DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 18-37 are pending. Claims 18, 23, 27, 32, 37 are currently amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18-23, 25-28, 30, 32-34, 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by You (WO 2008116381 A1).
Ann. figs. 4 and 5(1) (You)
With respect to claim 18, You discloses: A cleaner, comprising: a cleaning module configured to generate steam (at the location of 1, fig. 1; being a steam mop as in [0024]), wherein the cleaning module comprises: a cleaning module housing that defines an external appearance of the cleaning module (outer housing 1, fig. 1; [0025]), the cleaning module housing defining an inner space therein (see exploded view in fig. 3 where there are other components inside the housing, thus providing an inner space), a heater disposed in the inner space of the cleaning module housing and configured to generate steam from water (heater is part of steam generator 6, fig. 3; [0029] provides that there is a heater in the steam generator between the water inlet and steam outlet), and a water container disposed above the heater and configured to supply water to the heater (water container or tank 3, fig. 2, it is formed by shells 33 and 34, fig. 3; above heater 6, [0025]), the water container defining a heater disposition recess such that a portion of a lower surface of the heater is recessed upward and wherein at least part of the heater is inserted into the heater deposition recess (there is a curved recess, such that a bottom surface is curved upward as shown in ann. figs. 4 and 5(1) above, see positioning of heater in fig. 3).
Ann. fig. 5(2) (You)
With respect to claim 19, You discloses the limitations of claim 18 above, and further discloses wherein the heater disposition recess has: a first inclined surface that extends rearward from a first side of the lower surface of the water container (ann. fig. 5(2) above), wherein a rear end of the first inclined surface is disposed above a front end of the first inclined surface (ann. fig. 5(2) above, the first inclined surface is directed upward at an angle); a second inclined surface that extends rearward from the rear end of the first inclined surface (ann. fig. 5(2) above), wherein a rear end of the second inclined surface is disposed above a front end of the second inclined surface (ann. fig. 5(2) above), rear end of the second inclined surface is above front end [towards right side/front storage] of the first inclined surface); and a third inclined surface that extends rearward from the rear end of the second inclined surface (ann. fig. 5(2) above) examiner notes the distinct slopes at 10, fig .4 where the tank is fitted are indicative of different surfaces of the tank/container 3; [0025]).
With respect to claim 20, You discloses the limitations of claim 19 above, and further discloses wherein a slope of the second inclined surface is less than a slope of the first inclined surface, and wherein a slope of the third inclined surface is less than the slope of the second inclined surface (see the differing slopes in ann. fig. 5(2), above, where the first inclined surface has a steep slope pointing upward, the second inclined surface has less slope that is curved, and the third inclined surface gradually slopes to a rear of the water container 3).
With respect to claim 21, You discloses the limitations of claim 18 above, and further discloses wherein the water container comprises: a front storage disposed at a front end of the water container and configured to store water therein (front storage pointed to at ann. fig. 5(2); the tank is intended to hold water as in [0025]), the front storage extending in a left-right direction (the front storage is a volume that is 3 dimensional, and thus extends in all 3 directions); a left storage configured to store water therein (pointed to at ann. fig. 5(2); as previously noted, the tank is intended to hold water), the left storage extending rearward from a left end of the front storage along a left surface of the water container (ann. fig. 5(2) shows the pointed left storage); and a right storage configured to store water therein (pointed to at ann. fig. 5(2); as previously noted, the tank is intended to hold water), the right storage extending rearward from a right end of the front storage along a right surface of the water container (ann. fig. 5(2) shows the pointed right storage) [examiner notes that the arrangement of the storage is consistent with the instant disclosure, in that the storages together form one continuous storage volume)
With respect to claim 22, You discloses the limitations of claim 21 above, and further discloses wherein the front storage, the left storage, and the right storage define a U-shape that is curved rearward relative to the front end of the water container (U shape defined at an end proximate to 82, fig. 5; [0028] defined by the overall combined volume of the front storage, left storage, and right storage).
With respect to claim 23, You discloses the limitations of claim 21 above, and further discloses wherein the water container further comprises a water drainage port configured to drain water (340, fig. 6; [0027]), the water drainage port being defined in at least one of (i) a left connecting portion between the front storage and the left storage or (ii) a right connecting portion between the front storage and the right storage (as shown in ann. fig. 6, above, the drainage port 340 is in a “right connecting portion} that is between the front storage and the right storage, the claim does not otherwise define the geometry of connecting portion).
With respect to claim 25, You discloses the limitations of claim 21 above, and further discloses wherein a front end of at least one of the left storage or the right storage is disposed below a rear end of the at least one of the left storage or the right storage (ann. fig. 6 above, shows a lower front end of the right storage that is lower than an upper rear end of the right storage).
