacted tracking areas or impacted emergency areas). The impacted cells (or impacted tracking areas or emergency areas) may comprise cells (or tracking areas or emergency areas) whose coverage areas (e.g. normal coverage area and/or extended coverage area) are totally within the impact area or at least partially within the impact area.);
sending the write request and the one or more area identifiers to a mobility management mechanism (Edge [0067] CBC 608 may be configured to transmit a write-replace warning request message to MME 606 containing the warning message and the delivery attributes (e.g., one or more of a message identifier, serial number, tracking area ID list, warning area, an Operation and Maintenance Center (OMC) identity (ID), a Concurrent Warning Message (CWM) indicator, a send write-replace-warning indication, and/or a global eNB ID) to the MME 606), wherein the write request and the one or more identifiers are sent upstream (Edge [0067] send write-replace-warning indication, and/or a global eNB ID) to the MME 606); and
receiving a confirmation message from the mobility management mechanism indicating that the wireless emergency alert message has been distributed to the corresponding destination cell (Edge [0069] the MME 606 may transmit a write-replace warning confirm message back to the CBC 608 at operation 620... MME 606 forwards the write-replace warning request message to eNB 604 after utilizing the tracking area ID list received from the CBC 608 to determine eNB 604 and other eNBs to which the warning message should be sent).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Edge et al. and Venna et al. teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the cellular network comprises a 4G network (Edge [0042] A CBC 410a may be used in an LTE architecture ), a 5G network (Edge [0042] a CBC Function (CBCF) 410b may be used to in a 5G architecture), or both, the method further comprising:
receiving an alerting request at a local cell broadcast center of the cellular network, the alerting request incorporating the wireless emergency alert message (Edge [0065] the CBE 610 may transmit an emergency broadcast request signal (e.g. a message) containing the alert information to the CBC 608);
generating a write replace warning request incorporating the wireless emergency alert message (Edge [0067] a write-replace warning request message to MME 606 containing the warning message and the delivery attributes);
selecting one or more tracking area identifiers corresponding to the emergency incident area, wherein each tracking area identifier is associated with a corresponding destination cell of the cellular network (Edge [0066] process the received emergency broadcast request information to generate a list of impacted cells (or impacted tracking areas or impacted emergency areas). The impacted cells (or impacted tracking areas or emergency areas) may comprise cells (or tracking areas or emergency areas) whose coverage areas (e.g. normal coverage area and/or extended coverage area) are totally within the impact area or at least partially within the impact area, Edge [0084] the warning message may include an identifier (e.g. a cell global identifier) for each cell in the subset of interior cells) ;;
sending the write replace warning request and the one or more tracking area identifiers to a local mobility management entity (Edge [0067] CBC 608 may be configured to transmit a write-replace warning request message to MME 606 containing the warning message and the delivery attributes (e.g., one or more of a message identifier, serial number, tracking area ID list, warning area, an Operation and Maintenance Center (OMC) identity (ID), a Concurrent Warning Message (CWM) indicator, a send write-replace-warning indication, and/or a global eNB ID) to the MME 606), wherein the write replace warning request and the one or more tracking area identifiers are sent upstream to the local mobility management entity (Edge [0067] send write-replace-warning indication, and/or a global eNB ID) to the MME 606); and
receiving a confirmation message from the local mobility management entity indicating that the wireless emergency alert message has been distributed to the corresponding destination cell (Edge [0069] the MME 606 may transmit a write-replace warning confirm message back to the CBC 608 at operation 620... MME 606 forwards the write-replace warning request message to eNB 604 after utilizing the tracking area ID list received from the CBC 608 to determine eNB 604 and other eNBs to which the warning message should be sent).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Edge et al. and Venna et al. teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving an alarm (Edge [0081] receiving an alert message from a gateway node);
generating the wireless emergency alert message for one or more target cells of the cellular network serving the emergency incident area (Edge [0066] the CBC 608 is configured to process the received emergency broadcast request information to generate a list of impacted cells);;
delivering a first broadcast request to a 4G cell broadcast function (Edge [0084] sending a first warning message to a second network node for the wireless network... the warning message may include an identifier (e.g. a cell global identifier) for each cell in the subset of interior cells ) when any of the one or more target cells are in a 4G cellular network (Edge [0084] the second network node is an MME (e.g. MME 414a or MME 414b) );
delivering a second broadcast request to a 5G cell broadcast function (Edge [0084] sending a first warning message to a second network node for the wireless network... the warning message may include an identifier (e.g. a cell global identifier) for each cell in the subset of interior cells) when any of the one or more target cells are in a 5G cellular network (Edge [0084] the second network node is ... an AMF (e.g. AMF 416));
generating a first write replace warning request (Edge [0068] generate a first write-replace warning request message containing impact area information) in response to the first broadcast request (Edge [0066] the CBC 608 is configured to process the received emergency broadcast request information to generate a list of impacted cells);
generating a second write replace warning request (Edge [0068] generate a first write-replace warning request message containing impact area information ) in response to the second broadcast request (Edge [0066] the CBC 608 is configured to process the received emergency broadcast request information to generate a list of impacted cells); and
delivering at least one of the first write replace warning request and the second write replace warning request to the one or more target cells (Edge [0069] MME 606 forwards the write-replace warning request message to eNB 604 after utilizing the tracking area ID list received from the CBC 608 to determine eNB 604 and other eNBs to which the warning message should be sent).
