DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-10 and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). For instance, instant claim 3 recites the broad recitation “…the total content of the antioxidant(s) ranges from 0.05% to 10% by weight…”, and the claim also recites “…preferably [emphasis added] from 0.1% to 10% by weight…” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. Analysis of other instances of the use of the terms preferably, preferentially, more preferentially, better still, and even better still in claim 3, and in the remaining claims, is similar.
The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation “…the monosaccharides…” in the claim.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation “…keratin fibres…” in the claim. Claim 1, the claim from which claim 19 immediately depends, explicitly limits the method to one particular type of keratin fiber: hair.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claim depends from an indefinite claim (claim 10) yet does not relieve the indefiniteness. Dependent claim 11 is also, therefore, indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by US 2010/0272839 A1.
The reference teaches a method for the cosmetic treatment of fatty dandruff of the scalp with a lysate of Bifidobacterium species (abstract).
An exemplified lotion for the scalp comprises 5 wgt. % of a powder of lysate of Bifidobacterium longum; 0.05 wgt. % antioxidant; and a calculated amount of water as 54.65 wgt. % (page 7, Example 1).
An exemplified milk for care of the scalp comprises 5 wgt. % of a powder of lysate of Bifidobacterium longum; 0.05 wgt. % antioxidant; 1 wgt. % each of glycerol stearate and cetyl alcohol (nonionic surfactants); and a calculated amount of water as 59.65 wgt. % (page 7, Example 2).
The antioxidant in the compositions comprises Vitamin C (i.e. ascorbic acid) (page 6, [0133]).
The reference explicitly teaches that the compositions may be formulated as creams, gels, serums and lotions for application to the scalp or wetted hair (i.e. compositions which are not washed off) and well as shampoos (i.e. compositions which are washed off) (page 7, [0141]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2010/0272839 A1 and further in view of US 2002/0042380 A1.
Inventor teaches a method for the cosmetic treatment of the scalp and/or hair comprising application of a composition comprising (a) one or more of ascorbic acid and its derivatives, and (b) one or more microorganisms of the genus Bifidobacterium species, one of its fractions, one of its metabolites, or mixtures thereof, the microorganism(s) being in the lysate form and the total water content of the composition ranging between 50-98 wgt. %, where the ascorbic acid derivative is ascorbyl glucoside.
US 2010/0272839 A1 teaches a method for the cosmetic treatment of fatty dandruff of the scalp with a lysate of Bifidobacterium species (abstract).
An exemplified lotion for the scalp comprises 5 wgt. % of a powder of lysate of Bifidobacterium longum; 0.05 wgt. % antioxidant; and a calculated amount of water as 54.65 wgt. % (page 7, Example 1).
An exemplified milk for care of the scalp comprises 5 wgt. % of a powder of lysate of Bifidobacterium longum; 0.05 wgt. % antioxidant; 1 wgt. % each of glycerol stearate and cetyl alcohol (nonionic surfactants); and a calculated amount of water as 59.65 wgt. % (page 7, Example 2).
The antioxidant of the compositions comprises Vitamin C (i.e. ascorbic acid) (page 6, [0133]).
US 2002/0042380 A1 teaches the topical application of ascorbic acid compounds which improve the barrier function of the skin, its moisture content and/or suppleness/surface appearance, etc. (abstract). Ascorbyl glucoside is an exemplified derivative (page 4, Examples 1 and 3).
Inventor distinguishes over US 2010/0272839 A1 in that ascorbyl glucoside is taught as the antioxidant. However, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant invention, would have found it obvious to substitute ascorbyl glucoside for the ascorbic acid of the prior art, and with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to take advantage of this ascorbic acid derivative’s enhanced benefits for the skin as taught by US 2002/0042380.
Claims 6, 7 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2010/0272839 A1.