With respect to claim 26, You discloses the limitations of claim 21 above, and further discloses water container further defines an air channel at a rear portion of the water container relative to the front storage, the air channel fluidly connecting the left storage and the right storage to each other (air channel shown in ann. fig. 5(2) above, the air channel is in a rear portion of the water container that includes the left and right storages, and connects the left and right storage at a front end of both the left and right storages; the channel would be an “air channel” if the container is empty or partially filled).
With respect to claim 27, You discloses the limitations of claim 18 above, and further discloses wherein the water container further defines: a water drainage port at a front end of the water container (340, fig. 6; [0027], at front end near front storage) and an air hole at a rear end of the water container (air hole 30, fig. 5; [0026], the hole allows air to be entered if opened), the air hole being configured to introduce air from an outside of the water container into the water container based on an internal air pressure in the water container being less than an air pressure at the outside of the water container (the air hole structurally can allow air to enter the water container if water is being drained or sucked out of the drainage port by an external vacuum that drains the water, this would allow the water to drain without, for example internally collapsing the container with a strong vacuum force).
With respect to claim 28, You discloses the limitations of claim 27 above, and further discloses wherein the air hole is disposed at a first side with respect to a reference line extending in a left-right direction through the water container, and wherein the water drainage port is disposed at a second side opposite to the first side with respect to the reference line (there could be an imaginary left right reference line, see ann. fig. 5 (2) above, between the front end [front storage] and the rear end proximate to 82, fig. 5, and the air hole and water drainage port can be considered to be on opposite sides of the line).
With respect to claim 30, You discloses the limitations of claim 18 above, and further discloses wherein the cleaning module housing comprises: a lower housing on which the heater is disposed (lower housing 12, fig .3, heater 6 would be disposed on the housing as shown in the exploded view; [0025]); and an upper housing coupled to the lower housing and disposed above the heater (upper housing 11, fig. 3; [0024], above heater as shown in the exploded view in fig. 3), the upper housing being spaced apart from the heater (portions of the upper housing meet the end of the lower housing, and the heater is smaller than the lower housing, so it is spaced apart from the heater), and wherein the water container is configured to be disposed at an upper surface of the upper housing (water container fits into groove 10, which includes an upper surface of the upper housing, fig. 4 [0025], see fully assembled structure at fig. 1 where an upper surface of the water container is almost flush with the uppermost structure of the upper housing).
Ann. fig. 3 (You)
With respect to claim 32, You discloses: A cleaner, comprising: a cleaning module configured to generate steam (at the location of 1, fig. 1; being a steam mop as in [0024]), wherein the cleaning module comprises: a cleaning module housing that defines an external appearance of the cleaning module (outer housing 1, fig. 1; [0025]), the cleaning module housing defining an inner space therein (see exploded view in fig. 3 where there are other components inside the housing, thus providing an inner space), a heater disposed in the inner space of the cleaning module housing and configured to generate steam from water (heater is part of steam generator 6, fig. 3; [0029] provides that there is a heater in the steam generator between the water inlet and steam outlet), and a water container disposed above the heater and configured to supply water to the heater (water container or tank 3, fig. 2, it is formed by shells 33 and 34, fig. 3; above heater 6, [0025]), and wherein the water container comprises a storage that is configured to store the water (inside of water container, [0025] holds water as a water tank], and that surrounds at least two of a front side surface, a left side surface, and a right side surface of the heater( as shown in the exploded view in fig. 3, the water container and it’s storage surrounds the a front side, see front storage ann. fig. 5(2), and also surrounds a left side surface, by covering it from a top perspective as in ann. fig .3 above, which is consistent with the instant disclosure where the water container does not completely enclose all of the heater, but covers part of a surface).
With respect to claim 33, You discloses the limitations of claim 32 above, and further discloses wherein the heater is inclined with respect to a ground surface (the ground surface is not part of the claimed invention, being external, and can be positioned on a flat, with respect to gravity surface, that slopes down in front of the cleaner, and therefore with respect to the inclined portion of the ground, the heater is inclined; alternatively, a person may hold the cleaner such that the heater is inclined, examiner notes that the applicant can define the incline with respect to some structure of the cleaner to potentially overcome this interpretation), and wherein the water container comprises an inclined surface that extends parallel to an upper surface of the heater (ann. fig. 3 above, see two dashed lines in ann. fig. 3 of You, the bottom surface of the tank extends in a direction parallel to a top surface of the heater [claim does not require the inclined surface to be parallel to the top surface of the heater, but rather that it extends parallel to the top surface]).