Regarding claim 36, the combination of Edge et al. and Venna et al. teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting an alert message to an external entity outside the facility (Venna [0084] the digitized voice alert can be transmitted through a network (e.g., a cellular communications network) for broadcast to one or more remote electronic devices), in response to receiving the alert for the emergency event at the in-facility network (Venna [0083] the one or more sensors in and/or associated with the residence can detect an activity (e.g., window opens, door opens, smoke detected, etc.)).
The motivation of doing so would have transmitted the alert to remote devices.
Regarding claim 47, Edge et al. teach A system for providing a wireless emergency alert message for a facility, the system comprising;
a network of the facility (Edge (Edge [0039] an impacted area represented by an elliptical shape 302a is overlaid on the coverage area of the access network 300 ,Edge [0075] The geographic area may include or comprise a polygon, a circle, an ellipse or some other two-dimensional area or possibly three-dimensional volume (e.g. such as corresponding to the upper floors of a tall building. Note: an in facility network is interpreted as any network covering the facility interpreted as the tall building); and
wherein the network of the facility is configured to:
receive an alert for an emergency event (Edge [0065] alert information may be transmitted from the alert gateway 612 to CBE 610. For example, the alert information may include general information regarding an emergency event);
identify an emergency incident area of the facility (Edge [0066] process the received emergency broadcast request information to generate a list of impacted cells (or impacted tracking areas or impacted emergency areas). The impacted cells (or impacted tracking areas or emergency areas) may comprise cells (or tracking areas or emergency areas) whose coverage areas (e.g. normal coverage area and/or extended coverage area) are totally within the impact area or at least partially within the impact area.); and
send the wireless emergency alert message through a cellular network to one or more wireless devices within the emergency incident area (Edge [0007] determine that the device is within the geographic area and provide the content of the warning message to the user based on determining that the mobile device is within the geographic area, Edge [0046] the base stations, comprising the eNBs 422a-d, ng-eNB 432 and gNB 434 broadcast the alert message (e.g. using a SIB12) to UEs 405 in their respective coverage areas, Edge [0069] ENB 604 may then broadcast the warning message in the determined cells) wherein sending the wireless emergency alert message comprises sending an upstream message (Edge [0042] The CBCs 410 may pass alert messages to one or more Mobility Management Entities (MME) 414a-b via a SBc interface).
Edge et al. do not teach
one or more sensors disposed in the facility.
In a similar endeavor, Verena et al. teach
one or more sensors disposed in the facility (Verna [0083] the one or more sensors in and/or associated with the residence can detect an activity (e.g., window opens, door opens, smoke detected, etc.))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Edge t al system et al. by incorporating Verna et al. sensors to arrive at the invention
The motivation of doing so would have detected the emergency event in the residence using the sensors.
Regarding claim 49, the combination of Edge et al. and VERNA et al teaches The system of claim 47, wherein the network of the facility is further configured to:
map a location of the emergency event to one or more cells of the cellular network that serve the emergency incident area (Edge [0044] decide in which cells (or in which tracking areas or emergency areas which may map to cells) an alert message needs to be broadcast based on the impact area);
generate the wireless emergency alert message for the one or more cells (Edge [0046] AMF 416 may perform a corresponding role with respect to transferring the alert message along with a list of cells and the interior/exterior classifications to one or more of gNBs 434); and
send the wireless emergency alert message to the one or more cells for distribution to the one or more wireless devices within the emergency incident area (Edge [0046] the base stations, comprising the eNBs 422a-d, ng-eNB 432 and gNB 434 broadcast the alert message (e.g. using a SIB12) to UEs 405 in their respective coverage areas).
