DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a MVR subsystem” and “a heat subsystem” in claims 1 and 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9, 11-13, 15 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Funk (US 4,392,877).
Regarding claim 9, Funk teaches a system and method of use of the system that comprises a mechanical vapor compression subsystem (fractionator 11 and surge tank 15 and compressor 18) arranged to receive a liquid (feed 12) and arranged to produce compressed vapor (24) from said liquid and to heat the liquid being received (via line 27 reboiler heat exchanger 28), wherein the MVR-subsystem is arranged as a closed vapor MVR-subsystem arranged to reuse the produced vapor (the compressed vapor is reused in the evaporator to heat the liquid by heat exchange therein), whereby the energy system comprises a heat subsystem (heat exchanger 31 and/or heat exchanger 44) connected to said MVR-subsystem and arranged to use a portion of said compressed vapor (flow in line 29 in heat exchanger 31) and/or at least a portion of said liquid being heated (in heat exchanger 44) to produce energy (Fig 1, C3:L54-C4:L46).
Regarding claim 11-12, Funk as set forth above teaches heat exchanger 31 in branched portion (line 29) from compressor 18 and the exchange is broadly considered direct as it is a heat exchanger.
Regarding claim 13, Funk teaches the system is for liquid purification via fractionation (“OVERHEAD PRODUCT” and “BOTTOM PRODUCT” are recovered Fig 1).
Regarding claim 10, Funk teaches a system and method of use of the system that comprises a mechanical vapor compression subsystem (fractionator 11 and surge tank 15 and compressor 18) arranged to receive a liquid (feed 12) and arranged to produce compressed vapor (24) from said liquid and to heat the liquid being received (via reboiler heat exchanger 28), wherein the MVR-subsystem is arranged as a closed vapor MVR-subsystem arranged to reuse the produced vapor (the compressed vapor is reused in the evaporator to heat the liquid by heat exchange therein), whereby the energy system comprises a heat subsystem (heat exchanger 31 and/or heat exchanger 44) connected to said MVR-subsystem and arranged to use a portion of said compressed vapor (flow 29 in heat exchanger 31) and/or at least a portion of said liquid being heated (in heat exchanger 44) to produce energy (Fig 1, C3:L54-C4:L46).
Regarding claim 17-18, Funk as set forth above teaches heat exchanger 31 in branched portion (line 29) from compressor 18 and the exchange is broadly considered direct as it is a heat exchanger.
Claim(s) 9, 11-15 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Keith (US 5,587,054).
Regarding claim 9, Keith teaches a system and method of use of the system that comprises a mechanical vapor compression subsystem (heat exchanger 7 has boiling chamber 6, condensing chamber 8, vapor compressor 15 that returns superheated steam to condenser vapor port 16 to condense the vapor and evaporate incoming degassed feed into feed port 5 of boiling chamber 6, wherein the MVR-subsystem is arranged as a closed loop vapor MVR-subsystem arranged to reuse the produced vapor (vapor compressor 15 compressor vapor generated in boiling chamber 6 and returns superheated steam to condenser vapor port 16 of condensing chamber 8), wherein the energy system comprises a heat subsystem connected to said MVR- subsystem and arranged to use a branched portion of said compressed vapor to produce heat energy (Fig 1, see outlet of compressor 15 to inlet 22 of feed stripper 1 that exchanges heat with incoming feed in 2 via direct contact counter flow heat exchange/mass transfer with ) (See Figs 1-2, C2:L26-68).
Regarding claims 11-12, in Keith the feed stripper exchanges heat with incoming feed in 2 via direct contact counter flow heat exchange/mass transfer via a directly branched removed portion of superheated steam from compressor outlet to vapor inlet 22 (Fig 1).
Regarding claims 13-14 the MVR subsystem of Keith is an MVR feed water desalination subsystem (title, abstract Fig 1).
Regarding claim 15, Keith teaches a system and method of use of the system that comprises a mechanical vapor compression subsystem (heat exchanger 7 has boiling chamber 6, condensing chamber 8, vapor compressor 15 that returns superheated steam to condenser vapor port 16 to condense the vapor and evaporate incoming degassed feed into feed port 5 of boiling chamber 6, wherein the MVR-subsystem is arranged as a closed loop vapor MVR-subsystem arranged to reuse the produced vapor (vapor compressor 15 compressor vapor generated in boiling chamber 6 and returns superheated steam to condenser vapor port 16 of condensing chamber 8), wherein the energy system comprises a heat subsystem connected to said MVR- subsystem and arranged to use a branched portion of said compressed vapor to produce heat energy (Fig 1, see outlet of compressor 15, to feed stripper 1 that exchanges heat with incoming feed in 2 via direct contact counter flow heat exchange/mass transfer) (See Figs 1-2, C2:L26-68)
Regarding claims 17-18, in Keith the feed stripper exchanges heat with incoming feed in 2 via direct contact counter flow heat exchange/mass transfer via a directly branched removed portion of superheated steam from compressor outlet to vapor inlet 22 (Fig 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over either of Funk (US 4,392,877) and/or Keith (US 5,587,054) as applied above and further in combination with Frederiksen (US 6,321,552).
Regarding claims 14 and 16, Funk and Keith teaches all limitations as set forth above, however do not teach wherein the heat energy is at least one of district heat, heating of buildings or heat energy storage.
Frederiksen teaches a waste heat recovery system that provides cooling to a combustion engine 1,2 that has exhaust heat recovery exchanger 3 connected with heat driven chiller 4 in which cooling can be extracted from the recovered heat energy (see title, abstract), the system may be applied to a district heating system (C1:L22-27;30-62), and the energy is recovered in the loop 4 for building human comfort (see Fig 1, C1:L65-C2:L32), and the system may be used for useful heating with heating and/or cooling storage capacity (see claims 1, 15 and 21).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further utilize heat from the compressor in either of Funk and/or Keith to recover waste heat from the compressor as substantially taught by Frederiksen to utilize the compressor engine excess exhaust heat as taught by Frederiksen for useful heating and/or cooling storage as well as building HVAC purposes to thereby have a more efficient use of energy in both Funk and Keith.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Arcari (US 3,493,468) teaches vapor compression distillation. Railey (US 5,766,412) teaches vapor compression distillation. Schleiffarth (US 6,365,005, etc) teaches vapor compression distillation. Fernando (US 11,221,161) teaches combined heat pump vapor compression system. Crawford et al (US 2022/0016542, etc) teaches vapor compression distillation.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1772