With respect to claim 34, You discloses the limitations of claim 32 above, and further discloses wherein the water container comprises: a front storage disposed at a front end of the water container (front storage pointed to at ann. fig. 5(2)), and extends in a left-right direction (the front storage is a volume that is 3 dimensional, and thus extends in all 3 directions); a left storage that extends rearward from a left end of the front storage along a left surface of the water container (pointed to at ann. fig. 5(2), extends from rear end at left side of front storage, to the rear of the water container, and along left surface of water container); and a right storage that extends rearward from a right end of the front storage along a right surface of the water container (pointed to at ann. fig. 5(2), extends from rear end at right side of front storage, to the rear of the water container, and along right surface of water container) [examiner notes that the arrangement of the storage is consistent with the instant disclosure, in that the storages together form one continuous storage volume)
With respect to claim 36, You discloses the limitations of claim 32 above, and further discloses wherein the water container further defines an air channel at a rear portion of the water container relative to the front storage, the air channel extending from the left storage to the right storage, and wherein the air channel is defined at a position above the front storage (air channel shown in ann. fig. 5(2) above, the air channel is in a rear portion of the water container that includes the left and right storages, and connects the left and right storage at a front end of both the left and right storages; the channel would be an “air channel” if the container is empty or partially filled, and the air channel is above the bottom portion of the front storage).
Claim(s) 32 and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oh (US 20070212035 A1).
Ann. fig 1 (Oh)
With respect to claim 32, Oh discloses A cleaner, comprising: a cleaning module configured to generate steam (20, fig. 1; [0034)], wherein the cleaning module comprises: a cleaning module housing that defines an external appearance of the cleaning module (housing 30, fig. 2; [0035], in this case the first water tank meets the definition of housing as it encloses other elements within), the cleaning module housing defining an inner space therein (see sectional view in figs. 3-4), a heater disposed in the inner space of the cleaning module housing and configured to generate steam from water (see location of heater 50 in figs. 2 and 4; heater generates steam by heating water in [0042]), a water container disposed above the heater and configured to supply water to the heater (water container 40, figs. 2 and 4; [0035], disposed above heater is consistent with instant disclosure, as part of the water tank in the instant disclose is below the top surface of the water heater, therefore it is reasonable to interpret the claim to mean that at least part of the water container is above the heater), and wherein the water container comprises a storage that is configured to store the water (water container 40 holds water as in [0035]), and that surrounds at least two of a front side surface, a left side surface, and a right side surface of the heater (storage volume surrounds side surfaces proximate to 53, figs. 3 and 4; [0037], the surfaces can be considered a front and left or right side because those are relative orientations and the claim does not otherwise define the orientations relative to other components of the machine, see ann. fig .1).
Ann figs. 3 and 4 (Oh)
With respect to claim 37, Oh discloses the limitations of claim 32 above, and further discloses wherein the heater has four side surfaces, including the front side surface, the left side surface, the right side surface, and a rear side surface, and wherein the storage surrounds the front side surface, the left side surface, and the right side the heater, (see ann. figs. 3 and 4 of Oh above at packing member 53; also see fig. 2 for a 3-dimensional view of the surfaces of the packing member 53 that makes up the side surfaces of the heater, the side surfaces can be deemed front, left, right, rear, because otherwise the claim does not define the directions relative to other components of the machine, see ann. fig. 1)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24 and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You (WO 2008116381 A1) and further in view of Garbe (US 4155143 A).
With respect to claim 24, You discloses the limitations of claim 21 above, and further discloses of an extension rod connected to the cleaning module housing, wherein the water container further defines an extension rod disposition recess that is recessed forward from a rear surface of the water container and configured to receive at least a part of the extension rod between the left storage and the right storage (extension rod 2, fig. 1;[0025] in recess [curved cutout at the rear of the water container] at 82, fig. 5; [0028]) , and wherein the extension rod disposition recess is defined at a rear side of the heater disposition recess (see location of 82, fig .5, it is behind/at a rear end of the heater disposition recess), however does not explicitly disclose an extension tube and extension tube disposition recess).
Garbe, in the same field of endeavor, related to cleaning, teaches of using an extension tube type handle (16, fig. 1; col 3 lines 39-50). Garbe teaches that this hollow construction makes it easy to assemble from a knockdown shipping arraignment (col 1, lines 10-30).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified You, and have provided a hollow extension tube [and the corresponding recess being extension tube disposition recess] in place of the handle [extension rod], for the purpose of making the arrangement easy to assemble. A person of ordinary skill in the art, would have also understood that hollow handles [being an extension tube] are lighter in weight than solid ones.