Inventor teaches a method for the cosmetic treatment of the scalp and/or hair comprising application of a composition comprising (a) one or more of ascorbic acid and its derivatives, and (b) one or more microorganisms of the genus Bifidobacterium species, one of its fractions, one of its metabolites, or mixtures thereof, the microorganism(s) being in the lysate form and the total water content of the composition ranging between 50-98 wgt. %, and further comprising one or more extracts of yeast of the genus Saccharomyces chosen from the species Saccharomyces bailii,…cerevisiae…,etc. (claim 6). Claim 7 (from claim 6) teaches ranges of wgt. % of the Saccharomyces species.
Inventor further teaches a method for the cosmetic treatment of the scalp and/or hair comprising application of a composition comprising (a) one or more of ascorbic acid and its derivatives, and (b) one or more microorganisms of the genus Bifidobacterium species, one of its fractions, one of its metabolites, or mixtures thereof, the microorganism(s) being in the lysate form and the total water content of the composition ranging between 50-98 wgt. %, and further comprising one or more oligosaccharides, polysaccharides and mixtures (claim 10). Claim 11 (from claim 10) teaches a mixture comprising at least one fructooligosaccharide and at least one glucooligosaccharide. Claim 12 (from claim 10) teaches ranges of wgt. % of the saccharides.
Inventor further teaches a method for the cosmetic treatment of the scalp and/or hair comprising application of a composition comprising (a) one or more of ascorbic acid and its derivatives, and (b) one or more probiotic microorganisms of the genus Bifidobacterium species, one of its fractions, one of its metabolites, or mixtures thereof, the microorganism(s) being in the lysate form and the total water content of the composition ranging between 50-98 wgt. %, and further comprising one or more probiotic microorganisms, different from Bifidobacterium species, chosen from lactic acid bacteria such as Lactobacillus acidophilus, etc. (claim 13). Claim 14 (from claim 13) teaches ranges of wgt. % of the lactic acid bacteria.
US 2010/0272839 A1 teaches a method for the cosmetic treatment of fatty dandruff of the scalp with a lysate of Bifidobacterium species (abstract).
An exemplified lotion for the scalp comprises 5 wgt. % of a powder of lysate of Bifidobacterium longum; 0.05 wgt. % antioxidant; and a calculated amount of water as 54.65 wgt. % (page 7, Example 1).
An exemplified milk for care of the scalp comprises 5 wgt. % of a powder of lysate of Bifidobacterium longum; 0.05 wgt. % antioxidant; 1 wgt. % each of glycerol stearate and cetyl alcohol (nonionic surfactants); and a calculated amount of water as 59.65 wgt. % (page 7, Example 2).
The antioxidant of the compositions comprises Vitamin C (i.e. ascorbic acid) (page 6, [0133]).
The reference explicitly teaches that additional microorganisms may be added to the composition, in particular, Saccharomyces species such as Saccharomyces cerevisiae, (page 3, [0078]). The additional microorganisms may be added in the ranges of 0.0001-30 wgt. %, 0.001-15 wgt. %, and 0.1-10 wgt. % (page 4, [0085]).
The reference also explicitly teaches that other actives such as oligofucose prodesquamatiion agents, fructo-oligosaccharide and prebiotics such as oligosaccharides produced starting from glucose, etc., may be added (page 6, [0129], [0131], [0135]).
The reference also explicitly teaches that additional probiotic microorganisms may be added to the composition such as Lactobacillus acidophilus, etc. (page 3, [0080]). These additional probiotic microorganisms may be added in rages of 0.0001-30 wgt. %, 0.001-15 wgt. %, and 0.1-10 wgt. % (page 4, [0085]).
With respect to claims 6 and 7, inventor distinguishes over the exemplified compositions of the cited art in that Saccharomyces species have been added to the composition. However, one of ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the instant invention, would have found such an addition obvious (and a significant portion of the prior art range of such an addition would yield a composition which satisfies the instant limitation with respect to water content) and done so with a reasonable expectation of success, given that the reference explicitly teaches that this may be done.
