DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-7 in the reply filed on 23 December 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 23 December 2025.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, line 2, the term “preferably” renders the claim indefinite because it is not clear if the subsequent expression is, or is not, a claim limitation.
In claim 2, line 7, the term “preferably” renders the claim indefinite because it is not clear if the subsequent expression is, or is not, a claim limitation.
In claim 4, line 4, the term “preferable” renders the claim indefinite because it is not clear if the subsequent expression is, or is not, a claim limitation.
In claim 7, line 3, the expression “the non-woven fiber layer” does not have clear and proper antecedent basis in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stigsson (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0299416 A1) in combination with Wlodzimierz et al (PL 214565 B1) and Turunen et al (U.S. Patent No. 4,583,984 A).
Regarding claim 1, Stigsson (see the entire document, in particular, paragraphs [0001], [0007], [0023], [0024], [0030], [0031], [0033] and [0037]) teaches a process (see paragraph [0001] (method for producing regenerated cellulose fibers) of Stigsson), including (a) extruding a spinning solution into a coagulation bath which contains a salt and optionally an alkali to produce a fiber tow (see paragraphs [0007] (wet-spinning an alkaline spindope composition) and [0030] (coagulation liquid includes sodium hydroxide (i.e., an alkali) and sodium carbonate or sodium sulfate (i.e., a salt)) of Stigsson); (a)(1) the spinning solution including cellulose dissolved in an aqueous solvent including sodium hydroxide (see paragraph [0024] (cellulose dope is manufactured by providing cellulose slurry and aqueous sodium hydroxide) of Stigsson); (a)(2) the coagulation bath having a pH of at least seven (see paragraph [0023] (coagulation bath having a pH above about 7) of Stigsson); (b) stretching the fibers in the fiber tow to a final cellulose specific diameter (see paragraphs [0031] (stretching the fibers) and [0037] (cutting the regenerated cellulosic fiber to obtain staple fiber; cutting is not limited to before drying or after drying) of Stigsson); and (c) orienting the fibers in the fiber tow to a final state (see paragraphs [0033] (washing) and [0037] (bleaching; cutting the regenerated cellulosic fiber to obtain staple fiber; cutting is not limited to before drying or after drying) of Stigsson). Stigsson does not teach (1) a spinning solution including zinc oxide, (2) stretching the fibers before being cut to staple fibers in an undried state, or (3) orienting the fibers before being cut to staple fibers in an undried state. Wlodzimierz et al (see the entire document, in particular, pages 1 and 2 of the translation) teaches a process (see page 1 (method of producing cellulose fibers) of Wlodzimierz et al), including a spinning solution including zinc oxide (see page 2 (aqueous cellulose solution including sodium hydroxide and zinc oxide; fibers are stretched, cut to staple fibers and then dried) of Wlodzimierz et al), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a spinning solution including zinc oxide in the process of Stigsson in view of Wlodzimierz et al for better solubility of the cellulose (see col. 3, lines 39-41 (zinc oxide is added to the solution for better solubility of the cellulose) of Turunen et al), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to stretch and orient the fibers before being cut to staple fibers in the process of Stigsson in view of Wlodzimierz et al in order to provide staple fibers for further processing and because in Stigsson, cutting is not limited to before drying or after drying.
Regarding claim 6, see paragraph [0037] (bleaching, drying) of Stigsson.
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stigsson (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0299416 A1) in combination with Wlodzimierz et al (PL 214565 B1) and Turunen et al (U.S. Patent No. 4,583,984 A) as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, and further in view of Morimoto (U.S. Patent No. 3,084,021 A).
Regarding claim 2, Stigsson (in combination with Wlodzimierz et al and Turunene et al) does not teach (1) a conditioning bath including between about 10 percent to about 30 percent by weight of a salt. Morimoto (see the entire document, in particular, col. 1, lines 10-12 and 31-55; col. 5, lines 23-63; col. 11, lines 12-14; Figure 1) teaches a process (see col. 1, lines 10-12 (processes for producing regenerated cellulose fibers) of Morimoto), including a conditioning bath including between about 10 percent to about 30 percent by weight of a salt (see col. 5, lines 45-63 (third bath, 30 – 120 g/l sodium sulfate, stretch of 30 – 100%; fourth bath, 0 – 200 g/l sodium sulfate, stretch of 10 – 80%) of Morimoto), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a conditioning bath including between about 10 percent to about 30 percent by weight of a salt in the process of Stigsson (in combination with Wlodzimierz et al and Turunene et al) in view of Morimoto in order to produce regenerated cellulose fibers with excellent properties, including high tenacity and increased fatigue resistance (see col. 1, lines 31-55 of Morimoto).
Regarding claim 3, see Figure 1; col. 5, lines 23-63 (primary bath temperature of 45 - 80°C; secondary bath temperature of 5 - 30°C; third bath temperature of 10 - 50°C; fourth bath temperature of 50 - 100°C; each of the bath temperatures are independently set and controlled) of Morimoto.
Regarding claim 4, see paragraph [0033] (washing) of Stigsson, and col. 11, lines 12-14 (article is then washed to finish) of Morimoto.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stigsson (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0299416 A1) in combination with Wlodzimierz et al (PL 214565 B1) and Turunen et al (U.S. Patent No. 4,583,984 A) as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, and further in view of Schirk et al (CA 3145647 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Stigsson (in combination with Wlodzimierz et al and Turunene et al) does not teach (1) suspending cut fibers and collecting cut fibers in a nonwoven fiber layer, and (2) pressing the nonwoven fiber layer to impose a natural crimp on the fibers. Schirk et al (see the entire document, in particular, page 1, lines 1-2; page 3, lines 22-23; page 4, line 6; page 5, lines 4-5) teaches a process (see page 1, lines 1-2 (method for the production of lyocell (i.e., cellulose) fibers) of Schirk et al), including suspending cut fibers and collecting cut fibers in a nonwoven fiber layer, and pressing the nonwoven fiber layer to impose a natural crimp on the fibers (see page 4, line 6 (forming a nonwoven fleece from staple fibers and pressing the nonwoven fleece); page 5, lines 4-5 (due to the final process steps, the fibers of the nonwoven exhibit permanent crimp) of Schirk et al), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to suspend cut fibers and collecting cut fibers in a nonwoven fiber layer, and press the nonwoven fiber layer to impose a natural crimp on the fibers in the process of Stigsson (in combination with Wlodzimierz et al and Turunene et al) in view of Schirk et al in order to provide an improved method for the production of crosslinked lyocell fibers (see page 3, lines 22-23 of Schirk et al; see instant claim 6).
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of co-pending Application No. 18/292,610 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the elimination of an element (i.e., elimination of suspending cut fibers and collecting cut fibers in the form of a nonwoven layer, and pressing the nonwoven fiber layer thereby imposing a natural crimp on the fibers) and its function is obvious if the function of the element is not desired (see MPEP §2144.04(II)(A); see also instant claim 5 and claim 2 of co-pending Application No. 18/292,610).
This is a provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zhu et al (CN 103147144 A), see paragraphs [0003] (method for preparing regenerated cellulose fibers) and [0041] (second coagulation bath, 2 – 15 wt% sodium sulfate) of Zhu et al.
LEO B. TENTONI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1742
/LEO B TENTONI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742