DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on February 2, 2024 and July 10, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 9, and 15 – 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Damnjanovic et al (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0063931). Hereinafter Damnjanovic.
Regarding claim 1, Damnjanovic discloses a method, comprising:
receiving a handover command (the source base station transmits an RRC reconfiguration message to the UE, where the RRC reconfiguration message includes a conditional handover configuration that indicates one or more criteria or execution conditions (for example conditional thresholds) that triggers handover, paragraph [0080]; an execution condition is a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) based execution condition, paragraph [0108]; the UE receives handover configuration with criteria or execution conditions (i.e. command));
identifying a maximum permissible exposure event at a user equipment before or after reception of the handover command (the UE determines whether that the one or more criteria or execution conditions for triggering handover to the candidate base station, paragraph [0081]; an execution condition is a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) based execution condition, paragraph [0108]; the UE determines whether MPE is a triggering condition for handover (i.e. identify after receiving handover command));
delaying an uplink switch to a target network element from a source network element due to the maximum permissible exposure event, wherein delaying the uplink switch comprises setting an event trigger to switch to the target network element (the UE determines whether that the one or more criteria or execution conditions for triggering handover to the candidate base station, where the UE executes the handover upon detecting the conditional handover event, and not wait for an RRC reconfiguration message from the source base station, and the UE changes RRC connection from the source base station to the first candidate base station based on detecting the conditional handover event or execution condition for the first candidate base station by transmitting RRC reconfiguration complete message to indicate that the UE has changed an RRC connection from the source base station to the first candidate base station, paragraphs [0081], [0082]; there is some time passes between a time when the conditional handover is configured and a time when the conditional handover is triggered due to changes in the channel conditions, paragraph [0085]; an execution condition is a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) based execution condition, paragraph [0108]; the UE receives the RRC reconfiguration message with the MPE trigger condition, and the UE switches the RRC connection to the first candidate base station (i.e. target network element) when the MPE condition is triggered after a period of time has passed (i.e. delay the uplink switch and sets the UE to switch to the first candidate base station)); and
informing the target network element about the maximum permissible exposure event, and about the delay in the uplink switch (the UE changes RRC connection from the source base station to the first candidate base station based on detecting the conditional handover event or execution condition for the first candidate base station by transmitting RRC reconfiguration complete message to indicate that the UE has changed an RRC connection from the source base station to the first candidate base station, paragraphs [0081], [0082]; there is some time passes between a time when the conditional handover is configured and a time when the conditional handover is triggered due to changes in the channel conditions, paragraph [0085]; an execution condition is a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) based execution condition, paragraph [0108]; the UE transmits the RRC reconfiguration complete message to the first candidate base station (i.e. informing the target network element), where the reconfiguration complete message is about the UE switching to the first candidate base station based on MPE condition is triggered after a period of time has passed (i.e. about the MPE event and about the delay)).
Regarding claim 2, Damnjanovic discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein when the event trigger comprises the end of the maximum permissible exposure event, the method further comprises one of:
informing the source network element about the end of the maximum permissible exposure event via a message that can be a medium access control control element (the UE transmits indication to the source base station or the target base station via MAC signaling (i.e. MAC-CEs) or a message using a scheduling request (SR) resource that is associated with the target base station, paragraph [0136]; the execution condition includes an MPE based execution condition, paragraph [0151]), or
informing the target network element about the end of the maximum permissible exposure event (the UE transmits indication to the source base station or the target base station via MAC signaling (i.e. MAC-CEs) or a message using a scheduling request (SR) resource that is associated with the target base station, paragraph [0136]; the execution condition includes an MPE based execution condition, paragraph [0151]).
Regarding claim 3, Damnjanovic discloses the method according to claim 2, further comprising:
receiving an acknowledgment from the target network element about the uplink switch via the medium access control control element (the first candidate base station transmits handover request acknowledgement message to the source base station, where the source base station transmits RRC reconfiguration to the UE, the UE changes RRC connection from the source base station to the first candidate base station based on detecting the conditional handover event or execution condition for the first candidate base station by transmitting RRC reconfiguration complete message to indicate that the UE has changed an RRC connection from the source base station to the first candidate base station, paragraphs [0080] – [0082]; the UE transmits indication to the source base station or the target base station via MAC signaling (i.e. MAC-CEs) or a message using a scheduling request (SR) resource that is associated with the target base station, paragraph [0136]; the execution condition includes an MPE based execution condition, paragraph [0151]).
