DETAILED ACTION
112(b) Rejections Withdrawn
The rejection of claims 3-10 and 12-17 under 35 USC 112(b) or 35 USC 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, outlined in the previous Office Action, has been overcome by inventor’s amendment. The amendment clarifies the claims as appropriate.
The rejection of claim 19 under 35 USC 112(b) or 35 USC 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, outlined in the previous Office Action, has been overcome by inventor’s amendment. The amendment clarifies the claim as appropriate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b), MAINTAINED and NEW
Claim 10 remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Inventor’s amendment has been carefully considered, but there is still insufficient antecedent basis for the reformulated limitation “…the one or more monosaccharides…” in the claim. Claim 10 immediately depends from independent claim 1. Independent claim one does not recite a limitation with respect to monosaccharides. (A monosaccharide limitation is recited in dependent claim 8, not claim 1.)
Clarification remains in order.
Claim 11 remains rejected, and claim 12 newly rejected, under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 11 and 12 depend from an indefinite claim yet do not relieve the indefiniteness. Dependent claims 11 and 12 are also, therefore, indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d), NEW
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, fourth paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. In the present instance, the claim fails to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends.
Independent claim 1, the claim from which claim 17 immediately depends, already explicitly teaches that the composition is applied to the scalp and/or the hair.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102, NEW
Claims 1, 3-5 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by US 2009/0060962 A1, prior art of record.
The reference teaches a method for treating or preventing dryness of and/or associated disorders of a keratinous substance with a lysate of Bifidobacterium species (abstract).
An exemplified milk for care of the scalp comprises 5 wgt. % of a lysate of Bifidobacterium longum; 0.05 wgt. % antioxidant; 1 wgt. % each of glycerol stearate and cetyl alcohol (nonionic surfactants); and a calculated amount of water as 79.65 wgt. % (page 7, Example 4).
The antioxidant in the compositions comprises Vitamin C (i.e. ascorbic acid) (page 5, [0114]).
The reference explicitly teaches that the compositions may be formulated as creams, gels, serums, lotions etc. for application to the keratinous substance, such as dry skin or hair (i.e. compositions which are not washed off) and well as shampoos (i.e. compositions which are washed off) (page 6, [0130]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103, NEW
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2009/0060962 A1 and further in view of US 2002/0042380 A1, both prior art of record.
Inventor teaches a method for the cosmetic treatment of the scalp and/or hair comprising application of a composition comprising (a) one or more of ascorbic acid and its derivatives, and (b) one or more microorganisms of the genus Bifidobacterium species, one of its fractions, one of its metabolites, or mixtures thereof, the microorganism(s) being in the lysate form and the total water content of the composition ranging between 60-98 wgt. %, where the ascorbic acid derivative is ascorbyl glucoside.
US 2009/0060962 A1 teaches a method for treating or preventing dryness of and/or associated disorders of a keratinous substance with a lysate of Bifidobacterium species (abstract).
An exemplified milk for care of the scalp comprises 5 wgt. % of a lysate of Bifidobacterium longum; 0.05 wgt. % antioxidant; 1 wgt. % each of glycerol stearate and cetyl alcohol (nonionic surfactants); and a calculated amount of water as 79.65 wgt. % (page 7, Example 4).
The antioxidant in the compositions comprises Vitamin C (i.e. ascorbic acid) (page 5, [0114]).
US 2002/0042380 A1 teaches the topical application of ascorbic acid compounds which improve the barrier function of the skin, its moisture content and/or suppleness/surface appearance, etc. (abstract). Ascorbyl glucoside is an exemplified derivative (page 4, Examples 1 and 3).
Inventor distinguishes over US 2009/0060962 A1 in that ascorbyl glucoside is taught as the antioxidant. However, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant invention, would have found it obvious to substitute ascorbyl glucoside for the ascorbic acid of the prior art, and with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to take advantage of this ascorbic acid derivative’s enhanced benefits for the skin as taught by US 2002/0042380.
Claims 6, 7 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2009/0060962 A1, prior art or record.
Inventor teaches a method for the cosmetic treatment of the scalp and/or hair comprising application of a composition comprising (a) one or more of ascorbic acid and its derivatives, and (b) one or more microorganisms of the genus Bifidobacterium species, one of its fractions, one of its metabolites, or mixtures thereof, the microorganism(s) being in the lysate form and the total water content of the composition ranging between 60-98 wgt. %, and further comprising one or more extracts of yeast of the genus Saccharomyces chosen from the species Saccharomyces bailii,…cerevisiae…,etc. (claim 6). Claim 7 (from claim 6) teaches ranges of wgt. % of the Saccharomyces species.
Inventor further teaches a method for the cosmetic treatment of the scalp and/or hair comprising application of a composition comprising (a) one or more of ascorbic acid and its derivatives, and (b) one or more microorganisms of the genus Bifidobacterium species, one of its fractions, one of its metabolites, or mixtures thereof, the microorganism(s) being in the lysate form and the total water content of the composition ranging between 60-98 wgt. %, and further comprising one or more oligosaccharides, polysaccharides and mixtures (claim 10). Claim 11 (from claim 10) teaches a mixture comprising at least one fructooligosaccharide and at least one glucooligosaccharide. Claim 12 (from claim 10) teaches ranges of wgt. % of the saccharides.
Inventor further teaches a method for the cosmetic treatment of the scalp and/or hair comprising application of a composition comprising (a) one or more of ascorbic acid and its derivatives, and (b) one or more microorganisms of the genus Bifidobacterium species, one of its fractions, one of its metabolites, or mixtures thereof, the microorganism(s) being in the lysate form and the total water content of the composition ranging between 60-98 wgt. %, and further comprising one or more probiotic microorganisms, different from Bifidobacterium species, chosen from lactic acid bacteria such as Lactobacillus acidophilus, etc. (claim 13). Claim 14 (from claim 13) teaches ranges of wgt. % of the lactic acid bacteria.
