DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-22 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 13 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abbaszadeh et al. (Abbaszadeh), US Patent Application Publication No. US 2020/0067969, and further in view of Melnykov et al. (Melnykov), “On model-based clustering of skewed matrix data”, available on line 26 April 2018, Journal of Multivariate Analysis 167 (2018), pages 181-194.
As to independent claim 1, Abbaszadeh discloses a method performed by at least one computer processor executing computer program instructions stored on at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium, the method comprising:
receiving multivariate feature data,
the multivariate feature data comprising a plurality of multivariate
feature vectors (Abstract: a plurality of monitoring nodes may each generate a time series of current monitoring node values representing current operation of a cyber-physical system, and a feature-based forecasting framework receive the time-series and generate a set of current feature vectors; paragraph [0103]: the time series may be modeled as a multivariate autoregressive model (VAR model)),
wherein each of the multivariate feature vectors comprises a corresponding
plurality of values of a plurality of features (Abstract and paragraphs [0037], [0043]: the system may retrieve, for each of a plurality of monitoring nodes, a series of normal values over time that represent normal operation of the cyber-physical system);
producing a plurality of clusters based on the multivariate feature data (Abstract: a set of ensemble state-space models may be constructed to represent feature evolution in the time-domain, wherein the forecasted outputs from the set of ensemble state-space models comprise anticipated time evolution of features);
and
assigning, for each the multivariate feature vectors V and for each of
the plurality of clusters C, a probability that vector V is within cluster C (paragraph [0034]: the ensembles may be selected using a soft cluster method, such as Gaussian Mixture Model (“GMM”) clustering, which may provide both centroid and probability membership functions; paragraph [0097]: the GMM clustering partitions the operating space (projected into feature space) into multiple clusters each represented by a multivariate Gaussian process described by a mean (centroid) and a covariance matrix. The centroid of each cluster represents the operating point for each ensemble model while its covariance matrix establishes a probabilistic membership function),
Abbaszadeh discloses that many different types of features may be utilized in principal components and statistical features, e.g., mean, variance, skewness, maximum, minimum values of time series signals (paragraph [0050]). Abbaszadeh, however, does not disclose wherein the assigning comprises assigning, to each of the plurality of clusters, a corresponding skew to account for skew in the plurality of
multivariate feature vectors.
In the same field of endeavor, Melnykov discloses on model-based clustering of skewed matrix data (Title). Melnykov further discloses in Abstract that the existing finite mixture modeling and model-based clustering literature focuses primarily on the analysis of multivariate data observed in the form of vectors, with each element representing a specific feature, and multivariate Gaussian mixture models have been the most commonly used. Melnykov further discloses in Abstract that targeting the problem of mixture modeling with components that can handle skewness in matrix-valued data. Melnykov further discloses in page 181, 1. Introduction: model-based clustering assumes that each cluster can be seen as a sample from an underlying mixture component, i.e., there exists a one-to-one correspondence between components and data groups. Melnykov further discloses in page 181, 1. Introduction: distributions capable of modeling various data shapes, especially skewness, wherein mixtures of multivariate skew-normal and skew-t distributions are the most popular choices. Melnykov further discloses in page 182: proposing a mixture model that relies on the novel class of matrix distributions that can model skewness effectively. Melnykov further discloses in page 183, 2.3. Matrix transformation mixture model: a novel matrix mixture model that is capable of modeling skewness effectively.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Abbaszadeh to include wherein the assigning comprises assigning, to each of the plurality of clusters, a corresponding skew to account for skew in the plurality of multivariate feature vectors, as taught by Melnykov for the purpose of providing modeling skewness effectively.
As to dependent claim 2, Abbaszadeh discloses wherein clustering the plurality of features comprises clustering the plurality of features using Expectation Maximization of a Gaussian Mixture Model (GMM) (paragraph [0097]).
As to dependent claim 3, Abbaszadeh discloses wherein the number of the plurality of clusters is equal to the number of the plurality of features (paragraphs [0034], [0079]).
As to dependent claim 4, Abbaszadeh discloses wherein (C) comprises learning a multivariate model based on the plurality of features simultaneously (paragraph [0121]).
As to dependent claim 5, Abbaszadeh discloses wherein learning the multivariate model comprises learning the multivariate model based on the plurality of multivariate feature vectors (paragraph [0121]).
As to dependent claim 6, Abbaszadeh discloses wherein the multivariate model comprises a composition of a plurality of Gaussian distributions (paragraph [0096]).
As to dependent claim 7, Abbaszadeh discloses wherein the composition of the plurality of Gaussian distributions comprises a convolution of the plurality of Gaussian
Distributions (paragraphs [0079], [0096]).
As to dependent claim 8, Abbaszadeh discloses wherein each of the plurality of Gaussian distributions corresponds to a distinct one of the plurality of clusters (paragraph [0096]).
