Status of Claims
Claims 1-7 are pending and under examination in this office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
Receipt is acknowledged of the Information Disclosure Statement filed 4/16/24. The Examiner has considered the references cited therein to the extent that each is a proper citation. Please see the attached USPTO Form 1449.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 4972241) in view of Gill et al. (CA 2240912) and Yao et al. (CN 113152090) in view of Yammoto et al. (JP 2000042126) and Oike et al. (JP 2010274022)
JP teaches, with regards to instant claim 1, antibacterial fiber sheet containing inorganic antibacterial fine particles on the fiber surface, wherein the sheet has light-colored where the inorganic antibacterial fine particles are exposed i.e., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have added an indicator that changes color to the sheet to indicate the need to change the sheet.
However JP fails to teach the antiviral sheet carries shikkui particles and an indicator. Although JP did not per se teach the alkaline indicator/thymophthalein, nonetheless teaches that the sheet has light colored portions the fact that it is taught would make one of ordinary skill in the art to have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention incorporation an indicator with a reasonable expectation of success.
Gill teaches providing uniform visual change wherein the use of an indicator is added and can be worn wherein the alkaline indicator is thymolphthalein (see entire reference). Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to add an alkaline indicator such as thymolphthalein (as required in claims 1 and 5 in part).
Yao teaches mask for protective cover comprising a mesh fiber with an antiviral or antibacterial (see abstract, as required by instant claim 4).
Yamamoto teaches a mask comprising antibacterial wherein the mask is a face mask (see English translation, as required by instant claim 6). Thus the mask can be a face mask that covers the mouth and nose.
Although the JP reference above fails to teach shikkui particles, nonetheless teaches examples of inorganic antibacterial fine particle such as silver ions can be used are held on the inorganic carrier is exposed on the surface of the polyolefin fiber. Therefore it is reasonable that one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to substitute the silver ions taught by JP above with shikkui particle as both are antibacterial with a reasonable expectation of success.
Oike teaches a mask with an alkaline substance impregnated with an alkaline indicator such as phenolphthalein that can be visualized by changing the color. The mask comprised calcium hydroxide molded in the mask with particle size. However fails to teach specifically that the fiber sheet carries shikkui. Nonetheless teaches calcium hydroxide known as slaked lime (see JS R International 01-07-2017)is a primary component of shikkui (when the specification is used as a dictionaryfor better understanding).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the cited references to substitute the silver ions taught by JP with the calcium hydroxide a slaked lime to result in the instant claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success by having the slaked lime embedded on the mess of the mask. Additionally known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art; reason why one of ordinary skill in the art would substitute silver ions and slaked lime for shikkui particles.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the cited references to result in the instant claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success.
Allowable subject matter
Claims 2-3 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 7 is free of art. None of the data bases searched by the Examiner revealed any references which anticipate or provide a basis for concluding that the claimed subject matter would have been obvious. Further, the claims are presented in an enabled, definite manner.
Accordingly, these claims are deemed to be in condition for allowance.
/SHIRLEY V GEMBEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615 12/9/25