Regarding claim 4, Damnjanovic discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein when the event trigger comprises a persistence of the maximum permissible exposure event, the method further comprises:
monitoring and evaluating a source link against a threshold (the UE receives configuration information via RRC signaling or MAC signaling (MAC-CEs), where the UE continually evaluates one or more conditional handover execution conditions, such as a measurement associated with a candidate cell satisfies a threshold indicated by an execution condition, paragraph [0114]; the UE determines whether that the one or more criteria or execution conditions for triggering handover to the candidate base station, paragraph [0081]; an execution condition is a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) based execution condition, paragraph [0108]);
performing the uplink switch to the target network element (the UE receives configuration information via RRC signaling or MAC signaling (MAC-CEs), where the UE continually evaluates one or more conditional handover execution conditions, such as a measurement associated with a candidate cell satisfies a threshold indicated by an execution condition, and the UE uses measurement results as part of the operation to evaluate the one or more conditional handover execution conditions, paragraphs [0114] – [0116]; the UE determines whether that the one or more criteria or execution conditions for triggering handover to the candidate base station, paragraph [0081]; an execution condition is a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) based execution condition, paragraph [0108]); and
transmitting a measurement report to the target network element, the measurement report comprising an indication of a quality of the source link (the UE transmits measurement report to the source base station that transmits the measurement report or an indication of one or more measurement values indicated by the measurement report to the first candidate base station, paragraphs [0117], [0118]).
Regarding claim 5, Damnjanovic discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein when a random access procedure to the target network element has been completed (the UE performs a RACH procedure with the first candidate base station, paragraphs [0078], [0083]), the method further comprises:
switching from an uplink communication with the target network element to an uplink communication with the source network element (the UE determines whether that the one or more criteria or execution conditions for triggering handover to the candidate base station, where the UE executes the handover upon detecting the conditional handover event, and not wait for an RRC reconfiguration message from the source base station, and the UE changes RRC connection from the source base station to the first candidate base station based on detecting the conditional handover event or execution condition for the first candidate base station by transmitting RRC reconfiguration complete message to indicate that the UE has changed an RRC connection from the source base station to the first candidate base station, paragraphs [0081], [0082]; there is some time passes between a time when the conditional handover is configured and a time when the conditional handover is triggered due to changes in the channel conditions, paragraph [0085]; an execution condition is a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) based execution condition, paragraph [0108]; the UE receives the RRC reconfiguration message with the MPE trigger condition from the source base station (i.e. target network element), and the UE switches the RRC connection to the first candidate base station (i.e. source network element) when the MPE condition is triggered after a period of time has passed (i.e. delay the uplink switch and sets the UE to switch to the first candidate base station)).
Regarding claim 6, Damnjanovic discloses the method according to claim 5, further comprising:
informing the target network element about the maximum permissible exposure event and the uplink switch to the source network element due to the maximum permissible exposure event (the UE transmits indication to the source base station or the target base station via MAC signaling (i.e. MAC-CEs) or a message using a scheduling request (SR) resource that is associated with the target base station, paragraph [0136]; the execution condition includes an MPE based execution condition, paragraph [0151]).
Regarding claim 7, Damnjanovic discloses the method according to claim 5, further comprising:
informing the source network element about the uplink switch to the source network element (the UE transmits indication to the source base station or the target base station via MAC signaling (i.e. MAC-CEs) or a message using a scheduling request (SR) resource that is associated with the target base station, paragraph [0136]; the execution condition includes an MPE based execution condition, paragraph [0151]).
Regarding claim 8, Damnjanovic discloses the method according to claim 7, further comprising:
receiving an acknowledgment from the source network element of the uplink switch (the first candidate base station transmits handover request acknowledgement message to the source base station, where the source base station transmits RRC reconfiguration to the UE, the UE changes RRC connection from the source base station to the first candidate base station based on detecting the conditional handover event or execution condition for the first candidate base station by transmitting RRC reconfiguration complete message to indicate that the UE has changed an RRC connection from the source base station to the first candidate base station, paragraphs [0080] – [0082]; the UE transmits indication to the source base station or the target base station via MAC signaling (i.e. MAC-CEs) or a message using a scheduling request (SR) resource that is associated with the target base station, paragraph [0136]; the execution condition includes an MPE based execution condition, paragraph [0151]).