As to dependent claim 9, Abbaszadeh discloses further comprising, after (A), (B), and (C):
receiving a new multivariate feature vector that was not within the
multivariate feature data (Abstract; paragraph [0006]); and
determining, based on the learned model and the new multivariate
feature vector, whether the new multivariate feature vector represents an anomaly (Abstract; paragraph [0006]).
As to dependent claim 13, Abbaszadeh discloses wherein (E) comprises:
(E)(1) identifying, for each of the plurality of clusters in the learned model, a percentage likelihood that the new multivariate feature vector falls within that cluster (paragraphs [0080], [0090], [0099]); and
(E)(2) determining that the new multivariate feature vector is an anomaly if the new multivariate feature vector is determined not to fall within any of the plurality of clusters (paragraphs [0080], [0090], [0099], [0108]).
Claim 22 is system claim that contains similar limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 22 is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 10-12 and 14-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abbaszadeh and Melnykov as applied to claims 1-9, 13, and 22 above, and further in view of Dixit, US Patent Application Publication No. US 2022/0358212 A1.
As to dependent claim 10, Abbaszadeh and Melnykov, however, do not disclose discloses wherein (D) comprises:
(D)(1) detecting a user login access attempt; and
(D)(2) generating the new multivariate feature vector to represent a plurality of features of the user login access attempt; and
wherein (E) comprises determining, based on the learned model and the new
multivariate feature vector, whether the user login access attempt is an anomaly.
In the same field of endeavor, Dixit discloses in Abstract that the output of an autoencoder model is used to provide reasons for classifying logged event data as anomalous. Multivariate input feature vectors based on the event data are applied to the autoencoder model to generate corresponding predicted multivariate feature vectors with respective feature elements. Each feature element of each vector corresponds to a respective type of event data (e.g., sign-in failures). A reconstruction loss is determined for each predicted feature vector and used to classify the predicted feature vector as anomalous or not anomalous. Dixit further discloses in paragraph [0041] that data from sign-in logs may be aggregated by user ID to create per-user sessions, data from DNS logs maybe aggregated by IP address to create per-IP address session, and multivariate input feature vectors may be created for each session, where each feature element of an input feature vector may comprise a value associated with a type of event or activity. Dixit further discloses in paragraph [0062] that a plurality of multivariate test input feature vectors may be autoencoded based on a trained autoencoder model to generate a plurality of outputs. For example, in a manner similar as the method described above with respect to step 502 (FIG. 5), trained autoencoder model 322 may be configured to autoencode each of the plurality of test input feature vectors 316, where each feature element of each of the plurality of test input feature vectors 316 may correspond to a respective type of event data (e.g., a count of failed sign-in logs, a count of number of IP addresses signed in from, etc.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the systems of Abbaszadeh and Melnykov to include (D)(1) detecting a user login access attempt; and (D)(2) generating the new multivariate feature vector to represent a plurality of features of the user login access attempt; and wherein (E) comprises determining, based on the learned model and the new multivariate feature vector, whether the user login access attempt is an anomaly, as taught by Dixit for the purpose of providing reasons for classifying event data as anomalous.
As to dependent claim 11, Abbaszadeh does not disclose but Dixit discloses wherein the plurality of features includes a geolocation of the user login access attempt and a time of the user login access attempt (Dixit, paragraphs [0024]-[0025], [0034]).
As to dependent claim 12, Abbaszadeh does not disclose but Dixit discloses wherein the geolocation of the user login access attempt comprises a latitude of the user login access attempt and a longitude of the user login access attempt, and wherein the time of the user login access attempt comprises a day of the user login access attempt and a time epoch of the user login access attempt (Dixit, paragraphs [0024]-[0025], [0034], [0040]).
As to dependent claim 14, Abbaszadeh does not disclose but Dixit discloses wherein the plurality of features includes geolocation and access time of an attempted user login access attempt (Dixit, paragraph [0024]).
As to dependent claim 15, Abbaszadeh does not disclose but Dixit discloses wherein geolocation includes latitude and longitude (Dixit, paragraph [0034]).
As to dependent claim 16, Abbaszadeh does not disclose but Dixit discloses wherein access time includes time epoch and day (Dixit, paragraph [0041]).
As to dependent claim 17, Abbaszadeh does not disclose but Dixit discloses wherein the plurality of features includes a slow DNS tunnel feature (Dixit, paragraphs [0024], [0041]).
As to dependent claim 18, Abbaszadeh does not disclose but Dixit discloses wherein the plurality of features includes a fast DNS tunnel feature (Dixit, paragraphs [0024], [0041]).
As to dependent claim 19, Abbaszadeh does not disclose but Dixit discloses before (A): generating the multivariate feature data based on user login access data (Dixit, Abstract and paragraph [0036]).
As to dependent claim 20, Abbaszadeh does not disclose but Dixit discloses wherein the user login access data comprises a plurality of network flow logs (Dixit, paragraph [0023]).
As to dependent claim 21, Abbaszadeh does not disclose but Dixit discloses wherein the user login access data comprises a plurality of application logs (Dixit, paragraph [0023]).
Conclusion
/CHAU T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2145