With respect to claims 10-12, inventor distinguishes over the exemplified compositions of the cited art in that oligosaccharides, polysaccharides, or mixtures thereof have been added to the compositions. However, one of ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the instant invention, would have found such an addition obvious, and done so with a reasonable expectation of success, given that the reference explicitly teaches that this may be done. One of ordinary skill would have found it obvious as well, before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to choose the appropriate wgt. % of such additional conventional ingredients as well, motivated and guided by the ordinary practitioner’s skill in formulating compositions for application to the scalp or hair.
With respect to claims 13 and 14, inventor distinguishes over the exemplified compositions of the cited art in that lactic acid bacteria have been added to the composition. However, one of ordinary skill, before the effective filing date of the instant invention would have found such an addition obvious (and a significant portion of the prior art range of such an addition would yield a composition which satisfies the instant limitation with respect to water content) and done so with a reasonable expectation of success, given that the reference explicitly teaches that this may be done.
Claims 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2010/0272839 A1 and further in view of DE 29804154U1, whose corresponding English language machine translation has been relied upon for purposes of this rejection.
Inventor teaches a method for the cosmetic treatment of the scalp and/or hair comprising application of a composition comprising (a) one or more of ascorbic acid and its derivatives, and (b) one or more microorganisms of the genus Bifidobacterium species, one of its fractions, one of its metabolites, or mixtures thereof, the microorganism(s) being in the lysate form and the total water content of the composition ranging between 50-98 wgt. %, and further comprising one or more one or more monosaccharides, preferably mannose or rhamnose (claim 8). Claim 9 (from claim 8) teaches ranges of the wgt. % of the monosaccharides.
Inventor further teaches a method for the cosmetic treatment of the scalp and/or hair comprising application of a composition comprising (a) one or more of ascorbic acid and its derivatives, and (b) one or more microorganisms of the genus Bifidobacterium species, one of its fractions, one of its metabolites, or mixtures thereof, the microorganism(s) being in the lysate form and the total water content of the composition ranging between 50-98 wgt. %, and further comprising one or more oligosaccharides, polysaccharides and mixtures (claim 10). Claim 11 (from claim 10) teaches a mixture comprising at least one fructooligosaccharide and at least one glucooligosaccharide. Claim 12 (from claim 10) teaches ranges of wgt. % of the saccharides.
US 2010/0272839 A1 has been outlined immediately above.
The English language machine translation of DE 29804154U1 teaches a hair conditioning product which improves the properties of the hair when topically applied and comprises an aqueous mixture of at least one mono- and/or oligosaccharide (page 1, Hair treatment products, last paragraph). Mannose and rhamnose are among the preferred mono- and/or oligosaccharides (page 1, A-11/98 -2-, first paragraph). Ranges of wgt. % in the composition are approximately 0.1-20 wgt. %, 0.25-10 wgt. %, and 0.5-5 wgt. % (page 1, A-11/98 -2-, last two text lines).
Inventor principally distinguishes over the exemplified composition of US 2010/0272839 A1, with respect to claims 8 and 9, in that a monosaccharide, preferably mannose or rhamnose, has been added to the mixture. However, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant invention, would have found it obvious to add such monosaccharides (and a significant portion of the prior art range of such an addition would yield a composition which satisfies the instant limitation with respect to water content) and done so with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to take advantage of the improved properties imparted to hair by the monosaccharides, as taught by DE 2980415U1. Likewise, the addition of oligosaccharides (claims 10-12).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 2018/0050071 A1 is cited to show a related composition (for oral or topical administration) comprising a combination of antioxidant agents (inter alia vitamin C, i.e. ascorbic acid) and Bifidobacteria (live; cell walls) utilized in a method of anti-aging (abstract; page 3, [0038], [0040], [0046]); page 6, Example 3). US 2009/0060962 A1 is cited to show an additional treatment method utilizing Bifidobacterium lysates.
/BRIAN J DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614 1/25/2026