Regarding claim 9, Damnjanovic discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein switching uplink to the target network element is based on a comparison of an estimate of an uplink status to the source network element, and an estimated uplink status to the target network element (the UE determines whether that the one or more criteria or execution conditions for triggering handover to the candidate base station, where the UE executes the handover upon detecting the conditional handover event, and not wait for an RRC reconfiguration message from the source base station, and the UE changes RRC connection from the source base station to the first candidate base station based on detecting the conditional handover event or execution condition for the first candidate base station by transmitting RRC reconfiguration complete message to indicate that the UE has changed an RRC connection from the source base station to the first candidate base station, paragraphs [0081], [0082]; there is some time passes between a time when the conditional handover is configured and a time when the conditional handover is triggered due to changes in the channel conditions, paragraph [0085]; an execution condition is a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) based execution condition, paragraph [0108]; the UE compares the execution condition to determine switching to the target network element).
Regarding claim 15, Damnjanovic discloses an apparatus (UE, Fig. 2), comprising:
at least one processor (the UE includes a processor, paragraph [0062]); and
at least one memory comprising computer program code (the UE includes memory, and the memory stores data and program codes for the UE, paragraphs [0065], [0067]),
the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor to cause the apparatus (the memory stores data and program codes for the UE, where the one or more instructions (code or program code) causes the processor to perform the operations when executed, paragraph [0067]) at least to
receive a handover command (the source base station transmits an RRC reconfiguration message to the UE, where the RRC reconfiguration message includes a conditional handover configuration that indicates one or more criteria or execution conditions (for example conditional thresholds) that triggers handover, paragraph [0080]; an execution condition is a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) based execution condition, paragraph [0108]; the UE receives handover configuration with criteria or execution conditions (i.e. command));
identify a maximum permissible exposure event at the apparatus before or after reception of the handover command (the UE determines whether that the one or more criteria or execution conditions for triggering handover to the candidate base station, paragraph [0081]; an execution condition is a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) based execution condition, paragraph [0108]; the UE determines whether MPE is a triggering condition for handover (i.e. identify after receiving handover command));
delay an uplink switch to a target network element from a source network element due to the maximum permissible exposure event, wherein delaying the uplink switch comprises setting an event trigger to switch to the target network element (the UE determines whether that the one or more criteria or execution conditions for triggering handover to the candidate base station, where the UE executes the handover upon detecting the conditional handover event, and not wait for an RRC reconfiguration message from the source base station, and the UE changes RRC connection from the source base station to the first candidate base station based on detecting the conditional handover event or execution condition for the first candidate base station by transmitting RRC reconfiguration complete message to indicate that the UE has changed an RRC connection from the source base station to the first candidate base station, paragraphs [0081], [0082]; there is some time passes between a time when the conditional handover is configured and a time when the conditional handover is triggered due to changes in the channel conditions, paragraph [0085]; an execution condition is a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) based execution condition, paragraph [0108]; the UE receives the RRC reconfiguration message with the MPE trigger condition, and the UE switches the RRC connection to the first candidate base station (i.e. target network element) when the MPE condition is triggered after a period of time has passed (i.e. delay the uplink switch and sets the UE to switch to the first candidate base station)); and
inform the target network element about the maximum permissible exposure event, and about the delay in the uplink switch (the UE changes RRC connection from the source base station to the first candidate base station based on detecting the conditional handover event or execution condition for the first candidate base station by transmitting RRC reconfiguration complete message to indicate that the UE has changed an RRC connection from the source base station to the first candidate base station, paragraphs [0081], [0082]; there is some time passes between a time when the conditional handover is configured and a time when the conditional handover is triggered due to changes in the channel conditions, paragraph [0085]; an execution condition is a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) based execution condition, paragraph [0108]; the UE transmits the RRC reconfiguration complete message to the first candidate base station (i.e. informing the target network element), where the reconfiguration complete message is about the UE switching to the first candidate base station based on MPE condition is triggered after a period of time has passed (i.e. about the MPE event and about the delay)).
Regarding claim 16, Damnjanovic discloses the apparatus according to claim 15, wherein when event trigger comprises the end of the maximum permissible exposure event, the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured, with the at least one processor to cause the apparatus at least to perform one of:
inform the source network element about the end of the maximum permissible exposure event via a message that can be a medium access control control element (the UE transmits indication to the source base station or the target base station via MAC signaling (i.e. MAC-CEs) or a message using a scheduling request (SR) resource that is associated with the target base station, paragraph [0136]; the execution condition includes an MPE based execution condition, paragraph [0151]), or
inform the target network element about the end of the maximum permissible exposure event (the UE transmits indication to the source base station or the target base station via MAC signaling (i.e. MAC-CEs) or a message using a scheduling request (SR) resource that is associated with the target base station, paragraph [0136]; the execution condition includes an MPE based execution condition, paragraph [0151]).