US 2009/0060962 A1 teaches a method for treating or preventing dryness of and/or associated disorders of a keratinous substance with a lysate of Bifidobacterium species (abstract).
An exemplified milk for care of the scalp comprises 5 wgt. % of a lysate of Bifidobacterium longum; 0.05 wgt. % antioxidant; 1 wgt. % each of glycerol stearate and cetyl alcohol (nonionic surfactants); and a calculated amount of water as 79.65 wgt. % (page 7, Example 4).
The antioxidant in the compositions comprises Vitamin C (i.e. ascorbic acid) (page 5, [0114]).
The reference explicitly teaches that additional microorganisms may be added to the composition, in particular, Saccharomyces species such as Saccharomyces cerevisiae, (page 3, [0079]; page 4, [0083]). The additional microorganisms may be added in the ranges of 0.0001-30 wgt. %, 0.001-15 wgt. %, and 0.1-10 wgt. % (page 4, [0088]).
The reference also explicitly teaches that other actives such as fructo-oligosaccharide and prebiotics such as oligosaccharides produced starting from glucose, etc., may be added (page 5, [0115]).
The reference also explicitly teaches that additional probiotic microorganisms may be added to the composition such as Lactobacillus acidophilus, etc. (page 4, [0084]). These additional probiotic microorganisms may be added in ranges of 0.0001-30 wgt. %, 0.001-15 wgt. %, and 0.1-10 wgt. % (page 4, [0088]).
With respect to claims 6 and 7, inventor distinguishes over the exemplified compositions of the cited art in that Saccharomyces species have been added to the composition. However, one of ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the instant invention, would have found such an addition obvious (and a significant portion of the prior art range of such an addition would yield a composition which satisfies the instant limitation with respect to water content) and done so with a reasonable expectation of success, given that the reference explicitly teaches that this may be done.
With respect to claims 10-12, inventor distinguishes over the exemplified compositions of the cited art in that oligosaccharides, polysaccharides, or mixtures thereof have been added to the compositions. However, one of ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the instant invention, would have found such an addition obvious, and done so with a reasonable expectation of success, given that the reference explicitly teaches that this may be done. One of ordinary skill would have found it obvious as well, before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to choose the appropriate wgt. % of such additional conventional ingredients as well, motivated and guided by the ordinary practitioner’s skill in formulating compositions for application to the scalp or hair.
With respect to claims 13 and 14, inventor distinguishes over the exemplified compositions of the cited art in that lactic acid bacteria have been added to the composition. However, one of ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the instant invention would have found such an addition obvious (and a significant portion of the prior art range of such an addition would yield a composition which satisfies the instant limitation with respect to water content) and done so with a reasonable expectation of success, given that the reference explicitly teaches that this may be done.
Claims 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2009/0060962 A1 and further in view of DE 29804154U1, whose corresponding English language machine translation has been relied upon for purposes of this rejection, all of which are prior art of record.
Inventor teaches a method for the cosmetic treatment of the scalp and/or hair comprising application of a composition comprising (a) one or more of ascorbic acid and its derivatives, and (b) one or more microorganisms of the genus Bifidobacterium species, one of its fractions, one of its metabolites, or mixtures thereof, the microorganism(s) being in the lysate form and the total water content of the composition ranging between 60-98 wgt. %, and further comprising one or more one or more monosaccharides, preferably mannose or rhamnose (claim 8). Claim 9 (from claim 8) teaches ranges of the wgt. % of the monosaccharides.
Inventor further teaches a method for the cosmetic treatment of the scalp and/or hair comprising application of a composition comprising (a) one or more of ascorbic acid and its derivatives, and (b) one or more microorganisms of the genus Bifidobacterium species, one of its fractions, one of its metabolites, or mixtures thereof, the microorganism(s) being in the lysate form and the total water content of the composition ranging between 60-98 wgt. %, and further comprising one or more oligosaccharides, polysaccharides and mixtures (claim 10). Claim 11 (from claim 10) teaches a mixture comprising at least one fructooligosaccharide and at least one glucooligosaccharide. Claim 12 (from claim 10) teaches ranges of wgt. % of the saccharides.
US 2009/0060962 A1 has been outlined in the 103 rejection immediately above.
The English language machine translation of DE 29804154U1 teaches a hair conditioning product which improves the properties of the hair when topically applied and comprises an aqueous mixture of at least one mono- and/or oligosaccharide (page 1, Hair treatment products, last paragraph). Mannose and rhamnose are among the preferred mono- and/or oligosaccharides (page 1, A-11/98 -2-, first paragraph). Ranges of wgt. % in the composition are approximately 0.1-20 wgt. %, 0.25-10 wgt. %, and 0.5-5 wgt. % (page 1, A-11/98 -2-, last two text lines).
Inventor principally distinguishes over the exemplified composition of US 2009/0060962 A1, with respect to claims 8 and 9, in that a monosaccharide, preferably mannose or rhamnose, has been added to the mixture. However, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant invention, would have found it obvious to add such monosaccharides (and a significant portion of the prior art range of such an addition would yield a composition which satisfies the instant limitation with respect to water content) and done so with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to take advantage of the improved properties imparted to hair by the monosaccharides, as taught by DE 2980415U1. Likewise, the addition of oligosaccharides (claims 10-12).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN J DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614 10/4/2026