With respect to claim 35, You discloses the limitations of claim 34 above [see rejection of claim 34 in section 19 above], and further discloses an extension rod connected to the cleaning module housing, and wherein the water container defines an extension rod disposition recess that is recessed forward from a rear surface of the water container (extension rod 2, fig. 1;[0025] in recess [curved cutout at the rear of the water container] at 82, fig. 5; [0028]) the extension rod disposition recess being defined between the left storage and the right storage and configured to receive at least a part of the extension tube ([curved cutout at the rear of the water container] at 82 is between the left and right storage, as shown in fig. 6 above, see placement of extension rod in fig. 1 that shows the recess receiving the rod), however does not explicitly disclose an extension tube and extension tube disposition recess).
Garbe, in the same field of endeavor, related to cleaning, teaches of using an extension tube type handle (16, fig. 1; col 3 lines 39-50). Garbe teaches that this hollow construction makes it easy to assemble from a knockdown shipping arraignment (col 1, lines 10-30).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified You, and have provided a hollow extension tube [and the corresponding recess being extension tube disposition recess] in place of the handle [extension rod], for the purpose of making the arrangement easy to assemble. A person of ordinary skill in the art, would have also understood that hollow handles [being an extension tube] are lighter in weight than solid ones.
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You (WO 2008116381 A1) and further in view of Yang (US 20190328193 A1).
With respect to claim 29, You discloses the limitations of claim 18 above, however does not explicitly disclose wherein the water container further defines water supply holes at side surfaces of the water container, respectively, the water supply holes being configured to receive water.
Yang, in the same field of endeavor, related to cleaning, teaches of a water container with supply holes at side surfaces (supply holes 211, 212, fig .6 on both sides of the water tank 200 as in [0251]), the water supply holes being configured to receive water ([0251], to fill water]). Yang teaches that this arrangement makes it easy to fill water into the tank ([0251]).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified You, and have provided water supply holes at side surfaces of the water container, respectively, the water supply holes being configured to receive water, as taught by Yang, to make it easy to fill water.
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You (WO 2008116381 A1) and further in view of Collier (US 4875249 A) and Miner (US 20030088939 A1).
With respect to claim 31, You discloses the limitations of claim 30 above, however does not explicitly disclose wherein the upper housing comprises a thermal insulation coating surface that faces the heater. However, the upper housing of You forms an exterior outer surface of the cleaning module (see upper housing 11, fig. 4; [0024]; which encases the heater 6 as shown in fig. 3)
Collier, in the same field of endeavor, related to cleaning, teaches of insulating a steam cleaning head (col 5 lines 4-9 describes insulating 25, fig. 1, pointing to the outer surface of the steam cleaning head). Collier teaches that this ensures that the cuts down on heat loss and condensation within the cleaning head).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified You, and have insulated the upper housing of Yu, using the teachings of Coller, to prevent condensation and heat loss within the cleaning module.
As for the insulating the upper housing using a thermal insulation coating surface that faces the heater, Miner, in the same field of endeavor, related to cleaning, teaches of using a shell (housing) with an insulation coating ([0017,0053]). Miner teaches that this protects the user ([0055]).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified You, and have insulated the upper housing using a thermal insulation coating, applying the teachings of Miner, to protect the user. The arrangement of the coating would have faced the heater as either the inside surface or the outside surface of the coating would have faced the heater, as the outer housing encases the heater.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 18, response page 9, applicant argues that the heater is not positioned within the heater deposition recess, but rather in upper shell 11 that is then covered by the water container. Examiner’s position is that this is consistent with instant disclosure, in that there is an intervening element 112, between the heater 130, and the water container 120, and that heater is inserted into a recess from a side perspective in You such that from the perspective of the front storage, and from above, the heater is covered.
Regarding claim 32, response page 10, the applicant argues that the heater is not surrounded at least two of the front, left, or right side surfaces, however the examiner’s position is that there is a right side surface (i.e. one on the right side or half of the heater) that protrudes from a side wall of the heater, and it is surrounded (or covered) by the water container (the instant figures do not show a complete surrounded side, but rather one is [partially] covered, from at least one perspective, and as such the interpretation is reasonable).
The examiner notes that Oh, applied to claims 34, and 37 was not specifically argued, however the examiner notes that the amended claims are rejected over Oh as explained above, and that in claims 34 and 37, the relative orientations are not defined with respect to other structure of the claims.
The examiner finds the definition of the recess in the instant figures to be of interest, and of how the recess includes multiple surfaces, including surfaces that form a [almost] rectangular shape, the rectangular shape surrounded by the bottom surface, including portions of the bottom surface that define front, left and right storages, and how the walls of the recess rectangular shape and a top surface of the recess surround the heater.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Steven Huang/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723