Regarding claim 17, Damnjanovic discloses the apparatus according to claim 16, wherein when the event trigger comprises the end of the maximum permissible exposure event, the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured, with the at least one processor to cause the apparatus at least to:
receive an acknowledgment from the target network element about the uplink switch via the medium access control control element (the first candidate base station transmits handover request acknowledgement message to the source base station, where the source base station transmits RRC reconfiguration to the UE, the UE changes RRC connection from the source base station to the first candidate base station based on detecting the conditional handover event or execution condition for the first candidate base station by transmitting RRC reconfiguration complete message to indicate that the UE has changed an RRC connection from the source base station to the first candidate base station, paragraphs [0080] – [0082]; the UE transmits indication to the source base station or the target base station via MAC signaling (i.e. MAC-CEs) or a message using a scheduling request (SR) resource that is associated with the target base station, paragraph [0136]; the execution condition includes an MPE based execution condition, paragraph [0151]).
Regarding claim 18, Damnjanovic discloses the apparatus according to claim 15, wherein when the event trigger comprises a persistence of the maximum permissible exposure event, the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured, with the at least one processor to cause the apparatus at least to:
monitor and evaluating a source link against a threshold (the UE receives configuration information via RRC signaling or MAC signaling (MAC-CEs), where the UE continually evaluates one or more conditional handover execution conditions, such as a measurement associated with a candidate cell satisfies a threshold indicated by an execution condition, paragraph [0114]; the UE determines whether that the one or more criteria or execution conditions for triggering handover to the candidate base station, paragraph [0081]; an execution condition is a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) based execution condition, paragraph [0108]);
perform the uplink switch to the target network element (the UE receives configuration information via RRC signaling or MAC signaling (MAC-CEs), where the UE continually evaluates one or more conditional handover execution conditions, such as a measurement associated with a candidate cell satisfies a threshold indicated by an execution condition, and the UE uses measurement results as part of the operation to evaluate the one or more conditional handover execution conditions, paragraphs [0114] – [0116]; the UE determines whether that the one or more criteria or execution conditions for triggering handover to the candidate base station, paragraph [0081]; an execution condition is a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) based execution condition, paragraph [0108]); and
transmit a measurement report to the target network element, the measurement report comprising an indication of a quality of the source link (the UE transmits measurement report to the source base station that transmits the measurement report or an indication of one or more measurement values indicated by the measurement report to the first candidate base station, paragraphs [0117], [0118]).
Regarding claim 19, Damnjanovic discloses the apparatus according to claim 15, wherein when a random access procedure to the target network element has been completed (the UE performs a RACH procedure with the first candidate base station, paragraphs [0078], [0083]), the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured, with the at least one processor to cause the apparatus at least to:
switch from an uplink communication with the target network element to an uplink communication with the source network element (the UE determines whether that the one or more criteria or execution conditions for triggering handover to the candidate base station, where the UE executes the handover upon detecting the conditional handover event, and not wait for an RRC reconfiguration message from the source base station, and the UE changes RRC connection from the source base station to the first candidate base station based on detecting the conditional handover event or execution condition for the first candidate base station by transmitting RRC reconfiguration complete message to indicate that the UE has changed an RRC connection from the source base station to the first candidate base station, paragraphs [0081], [0082]; there is some time passes between a time when the conditional handover is configured and a time when the conditional handover is triggered due to changes in the channel conditions, paragraph [0085]; an execution condition is a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) based execution condition, paragraph [0108]; the UE receives the RRC reconfiguration message with the MPE trigger condition from the source base station (i.e. target network element), and the UE switches the RRC connection to the first candidate base station (i.e. source network element) when the MPE condition is triggered after a period of time has passed (i.e. delay the uplink switch and sets the UE to switch to the first candidate base station)).
Regarding claim 20, Damnjanovic discloses the apparatus according to claim 19, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured, with the at least one processor to cause the apparatus at least to:
inform the target network element about the maximum permissible exposure event and the uplink switch to the source network element due to the maximum permissible exposure event (the UE transmits indication to the source base station or the target base station via MAC signaling (i.e. MAC-CEs) or a message using a scheduling request (SR) resource that is associated with the target base station, paragraph [0136]; the execution condition includes an MPE based execution condition, paragraph [0151]).
