DETAILED ACTION
Response to Preliminary Amendment
The preliminary amendment submitted on 26 January 2024 has been entered. After entry of the amendment, claims 1-6 are currently pending in the office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wakamiya (US Patent No. 8,926,746 B2).
The reference teaches, in Table 1, examples 1, 2, and 3, glass flakes and their corresponding D10, D50, and D90 values. Table 2, Examples 4 to 6 teach the glass flakes coated with titanium oxide to form a luster pigment. Tables 1 and 2 appear below:
The instant claims are met by the reference.
As for claim 1, the reference teaches D10 and D50 values that fall within the claimed range. The D90/D10 ratios all fall within the claimed range as seen in Table 1. While the reference does not recite the A10 value, this is a value that is not referenced in the prior art and as the D10, D50, and D90/D10 ratio falls within the claimed range, the A10 value would therefore be inherently possessed by the flakes of the reference absent evidence showing otherwise. If the composition is physically the same, it must have the same properties. It is well settled that when a claimed composition appears to be substantially the same as a composition disclosed in the prior art, the burden is properly upon the applicant to prove by way of tangible evidence that the prior art composition does not necessarily possess characteristics attributed to the CLAIMED composition. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655 (Fed. Circ. 1990); In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980); In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 2109, 169 USPQ 226 (CCPA 1971) and also Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See also MPEP 2112.01 [R-3] I and II.
As for claim 2, the reference teaches glass flakes.
As for claim 3, the reference teaches, in Table 2, D10 and D50 values that fall within the claimed range. The D90/D10 ratios all fall within the claimed range as seen in Table 2. While the reference does not recite the A10 value, this is a value that is not referenced in the prior art and as the D10, D50, and D90/D10 ratio falls within the claimed range, the A10 value would therefore be inherently possessed by the flakes of the reference absent evidence showing otherwise. If the composition is physically the same, it must have the same properties. It is well settled that when a claimed composition appears to be substantially the same as a composition disclosed in the prior art, the burden is properly upon the applicant to prove by way of tangible evidence that the prior art composition does not necessarily possess characteristics attributed to the CLAIMED composition. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655 (Fed. Circ. 1990); In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980); In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 2109, 169 USPQ 226 (CCPA 1971) and also Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See also MPEP 2112.01 [R-3] I and II. The glass flake is coated with titanium oxide layer thus meeting the claimed metal oxide layer.
As for claim 4, Table 1 teaches the D10, D50 and D90 values of the glass flake before coating with titanium oxide. The D10 and D50 values fall within the claimed range. The D90/D10 ratios all fall within the claimed range as seen in Table 1. While the reference does not recite the A10 value, this is a value that is not referenced in the prior art and as the D10, D50, and D90/D10 ratio falls within the claimed range, the A10 value would therefore be inherently possessed by the flakes of the reference absent evidence showing otherwise. If the composition is physically the same, it must have the same properties. It is well settled that when a claimed composition appears to be substantially the same as a composition disclosed in the prior art, the burden is properly upon the applicant to prove by way of tangible evidence that the prior art composition does not necessarily possess characteristics attributed to the CLAIMED composition. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655 (Fed. Circ. 1990); In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980); In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 2109, 169 USPQ 226 (CCPA 1971) and also Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See also MPEP 2112.01 [R-3] I and II. The glass flake is coated with titanium oxide layer thus meeting the claimed metal oxide layer.
As for claim 5, the reference teaches glass flakes.
As for claim 6, the reference teaches glass flakes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaupp et al (US Patent Application Publication No. US 2010/0297045 A1).
The reference teaches, in Table 2, flaky particles with different particle size distributions.
The second flake teaches a D10 in the range 5-25 µm, D50 from 10 to 35 µm and D90 from 20 to 45 µm.
The instant claims are obvious over the references.
As for claim 1, the reference teaches, with respect to the second flake, a D10 that falls within the claimed range, a D50 that overlaps the claimed range, and based on the D90 size a ratio of D90/D10 that overlaps the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), see MPEP 2144.05. While the reference does not recite the A10 value, this is a value that is not referenced in the prior art and as the D10, D50, and D90/D10 ratio can fall within the claimed range, the A10 value would therefore be inherently possessed by the flakes of the reference absent evidence showing otherwise. If the composition is physically the same, it must have the same properties. It is well settled that when a claimed composition appears to be substantially the same as a composition disclosed in the prior art, the burden is properly upon the applicant to prove by way of tangible evidence that the prior art composition does not necessarily possess characteristics attributed to the CLAIMED composition. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655 (Fed. Circ. 1990); In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980); In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 2109, 169 USPQ 226 (CCPA 1971) and also Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See also MPEP 2112.01 [R-3] I and II. Note also that in Figure 1, the surface area of one flaky particle is 4085.63 µm2 which is much more than 100 or 200 µm2.
As for claim 2, claim 9 recites that the flakes can be made of glass.
As for claim 3, the flakes may be coated with metal oxide, hydroxides, etc. (claim 4). The reference teaches, with respect to the second flake, a D10 that falls within the claimed range, a D50 that overlaps the claimed range, and based on the D90 size a ratio of D90/D10 that overlaps the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), see MPEP 2144.05. While the reference does not recite the A10 value, this is a value that is not referenced in the prior art and as the D10, D50, and D90/D10 ratio can fall within the claimed range, the A10 value would therefore be inherently possessed by the flakes of the reference absent evidence showing otherwise. If the composition is physically the same, it must have the same properties. It is well settled that when a claimed composition appears to be substantially the same as a composition disclosed in the prior art, the burden is properly upon the applicant to prove by way of tangible evidence that the prior art composition does not necessarily possess characteristics attributed to the CLAIMED composition. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655 (Fed. Circ. 1990); In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980); In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 2109, 169 USPQ 226 (CCPA 1971) and also Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See also MPEP 2112.01 [R-3] I and II. Note also that in Figure 1, the surface area of one flaky particle is 4085.63 µm2 which is much more than 100 or 200 µm2.
As for claim 4, the table in paragraph [0057] teaches the thickness of the coating layers. Based on this thickness and the sizes in Table 2, the reference teaches, with respect to the second flake, a D10 that falls within the claimed range, a D50 that overlaps the claimed range, and based on the D90 size a ratio of D90/D10 that overlaps the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990), see MPEP 2144.05. While the reference does not recite the A10 value, this is a value that is not referenced in the prior art and as the D10, D50, and D90/D10 ratio can fall within the claimed range, the A10 value would therefore be inherently possessed by the flakes of the reference absent evidence showing otherwise. If the composition is physically the same, it must have the same properties. It is well settled that when a claimed composition appears to be substantially the same as a composition disclosed in the prior art, the burden is properly upon the applicant to prove by way of tangible evidence that the prior art composition does not necessarily possess characteristics attributed to the CLAIMED composition. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655 (Fed. Circ. 1990); In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980); In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 2109, 169 USPQ 226 (CCPA 1971) and also Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See also MPEP 2112.01 [R-3] I and II. Note also that in Figure 1, the surface area of one flaky particle is 4085.63 µm2 which is much more than 100 or 200 µm2.
As for claim 5, the reference teaches glass.
As for claim 6, the reference teaches glass.
/ANTHONY J GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731
ajg
July 27, 2026