Regarding claim 50, the combination of Edge et al. and VERNA et al teaches The system of claim 47, wherein the network of the facility is further configured to:
obtain a category for the emergency event (Edge [0032] An alert message may be triggered by various types of emergencies, such as an earthquake, a tsunami, a flood, a tornado, a wildfire, an act of terrorism, acts of war, civil unrest, and/or child abduction (e.g., an AMBER alert));
determine the emergency incident area of the facility based at least in part on the category (Edge [0030] the WEA system 100 may generate and provide alert messages to notify users about a geographically specific emergency such as an earthquake, a tsunami, a flood, a tornado, a wildfire, an act of terrorism, a child abduction (e.g., an AMBER alert));
map a location of the emergency event to one or more cells of the cellular network that serve the emergency incident area (Edge [0044] decide in which cells (or in which tracking areas or emergency areas which may map to cells) an alert message needs to be broadcast based on the impact area);
generate the wireless emergency alert message for the one or more cells (Edge [0046] AMF 416 may perform a corresponding role with respect to transferring the alert message along with a list of cells and the interior/exterior classifications to one or more of gNBs 434); and
sending the wireless emergency alert message to the one or more cells for distribution to the one or more wireless devices within the emergency incident area (Edge [0046] the base stations, comprising the eNBs 422a-d, ng-eNB 432 and gNB 434 broadcast the alert message (e.g. using a SIB12) to UEs 405 in their respective coverage areas).
Regarding claim 51, the combination of Edge et al. and VERNA et al teaches The system of claim 47, wherein the network of the facility is further configured to:
receive an alerting request incorporating the wireless emergency alert message (Edge [0065] the CBE 610 may transmit an emergency broadcast request signal (e.g. a message) containing the alert information to the CBC 608);
generate a write request incorporating the wireless emergency alert message (Edge [0067] a write-replace warning request message to MME 606 containing the warning message and the delivery attributes);
select one or more area identifiers corresponding to the emergency incident area wherein each of the one or more area identifiers is associated with a corresponding destination cell of the cellular network (Edge [0066] process the received emergency broadcast request information to generate a list of impacted cells (or impacted tracking areas or impacted emergency areas). The impacted cells (or impacted tracking areas or emergency areas) may comprise cells (or tracking areas or emergency areas) whose coverage areas (e.g. normal coverage area and/or extended coverage area) are totally within the impact area or at least partially within the impact area, Edge [0084] the warning message may include an identifier (e.g. a cell global identifier) for each cell in the subset of interior cells);;
send the write request and the one or more area identifiers to a mobility management mechanism (Edge [0067] CBC 608 may be configured to transmit a write-replace warning request message to MME 606 containing the warning message and the delivery attributes (e.g., one or more of a message identifier, serial number, tracking area ID list, warning area, an Operation and Maintenance Center (OMC) identity (ID), a Concurrent Warning Message (CWM) indicator, a send write-replace-warning indication, and/or a global eNB ID) to the MME 606) wherein the write request and the one or more identifiers are sent upstream (Edge [0067] send write-replace-warning indication, and/or a global eNB ID) to the MME 606); and
receive a confirmation message from the mobility management mechanism indicating that the wireless emergency alert message has been distributed to the corresponding destination cell (Edge [0069] the MME 606 may transmit a write-replace warning confirm message back to the CBC 608 at operation 620... MME 606 forwards the write-replace warning request message to eNB 604 after utilizing the tracking area ID list received from the CBC 608 to determine eNB 604 and other eNBs to which the warning message should be sent).