Regarding claim 21, Damnjanovic discloses the apparatus according to claim 19, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured, with the at least one processor to cause the apparatus at least to:
inform the source network element about the uplink switch to the source network element (the UE transmits indication to the source base station or the target base station via MAC signaling (i.e. MAC-CEs) or a message using a scheduling request (SR) resource that is associated with the target base station, paragraph [0136]; the execution condition includes an MPE based execution condition, paragraph [0151]).
Regarding claim 22, Damnjanovic discloses the apparatus according to claim 21, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured, with the at least one processor to cause the apparatus at least to:
receive an acknowledgment from the source network element of the uplink switch (the first candidate base station transmits handover request acknowledgement message to the source base station, where the source base station transmits RRC reconfiguration to the UE, the UE changes RRC connection from the source base station to the first candidate base station based on detecting the conditional handover event or execution condition for the first candidate base station by transmitting RRC reconfiguration complete message to indicate that the UE has changed an RRC connection from the source base station to the first candidate base station, paragraphs [0080] – [0082]; the UE transmits indication to the source base station or the target base station via MAC signaling (i.e. MAC-CEs) or a message using a scheduling request (SR) resource that is associated with the target base station, paragraph [0136]; the execution condition includes an MPE based execution condition, paragraph [0151]).
Regarding claim 23, Damnjanovic discloses the apparatus according to claim 15, wherein switching uplink to the target network element is based on a comparison of an estimate of an uplink status to the source network element, and an estimated uplink status to the target network element (the UE determines whether that the one or more criteria or execution conditions for triggering handover to the candidate base station, where the UE executes the handover upon detecting the conditional handover event, and not wait for an RRC reconfiguration message from the source base station, and the UE changes RRC connection from the source base station to the first candidate base station based on detecting the conditional handover event or execution condition for the first candidate base station by transmitting RRC reconfiguration complete message to indicate that the UE has changed an RRC connection from the source base station to the first candidate base station, paragraphs [0081], [0082]; there is some time passes between a time when the conditional handover is configured and a time when the conditional handover is triggered due to changes in the channel conditions, paragraph [0085]; an execution condition is a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) based execution condition, paragraph [0108]; the UE compares the execution condition to determine switching to the target network element).
Regarding claim 24, Damnjanovic discloses an apparatus (base station, Fig. 2), comprising:
at least one processor (the base station includes a processor, paragraph [0062]); and
at least one memory comprising computer program code (the base station includes memory, and the memory stores data and program codes for the base station, paragraphs [0065], [0067]),
the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor to cause the apparatus (the memory stores data and program codes for the UE, where the one or more instructions (code or program code) causes the processor to perform the operations when executed, paragraph [0067]) at least to
establish a communication link with a user equipment (the source base station transmits an RRC reconfiguration message to the UE, where the RRC reconfiguration message includes a conditional handover configuration that indicates one or more criteria or execution conditions (for example conditional thresholds) that triggers handover, paragraph [0080]; an execution condition is a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) based execution condition, paragraph [0108]; the UE establishes communication with the source base station, then receives handover configuration with criteria or execution conditions from the source base station);
receive, from the user equipment, a notification of a maximum permissible exposure event occurring at the user equipment, wherein the notification comprises an indication that the user equipment will delay an uplink switch to a target network element due to the maximum permissible exposure event (the UE determines whether that the one or more criteria or execution conditions for triggering handover to the candidate base station, where the UE executes the handover upon detecting the conditional handover event, and not wait for an RRC reconfiguration message from the source base station, and the UE changes RRC connection from the source base station to the first candidate base station based on detecting the conditional handover event or execution condition for the first candidate base station by transmitting RRC reconfiguration complete message to indicate that the UE has changed an RRC connection from the source base station to the first candidate base station, paragraphs [0081], [0082]; there is some time passes between a time when the conditional handover is configured and a time when the conditional handover is triggered due to changes in the channel conditions, paragraph [0085]; an execution condition is a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) based execution condition, paragraph [0108]; the UE receives the RRC reconfiguration message with the MPE trigger condition, and the UE switches the RRC connection to the first candidate base station (i.e. target network element) when the MPE condition is triggered after a period of time has passed (i.e. delay the uplink switch and sets the UE to switch to the first candidate base station)); and
inform a source network element about the delay of the uplink switch to enable the source network element to provide uplink grants to the user equipment (the source base station transmits an RRC reconfiguration message to the UE, where the RRC reconfiguration message includes a conditional handover configuration that indicates one or more criteria or execution conditions (for example conditional thresholds) that triggers handover, paragraph [0080]; an execution condition is a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) based execution condition, paragraph [0108]; the UE determines whether that the one or more criteria or execution conditions for triggering handover to the candidate base station, where the UE executes the handover upon detecting the conditional handover event, and not wait for an RRC reconfiguration message from the source base station, and the UE changes RRC connection from the source base station to the first candidate base station based on detecting the conditional handover event or execution condition for the first candidate base station by transmitting RRC reconfiguration complete message to indicate that the UE has changed an RRC connection from the source base station to the first candidate base station, paragraphs [0081], [0082]; there is some time passes between a time when the conditional handover is configured and a time when the conditional handover is triggered due to changes in the channel conditions, paragraph [0085]; the UE establishes communication with the source base station, where the UE receives the RRC reconfiguration message with the MPE trigger condition, and the UE switches the RRC connection to the first candidate base station (i.e. target network element) when the MPE condition is triggered after a period of time has passed (i.e. delay the uplink switch and sets the UE to switch to the first candidate base station)).
Regarding claim 25, Damnjanovic discloses the apparatus according to claim 24, wherein when the maximum permissible exposure event ends, the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured, with the at least one processor to cause the apparatus at least to:
receive a notification about the end of the maximum permissible exposure event (the UE transmits indication to the source base station or the target base station via MAC signaling (i.e. MAC-CEs) or a message using a scheduling request (SR) resource that is associated with the target base station, paragraph [0136]; the execution condition includes an MPE based execution condition, paragraph [0151]), and inform the source network element about the end of the maximum permissible exposure event (the UE transmits indication to the source base station or the target base station via MAC signaling (i.e. MAC-CEs) or a message using a scheduling request (SR) resource that is associated with the target base station, paragraph [0136]; the execution condition includes an MPE based execution condition, paragraph [0151]), and
inform the user equipment about an acknowledgment of the uplink switch via a medium access control control element (the first candidate base station transmits handover request acknowledgement message to the source base station, where the source base station transmits RRC reconfiguration to the UE, the UE changes RRC connection from the source base station to the first candidate base station based on detecting the conditional handover event or execution condition for the first candidate base station by transmitting RRC reconfiguration complete message to indicate that the UE has changed an RRC connection from the source base station to the first candidate base station, paragraphs [0080] – [0082]; the UE transmits indication to the source base station or the target base station via MAC signaling (i.e. MAC-CEs) or a message using a scheduling request (SR) resource that is associated with the target base station, paragraph [0136]; the execution condition includes an MPE based execution condition, paragraph [0151]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
BAI et al (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0250227) – the user equipment may detect an uplink beam failure event for a first beam, report the uplink beam failure event, and determine a duration of a resetting time period before communicating via a second beam
GAO et al (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0353042) – the wireless device receives a configuration parameter from a base station, and transmits a sounding reference signal (SRS) to the base station according to an SRS procedure in which one or more resource sets are determined according to the configuration parameter
YUAN et al (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0058401) – the cell group metric for multiple cells configured in inter-band carrier aggregation (CA) is measured, occurrence of a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) event is detected based on the cell group metric, and/or the cell group metric is reported to one or more cells of the multiple cells based on detecting occurrence of the MPE event
YUAN et al (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0062512) – the UE is configured to detect one or more MPE events and report certain measurements that helps address or avoids the detected MPE event (e.g., adding or removing a cell and/or performing a handover of the UE to another cell)
YUAN et al (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0141020) – the UE provides assistance information that a base station uses to adjust uplink scheduling in an effort to reduce impact of the MPE event upon detecting an MPE event
ZHANG et al (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0155660) – the UE transmits an indication of an antenna panel status that may include an indication of a latency associated with the beam switch to the base station, receives an indication to switch to a target beam and to perform the switch based on the indication from the base station to the target beam, where the indication of the antenna panel status includes a beam switching latency level for each beam in a beam report, a beam switch request that indicates the target beam, and/or a beam switch request that indicates that an antenna panel switch is to be applied by the UE
Donald M. GRIECO (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0063859) – the UE receives one or more messages comprising configuration parameters of reference signals associated with a plurality of uplink beams and a first downlink beam, identifies a plurality of uplink beams associated with the first downlink beam based on a measurement of the reference signals and a corresponding ranking associated with each of the plurality of uplink beams, determines a first plurality of uplink beams that satisfy maximum permissible exposure (MPE) limits and that are not subject to link failure, and transmits uplink data or control information using the first uplink beam with the highest ranking
/Kai Chang/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/Thomas R Cairns/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468