Regarding claim 52, the combination of Edge et al. and VERNA et al teaches The system of claim 47, wherein the cellular network comprises a 4G network (Edge [0042] A CBC 410a may be used in an LTE architecture ), a 5G network (Edge [0042] a CBC Function (CBCF) 410b may be used to in a 5G architecture), or both, the system further comprising:
receiving an alerting request at a local cell broadcast center of the cellular network, the alerting request incorporating the wireless emergency alert message (Edge [0065] the CBE 610 may transmit an emergency broadcast request signal (e.g. a message) containing the alert information to the CBC 608);
generating a write replace warning request incorporating the wireless emergency alert message (Edge [0067] a write-replace warning request message to MME 606 containing the warning message and the delivery attributes);
selecting one or more tracking area identifiers corresponding to the emergency incident area, wherein each tracking area identifier is associated with a corresponding destination cell of the cellular network (Edge [0066] process the received emergency broadcast request information to generate a list of impacted cells (or impacted tracking areas or impacted emergency areas). The impacted cells (or impacted tracking areas or emergency areas) may comprise cells (or tracking areas or emergency areas) whose coverage areas (e.g. normal coverage area and/or extended coverage area) are totally within the impact area or at least partially within the impact area.);;
sending the write replace warning request and the one or more tracking area identifiers to a local mobility management entity (Edge [0067] CBC 608 may be configured to transmit a write-replace warning request message to MME 606 containing the warning message and the delivery attributes (e.g., one or more of a message identifier, serial number, tracking area ID list, warning area, an Operation and Maintenance Center (OMC) identity (ID), a Concurrent Warning Message (CWM) indicator, a send write-replace-warning indication, and/or a global eNB ID) to the MME 606) , wherein the write replace warning request and the one or more tracking area identifiers are sent upstream to the local mobility management entity (Edge [0067] send write-replace-warning indication, and/or a global eNB ID) to the MME 606); and
receiving a confirmation message from the local mobility management entity indicating that the wireless emergency alert message has been distributed to the corresponding destination cell (Edge [0069] the MME 606 may transmit a write-replace warning confirm message back to the CBC 608 at operation 620... MME 606 forwards the write-replace warning request message to eNB 604 after utilizing the tracking area ID list received from the CBC 608 to determine eNB 604 and other eNBs to which the warning message should be sent).
Regarding claim 53, the combination of Edge et al. and VERNA et al teaches The system of claim 47, further comprising:
receiving an alarm (Edge [0081] receiving an alert message from a gateway node);
generating the wireless emergency alert message for one or more target cells of the cellular network serving the emergency incident area (Edge [0066] the CBC 608 is configured to process the received emergency broadcast request information to generate a list of impacted cells);;
delivering a first broadcast request to a 4G cell broadcast function (Edge [0084] sending a first warning message to a second network node for the wireless network... the warning message may include an identifier (e.g. a cell global identifier) for each cell in the subset of interior cells ) when any of the one or more target cells are in a 4G cellular network (Edge [0084] the second network node is an MME (e.g. MME 414a or MME 414b) );
delivering a second broadcast request to a 5G cell broadcast function (Edge [0084] sending a first warning message to a second network node for the wireless network... the warning message may include an identifier (e.g. a cell global identifier) for each cell in the subset of interior cells ) when any of the one or more target cells are in a 5G cellular network (Edge [0084] the second network node is ... an AMF (e.g. AMF 416));
generating a first write replace warning request (Edge [0068] generate a first write-replace warning request message containing impact area information) in response to the first broadcast request (Edge [0066] the CBC 608 is configured to process the received emergency broadcast request information to generate a list of impacted cells);
generating a second write replace warning request (Edge [0068] generate a first write-replace warning request message containing impact area information ) in response to the second broadcast request (Edge [0066] the CBC 608 is configured to process the received emergency broadcast request information to generate a list of impacted cells); and
delivering at least one of the first write replace warning request and the second write replace warning request to the one or more target cells (Edge [0069] MME 606 forwards the write-replace warning request message to eNB 604 after utilizing the tracking area ID list received from the CBC 608 to determine eNB 604 and other eNBs to which the warning message should be sent).
Regarding claim 59, the combination of Edge et al. and VERNA et al teaches The system of claim 47, wherein the network of the facility is configured to transmit an alert message to an external entity outside the facility (Verna [0084] the digitized voice alert can be transmitted through a network (e.g., a cellular communications network) for broadcast to one or more remote electronic devices), in response to receiving the alert for the emergency event at the in-facility network (Verna [0083] the one or more sensors in and/or associated with the residence can detect an activity (e.g., window opens, door opens, smoke detected, etc.)).
Claim 54 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edge et al. in view of Verna et al. and in further view of Su et al. (CN 207442842 U)
Regarding claim 54, the combination of Edge et al. and VERNA et al teaches The system of claim 47, but do not teach
wherein the system is configured to provide power distribution and communication on a single path.
In a similar endeavor, Su et al. teach
wherein the system is configured to provide power distribution and communication on a single path (Su [0016] simultaneously transmit DC and RF signals on a single coaxial cable without the need for additional DC power transmission cables).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified the combination of Edge et al. and VERNA et al. by incorporating Su et al. single cable purpose to arrive at the invention
The motivation of doing so would have utilized a single cable for two functions.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAID M ELNOUBI/Examiner, Art Unit 2644